DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to application No. 09/19/2024, filed on 09/19/2024, and first Preliminary Amendment, filed 11/25/2024. Claims 1, 44, 47, 55-56, 59-62, 74, 77, 80-85, 87-88, and 90 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1, 44, 47, 55-56, 59-62, 74, 77, 80-85, 87-88, and 90 have been rejected as follows.
Priority
Applicant' s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 12/12/2024 has been acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because of the following informalities:
Fig. 1A and 1C: the VCM is labelled as VCM 104 in the figures but is referred to as VCM 150 in the specification (pg. 23 line 13 and 22). Additionally, Fig. 1B and 1D label the VCM as VCM 150. It may be beneficial for the VCM to be labelled as VCM 150 in all Figs. 1A-1D for clarity.
Fig. 2A-2B: the label for vehicle platform 202 is missing the number 202
Fig. 2C: the vehicle platform is labelled as vehicle platform 212 in the figure but is referred to as vehicle platform 202 in the specification (pg. 25 line 9)
Fig. 3A: the motor is labelled as motor 304A in the figure but referred to as motor 300A in the specification (pg. 27 line 7)
Fig. 4A: interface to vehicle platform 402 is labelled in the figure but is not mentioned in the specification
Fig. 4B: the suspension assembly is labelled as 410B in the figure but referred to as suspension assembly 419B in the specification (pg. 29 line 6)
Fig. 5: the figure is missing step 513, which is mentioned in the specification (pg. 31 line 1-2)
Fig. 9: the figure includes step 910, which is not mentioned in the specification
Fig. 11: On pg. 33 line 21, “step 1150” should most likely be changed to “step 1104”
Fig. 13: On pg. 35 line 17, “As shown in steps 1330 to 1336” should most likely be changed to “As shown in steps 1332 to 1336”, as step 1330 does not exist
Fig. 23A: the sub-frame is labelled as 152 in the figure referred to as sub-frame 2152 in the specification (pg. 52 line 12)
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On pg. 12 line 27, reference to Fig. 12B is missing
On pg. 19 line 9, “In some embodiments a VCM may he configurable so as to match connecting to a given type of vehicle merely by data interaction between the vehicle controller and the VCM controller" should be fixed to “In some embodiments a VCM may be configurable so as to match connecting to a given type of vehicle merely by data interaction between the vehicle controller and the VCM controller"
On pg. 23 line 23, “Signals and power that may be exchanged between the vehicle platform 102, VCM 150 and external computing unit 106 may he the same as described above with respect to Fig. IB” should be fixed to “Signals and power that may be exchanged between the vehicle platform 102, VCM 150 and external computing unit 106 may be the same as described above with respect to Fig. IB”
On pg. 32 line 18, “Any one of motor 340A, rotation sensor 340E, brake actuator 340D, and suspension assembly 340B may he connected and controlled by VCM-controller 50” should be fixed to “Any one of motor 340A, rotation sensor 340E, brake actuator 340D, and suspension assembly 340B may be connected and controlled by VCM-controller 50”
On pg. 56 line 16, "At seen at step S2310" should be fixed to "As seen at step S2310"
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 84 is objected to because of the following informalities: "a first of the at last two VCMs" should be " a first of the at least two VCMs". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 55, 74, 77, and 84 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the following limitation: “compute a brake-operation function for the braking system, or receive from the vehicle controller the brake-operation function for the braking system, the brake-operation function being computed based on a charge level of the vehicle battery, such that within the brake-operation function, assignment of the regenerative braking subsystem or of the reverse-excitation subsystem is determined at least based on a charge level of the vehicle battery”. It is unclear if these charge levels of the vehicle battery refer to the same charge level. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 74 recites the following limitation: “compute a brake-operation function for the braking system, based on a charge level of the battery, such that within the brake-operation function, assignment of the regenerative braking subsystem or of the reverse-excitation subsystem is determined at least on a charge level of the battery”. It is unclear if these charge levels of the vehicle battery refer to the same charge level. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 74 recites the following limitation: “B. a regenerative braking subsystem, functionally associated with the electric drive motor and with the battery, the regenerative braking subsystem adapted, in an operational mode, to store charge in the battery while reducing rotation speed of a motion element of the at least one motion assembly; and C. a reverse-excitation braking subsystem, functionally associated with the electric drive motor and with the battery, the reverse-excitation braking system adapted, in an operation mode, to draw electrical current from the battery and to generate reverse torque of the electric drive motor”. It is unclear if these operational/operation modes refer to the same mode or if they refer to a first and second operational/operation mode. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 84 recites the following limitation: “the controller is adapted to compute the brake operation function such that, in the brake-operation function, the braking system is instructed to operate in a first mode of operation with respect to a first of the at last two VCMs and to operate in a second mode of operation with respect to a second of the at least two VCMs.” It is unclear if these first and second modes of operation are the same as claim 74’s operational mode and operation mode. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 74, 77, 80, 82-83, 87, and 90 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kleickmann (US20140246281A1).
Regarding claim 74, Kleickmann teaches a vehicle, comprising:
a. a vehicle platform (Fig. 1, motor vehicle 10);
b. a battery coupled to the vehicle platform (Fig. 1, electrical energy storage device 14);
c. at least one vehicle corner module (VCM) (par. 29-30 and Fig. 1, "Likewise, the automobile 10 may include several electrical machines 12, for example, an electrical machine 12 for each of the drive wheels. Moreover, the vehicle 10 includes an electrical energy storage device 14, which is electrically connected with the electrical machine 12. The electrical machine 12 can not only be used for driving the vehicle 10, but also for braking of the motor vehicle 10"), comprising:
i. a sub-frame including a vehicle connection interface for connection of the sub-frame to the vehicle platform (par. 29-30 and Fig. 1, "Likewise, the automobile 10 may include several electrical machines 12, for example, an electrical machine 12 for each of the drive wheels. Moreover, the vehicle 10 includes an electrical energy storage device 14, which is electrically connected with the electrical machine 12. The electrical machine 12 can not only be used for driving the vehicle 10, but also for braking of the motor vehicle 10");
ii. an electric drive system including a drive motor ((par. 30, “The electrical machine 12 can not only be used for driving the vehicle 10, but also for braking of the motor vehicle 10”; par. 9, electric drive motor); and
iii. a braking system (par. 30, “The electrical machine 12 can not only be used for driving the vehicle 10, but also for braking of the motor vehicle 10”), including:
A. a frictional braking assembly (par. 11, "friction braking system");
B. a regenerative braking subsystem, functionally associated with the electric drive motor and with the battery (par. 30, "For braking, the electrical machine 12 can be operated as a generator in a first mode of operation by generating an appropriate braking torque. In this first operating mode, which is also referred to as regenerative braking or recuperation, electric energy is produced by the electrical machine 12 which can be supplied to the electric energy storage device 14"), the regenerative braking subsystem adapted, in an operational mode, to store charge in the battery while reducing rotation speed of a motion element of the at least one motion assembly (par. 9, “In this first operating mode, which is also referred to as regenerative braking or recuperation, an appropriate generator braking torque is generated by the electrical machine, which causes a braking force acting on the motor vehicle. In this first operating mode, the electrical machine generates electrical energy which can be transferred to an energy storage device of the motor vehicle"); and
C. a reverse-excitation braking subsystem, functionally associated with the electric drive motor and with the battery (par. 31, " the electrical machine 12 can be operated in a second operating mode for braking of the motor vehicle 10. In this case, electric energy is supplied to the electrical machine 12 from the energy storage device 14, so that the electrical machine 12 generates a braking torque, which opposes the drive torque"), the reverse-excitation braking system adapted, in an operation mode, to draw electrical current from the battery and to generate reverse torque of the electric drive motor, thereby to both (i) apply a resistive torque to a motion element of the at least one motion assembly (par. 31, “the electrical machine 12 generates a braking torque, which opposes the drive torque”) and (ii) deplete the vehicle battery according to the amount of electric current drawn therefrom (par. 9, "in a second operating mode, electrical energy from the energy storage device can be supplied to the electrical machine for braking of the motor vehicle, so that braking torque opposing the drive torque is generated by the electrical machine. Consequently, electric energy is either generated or consumed when braking of the motor vehicle with the electric motor");
d. a controller (Fig. 1, controller 16), functionally associated with the frictional braking assembly, the regenerative braking assembly, and the reverse excitation braking assembly, the controller adapted to:
i. compute a brake-operation function for the braking system, based on a charge level of the battery, such that within the brake-operation function, assignment of the regenerative braking subsystem or of the reverse-excitation subsystem is determined at least on a charge level of the battery (par. 17, "In a further embodiment, after a value characterizing the state of charge of the electric energy storage device exceeds a predetermined first threshold value, a transition from the first operating mode to the second operating mode occurs, and/or after a value characterizing the state of charge of the electric energy storage device falls below a predetermined second threshold value, a transition from the second operating mode to the first operating mode occurs, wherein the second threshold value is smaller than the first threshold value. Thus, the electrical machine can always provide a braking force regardless of the state of charge of the energy storage device”); and
ii. in response to receipt of a brake input, operate the braking system in accordance with the brake-operation function (par. 11, "In a further embodiment, a braking force generated by the at least one electrical machine is set depending on a position of a brake pedal of a friction braking system of the motor vehicle").
Regarding claim 77, Kleickmann teaches the vehicle of claim 74. Kleickmann further teaches the controller is adapted to assign, within the brake-operation function, operation of the reverse- excitation braking subsystem when a charge level of the battery is equal to or greater than a threshold (par. 17, "In a further embodiment, after a value characterizing the state of charge of the electric energy storage device exceeds a predetermined first threshold value, a transition from the first operating mode to the second operating mode occurs, and/or after a value characterizing the state of charge of the electric energy storage device falls below a predetermined second threshold value, a transition from the second operating mode to the first operating mode occurs, wherein the second threshold value is smaller than the first threshold value. Thus, the electrical machine can always provide a braking force regardless of the state of charge of the energy storage device”).
Regarding claim 80, Kleickmann teaches the vehicle of claim 74. Kleickmann further teaches the controller is adapted to compute the brake-operation function in response to the receipt of the brake input (par. 11, "The electrical machine is preferably operated so that the braking force produced by the electrical machine generates in conjunction with the braking force of the friction brake a substantially uniformly increasing braking force over the entire pedal travel, so that effects in the braking behavior are imperceptible by the driver”).
Regarding claim 82, Kleickmann teaches the vehicle of claim 74. Kleickmann further teaches at least one sensor adapted to provide to the controller inputs relating to at least one condition within the vehicle or in the vicinity of the vehicle (par. 32, "Preferably, the operating mode is set in response to a state of charge of the electric energy storage device 14. For this purpose, the vehicle 10 includes a suitable controller 16, which can be used to determine the state of charge of the electric energy storage device 14 with an appropriate sensor"; par. 34, "The braking force provided by the electrical machine 12 can be adjusted as a function of the position of a brake pedal of a friction brake of a motor vehicle 10. To this end, the motor vehicle 10 includes a respective device 20, which is configured to determine the position of the brake pedal. The device 20 may for this purpose include a corresponding position sensor, distance sensor or the like”), wherein the controller is adapted to compute the brake-operation function also based on the inputs received from the at least one sensor (par. 17, "In a further embodiment, after a value characterizing the state of charge of the electric energy storage device exceeds a predetermined first threshold value, a transition from the first operating mode to the second operating mode occurs, and/or after a value characterizing the state of charge of the electric energy storage device falls below a predetermined second threshold value, a transition from the second operating mode to the first operating mode occurs, wherein the second threshold value is smaller than the first threshold value. Thus, the electrical machine can always provide a braking force regardless of the state of charge of the energy storage device”; par. 11, "The electrical machine is preferably operated so that the braking force produced by the electrical machine generates in conjunction with the braking force of the friction brake a substantially uniformly increasing braking force over the entire pedal travel, so that effects in the braking behavior are imperceptible by the driver").
Regarding claim 83, Kleickmann teaches the vehicle of claim 74. Kleickmann further teaches the controller is adapted to compute the brake-operation function to reduce at least one of wear of the frictional brake assembly, brake emissions, or heat generated by use of the frictional brake assembly (par. 3, "Since the braking torques of the electrical machines are usually insufficient to allow full braking of the motor vehicle, friction brakes are also installed, with which the required braking torque can be generated. However, it is advantageous for energy efficiency to convert with the electrical machine as much of the kinetic energy of the motor vehicle as possible into electrical energy and to dissipate the smallest possible portion as heat with the friction brakes”).
Regarding claim 87, Kleickmann teaches the vehicle of claim 74. Kleickmann further teaches the controller is a vehicle-controller mounted onto the vehicle platform (Fig. 1, controller 16), the controller being functionally associated with the braking system on the at least one VCM (par. 32, “For this purpose, the vehicle 10 includes a suitable controller 16, which can be used to determine the state of charge of the electric energy storage device 14 with an appropriate sensor. When the state of charge of the battery reaches an upper threshold value, the electrical machine 12 can no longer be operated as a generator, since the electrical energy storage device 14 is unable to the absorb generated electric energy. In this case, electrical energy from the energy storage device 14 is supplied to the electrical machine 12 for braking of the motor vehicle 10. For this purpose, the controller 16 is coupled to a device 18 of the motor vehicle 10, which is configured to change the polarity of the terminals of the electrical machine 12. The device 18 may for this purpose include corresponding power components, such as transistors, thyristors or the like, with which the polarities of the electrical machine 12 and the phases of the electrical machine 12 can be interchanged. In this way, a braking torque is generated by the electrical machine 12 in the so called countercurrent operation, which opposes the drive torque of the electrical machine 12”).
Regarding claim 90, Kleickmann teaches the vehicle of claim 74. Kleickmann further teaches the at least one VCM comprises a plurality of VCMs (par. 29-30 and Fig. 1, "Likewise, the automobile 10 may include several electrical machines 12, for example, an electrical machine 12 for each of the drive wheels. Moreover, the vehicle 10 includes an electrical energy storage device 14, which is electrically connected with the electrical machine 12. The electrical machine 12 can not only be used for driving the vehicle 10, but also for braking of the motor vehicle 10"), the plurality of VCMs are functionally associated with the battery (Fig. 1, electrical energy storage device 14), and wherein the evaluation of charge of the battery is carried out for the shared battery (par. 29, the vehicle 10 includes an electrical energy storage device 14, which is electrically connected with the electrical machine 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 44, 47, 55-56, 59, 61-62, and 88 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kleickmann in view of Lee (US 20090145674 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kleickmann teaches a vehicle corner module (VCM) (par. 29-30 and Fig. 1, "Likewise, the automobile 10 may include several electrical machines 12, for example, an electrical machine 12 for each of the drive wheels. Moreover, the vehicle 10 includes an electrical energy storage device 14, which is electrically connected with the electrical machine 12. The electrical machine 12 can not only be used for driving the vehicle 10, but also for braking of the motor vehicle 10") for regulating motion of a vehicle (Fig. 1, motor vehicle 10), the vehicle comprising a vehicle-onboard vehicle-controller (Fig. 1, controller 16), the VCM comprising:
a. an electric drive motor electrically connected to a vehicle battery (par. 29-30 and Fig. 1, "Likewise, the automobile 10 may include several electrical machines 12, for example, an electrical machine 12 for each of the drive wheels. Moreover, the vehicle 10 includes an electrical energy storage device 14, which is electrically connected with the electrical machine 12. The electrical machine 12 can not only be used for driving the vehicle 10, but also for braking of the motor vehicle 10")
b. a braking system, including:
i. a frictional braking assembly (par. 11, "friction braking system")
ii. a regenerative braking subsystem, functionally associated with the electric drive motor and with the vehicle battery (par. 30, "For braking, the electrical machine 12 can be operated as a generator in a first mode of operation by generating an appropriate braking torque. In this first operating mode, which is also referred to as regenerative braking or recuperation, electric energy is produced by the electrical machine 12 which can be supplied to the electric energy storage device 14");
and iii. a reverse-excitation braking subsystem, functionally associated with the electric drive motor and with the vehicle battery, the reverse-excitation braking system adapted, in an operation mode, to draw electrical current from the battery and to generate reverse torque of the electric drive motor (par. 31, " the electrical machine 12 can be operated in a second operating mode for braking of the motor vehicle 10. In this case, electric energy is supplied to the electrical machine 12 from the energy storage device 14, so that the electrical machine 12 generates a braking torque, which opposes the drive torque"), thereby to both (i) apply a resistive torque to a wheel assembled onto the VCM (par. 31, “the electrical machine 12 generates a braking torque, which opposes the drive torque”) and (ii) deplete the vehicle battery according to the amount of electric current drawn therefrom (par. 9, "in a second operating mode, electrical energy from the energy storage device can be supplied to the electrical machine for braking of the motor vehicle, so that braking torque opposing the drive torque is generated by the electrical machine. Consequently, electric energy is either generated or consumed when braking of the motor vehicle with the electric motor"); and
a VCM-controller (Fig. 1, controller 16), comprising one or more processors and a computer-readable medium storing program instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to
ii. compute a brake-operation function for the braking system, or receive from the vehicle controller the brake-operation function for the braking system, the brake-operation function being computed based on a charge level of the vehicle battery, such that within the brake-operation function, assignment of the regenerative braking subsystem or of the reverse-excitation subsystem is determined at least based on a charge level of the vehicle battery (par. 17, "In a further embodiment, after a value characterizing the state of charge of the electric energy storage device exceeds a predetermined first threshold value, a transition from the first operating mode to the second operating mode occurs, and/or after a value characterizing the state of charge of the electric energy storage device falls below a predetermined second threshold value, a transition from the second operating mode to the first operating mode occurs, wherein the second threshold value is smaller than the first threshold value. Thus, the electrical machine can always provide a braking force regardless of the state of charge of the energy storage device”)
and iii. following receipt of the brake-operation function and in response to receipt of a brake input, operate the braking system in accordance with the brake-operation function (par. 11, "In a further embodiment, a braking force generated by the at least one electrical machine is set depending on a position of a brake pedal of a friction braking system of the motor vehicle").
Kleickmann fails to explicitly teach the VCM-controller establishes a communication link with the vehicle-controller. Kleickmann instead only explicitly teaches a single controller (Fig. 1, controller 16), so does not teach establishing a communication link.
However, Lee teaches a VCM-controller (par. 56 and Fig.3, four dissimilar high-power vector-drive motor controllers 24), comprising one or more processors and a computer-readable medium storing program instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to establish a communication link with the vehicle-controller (par. 66, "referring now to FIG. 6, the vehicle control bus 76 comprises a high-speed digital communication medium, a plurality of electrically conductive media for delivery of electrical power and a rechargeable backup battery 62. The main purpose of the vehicle control bus 76 is to allow data exchange between the different components of the vehicle control system 138").
Having a separate controller for each VCM which communicates with the vehicle controller would have been a trivial change and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. This can lead to redundancy and act as a failsafe (par. 72, “if one of the four motor controllers 24 fails and if not handled properly, the system may create said differential torque, which may lead to complete loss of steering control. The vehicle control computer 70 further comprises monitoring circuitry and software algorithms to detect such failure modes and handle the failures accordingly. Motor controllers 24 comprise local fault detection circuitries and electrical means for the vehicle control computer 70 to disengage one or more motor controllers 24 when a local failure occur”).
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Kleickmann in view of Lee teaches the VCM according to claim 1. Kleickmann further teaches vehicle comprising:
a vehicle-onboard vehicle-controller (Fig. 1, controller 16);
one or more pairs of opposing vehicle corner modules (VCMs) (par. 29-30 and Fig. 1, "Likewise, the automobile 10 may include several electrical machines 12, for example, an electrical machine 12 for each of the drive wheels. Moreover, the vehicle 10 includes an electrical energy storage device 14, which is electrically connected with the electrical machine 12. The electrical machine 12 can not only be used for driving the vehicle 10, but also for braking of the motor vehicle 10"), each of the opposing VCMs being a VCM according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 47, the combination of Kleickmann in view of Lee teaches the vehicle of claim 44. Kleickmann fails to teach the VCM-controllers of each of the opposing VCMs are configured to provide an operational backup functionality, singly or in combination, for another VCM-controller.
However, Lee teaches the VCM-controllers of each of the opposing VCMs are configured to provide an operational backup functionality, singly or in combination, for another VCM-controller (par. 66, "referring now to FIG. 6, the vehicle control bus 76 comprises a high-speed digital communication medium, a plurality of electrically conductive media for delivery of electrical power and a rechargeable backup battery 62. The main purpose of the vehicle control bus 76 is to allow data exchange between the different components of the vehicle control system 138"; par. 72, “if one of the four motor controllers 24 fails and if not handled properly, the system may create said differential torque, which may lead to complete loss of steering control. The vehicle control computer 70 further comprises monitoring circuitry and software algorithms to detect such failure modes and handle the failures accordingly. Motor controllers 24 comprise local fault detection circuitries and electrical means for the vehicle control computer 70 to disengage one or more motor controllers 24 when a local failure occur”).
Having a separate controller for each VCM which communicates with the vehicle controller would have been a trivial change and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. This can lead to redundancy and act as a failsafe (par. 72, “if one of the four motor controllers 24 fails and if not handled properly, the system may create said differential torque, which may lead to complete loss of steering control. The vehicle control computer 70 further comprises monitoring circuitry and software algorithms to detect such failure modes and handle the failures accordingly. Motor controllers 24 comprise local fault detection circuitries and electrical means for the vehicle control computer 70 to disengage one or more motor controllers 24 when a local failure occur”).
Regarding claim 55, Kleickmann teaches a method for regulating wheel rotation torque of at least one wheel mounted onto at least one vehicle corner module (VCM) (par. 29-30 and Fig. 1, "Likewise, the automobile 10 may include several electrical machines 12, for example, an electrical machine 12 for each of the drive wheels. Moreover, the vehicle 10 includes an electrical energy storage device 14, which is electrically connected with the electrical machine 12. The electrical machine 12 can not only be used for driving the vehicle 10, but also for braking of the motor vehicle 10") for regulating motion of a vehicle (Fig. 1, motor vehicle 10), the vehicle including
(i) a vehicle controller (Fig. 1, controller 16),
(ii) a battery (Fig. 1, electrical energy storage device 14), and
(iii) one or more pairs of opposing VCMs (par. 29-30 and Fig. 1, "Likewise, the automobile 10 may include several electrical machines 12, for example, an electrical machine 12 for each of the drive wheels. Moreover, the vehicle 10 includes an electrical energy storage device 14, which is electrically connected with the electrical machine 12. The electrical machine 12 can not only be used for driving the vehicle 10, but also for braking of the motor vehicle 10")
(I) an electric drive system (par. 30, “The electrical machine 12 can not only be used for driving the vehicle 10, but also for braking of the motor vehicle 10”):
(II) a VCM-controller (Fig. 1, controller 16), and
(III) a braking system associated with the at least one wheel (par. 30, “The electrical machine 12 can not only be used for driving the vehicle 10, but also for braking of the motor vehicle 10”), the braking system including a frictional brake assembly (par. 11, "friction braking system"), a regenerative braking subsystem (par. 30, "For braking, the electrical machine 12 can be operated as a generator in a first mode of operation by generating an appropriate braking torque. In this first operating mode, which is also referred to as regenerative braking or recuperation, electric energy is produced by the electrical machine 12 which can be supplied to the electric energy storage device 14"), and a reverse-excitation braking subsystem (par. 31, " the electrical machine 12 can be operated in a second operating mode for braking of the motor vehicle 10. In this case, electric energy is supplied to the electrical machine 12 from the energy storage device 14, so that the electrical machine 12 generates a braking torque, which opposes the drive torque"), the braking system being functionally associated with the electric drive system (par. 30, “The electrical machine 12 can not only be used for driving the vehicle 10, but also for braking of the motor vehicle 10”), the method comprising:
a. computing, by at least one of the vehicle-controller and the VCM-controller, a brake-operation function for the braking system, based on a charge level of the battery (par. 17, "In a further embodiment, after a value characterizing the state of charge of the electric energy storage device exceeds a predetermined first threshold value, a transition from the first operating mode to the second operating mode occurs, and/or after a value characterizing the state of charge of the electric energy storage device falls below a predetermined second threshold value, a transition from the second operating mode to the first operating mode occurs, wherein the second threshold value is smaller than the first threshold value. Thus, the electrical machine can always provide a braking force regardless of the state of charge of the energy storage device”); and
b. in response to receipt of a brake input, operating the braking system in accordance with the brake-operation function (par. 11, "In a further embodiment, a braking force generated by the at least one electrical machine is set depending on a position of a brake pedal of a friction braking system of the motor vehicle"),
wherein during operation of the reverse-excitation braking subsystem, electrical current drawn from the battery generates reverse torque of the drive system motor to both (i) apply a resistive torque to the wheel (par. 31, “the electrical machine 12 generates a braking torque, which opposes the drive torque”) and (ii) deplete the vehicle battery according to the amount of electric current drawn therefrom (par. 9, "in a second operating mode, electrical energy from the energy storage device can be supplied to the electrical machine for braking of the motor vehicle, so that braking torque opposing the drive torque is generated by the electrical machine. Consequently, electric energy is either generated or consumed when braking of the motor vehicle with the electric motor"), wherein during operation of the regenerative braking subsystem charge is stored in the battery while reducing rotation speed of the wheel (par. 9, “In this first operating mode, which is also referred to as regenerative braking or recuperation, an appropriate generator braking torque is generated by the electrical machine, which causes a braking force acting on the motor vehicle. In this first operating mode, the electrical machine generates electrical energy which can be transferred to an energy storage device of the motor vehicle"), and wherein, in the brake-operation function, operation of the regenerative braking subsystem or of the reverse-excitation subsystem is determined based at least on the charge level of the battery (par. 17, "In a further embodiment, after a value characterizing the state of charge of the electric energy storage device exceeds a predetermined first threshold value, a transition from the first operating mode to the second operating mode occurs, and/or after a value characterizing the state of charge of the electric energy storage device falls below a predetermined second threshold value, a transition from the second operating mode to the first operating mode occurs, wherein the second threshold value is smaller than the first threshold value. Thus, the electrical machine can always provide a braking force regardless of the state of charge of the energy storage device”).
Kleickmann fails to explicitly teach communicating with the vehicle-controller via a communication bus. Kleickmann instead only explicitly teaches a single controller (Fig. 1, controller 16), so does not teach establishing a communication link.
However, Lee teaches communicating with the vehicle-controller via a communication bus (par. 66, "referring now to FIG. 6, the vehicle control bus 76 comprises a high-speed digital communication medium, a plurality of electrically conductive media for delivery of electrical power and a rechargeable backup battery 62. The main purpose of the vehicle control bus 76 is to allow data exchange between the different components of the vehicle control system 138").
Having a separate controller for each VCM which communicates with the vehicle controller would have been a trivial change and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. This can lead to redundancy and act as a failsafe (par. 72, “if one of the four motor controllers 24 fails and if not handled properly, the system may create said differential torque, which may lead to complete loss of steering control. The vehicle control computer 70 further comprises monitoring circuitry and software algorithms to detect such failure modes and handle the failures accordingly. Motor controllers 24 comprise local fault detection circuitries and electrical means for the vehicle control computer 70 to disengage one or more motor controllers 24 when a local failure occur”).
Regarding claim 56, the combination of Kleickmann in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 55. Kleickmann further teaches the computing of the brake-operation function includes, when a charge level of the vehicle battery is equal to or greater than a threshold, operating the reverse-excitation braking system (par. 17, "In a further embodiment, after a value characterizing the state of charge of the electric energy storage device exceeds a predetermined first threshold value, a transition from the first operating mode to the second operating mode occurs, and/or after a value characterizing the state of charge of the electric energy storage device falls below a predetermined second threshold value, a transition from the second operating mode to the first operating mode occurs, wherein the second threshold value is smaller than the first threshold value. Thus, the electrical machine can always provide a braking force regardless of the state of charge of the energy storage device”).
Regarding claim 59, the combination of Kleickmann in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 55. Kleickmann further teaches the computing is in response to the receipt of the brake input (par. 11, "The electrical machine is preferably operated so that the braking force produced by the electrical machine generates in conjunction with the braking force of the friction brake a substantially uniformly increasing braking force over the entire pedal travel, so that effects in the braking behavior are imperceptible by the driver”).
Regarding claim 61, the combination of Kleickmann in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 55. Kleickmann further teaches the vehicle-controller is functionally associated with at least one sensor providing to the controller inputs relating to at least one condition within the vehicle or in the vicinity of the vehicle (par. 32, "Preferably, the operating mode is set in response to a state of charge of the electric energy storage device 14. For this purpose, the vehicle 10 includes a suitable controller 16, which can be used to determine the state of charge of the electric energy storage device 14 with an appropriate sensor."; par. 34, "The braking force provided by the electrical machine 12 can be adjusted as a function of the position of a brake pedal of a friction brake of a motor vehicle 10. To this end, the motor vehicle 10 includes a respective device 20, which is configured to determine the position of the brake pedal. The device 20 may for this purpose include a corresponding position sensor, distance sensor or the like”), and the computing of the brake-operation function is also based on the inputs received from the at least one sensor (par. 17, "In a further embodiment, after a value characterizing the state of charge of the electric energy storage device exceeds a predetermined first threshold value, a transition from the first operating mode to the second operating mode occurs, and/or after a value characterizing the state of charge of the electric energy storage device falls below a predetermined second threshold value, a transition from the second operating mode to the first operating mode occurs, wherein the second threshold value is smaller than the first threshold value. Thus, the electrical machine can always provide a braking force regardless of the state of charge of the energy storage device”; par. 11, "The electrical machine is preferably operated so that the braking force produced by the electrical machine generates in conjunction with the braking force of the friction brake a substantially uniformly increasing braking force over the entire pedal travel, so that effects in the braking behavior are imperceptible by the driver").
Regarding claim 62, the combination of Kleickmann in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 55. Kleickmann further teaches the computing of the brake-operation function comprises computing the brake-operation function to reduce at least one of wear of the frictional brake assembly, brake emissions, or heat generated by use of the frictional brake assembly (par. 3, "Since the braking torques of the electrical machines are usually insufficient to allow full braking of the motor vehicle, friction brakes are also installed, with which the required braking torque can be generated. However, it is advantageous for energy efficiency to convert with the electrical machine as much of the kinetic energy of the motor vehicle as possible into electrical energy and to dissipate the smallest possible portion as heat with the friction brakes”).
Regarding claim 88, Kleickmann teaches the vehicle of claim 74. Kleickmann fails to explicitly teach the controller is a VCM-controller disposed on the at least one VCM. Kleickmann does teach a controller 16 and teaches electric machines 12 on each wheel.
However, Lee teaches the controller is a VCM-controller disposed on the at least one VCM (par. 56 and Fig.3, four dissimilar high-power vector-drive motor controllers 24).
Having a separate controller for each VCM which communicates with the vehicle controller would have been a trivial change and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. This can lead to redundancy and act as a failsafe (par. 72, “if one of the four motor controllers 24 fails and if not handled properly, the system may create said differential torque, which may lead to complete loss of steering control. The vehicle control computer 70 further comprises monitoring circuitry and software algorithms to detect such failure modes and handle the failures accordingly. Motor controllers 24 comprise local fault detection circuitries and electrical means for the vehicle control computer 70 to disengage one or more motor controllers 24 when a local failure occur”).
Claim(s) 61 and 81 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kleickmann in view of Lee, and further in view of Matthews (US 20150298680 A1).
Regarding claim 60, the combination of Kleickmann in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 55. Kleickmann and Lee fail to teach the vehicle-controller is functionally associated with a location system receiver, and the computing of the brake-operation function is also based on an expected route of travel of the vehicle.
However, Matthews teaches the vehicle-controller is functionally associated with a location system receiver, and the computing of the brake-operation function is also based on an expected route of travel of the vehicle (abstract, "A hybrid vehicle includes a location awareness module that determines an energy profile for a portion of a roadway or for a known route. The energy profile includes one or more measurements of regenerative braking operations for predicted braking events. The hybrid vehicle determines an efficient use of an electric motor and generator (EMG) based on the energy profile of the roadway portion or the route. When the energy profile includes a predicted braking event, the hybrid vehicle determines to engage the EMG to discharge the battery system prior to the regenerative braking operation for the predicted braking event”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kleickmann and Lee to incorporate the teachings of Matthews improve control of the regenerative braking system and increase efficiency (par. 8-12).
Regarding claim 81, Kleickmann teaches the vehicle of claim 84. Kleickmann fails to teach a location system receiver functionally associated with the controller, wherein the controller is adapted to compute the brake-operation function also based on an expected route of travel of the vehicle.
However, Matthews teaches a location system receiver functionally associated with the controller, wherein the controller is adapted to compute the brake-operation function also based on an expected route of travel of the vehicle (abstract, "A hybrid vehicle includes a location awareness module that determines an energy profile for a portion of a roadway or for a known route. The energy profile includes one or more measurements of regenerative braking operations for predicted braking events. The hybrid vehicle determines an efficient use of an electric motor and generator (EMG) based on the energy profile of the roadway portion or the route. When the energy profile includes a predicted braking event, the hybrid vehicle determines to engage the EMG to discharge the battery system prior to the regenerative braking operation for the predicted braking event”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Kleickmann and Lee to incorporate the teachings of Matthews improve control of the regenerative braking system and increase efficiency (par. 8-12).
Claim(s) 84 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kleickmann in view of Jeon (US 20170066331 A1).
Regarding claim 84, Kleickmann teaches the vehicle of claim 74. Kleickmann further teaches the at least one VCM comprises at least two said VCMs (par. 29-30 and Fig. 1, "Likewise, the automobile 10 may include several electrical machines 12, for example, an electrical machine 12 for each of the drive wheels. Moreover, the vehicle 10 includes an electrical energy storage device 14, which is electrically connected with the electrical machine 12. The electrical machine 12 can not only be used for driving the vehicle 10, but also for braking of the motor vehicle 10"),
Kleickmann fails to teach the controller is adapted to compute the brake operation function such that, in the brake-operation function, the braking system is instructed to operate in a first mode of operation with respect to a first of the at last two VCMs and to operate in a second mode of operation with respect to a second of the at least two VCMs.
However, Jeon teaches the controller is adapted to compute the brake operation function such that, in the brake-operation function, the braking system is instructed to operate in a first mode of operation with respect to a first of the at last two VCMs and to operate in a second mode of operation with respect to a second of the at least two VCMs (par. 5, "regenerative brake cooperative control of a conventional vehicle in which regenerative braking is executed only at front wheels”).
Jeon teaches that conventional vehicles will have the wheels use different braking modes. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kleickmann to have the wheels use different braking modes, which would obviously allow the system greater control.
Claim(s) 85 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kleickmann in view of Sung (US 10821834 B2).
Regarding claim 85, Kleickmann teaches the vehicle of claim 74. Kleickmann further teaches the vehicle (par. 34, "The braking force provided by the electrical machine 12 can be adjusted as a function of the position of a brake pedal of a friction brake of a motor vehicle 10. To this end, the motor vehicle 10 includes a respective device 20, which is configured to determine the position of the brake pedal. The device 20 may for this purpose include a corresponding position sensor, distance sensor or the like”), and wherein the controller is adapted to generate the brake input based on the received sensing input (par. 11, "The electrical machine is preferably operated so that the braking force produced by the electrical machine generates in conjunction with the braking force of the friction brake a substantially uniformly increasing braking force over the entire pedal travel, so that effects in the braking behavior are imperceptible by the driver").
Kleickmann fails to teach the vehicle is a self-driving vehicle. However, self-driving vehicles are common in the art and would have been an obvious improvement to Kleickmann.
Sung teaches the vehicle is a self-driving vehicle (column 9 line 12, “fully autonomous driving system to assist safe and comfortable driving”).
Sung teaches an autonomous vehicle which uses regenerative braking. It would have been obvious that Kleickmann’s method could be used on an autonomous vehicle. The benefits of a self-driving vehicle would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and include improvements in safety and convenience (column 9 line 12, “fully autonomous driving system to assist safe and comfortable driving”).
Conclusion
/M.L.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665