DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to communication received 09/19/2024 – application papers received; and 07/23/2025 – IDS.
Continuation Data
This application claims benefit of 63/584,424 09/21/2023.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 09/19/2024.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
The drawings do not depict numeral 130, which is described as a mass pad (Specification – paragraph [0053]), along with numeral 151, which is described as the center of gravity (Specification – paragraph [0055]).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “y-shaped spring body” (claim 19) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification - Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because: the abstract does not describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
FOLLOWING IS AN ACTION ON THE MERITS:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
/
/
Claims 1, 5-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPN 5,911,637 to Yamagata.
As to claim 1, Yamagata shows a golf club head (4; FIG. 2) comprising: a hollow golf club head body (FIG. 2) having an interior surface defining an enclosed interior cavity; a pliant spring (8), comprising: a fixed end coupled to a first attachment location of the interior surface (i.e, FIG. 2 shows one end of spring 8 fixed to an interior surface of the club head; and see col. 2, lines 49-55); a free end opposite the fixed end; a contact pad coupled to the free end and contacting a first contact location of the interior surface (i.e., the weight 5 serves as the claimed “contact pad”, with the free end of the spring attached to the weight 5, and with the weight 5 contacting a first contact location on the rear surface of the face 4a); wherein the first contact location is spaced from the first attachment location; and a spring body extending between the fixed end and the free end (i.e., the first contact location at the rear surface of the face 4a is spaced from the first attachment location, which is at a separate location on the interior of the club head); and a spring body extending between the fixed end and the free end (FIG. 2).
As to claim 5, the spring body is straight such that an entirety of a spring length is parallel to a single imaginary plane (i.e., FIG. 2 shows the spring body being straight between the fixed end and the free end).
As to claim 6, the spring body further comprises at least one curvilinear spring bend between the fixed end and the moveable end (i.e., FIG. 5B shows an embodiment in which the spring 8 comprises a spring bend).
As to claim 9, the interior surface attachment location is an interior sidewall surface (i.e., FIG. 2).
As to claim 10, the interior surface contact location is an interior strike face surface (i.e., FIG. 2 and FIG. 5B).
/
/
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit. In Ball Aerosol v. Ltd. Brands, 555 F.3d 984, 89 USPQ2d 1870 (Fed. Cir. 2009), the Federal Circuit offered additional instruction as to the need for an explicit analysis. The Federal Circuit explained that the Supreme Court’s requirement for an explicit analysis does not require record evidence of an explicit teaching of a motivation to combine in the prior art.
"[T]he analysis that "should be made explicit" refers not to the teachings in the prior art of a motivation to combine, but to the court’s analysis. . . . Under the flexible inquiry set forth by the Supreme Court, the district court therefore erred by failing to take account of 'the inferences and creative steps,' or even routine steps, that an inventor would employ and by failing to find a motivation to combine related pieces from the prior art." Ball Aerosol, 555 F.3d at 993, 89 USPQ2d at 1877.
The Federal Circuit’s directive in Ball Aerosol was addressed to a lower court, but it applies to Office personnel as well. When setting forth a rejection, Office personnel are to continue to make appropriate findings of fact as explained in MPEP § 2141 and § 2143, and must provide a reasoned explanation as to why the invention as claimed would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. This requirement for explanation remains even in situations in which Office personnel may properly rely on intangible realities such as common sense and ordinary ingenuity.
I. EXEMPLARY RATIONALES
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 5,911,637 to Yamagata in view of USPN 10,150,019 to Ines et al (hereinafter referred to as “Ines”).
As to claims 2-4, Yamagata shows that the spring body has a spring width, a spring thickness and a spring length, but does not explicitly detail “wherein the spring length is in a range between 0.5 inch and 3.5 inches … wherein the spring width is in a range between 0.1 inch to 1.0 inch” (claim 2); “wherein the spring width is constant along the spring length and the spring thickness is constant along the spring length” (claim 3); and “wherein the spring width varies along the spring length and the spring thickness varies along the spring length” (claim 4).
Ines teaches it to be old in the art to provide a spring mechanism (i.e., cantilevered tabs 921-924 are essentially springs) within a golf club head, wherein the width, thickness and length of the spring mechanism(s) may be dimensioned to provide the necessary spring flexure (i.e., see col. 12, line 35 through col. 13, line 20). In view of the teaching in Ines, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the club head in Yamagata by dimensioning the spring body with any or all of a suitable length, width and thickness in order to alter the characteristics of the spring for improved club head performance. Clearly, changing the length of the spring body in Yamagata would have enabled one end of the spring body to be mounted at a different location within the club head. Clearly, changing the thickness and/or the width of the spring body in Yamagata would have changed the flexure characteristics of the spring body to thus provide more or less vibration damping.
Claims 7-8 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 5,911,637 to Yamagata in view of US PUBS 2003/0190975 to Fagot.
As to claim 7, Yamagata shows one end of the pliant spring (8) being fixed to an interior surface of the club head. However, Yamagata does not explicitly detail “an attachment method chosen from the group consisting of: welding, braising, adhesive attachment, snap fitting, and a mechanical fastener”. Fagot shows it to be old in the art to secure one end of a pliant spring with a mechanical fastener such as a screw (i.e., see paragraph [0039] and FIG. 2). In view of the teaching in Fagot, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the club head in Yamagata by attaching the fixed end of the pliant spring (8) to the interior of the club head using a mechanical fastener for added convenience and to prevent the spring from becoming detached during repeated impacts between the club head and a golf ball.
As to claim 8, although Yamagata does not itself explicitly disclose “wherein the fixed end is removably affixed to the attachment location”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective date of the claimed invention to have removably affixed the pliant spring (8) in Yamagata for added convenience in replacing the spring, given that the teaching in Fagot provides for a spring being secured to an interior surface of a club head using a removably attachable screw (i.e., again, see paragraph [0039] and FIG. 2).
As to claim 13, Yamagata does not explicitly disclose “wherein the spring body further comprises a plurality of through apertures along the spring length”. Here, Fagot shows a through-hole or aperture in the spring (12) which is sized to accept a screw to secure the spring (12) to the sole portion (i.e., FIG. 2 and paragraph [0039]). In view of the teaching in Fagot, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the club head in Yamagata by providing the pliant spring (8) with a plurality of through apertures so that the spring (8) may be attached to an interior surface of the club head using a mechanical fastener. Having multiple or a plurality of through apertures in the pliant spring (8) of the Yamagata club head would simply have involved an obvious duplication of parts (i.e., see MPEP 2144.04: In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
As to claim 14, Yamagata does not explicitly detail “wherein the spring body comprises a spring body material consisting of a material chosen from a group consisting of: limited to a Ti alloy, a steel alloy, an aluminum alloy, a manganese alloy, a copper alloy, a polymer, a fiber-reinforced composite, and a fiber reinforced polymer”. Fagot shows it to be old to construct a spring (12) from spring steel or an aluminum alloy (i.e., see paragraph [0042]). In view of the teaching in Fagot, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the club head in Yamagata by constructing the pliant spring (8) from a suitable steel or aluminum material to take advantage of the durability and lightweight properties of known steel and aluminum materials. Moreover, the selection of a material for a specific purposes based upon the known properties of the material has been determined to be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.07: The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (Claims to a printing ink comprising a solvent having the vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol so that the ink would not dry at room temperature but would dry quickly upon heating were held invalid over a reference teaching a printing ink made with a different solvent that was nonvolatile at room temperature but highly volatile when heated in view of an article which taught the desired boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of a solvent for printing inks and a catalog teaching the boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious); Ryco, Inc. v. Ag-Bag Corp., 857 F.2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (Claimed agricultural bagging machine, which differed from a prior art machine only in that the brake means were hydraulically operated rather than mechanically operated, was held to be obvious over the prior art machine in view of references which disclosed hydraulic brakes for performing the same function, albeit in a different environment.).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 5,911,637 to Yamagata in view of US PUBS 2015/0297959 to Lee.
As to claim 11, Yamagata does not explicitly disclose “wherein in the contact pad is compressible, having a material hardness in a range between Shore A 30 and Shore A 90; wherein the contact pad further comprises a contact material chosen from a group consisting of: a polymeric material, a natural rubber, a natural or artificial felt, cork, and resin”. Lee teaches that a contact pad (i.e., the pad associated with a spring/piston device and arranged to dampen vibration) is constructed from any of rubber, silicone, synthetic resin and the like (i.e., paragraph [0028] and see elastic members 114-1 and 114-2 in Lee). In view of the teaching in Lee, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the club head in Yamagata by constructing the “contact pad” identified hereinabove under claim 1 from a suitable material having a hardness that would have enabled the contact pad to dampen vibration due to repeated impacts between the club head and a golf ball. Moreover, the selection of a material for a specific purposes based upon the known properties of the material has been determined to be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.07: The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (Claims to a printing ink comprising a solvent having the vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol so that the ink would not dry at room temperature but would dry quickly upon heating were held invalid over a reference teaching a printing ink made with a different solvent that was nonvolatile at room temperature but highly volatile when heated in view of an article which taught the desired boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of a solvent for printing inks and a catalog teaching the boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious); Ryco, Inc. v. Ag-Bag Corp., 857 F.2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (Claimed agricultural bagging machine, which differed from a prior art machine only in that the brake means were hydraulically operated rather than mechanically operated, was held to be obvious over the prior art machine in view of references which disclosed hydraulic brakes for performing the same function, albeit in a different environment.).
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PUBS 2010/0273565 to Stites et al (hereinafter referred to as “Stites”) in view of USPN 5,911,637 to Yamagata.
As to claim 1, Stites shows a golf club head (600) comprising: a hollow golf club head body (FIG. 6A) having an interior surface defining an enclosed interior cavity. Stites shows a brace (60) comprising a fixed end coupled to a first attachment location of the interior surface (i.e., see fixed end adjacent 606A in FIG. 6A); a free end opposite the fixed end (i.e., see free end adjacent 614 in FIG. 6A); a contact pad (i.e., 606B; and paragraph [0088] noting that the contact area 1144 may be integrally or separately formed with the brace members) coupled to the free end and contacting a first contact location of the interior surface; wherein the first contact location is spaced from the first attachment location (i.e., FIG. 6A clearly shows a separation between the identified free end adjacent the rear surface of the striking face and the fixed end adjacent an inner surface of the sole portion); and a spring body extending between the fixed end and the free end (i.e., Stites shows the spring body being a brace member, such as 606 and 1066).
Stites does not explicitly show a “pliant spring”, yet does acknowledge that the rod portion of the various brace systems displayed may comprise a spring structure (i.e., paragraph [0005]). Yamagata show it to be old in the art to take advantage of a pliant spring design in the form of a leaf spring (8), as shown in FIGS. 2 and 5B. In view of the teaching in Yamagata, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the club head in Stites by replacing the rod or brace mechanisms with a pliant spring in order to enhance the resiliency of the supporting brace structure so that the skilled artisan would have been able to modify the ball striking characteristics of the club head for improved club head performance.
As to claim 5, in Stites, the brace or spring body (606) is straight such that an entirety of a spring length is parallel to a single imaginary plane. See FIG. 6A.
As to claim 7, in Stites, the fixed end is affixed to the attachment location using welding, adhesive or a mechanical connector (i.e., paragraph [0084]).
As to claim 9, in Stites, the interior surface attachment location is an interior sole surface (i.e., note FIG. 6A and the attachment location adjacent 606A).
As to claim 10, in Stites, the interior surface contact location is an interior strike face surface (i.e., note FIG. 6A and the contact location adjacent 614).
As to claim 12, it is initially noted that no criticality whatsoever has been established for the claimed “a pad maximum length in the range of 0.1 inch to 0.5 inch, a pad maximum width length in the range of 0.1 inch to 0.5 inch, and a pad maximum thickness length in the range of 0.1 inch to 0.5 inch”, when detailing the contact pad. Note that Stites provides some guidance in locating and constructing/attaching the contact area associated with each brace. Here, the contact area essentially corresponds to the claimed contact pad. See paragraphs [0088] and [0096] in Stites. By changing the size of the contact area (i.e., the size of the contact pad), the flexure of the face may be altered to provide a different coefficient of restitution response. In view of the teaching in Stites, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the club head in Stites by sizing the contact pad such that a specific portion of the rear surface of the striking face that is in contact with the contact pad may be strategically identified in order to provide local stiffness or local flexibility to the specific portion using the brace or spring that is attached to the contact pad.
As to claim 15, Stites does not explicitly disclose “wherein the spring body further comprises a spring body mass in the range of 0.1 grams to 20.0 grams”. Recall that the brace members in Stites may be in the form of a spring and, as modified by Yamagata and discussed under claim 1 hereinabove, may include a spring body. Stites does disclose that the characteristics of the braces may be altered to change the feel imparted to a player as well as specific attributes such as high or low golf ball launch as well as desired spin characteristics (i.e., paragraph [0079]). Stites also notes that the various braces may differ in size, material, flexibility, and compressibility (i.e., paragraph [0091]). Given the fact that the brace in Stites may be replaced with a spring, as taught by Yamagata, and given the fact that Stites indicates that the construction of the brace may be altered to alter the performance characteristics of the club head, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the club head in Stites by providing a spring body mass of between 0.1 gram and 20.0 grams in order change the weight of the spring body commensurate with a specific, desired club head response (e.g., altering the weight of the spring, in combination with the attached contact pad, would have imparted a different force against the rear surface of the striking surface to alter the ball striking response of the club head).
Claims 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PUBS 2010/0273565 to Stites et al (hereinafter referred to as “Stites”) in view of US PUBS 2003/0190975 to Fagot.
As to claim 16, Stites shows a golf club head (600) comprising: a hollow golf club head body (FIG. 6A) having an interior surface defining an enclosed interior cavity. Stites shows a brace (60) comprising a single fixed end coupled to a first attachment location of the interior surface (i.e., see fixed end adjacent 606A in FIG. 6A); a free end opposite the fixed end (i.e., see free end adjacent 614 in FIG. 6A); a contact pad (i.e., 606B serves as a contact pad; and also see paragraph [0088], noting that the contact area 1144 may be integrally or separately formed with the brace members) coupled to the free end and contacting a first contact location of the interior surface; and a spring body extending between the fixed end and the free end (i.e., Stites shows the spring body being a brace member, such as 606 and 1066).
Stites does not explicitly show a “pliant spring”, yet does acknowledge that the rod portion of the various brace systems displayed may comprise a spring structure (i.e., paragraph [0005]). Fagot shows it to be old in the art to take advantage of a pliant spring design in the form of a leaf spring (12), as shown in FIG. 2. In view of the teaching in Fagot, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the club head in Stites by replacing the rod or brace mechanisms with a pliant spring in order to enhance the resiliency of the supporting brace structure so that the skilled artisan would have been able to modify the ball striking characteristics of the club head for improved club head performance.
Further, Stites does not explicitly disclose “multiple free ends” and “multiple contact locations”. Fagot discloses that the leaf spring may include several points of contact (i.e., paragraphs [0044] and [0045]). In view of the teaching in Fagot, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the club head in Stites by incorporating multiple free ends with corresponding multiple contact locations, each having a contact pad associated therewith, the motivation being to be able to control the stiffness and deformation properties of the striking face at multiple locations for improved club head performance.
As to claim 18, the interior surface attachment location in Stites is on an interior sole surface. See FIGS. 2 and 6A in Stites.
As to claim 19, the obviousness of modifying the spring device in Stites to include multiple legs arranged to engage multiple contact locations in view of the teachings in Fagot has already been discussed under claim 16 hereinabove. To have arranged the modified spring body in Stites to include a “y-shaped spring body” in order to more precisely locate the multiple legs against the rear surface of the striking face would simply have involved an obvious rearrangement of parts. See MPEP 2144.04: In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
As to claim 20, Stites notes that the contact pads (606B) may be part of the moveable ends of the spring body. It is further noted that Stites discloses that the contact pads may be fashioned from a material that facilitates a sliding movement of the contact pad (606B) against the rear surface of the striking face. In this case, a polymeric material would have been an obvious choice for the skilled artisan based upon the fact that Stites further suggests the use of polymeric materials at the free end, where the contact surface is located (i.e., see paragraph [0069]). As for the claimed “over-molded” feature, such would appear to be directed to a product-by-process limitation. See MPEP 2113: "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted). Note that Stites discloses that the contact area (1144) may be integrally or separately formed with the brace members, as described in paragraph [0088], when discussing the contact area (1144). Whether the contact pad (or contact area) and moveable end of each leg of the multiple legs are separately formed and subsequently joined together, or formed as an integral piece, would have involved an obvious choice in the particular method of construction. The claimed over-molding operation would simply have facilitated the joining of the contact pad to the moveable end of each leg of the multiple legs of the spring body.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PUBS 2010/0273565 to Stites et al (hereinafter referred to as “Stites”) in view of USPN 10,150,019 to Ines et al (hereinafter referred to as “Ines”).
As to claim 17, Stites shows that the spring body identified under claim 16 hereinabove has a spring width, a spring thickness and a spring length, but does not explicitly detail “wherein the spring length is in a range between 0.5 inch and 3.5 inches … wherein the spring width is in a range between 0.1 inch to 1.0 inch”, with the spring length and spring width referring to the respective length and width of each of the spring body multiple legs.
Ines teaches it to be old in the art to provide a spring mechanism (i.e., cantilevered tabs 921-924 are essentially springs) within a golf club head, wherein the width, thickness and length of the spring mechanism(s) may be dimensioned to provide the necessary spring flexure (i.e., see col. 12, line 35 through col. 13, line 20). In view of the teaching in Ines, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the club head in Stites by dimensioning the spring body multiple legs with any or all of a suitable length, width and thickness in order to alter the characteristics of the springs of the multiple legs for improved club head performance. Clearly, changing the lengths of the spring body multiple legs in Stites would have enabled one end of the spring body to be mounted at a different location within the club head. Clearly, changing the thickness and/or the width of the spring body multiple legs in Stites would have changed the flexure characteristics of the spring body to thus provide more or less vibration damping.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP H1142302 A to Ito Fumio (hereinafter referred to as “Fumio”) in view of US PUBS 2003/0190975 to Fagot.
As to claim 16, Fumio shows a golf club head (FIG. 1) comprising: a hollow golf club head body having an interior surface defining an enclosed interior cavity (FIG. 2); a pliant spring (11), comprising: a fixed end attached to an interior surface attachment location (i.e., the spring 11 is fixed adjacent the interior surface of the striking face along portion 6); multiple free ends (i.e., see ends of spring adjacent 7, 8) each with one of multiple contact pads in contact with (i.e., at each of the free ends, a spring support 7, 8 is provided; wherein these spring supports 7, 8 serve as the contact pads), but not attached to multiple contact locations other than the interior surface attachment location; and a spring body (the spring 11 includes a leaf spring body) between the fixed end and the free ends; wherein the spring body further comprises multiple legs between the fixed end and the multiple free ends (i.e., the leaf spring 11 may be construed as being attached at a fixed end adjacent the rear surface of the striking face, while one free end stems from the extension of the leaf spring 11 towards a first contact pad or spring support 7, and a second free end stems from the extension of the leaf spring 11 towards a second contact pad or spring support 8).
Even if one were to argue that Fumio does not show “multiple free ends”, note that the secondary reference to Fagot teaches that the leaf spring (12) may include several points of contact (i.e., paragraph [0044]). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the club head in Fumio by arranging the leaf spring (11) with multiple free ends in order to more selectively control the damping characteristics of the club head.
Fumio does not explicitly disclose a “single” fixed end, as it appears that Fumio does not clearly distinguish where the pliant spring is fixed. Instead, Fumio shows what may be considered to be a fixed end along a portion of the leaf spring construction adjacent to a rear surface of the striking face, as shown in FIGS. 2 and 4. Here, Fagot is cited to show that it is old in the art to provide a leaf spring construction for a resilient member that is situated within a hollow club head, wherein the leaf spring is attached at a single fixed end (i.e., see FIG. 2 and the fixed end 13 of leaf spring 12). In view of the teaching in Fagot, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the club head in Fumio by attaching the spring (11) to a single fixed end at an interior surface attachment location in order to more narrowly focus the preload of the leaf spring against the rear surface of the striking face at a specific location.
Further References of Interest
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
FIGS. 26-28 in Nicolette show bracket portions attached to a rear surface of the face portion;
Morales (‘601) shows a flexure structure that includes a free and a fixed end (FIG. 5);
Morales (221) shows a resilient bracing structure in FIGS. 12-13;
See FIGS. 10-11 in Finn;
FIG. 2 in Consiglio;
Note the attachment of the spring (20) in FIG. 2 oof Chen;
Sung shows a spring disposed to the rear of the striking surface;
See FIG. 1 in Doong;
Note FIG. 5 in Lu;
See the spring arrangement in FIG. 2 of CN-107837505-A;
See FIG. 2 in CN-107982876-A;
Note FIG. 2 in JP-2019118774-A; and
See the multiple springs in FIGS. 7-8 in KR-20220130372-A.
Conclusion
SEBASTIANO PASSANITI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3711
/SEBASTIANO PASSANITI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711