DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (US 20180110484).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi teaches a compression member that puts a breast into a compressed state (figure 8), comprising:
a contact surface 22Btm with the breast; and
an outer surface 22Bck facing the contact surface,
wherein: an uneven structure is provided in at least a part of a region on each of the contact surface and the outer surface, and a maximum height roughness and an average length of the uneven structure are more than 0 μm and equal to or less than 20 μm (para 31).
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi teaches the uneven structure is provided in at least a part of a region on at least the contact surface (figure 8).
Regarding claim 3, Kobayashi teaches a compression member that puts a breast into a compressed state, comprising:
a contact surface 22Btm with the breast; and an outer surface 22Bck facing the contact surface, wherein: an uneven structure is provided in at least a part of a region on each of the contact surface and the outer surface, and a maximum height roughness and an average length of the uneven structure are smaller than a wavelength of an ultrasound wave (a range of 0.1 μm to 2 μm, para 31).
Regarding claim 4, Kobayashi teaches at least one of a shape of unevenness, a maximum height roughness, or an average length is different between the uneven structure provided on the contact surface and the uneven structure provided on the outer surface (figure 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 5-6 and 10, the prior art fails to teach an uneven structure is provided in at least a part of a region on each of the contact surface and the outer surface; and an ultrasound probe disposed between the radiation source and the compression member, wherein a maximum height roughness and an average length of the uneven structure are equal to or less than 1/10 of a wavelength of an ultrasound wave emitted by the ultrasound probe as claimed in independent claims 5 and 10.
Regarding claims 7-9, the prior art fails to teach applying a gel-like or liquid-like medium having ultrasound transmittance to a portion of an uneven structure in a compression member that puts a breast into a compressed state; and acquiring an ultrasound image of the breast put into the compressed state by the compression member in a state in which the medium is applied, via the compression member, wherein the compression member comprising: a contact surface with the breast; and an outer surface facing the contact surface, wherein the uneven structure is provided in at least a part of a region on at least one of the contact surface or the outer surface as claimed in independent claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts that Kobayashi fails to teach the uneven structure is provided in at least a port of a region of the outer surface. The examiner disagrees.
Kobayashi teaches the uneven structure (see where r_1 indicating area) is provided in at least a port of a region of the outer surface (22Bck) (figure 7). Thus, the applicant’s assertion is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOON K SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884