DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on 9/19/2024.
Claims 1-10 are examined.
Claims 1-6, 8-10 are rejected.
Claim 7 is objected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/19/2024. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by U.S. Publication 2024/020339 to Fitzgerald et al. (hereinafter known as “Fitzgerald”) and in view of U.S. Patent 10,936,714 to McIntosh et al. (hereinafter known as “McIntosh”).
As per claim 1 Fitzgerald teaches, a data security management control system, comprising at least two user terminals, wherein the user terminals are installed with a file management system;
the file management system of one of the user terminals receives file management information corresponding to an original file, and encapsulates the original file and the file management information into a composite file according to a preset file format (Fitzgerald para 19 teaches the PE file format is a data structure that encapsulates executable code with the information necessary for an operating system (OS) to manage the encapsulated or wrapped executable code);
the file management system of at least one of the other user terminals reads the file management information in the composite file, and (Fitzgerald para 32-33 teaches where the first FPS 102, the second FPS 104, and the third FPS 106 can be instances of each other, where one(s) of the first FPS 102, the second FPS 104, and/or the third FPS 106 are different from one or more of the FPS 102, 104, 106).
Fitzgerald does not teach McIntosh teaches,
uses the original file according to the file management information (McIntosh col 10 lines 45-65 teaches where original file formats such as .text, .init, .fini are utilized for file management which covers claimed limitation).
Fitzgerald-McIntosh are analogous art because they are from secure executable file function in network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Fitzgerald of detection of malware in executable files by analyzing file attributes (abstract) with teachings of McIntosh with analyzing of security tag in executable file (abstract). The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to prevent security breach by securing source code (McIntosh col 3 lines 26-35).
As per claim 2 combination of Fitzgerald – McIntosh teaches, the data security management control system according to claim 1, wherein the file management system of the user terminal stores the file management information in the composite file in the form of a file header; the file management system of the user terminal obtains the file management information by reading the file header of the composite file (Fitzgerald para 36, 39-40 teaches where PE (portable executable) files 124, 126 includes executable header, Compatible EXE header and section headers).
As per claim 3 combination of Fitzgerald – McIntosh teaches, the data security management control system according to claim 2, wherein the file header of the composite file comprises an information identification bit corresponding to file management information;
the file management system of the user terminal identifies the information identification bit in the composite file, and reads the file management information corresponding to the information identification bit (Fitzgerald para 36, 39-40 teaches the PE files 124, 126 includes optional header magic number where the PE files 124, 126 are images and/or PE32 or PE32+ executable includes a header with PE32 format).
As per claim 4 combination of Fitzgerald – McIntosh teaches, the data security management control system according to claim 1, wherein the file management information is file use permission information, and the file management system of the user terminal uses the original file within a permission range corresponding to the file use permission information (Fitzgerald para 20, 41-42 teaches where PE files execute the related functions based on permission(s) based on detection models).
As per claim 5 combination of Fitzgerald – McIntosh teaches, the data security management control system according to claim 1, wherein the system further comprises a server and the server is communicatively connected to each of the user terminals;
the server is configured to manage the user account corresponding to the file management system, the file management information, and the composite file (Fitzgerald para 27, 82-83 teaches servers are virtualizations of physical hardware servers with combination of physical hardware server(s) and/or virtualization(s) of the physical hardware server(s)).
Claim 6,
Claim 6 is rejected in accordance with claim 1.
Claim 8,
Claim 8 is rejected in accordance with claim 3.
Claim 9,
Claim 9 is rejected in accordance with claim 4.
As per claim 10 combination of Fitzgerald – McIntosh teaches, the data security management control method according to claim 9, wherein the file using permission information comprises at least one of a file viewing permission, a file editing permission, a file deleting permission, a file destroying permission, a file authorizing permission, and a file copying permission (Fitzgerald para 33 teaches first endpoint device 110 includes the OS 114 to access, execute, and/or instantiate files, such as the first file 120 and/or the second file 122, to perform and/or carry out operations ) .
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fitzgerald et al US Publication 20240202339
McIntosh et al US Patent 10936714
Stuntebeck et al US Patent 9813241
Tegegne et al US Publication 20170300702
Lyadvinsky et al US Patent 10181054
Panchapakesan et al US Patent 10108809
Salem et al US Patent 10762200
Conclusion
/VIRAL S LAKHIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431