DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species C, embodiment drawn to Figure 4, in the reply filed on 7/8/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-5, 9, 14, and 16-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/8/26.
With respect to the withdrawn claims not indicated as such by Applicant in the 7/8/26 reply, the Examiner respectfully notes the following:
Claim 3 is clearly drawn to the description of Figure 3 and/or 5 and non-elected Species B and/or D;
Claims 4-5 are clearly drawn to the description of Figure 6 and non-elected Species E; and
Claim 14 is clearly drawn to the description of Figure 5 and non-elected Species D.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-13, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: (i) the unnecessary capitalization of terms such as “Flexible Printed Circuit” instead of “flexible printed circuit” and “Bonding” and (ii) the introduction of acronyms without immediate or preceding explanation such as “FPC-sensor” instead of “FPC (flexible printed cirtui)-sensor”. Applicant’s attention is respectfully directed to similar throughout the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of “wherein on either side of the Flexible Printed Circuit there is provided with an electromagnetic shielding layer” appears to contain grammatical errors. Applicant may hae intended to positively recited “wherein the flexible printed circuit board is provided with an electromagnetic shielding layer on one side”, or the like. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 15 positively recites “an artificial intelligence assisted intracranial monitoring system”. Although the claims as filed and instant Specification positively recite “an artificial intelligence assisted intracranial monitoring system”, the disclosure appears devoid of any further description or specificity regarding the “artificial intelligence assisted” nature of the intracranial monitoring system. For example at least, no structure(s), programming and/or relationship(s) are provided with respect to the “artificial intelligence” and the intracranial monitoring system, let alone any sufficient specificity detailing how the intracranial monitoring system may be provided and/or configured with “artificial intelligence”. Conversely, it appears the “artificial intelligence” is a black-box as disclosed. The scope of the claim lacks written description given the lack of sufficient corresponding description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “strip-shaped” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “strip-shaped” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to what “strip-shaped” and/or what degree of “strip-shaped”-ness may be explicitly, implicitly, inherently, and/or inferentially required and/or excluded by the recitation of “strip-shaped”. Depending claims 2, 6-8, 10-13, and 15 inherit and do not remedy the indefiniteness.
The term “COF” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “COF” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to what “COF” and/or what degree of “COF” may be explicitly, implicitly, inherently, and/or inferentially required and/or excluded by the recitation of “COF”. Depending claims 2, 6-8, 10-13, and 15 inherit and do not remedy the indefiniteness.
The term “bare chips” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “bare chips” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to what “bare chips” and/or what degree of “bare”ness may be explicitly, implicitly, inherently, and/or inferentially required and/or excluded by the recitation of “bare chips”. Depending claims 2, 6-8, 10-13, and 15 inherit and do not remedy the indefiniteness.
The term “electromagnetically compatible” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “electromagnetically compatible” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to what “electromagnetically compatible” and/or what degree of “electromagnetically compatibility” may be explicitly, implicitly, inherently, and/or inferentially required and/or excluded by the recitation of “electromagnetically compatible”. Depending claims 2, 6-8, 10-13, and 15 inherit and do not remedy the indefiniteness.
The term “substantially” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to what “substantially” the same and/or what degree of “substantially” same-ness may be explicitly, implicitly, inherently, and/or inferentially required and/or excluded by the recitation of “substantially”. Depending claims 2, 6-8, 10-13, and 15 inherit and do not remedy the indefiniteness.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the minimum spacings" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 positively recites “an artificial intelligence assisted intracranial monitoring system”. Although the claims as filed and instant Specification positively recite “an artificial intelligence assisted intracranial monitoring system”, the disclosure appears devoid of any further description or specificity regarding the “artificial intelligence assisted” nature of the intracranial monitoring system. For example at least, no structure(s), programming and/or relationship(s) are provided with respect to the “artificial intelligence” and the intracranial monitoring system, let alone any sufficient specificity detailing how the intracranial monitoring system may be provided and/or configured with “artificial intelligence”. Conversely, it appears the “artificial intelligence” is a black-box as disclosed. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to what may be explicitly, implicitly, inherently, and/or inferentially required and/or excluded by the recitation of “artificial intelligence assisted”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, 10-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chan et al. (US 2016/0135749 A1, hereinafter Chan).
For claim 1, Chan discloses a probe assembly (1200) for an intracranial monitoring system (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]), the probe assembly including inter alia:
a catheter (1210) (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]) having a hollow cavity extending between a front end and a rear end of the catheter, the front end being configured to insert into the skull of a monitored person (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]); and
an FPC-sensor (100) integrated probe sealingly arranged within the hollow cavity of the catheter (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]), wherein the FPC-sensor integrated probe comprises:
an absolute pressure sensor chip (120) arranged for monitoring of intracranial pressure of the monitored person (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]);
a temperature sensor chip (114) arranged for monitoring intracranial temperature of the monitored person (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]);
a signal chain chip (126) (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]); and
a strip-shaped Flexible Printed Circuit (110) (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]);
wherein the absolute pressure sensor chip, the temperature sensor chip, and the signal chain chip are COF encapsulated in bare chips onto the Flexible Printed Circuit (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]);
wherein the absolute pressure sensor chip, the temperature sensor chip and the signal chain chip are positioned on the Flexible Printed Circuit such that their operating ambient temperatures are substantially the same (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]);
wherein the Flexible Printed Circuit is designed to further integrate a power line (1242) and a signal transmission line (1246), such that the Flexible Printed Circuit has power transmission and signal transmission function (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]);
wherein the Flexible Printed Circuit is electromagnetically compatible (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]); and
wherein the length of the strip-shaped Flexible Printed Circuit is more than 80 mm (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]).
For claim 2, Chan discloses the probe assembly according to claim 1, wherein the absolute pressure sensor chip, the temperature sensor chip, and the signal chain chip are integrated and encapsulated on an end of the Flexible Printed Circuit which is located at the front end of the catheter (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]).
For claim 6, Chan discloses the probe assembly according to claim 1, wherein the minimum spacings between the absolute pressure sensor chip and the signal chain chip, and between the temperature sensor chip and the signal chain chip, are respectively no greater than 2 mm (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]).
For claim 7, Chan discloses the probe assembly according to claim 1, wherein the width of the strip-shaped Flexible Printed Circuit is less than 3 mm (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]).
For claim 8, Chan discloses the probe assembly according to claim 7, wherein the width of the strip-shaped Flexible Printed Circuit is less than 0.8 mm (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]).
For claim 10, Chan discloses the probe assembly according to claim 1, wherein the probe assembly is constructed such that the absolute pressure sensor protrudes from the front end of the catheter (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]).
For claim 11, Chan discloses the probe assembly according to claim 1, wherein the Flexible Printed Circuit is selected from a group consisting of a single-sided flexible circuit board and a double-sided flexible circuit board, and wherein on either side of the Flexible Printed Circuit there is provided with an electromagnetic shielding layer (314,315) (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]).
For claim 12, Chan discloses the probe assembly according to claim 11, wherein the Flexible Printed Circuit is a double-sided flexible circuit board fabricated from a flexible copper clad laminate (314,315), wherein the absolute pressure sensor chip, the temperature sensor chip, the signal chain chip and the signal transmission line are arranged on a front side of the double-sided flexible circuit board, and the power line is arranged on an opposite back side of the double-sided flexible circuit board (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]).
For claim 13, Chan discloses the probe assembly according to claim 11, wherein the electromagnetic shielding layer is selected from at least one of the following: a silver foil, a copper foil, a silver-containing coating, and a copper coating (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]).
For claim 15, Chan discloses the probe assembly according to claim 1, wherein the intracranial monitoring system is an artificial intelligence assisted intracranial monitoring system, and wherein the catheter is a neurophysiological monitoring catheter (Figs 1-5, 11-13, especially Figs 12A-12C) ([0064-0093, especially 0087-0093]).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for configuring an intracranial physiology monitoring catheter.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791