DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
This application is a continuation of U.S. patent application no. 17/349,944 (now abandoned) that claims priority to U.S. patent application no. 15/613,262 (now abandoned) that claims priority to Taiwan Patent Application No. 105136754 filed on 11/11/2016, and as shown in the file history of application no. 15/613,262 on 08/14/2017 the USPTO electronically received a certified copy of this document. Thus, on the office action summary sheet examiner has checked off the box “all” certified copies have been received at this time.
Specification Objections
The abstract needs to be amended to: (i) remove the phrase “is provided” so that the abstract is clear and concise (see MPEP Section 608, especially – “It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as ‘The disclosure concerns’”); and (ii) remove both “A method for configuring an optical input device” (see MPEP Section 608, especially – “The language…should not repeat information given in the title”).
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 12 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 at line 3 includes spacing between “sensor” and “;” that can be
corrected, for example, by amending it to “sensor;”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 at line 6 includes “the sensed value upper limit” that lacks antecedent basis. This objection may be overcome, for example, by amending it to “a sensed value upper limit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 at line 4 includes spacing between “sensor” and “;” that can be
corrected, for example, by amending it to “sensor;”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
7. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word "means," but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure
to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/ are: a parameter setting unit, arranged to adjust an optical setting of the sensing device to obtain an optimal dynamic range of the sensing device; and a threshold setting unit, arranged to determine a valid input threshold corresponding to the optical input device based on the optimal dynamic range, wherein the optical input device is a button of a computer keyboard in claim 10.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
9. Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 6,229,081 B1 to Ura et al. (“Ura”).
As to claim 1, Ura discloses a method of configuring an optical input device(each of: 3a/90 and 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90e, 90f, 90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39), the optical input device(each of: 3a/90 and 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90e, 90f, 90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) including a movable unit(each of: 3a/90a and 3b/90a)(FIG. 3-4; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) and a sensing device(90b-90h)(FIG. 3-4: 90a; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39), the movable unit(each of: 3a/90a and 3b/90a)(FIG. 3-4: Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) being arranged to move within a predetermined movement range (FIGs. 2-4: each 90a; col 2, ln 30-49; col 9, ln 9-12), the sensing device(90b-90h)(FIG. 3-4: 90a; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) being arranged to detect a position within the predetermined movement range (FIGs. 2-4: 90b-90h; col 2, ln 30-49; col 9, ln 9-12; col 12, ln 13-17) at which the movable unit(each of: 3a/90a and 3b/90a)(FIG. 3-4; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 9, ln 9-12; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) is located (FIG. 2-4: 90a, 90b-90h; Abstract; col 2, ln 30-49; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 9, ln 9-12; col 12, ln 13-17; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39),
the method (FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90b-90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) comprising: adjusting an optical setting of the sensing device(90b-90h)(FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90b-90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) to obtain an optimal dynamic range of the sensing device(90b-90h)(FIG. 3-4: 90a; col 15, ln 60 to col 16, ln 6); and determining a valid input threshold (FIGs. 2-4: 90a, 90b-90h; col 6, ln 26-38; col 12, ln 13-17; col 15, ln 60 to col 16, ln 6col 16, ln 36-43, 49-53 – FIG. 2 shows the relationship between the relative output level SAR and the position of the current key/shutter {each of: 3a/90a & 3b/90a} that includes a valid threshold of the optical input {e.g., LR, LE}. Thus, by calculating the relative output level SAR based on the optimal dynamic range, a valid input threshold of the optical input device is determined based on the optimal dynamic range.) of the optical input device(each of: 3a/90 and 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90b-90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) based on the optimal dynamic range (FIG. 3-4: 90b-90h, col 15, ln 60 to col 16, ln 6), wherein the optical input device(each of: 3a/90 and 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90b-90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) is a button1(each of: 3a/90 and 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90b-90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) of a computer keyboard2(3)(FIGs. 3-4: 100a, 100b; col 5, ln 7-9, especially – “keyboard 3”; col 6, ln 26-29, 0058-0065, especially – “the music data codes are stored in a suitable memory such as, for example, a floppy disk 110”; col 7, ln 5-23).
As to claim 2, Ura discloses the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Ura further discloses wherein the step of adjusting the optical setting (FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90b-90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) comprises: determining an optimal light intensity corresponding to a light source(90c)(FIG. 4; col 6, ln 22-38) of the sensing device(90b-90h)(FIG. 3-4: 90a; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) according to a sensed value that is obtained when the movable unit(each of: 3a/90a and 3b/90a)(FIG. 3-4; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) is located at a specific position (FIGs. 2-4: each of: 3a/90 and 3b/90, 90c; FIG. 2-4: Abstract; col 2, ln 30-49; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 9, ln 9-12; col 12, ln 13-17; col 13, ln 8-15, col 15, ln 31-39, col 15, ln 60 to col 16, ln 6 – as shown in FIG. 2, the upper limit of the key position signals S1 is defined as an optical sensed value that is obtained when the movable unit {FIGs. 3-4: each of: 3a/90 and 3b/90} is located at a specific rest position KR. Thus, by controlling the light intensity so that “the key position signals S1 in the full dynamic range of the analog-to digital converter 100j without exceeding it” an optimal light intensity corresponding to a light source of the sensing device is determined according to an optical sensed value that is obtained when the movable unit is located at a specific position KR).
As to claim 3, Ura discloses the method of claim 2, as applied above.
Ura further discloses wherein the step of determining the optimal light intensity (FIGs. 2-4: each of: 3a/90 and 3b/90, 90c; FIG. 2-4: Abstract; col 2, ln 30-49; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 9, ln 9-12; col 12, ln 13-17; col 13, ln 8-15, col 15, ln 31-39, col 15, ln 60 to col 16, ln 6 – as shown in FIG. 2, the upper limit of the key position signals S1 is defined as an optical sensed value that is obtained when the movable unit {FIGs. 3-4: each of: 3a/90 and 3b/90} is located at a specific rest position KR. Thus, by controlling the light intensity so that “the key position signals S1 in the full dynamic range of the analog-to digital converter 100j without exceeding it” an optimal light intensity corresponding to a light source of the sensing device is determined according to an optical sensed value that is obtained when the movable unit is located at a specific position KR) comprises: obtaining the sensed value based on a current light intensity of the light source; determining whether the sensed value is equal to a sensed value upper limit; setting the current light intensity to be the optimal light intensity when the sensed value is equal to the sensed value upper limit; and increasing the current light intensity when the sensed value is lower than the sensed value upper limit (See col 15, ln 60 to col 16, ln 6 – the sensed value (S1) based on a current light intensity of the light source is obtained and the current light intensity is controlled so “every light-emitting diode 90c radiates the light under the optimum electric conditions, and key sensors 90 swing the key position signals S1 in the full dynamic range of the analog-to-digital converter 110j without exceeding it”, corresponds to the claimed process of determining whether the sensed value is equal to a sensed value upper limit; setting the current light intensity to be the optimal light intensity when the sensed value is equal to the sensed value upper limit; and increasing the current light intensity when the sensed value is lower than the sensed value upper limit. In other words, the light intensity is controlled so that in FIG. 2 the output level at the rest position KR does not exceed the full dynamic range of the analog-to-digital converter 100j).
As to claim 4, Ura discloses the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Ura further discloses wherein the step of adjusting the optical setting of the sensing device comprises: determining an optimal light sensitivity corresponding to a sensor of the sensing device according to a sensed value that is obtained when the movable unit is located at a specific position (See col 16, ln 9-27 – the sensed value is obtained when the movable unit is located at a specific position (the binary value a digital key position signal S4) is used to determine an optimal light sensitivity corresponding to the sensor of the sensing device that is reflected in an optimal range of binary values of the analog-to-digital converter 100j).
As to claim 5, Ura discloses the method of claim 4, as applied above.
Ura further discloses wherein the step of determining the optimal light sensitivity comprises: obtaining the sensed value based on a current light sensitivity of the sensor ; comparing the sensed value with a sensed value upper limit; decreasing the current light sensitivity when the sensed value is equal to the sensed value upper limit (See col 16, ln 9-27 – the sensed value (the binary value of a digital key position signal S4) based on a current light sensitivity of the sensor is obtained, the current light sensitivity is controlled so “the associated digital key position signals S4 swings the binary values under the upper limit” corresponds to the claimed process of comparing the sensed value with a sensed value upper limit; decreasing the current light sensitivity when the sensed value is equal to the sensed value upper limit); and increasing the current light sensitivity when the sensed value is lower than the sensed value upper limit (See column 16, ln 26-36).
As to claim 6, Ura discloses the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Ura further discloses wherein the step of determining the valid input threshold corresponding to the optical input device comprises: setting a sensed value to be the valid input threshold, wherein the sensed value is obtained when the movable unit is located at a specific position within the predetermined movement range (See FIG. 2 and col 16, ln 36-43 and 49-58 – a sensed value LR is set to be the valid input threshold, wherein the sensed value is obtained when the movable unit is located at a specific position within the predetermined movement range (i.e., at a rest position)).
As to claim 7, Ura discloses the method of claim 1, as applied above.
Ura further discloses wherein the step of determining the valid input threshold corresponding to the optical input device comprises: determining a sensed value upper limit and a sensed value lower limit of the optimal dynamic range; and determining a correspondence between each sensed value and each position of the movable unit within the predetermined movement range (See FIG. 2 and column 16, ln 36-43 and 49-58 – a sensed value upper limit (LR) and a sensed value lower limit (LE) of the optical dynamic range are determined, and according to the cited portion a correspondence between each sensed value and each position of the movable unit within the predetermined movement range is determined (“The central processing unit 100a stores the relation between the relative output level SAR and the current shutter/key position, and determines the current shutter/key position on the basis of the relative output level SAR”)).
As to claim 8, Ura discloses the method of claim 7, as applied above.
Ura further discloses wherein the step of determining the valid input threshold corresponding to the optical input device comprises: referring to the correspondence to obtain a specific sensed value corresponding to a specific position of the movable unit within the predetermined movement range; and configuring the valid input threshold according to the specific sensed value (See FIG. 2; col 16, ln 36-43 and 49-58 – according to the cited portion the correspondence is referred to obtain a specific sensed value corresponding to a specific position of the movable unit within the predetermined movement range, and referring to FIG. 2 the valid input threshold LR is configured according to the specific sensed value at the rest position).
As to claim 9, Ura discloses the method of claim 7, as applied above.
Ura further discloses wherein the step of determining the valid input threshold corresponding to the optical input device comprises: recording a plurality of stop positions of the movable unit (See col 13, ln 52-67 – a plurality of stop positions of the movable unit are recorded (rest positions and end positions); determining a common position based on the plurality of stop positions; referring to the correspondence to obtain a specific sensed value corresponding to the common position; and configuring the valid input threshold according to the specific sensed value (See FIG. 2 and col 16, ln 36-43 and 49-58 – according to the cited portion, a common position is determined based on the plurality of stop positions (i.e., a rest position is a common position) and the correspondence is referred to obtain a specific sensed value corresponding to the common position (LR). Referring to FIG. 2, the valid input threshold LR is configured according to the specific sensed value at the common position).
As to claim 10, Ura discloses a configuration device (See col 7, ln 5-32; col 15, ln 60 to col 16, ln 6; col 16, ln 9-21) for configuring an optical input device(each of: 3a/90 and 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90e, 90f, 90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39), the optical input device(each of: 3a/90 and 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90e, 90f, 90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) including a movable unit(each of: 3a/90a and 3b/90a)(FIG. 3-4; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) and a sensing device(90b-90h)(FIG. 3-4: 90a; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39), the movable unit(each of: 3a/90a and 3b/90a)(FIG. 3-4: Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) being arranged to move within a predetermined movement range (FIGs. 2-4: 90a; col 2, ln 30-49; col 9, ln 9-12), the sensing device(90b-90h)(FIG. 3-4: 90a; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) being arranged to detect a position within the predetermined movement range (FIGs. 2-4: 90b-90h; col 2, ln 30-49; col 9, ln 9-12; col 12, ln 13-17) at which the movable unit(each of: 3a/90a and 3b/90a)(FIG. 3-4; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 9, ln 9-12; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) is located (FIG. 2-4: 90a, 90b-90h; Abstract; col 2, ln 30-49; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 9, ln 9-12; col 12, ln 13-17; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39), the configuration device (See col 7, ln 5-32; col 15, ln 60 to col 16, ln 6; col 16, ln 9-21) comprising:
a parameter setting unit, which is being interpreted as a hardware component running software to perform the claimed functions and the equivalents per MPEP Section 2181 (See applicant’s [0018])(col 7, ln 5-32, especially – “controller 100”), arranged to adjust an optical setting of the sensing device to obtain an optimal dynamic range of the sensing device (See col 15, ln 60 to col 16, ln 6; col 16, ln 9-21); and
a threshold setting unit, which is being interpreted as a hardware component running software to perform the claimed functions and the equivalents per MPEP Section 2181 (See applicant’s [0018])(col 7, ln 5-32, especially – “controller 100”), arranged to determine a valid input threshold corresponding to the optical input device(3a/90 and 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90e, 90f, 90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) based on the optimal dynamic range (FIG. 2 and col 16, ln 36-43 and 49-58 – FIG. 2 shows the relation between the relative output level SAR and the current key/shutter position that includes a valid input threshold of the optical input (e.g., LR, LE). Therefore, by calculating the relative output level SAR based on the optical dynamic range, a valid input threshold of the optical input device is determined based on the optical dynamic range), wherein the optical input device is a button(each of: 3a/90 and 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90b-90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) of a computer keyboard(3)(FIGs. 3-4: 100a, 100b; col 5, ln 7-9; col 6, ln 26-29; col 7, ln 5-23).
As to claim 11, Ura discloses the configuration device of claim 10, as applied above.
Ura further discloses wherein the parameter setting unit, which is being interpreted as a hardware component running software to perform the claimed functions and the equivalents per MPEP Section 2181 (See applicant’s [0018])(col 7, ln 5-32, especially – “controller 100”) is arranged to determine an optimal light intensity corresponding to a light source of the sensing device according to a sensed value that is obtained when the movable unit is located at a specific position (FIG. 2; col 15, ln 60 to col 16, ln 6 – FIG. 2 shows that the upper limit of the key position signals S1 is defined as a sensed value that is obtained when the movable unit is located at a specific rest position KR. Therefore, by controlling the light intensity so that “the key position signals S1 in the full dynamic range of the analog-to-digital converter 100j without exceeding it” an optimal light intensity corresponding to a light source of the sensing device is determined according to a sensed value that is obtained when the movable unit is located at a specific position (KR)).
As to claim 12, Ura discloses the configuration device of claim 11, as applied above.
Ura further discloses wherein the parameter setting unit, which is being interpreted as a hardware component running software to perform the claimed functions and the equivalents per MPEP Section 2181 (See applicant’s [0018])(col 7, ln 5-32, especially – “controller 100”) is arranged to: obtain the sensed value based on a current light intensity of the light source; set the current light intensity to be the optimal light intensity when the sensed value is equal to the sensed value upper limit; and increase the current light intensity when the sensed value is lower than the sensed value upper limit (See col 15, ln 60 to col 16, ln 6 – the sensed value (S1) based on a current light intensity of the light source is obtained, and the current light intensity is controlled so “every light-emitting diode 90c radiates the light under the optimum electric conditions, and the key sensors 90 swing the key position signals S1 in the full dynamic range of the analog-to-digital converter 100j without exceeding it” corresponds to the claimed process of obtain the sensed value based on a current light intensity of the light source; set the current light intensity to be the optimal light intensity when the sensed value is equal to the sensed value upper limit; and increase the current light intensity when the sensed value is lower than the sensed value upper limit. In other words, the light intensity is controlled so that in FIG. 2 the output level at the rest position KR does not exceed the full dynamic range of the analog-to-digital converter 100j).
As to claim 13, Ura discloses the configuration device of claim 10, as applied above.
Ura further discloses wherein the parameter setting unit, which is being interpreted as a hardware component running software to perform the claimed functions and the equivalents per MPEP Section 2181 (See applicant’s [0018])(col 7, ln 5-32, especially – “controller 100”) is arranged to determine an optimal light sensitivity corresponding to a sensor of the sensing device according to a sensed value that is obtained when the movable unit is located at a specific position (See col 16, ln 9-27 – the sensed value that is obtained when the movable unit is located at a specific position (the binary value of a digital key position signal S4) is used to determine an optical light sensitivity corresponding to a sensor of the sensing device, which is reflected in an optimal range of binary values of the analog-to-digital converter 100j).
As to claim 14, Ura discloses the configuration device of claim 13, as applied above.
Ura further discloses wherein the parameter setting unit, which is being interpreted as a hardware component running software to perform the claimed functions and the equivalents per MPEP Section 2181 (See applicant’s [0018])(col 7, ln 5-32, especially – “controller 100”) is arranged to: obtain the sensed value based on a current light sensitivity of the sensor ; compare the sensed value with a sensed value upper limit; decrease the current light sensitivity when the sensed value is equal to the sensed value upper limit (See col 16, ln 9-27: the sensed value (the binary value of a digital key position signal S4) based on a current light sensitivity of the sensor is obtained, and the current light sensitivity is controlled so “the associated digital key position signals S4 swings the binary values under the upper limit” corresponds to the claimed process of obtain the sensed value based on a current light sensitivity of the sensor ; compare the sensed value with a sensed value upper limit; decrease the current light sensitivity when the sensed value is equal to the sensed value upper limit); and increase the current light sensitivity when the sensed value is lower than the sensed value upper limit (See col 16, ln 26-36).
As to claim 15, Ura discloses the configuration device of claim 10, as applied above.
Ura further discloses wherein the threshold setting unit, which is being interpreted as a hardware component running software to perform the claimed functions and the equivalents per MPEP Section 2181 (See applicant’s [0018])(col 7, ln 5-32, especially – “controller 100”) is arranged to set a sensed value to be the valid input threshold, wherein the sensed value is obtained when the movable unit is located at a specific position within the predetermined movement range (See FIG. 2 and col 16, ln 36-43 and 49-53: a sensed value LR is set to be the valid input threshold, wherein the sensed value is obtained when the movable unit is located at a specific position within the predetermined movement range (i.e., at a rest position).
As to claim 16, Ura discloses the configuration device of claim 10, as applied above.
Ura further discloses wherein the threshold setting unit, which is being interpreted as a hardware component running software to perform the claimed functions and the equivalents per MPEP Section 2181 (See applicant’s [0018])(col 7, ln 5-32, especially – “controller 100”) is arranged to determine a sensed value upper limit and a sensed value lower limit of the optimal dynamic range; and determine a correspondence between each sensed value and each position of the movable unit within the predetermined movement range (See FIG. 2 and col 16, ln 36-43 and 49-58: a sensed value upper limit and a sensed value lower limit (LE) of the optimal dynamic range are determined, and according to the cited portion a correspondence between each sensed value and each position of the movable unit within the predetermined movement range is determined (“The central processing unit 100a stores the relation between the relative output level SAR and the current shutter/key position, and determines the current shutter/key position on the basis of the relative output level SAR”)).
As to claim 17, Ura discloses the configuration device of claim 16, as applied above.
Ura further discloses wherein the threshold setting unit, which is being interpreted as a hardware component running software to perform the claimed functions and the equivalents per MPEP Section 2181 (See applicant’s [0018])(col 7, ln 5-32, especially – “controller 100”) is arranged to refer to the correspondence to obtain a specific sensed value corresponding to a specific position of the movable unit within the predetermined movement range; and configure the valid input threshold according to the specific sensed value (See FIG. 2 and col 16, ln 36-43 and 49-58: according to the cited portion, the correspondence is referred to obtain a specific sensed value corresponding to a specific position of the movable unit within the predetermined movement range, and in FIG. 2 the valid input threshold LR is configured according to the specific sensed value at the rest position).
As to claim 18, Ura discloses the configuration device of claim 16, as applied above.
Ura further discloses wherein the threshold setting unit, which is being interpreted as a hardware component running software to perform the claimed functions and the equivalents per MPEP Section 2181 (See applicant’s [0018])(col 7, ln 5-32, especially – “controller 100”) is arranged to: record a plurality of stop positions of the movable unit (See col 13, ln 52-67: a plurality of stop positions of the movable unit are recorded (rest positions and end positions); determine a common position based on the plurality of stop positions; refer to the correspondence to obtain a specific sensed value corresponding to the common position; and configure the valid input threshold according to the specific sensed value (See col 16, ln 36-43 and 49-58: according to the cited portion, a common position is determined based on the plurality of stop positions (i.e., a rest position is a common position), and the correspondence is referred to obtain a specific sensed value corresponding to the common position (LR). Referring to FIG. 2, the valid input threshold LR is configured according to the specific sensed value at the common position).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,229,081 B1 to Ura et al. (“Ura”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2003/0208324 A1 to Bellwood.
As to claim 19, Ura discloses a method of configuring an optical input system(3 including multiple ones of 3a/90 and multiple ones of 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90e, 90f, 90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 5, ln 7-8, col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39), wherein the optical input system(3 including multiple ones of 3a/90 and multiple ones of 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90e, 90f, 90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 5, ln 7-8, col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39 (FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90e, 90f, 90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) includes a plurality of optical input devices(two out of: multiple ones of 3a/90 and multiple ones of 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90e, 90f, 90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39), each optical input device(each of the two out of: multiple ones of 3a/90 and multiple ones of 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90e, 90f, 90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) includes a movable unit(each of the two out of: multiple ones of 3a/90 and multiple ones of 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) and a sensing device(90b-90h)(FIG. 3-4: 90a; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39), the movable unit(each of the two out of: multiple ones of 3a/90 and multiple ones of 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) is arranged to move within a predetermined movement range (FIGs. 2-4: 90a; col 2, ln 30-49; col 9, ln 9-12), the sensing device(90b-90h)(FIG. 3-4: 90a; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) is arranged to detect a position within the predetermined movement range (FIGs. 2-4: 90b-90h; col 2, ln 30-49; col 9, ln 9-12; col 12, ln 13-17) at which the movable unit(each of the two out of: 3a/90a and 3b/90a)(FIG. 3-4; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 9, ln 9-12; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) is located (FIG. 2-4: 90a, 90b-90h; Abstract; col 2, ln 30-49; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 9, ln 9-12; col 12, ln 13-17; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39), and the method (FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90e, 90f, 90h, multiple ones of 3a/90 and multiple ones of 3b/90; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) comprises:
with respect to each optical input device(each of the two out of: multiple ones of 3a/90 and multiple ones of 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90e, 90f, 90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39), adjusting an optical setting of the sensing device(90b-90h)(FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90b-90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) to obtain an optimal dynamic range of the sensing device(90b-90h)(FIG. 3-4: 90a; col 15, ln 60 to col 16, ln 6); and
determining a valid input threshold (FIGs. 2-4: 90a, 90b-90h; col 6, ln 26-38; col 12, ln 13-17; col 15, ln 60 to col 16, ln 6col 16, ln 36-43, 49-53 – FIG. 2 shows the relationship between the relative output level SAR and the position of the current key/shutter {each of: 3a/90a & 3b/90a} that includes a valid threshold of the optical input {e.g., LR, LE}. Thus, by calculating the relative output level SAR based on the optimal dynamic range, a valid input threshold of the optical input device is determined based on the optimal dynamic range.) corresponding to each optical input device(each of the two out of: 3a/90 and 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90b-90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) based on the optimal dynamic range (FIG. 3-4: 90b-90h, col 15, ln 60 to col 16, ln 6) of each optical input device(each of the two out of: 3a/90 and 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90b-90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39);
wherein the plurality of optical input devices(two out of: multiple ones of 3a/90 and multiple ones of 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90e, 90f, 90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) correspond to an input threshold (FIGs. 2-4: 90a, 90b-90h; col 6, ln 26-38; col 12, ln 13-17; col 15, ln 60 to col 16, ln 6col 16, ln 36-43, 49-53 – FIG. 2 shows the relationship between the relative output level SAR and the position of the current key/shutter {each of: 3a/90a & 3b/90a} that includes a valid threshold of the optical input {e.g., LR, LE}. Thus, by calculating the relative output level SAR based on the optimal dynamic range, a valid input threshold of the optical input device is determined based on the optimal dynamic range.), wherein the optical input system(3 including multiple ones of 3a/90 and multiple ones of 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90e, 90f, 90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 5, ln 7-8, col 6, ln 22-38; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39) is a computer keyboard(3 including multiple ones of 3a/90 and multiple ones of 3b/90)(FIG. 3-4: 90a, 90e, 90f, 90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 5, ln 7-8, col 6, ln 22-38, 58-68; col 13, ln 8-9; col 15, ln 31-39).
Ura does not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of optical input devices correspond to at least two different valid input thresholds, respectively.
Bellwood discloses wherein the plurality of input devices correspond to at least two different valid input thresholds, respectively (¶0027).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ura with Bellwood to provide a method of configuring an optical input system that is adjustable based on how difficult it is for the user to depress each input device (¶0027 – different threshold levels may be set for different keys) by adjusting input thresholds for different input devices depending on how difficult it is for the user to depress the input device (¶0027).
Ura and Bellwood teach wherein the plurality of optical input devices correspond to at least two different valid input thresholds, respectively (Ura: FIGs. 2-4: two out of: multiple ones of 3a/90 and multiple ones of 3b/90, 90a, 90b-90h; Abstract; col 4, ln 56-59; col 6, ln 26-38; col 12, ln 13-17; col 13, ln 8-9, col 15, ln 31-39, col 15, ln 60 to col 16, ln 6col 16, ln 36-43, 49-53; Bellwood: ¶0027).
As to claim 20, Ura and Bellwood teach the method of claim 19, as applied above.
Ura and Bellwood further teach wherein the step of determining the valid input threshold corresponding to each optical input device comprises: determining the valid input threshold corresponding to each optical input device according to a relative location of each optical input device with respect to the optical input system (Ura: FIGs. 2-4: 90a, 90b-90h; col 6, ln 26-38; col 12, ln 13-17; col 15, ln 60 to col 16, ln 6col 16, ln 36-43, 49-53 – FIG. 2 shows the relationship between the relative output level SAR and the position of the current key/shutter {each of: 3a/90a & 3b/90a} that includes a valid threshold of the optical input {e.g., LR, LE}. Thus, by calculating the relative output level SAR based on the optimal dynamic range, a valid input threshold of the optical input device is determined based on the optimal dynamic range; Bellwood: ¶0027).
The motivation to combine the additional teachings of Bellwood is for the same reasoning set forth above for claim 19.
Other Relevant Prior Art
12. Other relevant prior art includes:
U.S. Patent No. 5,567,902 A to Kimble et al. discloses a sensing device(12)(FIG. 2; col 5, ln 15-24) being arranged to detect a position within a predetermined movement range at which a movable unit(40)(FIG. 2; col 5, ln 16-20) is located to generate an optical sensed value by measuring reflected light (FIGs. 5 and 7; col 9, ln 9-18) reflected off a bottom of the moveable unit (FIG. 2: 36 is reflected off a bottom of the moveable unit 40).
Conclusion
/KIRK W HERMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619
1 See e.g., the Cambridge Dictionary definition of button as “a switch that you press to control a piece of equipment”.
2 See e.g., the Cambridge Dictionary definition of computer as “an electronic machine that can store and arrange large amounts of information”.