DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-15, in the reply filed on 17 June 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,167,125 and claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,231. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims overlap in scope and claim the same novel features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rea et al. (US 2012/0130269; hereinafter “Rea”).
Regarding claim 1, Rea discloses a treatment applicator for delivery of electrical energy comprising: a treatment tip housing (e.g. Fig. 2); an electrode housing extending from a distal end of the treatment tip housing and configured to retract proximally into the treatment tip housing (e.g. Fig. 2G – where the examiner considers elements 51 and 56 to be components of the electrode housing); and a plurality of treatment electrodes at least partially within the electrode housing (e.g. ¶¶ 32-36; Fig. 2H; where the examiner notes 34-35 discuss a plurality of electrode configurations), wherein the electrode housing is configured to deploy the plurality of treatment electrodes by retracting proximally into the treatment tip housing when pushed against a tissue to be treated (e.g. ¶¶ 31-32 – where the insulative portion retracts in the proximal direction and remains at the skin surface).
Regarding claim 2, Rea discloses the device further comprising a bias exerting a bias return force on the electrode housing to oppose deploying and un-deploying of the plurality of treatment electrodes (e.g. ¶¶ 37 – “shaft 49 may be spring loaded..”).
Regarding claim 3, Rea discloses the bias comprises one or more of the following: a mechanical resistor, a spring, a detent, a catch, a piston, a mechanical dampener, a compressible material, a release, a friction release, a deflectable release, a frangible release, and a frictional coupling (e.g. ¶¶ 37 – “shaft 49 may be spring loaded..”).
Regarding claim 4, Rea discloses the plurality of treatment electrodes are non-penetrating electrodes (e.g. ¶¶ 22-23, 35).
Regarding claim 5, Rea discloses the electrical energy comprises electrical pulses (e.g. ¶¶ 39).
Regarding claim 6, Rea discloses the electrical pulses are microsecond or sub-microsecond electrical pulses (e.g. ¶¶ 39 – 1-50Hz).
Regarding claim 7, Rea discloses the device comprising a soft, electrically insulating material at a distal face of the electrode housing (e.g. ¶¶ 26).
Regarding claim 8, Rea discloses the soft, electrically insulating material comprises one or more of: silicon, santoprene, or other TPE (Thermoplastic Elastomer) materials (e.g. ¶¶ 26).
Regarding claim 10, Rea discloses the plurality of treatment electrodes comprises penetrating electrodes (e.g. ¶¶ 35).
Regarding claim 11, Rea discloses retracting proximally the electrode housing into the treatment tip housing causes distal ends of the plurality of treatment electrodes to penetrate the tissue to be treated (e.g. ¶¶ 24, 26, 32).
Regarding claim 12, Rea discloses the treatment tip housing comprises a control configured to allow an electrode length of the plurality of treatment electrodes to be adjusted (e.g. ¶¶ 36 - “handpiece 42 may be configured to limit the travel”).
Regarding claim 13, Rea discloses the plurality of treatment electrodes are fixed relative to the treatment tip housing (e.g. ¶¶ 22-23, 35).
Regarding claim 14, Rea discloses a release element configured to prevent the electrode housing from retracting proximally until the release element is released (e.g. ¶¶ 37 – “shaft 49 may be spring loaded such that user control 66 releases compressed spring energy to cause skin marker 47 to deploy distally”).
Regarding claim 15, Rea discloses the device has an un-deployed configuration in which distal ends of the plurality of electrodes are within the electrode housing and do not extend beyond a distal end face of the electrode housing, and a deployed configuration in which the plurality of electrodes extend beyond the distal end face of the electrode housing (e.g. ¶¶ 37 – “shaft 49 may be spring loaded such that user control 66 releases compressed spring energy to cause skin marker 47 to deploy distally”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In considering patentability of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103(a), the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned at the time any inventions covered therein were made absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and invention dates of each claim that was not commonly owned at the time a later invention was made in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 103(c) and potential 35 U.S.C. 102(e), (f) or (g) prior art under 35 U.S.C. 103(a).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rea. Rea discloses that element 51 is plastically deformable but fails to expressly disclose that it has a durometer of 60 or less on the Shore A hardness scale against the subject's tissue. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the element to have a specific durometer of 60 or less, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796