DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
IMAGE PROCESSING APPARATUS, CONTROL METHOD, AND NON-TRANSITORY COMPUTER-READABLE STORAGE MEDIUM COMPRISING DUPLICATING PAPER INFORMATION AND REGISTERING NEW PAPER INFORMATION BASED ON WHETHER OR NOT NAME OR OTHER PAPER INFORMATION IS CHANGED.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: generation unit in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. the phrase “generation unit” invokes 112 (f). However, the specification does not disclose in prose or structure that serves as the generation unit. Thus, claim 6 does comply with the written description requirement. Claims 7-10 are rejected based on their dependency.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The phrase “generation unit” renders claim 6 indefinite. This is not found within the specification. The specification is considered to fail to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter within the claimed invention. Claims 7-10 are rejected based on their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kimura (US Pub 2019/0114519).
Re claim 1: Kimura discloses an image processing apparatus in which paper information is registrable, comprising:
a memory; and a processor connected to the memory (e.g. the system includes a processor and memory, which is taught in ¶ [170].),
[0170] The present disclosure can be implemented by processing including supplying a program implementing one or more functions of the aforementioned embodiments to a system or an apparatus over a network or through a storage medium and reading and executing the program by one or more processors in a computer in the system or the apparatus. Alternatively, it can be implemented by a circuit (such as an ASIC) implementing the one or more functions.
wherein the processor
sets predetermined information in the paper information (e.g. a user can set information that is associated with newly registered paper information, which is taught in ¶ [49] and [105].),
[0049] In S406, the controller 300 obtains a paper information list by communicating with the image forming apparatus 103. The paper information may include, for example, a paper name, parameters for printing (such as a grammage and a size of a paper to be displayed on an paper information input area 751, set values for adjustment of glossiness/black quality to be displayed on an adjustment item list 754), favorite IDs, usage logs, settable paper-feed stage IDs. If the paper information list is obtained in S406, the controller 300 controls the paper managing unit 353 to write the obtained paper information to the paper setting management table 1210. Then, the processing moves to S407. In S407, the controller 300 generates a paper information list to be displayed on a paper information list display area 731 of the paper information list screen 730. In the print control apparatus 102, the controller 300 can control the paper managing unit 353 to determine whether a paper-feed stage ID is settable for a paper-feed stage based on the obtained paper information or not. Alternatively, the controller 300 may control the paper managing unit 353 to inquire about whether the paper information obtained for the image forming apparatus 103 is settable for a paper-feed stage, and a settable paper-feed stage ID returned from the image forming apparatus 103 may be set. A usage log is information indicating the number of times of allocation of a paper information piece, and is set at zero when a paper information piece is created and increments when the paper information piece is allocated to a certain paper-feed stage.
[0105] Next, details of the paper information list screen will be described with reference to the paper information list screen 730 in FIG. 7A. In response to an instruction from the CPU 301, the paper information list screen 730 renders data in its video memory, and image data rendered in the video memory are output as a video signal to the display device 111 for display. The screen 730 displays the paper information list display area 731, a pull-down menu 732 for selecting a paper information list display method, a paper search input area 733, and buttons (paper add buttons) for adding a paper to a paper information list. The paper add button to be displayed may include a new registration button 734 for registering a new paper to the paper information list, a copy button 735 for copying an existing paper to the paper information list, and a registration button 736 for generating a paper from a paper information database.
registers the paper information (e.g. paper can be registered to a paper information list, which is taught in ¶ [105] above.), and
in the registration of the paper information, in a case where an operation capable of duplicating the paper information and registering new paper information is accepted and a name of the paper information is changed, sets the predetermined information in the new paper information and registers the new paper information based on the fact that the predetermined information is set in the paper information (e.g. the invention discloses a copy information button used to copy existing paper to the paper information list, which is taught in ¶ [105] above. The name of the copied paper information can be changed as well as other properties of the same paper with a changed name. This changed information can be registered based on the input of the newly registered button. The changing of the settings associated with the paper is taught in ¶ [83]-[86].).
[0083] Next, a favorite setting unit will be described. According to this embodiment, a favorite registering unit includes two execution units configured to set the paper setting screen 750 in FIG. 7B and configured to perform a defining operation by right-clicking on the paper information list screen 730 illustrated in FIG. 7A.
[0084] The unit for performing a defining operation on the paper setting screen 750 in FIG. 7B will be described. The paper setting screen 750 is a screen for newly registering a paper information piece and editing a registered paper information piece. The paper setting screen 750 includes a paper information input area 751, a paper information adjustment item list 754, a pull-down menu 755 for changing the displayed group of adjustment item lists, an OK button 756, and a cancel button 757.
[0085] The paper information input area 751 displays minimum setting items for handling a paper within the paper information. According to this embodiment, for example, the setting items to be displayed may include a name, a grammage, a color, a surface property, a size, a feature, double-sided/second surface, and favorites. Because this description focuses on favorites, the other setting items than favorites will be described only briefly. An object 761 is a text area in which a name of a paper can be input. In order to change the name, text can be input by using the keyboard 112 in the text area. For example, the text area may be blank for new registration and may display the name of the currently selected paper for editing. In order to reflect the changed information to the paper information, the OK button 756 on the paper setting screen 750 may be pressed. If the OK button 756 is pressed, the paper information regarding the print control apparatus 102 and the image forming apparatus 103 can be changed.
[0086] The OK button 756 on the paper setting screen 750 is pressed. If the cancel button 757 is pressed, a paper setting can be cancelled. An object 762 is a text area in which a grammage can be input. Because operations to be performed thereon are equivalent to those to be performed on the name text area being the object 761, any repetitive descriptions will be omitted. An object 763 is a pull-down menu displaying color information of a paper which can be selected from the list. An object 764 is a pull-down menu displaying a surface property information, which can be selected from the list. An object 765 is a pull-down menu list displaying size information of a sheet, which can be selected from the list. An object 766 is a text area in which lengths in main-scanning and sub-scanning directions of a sheet size, which can be input when a user defined size is selected in the object 765. The paper setting screen 750 is gray-out to prevent inputting because the sheet size is A4. The input units may include a button or buttons for switching between millimeter and inch. An object 767 is a pull-down menu list displaying characteristic information which can be selected from the list. An object 768 is a pull-down menu list displaying a flap position of an envelope, which can be selected from the list. The object 768 is a pull-down menu list which accepts an input if an envelope is selected in the object 767. An object 769 is a radio button displaying a double-sided/second surface information to switch between “set” and “not set”. The double-sided/second surface information is a setting for changing voltage of the transfer in a case where a sheet having a front side fixed is put to the corresponding paper-feed stage to fix its back side.
Re claim 2: Kimura discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in the registration of the paper information, in a case where the operation capable of duplicating the paper information and registering new paper information is accepted and at least one of setting values of the paper information is changed, the processor sets the predetermined information in the new paper information and registers the new paper information based on the fact that the predetermined information is set in the paper information (e.g. the user can select the copy button to copy an existing paper information to another paper entry. The user can select paper information by selecting the copied paper information and changing the paper information illustrated in figure 11B. The user can register the changed settings associated with the copied paper information. The name can be changed with the changed settings. This is taught in ¶ [49], [83]-[86] and [105] above.).
Re claim 3: The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in the registration of the paper information, in a case where the operation capable of duplicating the paper information and registering new paper information is accepted and a setting value of the paper information is not changed, the processor sets the predetermined information in the paper information and registers the paper information based on the fact that the predetermined information is set in the paper information (e.g. the user can copy or duplicate paper information in the system based on selecting a button (i.e. 735) illustrated in figure 7A. The user can change the name of the paper by selecting the paper and changing the name in the screen shown in figure 7B. The user can change the name of the paper and not change the other settings associated with the paper. The user can registers this sheet when selecting the newly registering button (i.e. 734). This is taught in ¶ [49], [83]-[86] and [105] above.).
Re claim 4: Kimura discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operation capable of duplicating the paper information and registering new paper information is an operation of browsing a setting value of the paper information (e.g. the user can browse the setting values of the paper information illustrated in figure 7B based on copying the paper information and selecting the copied information. The user can register this information, which is taught in ¶ [49], [83]-[86] and [105] above.).
Re claim 5: Kimura discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined information is at least favorite information (e.g. the invention discloses registering favorite information in the screen in figure 11B, which is taught in ¶ [69].).
[0069] First, a favorite managing unit will be described with reference to FIGS. 8A, 8B and 8C and FIGS. 11A and 11B. FIG. 8A illustrates a screen for editing a favorite group. FIG. 8B illustrates a screen for editing a favorite group. FIG. 8C illustrates a screen for editing a favorite group. According to this embodiment, a favorite management screen 810 in FIG. 8A corresponds to a managing unit for favorites. The favorite management screen 810 is displayed in response to a press of a favorite register/edit button 753 on the paper setting screen 750. It may be configured to shift from a setting screen displayed in response to a press of a setting button 712 on the top screen 710 to the favorite management screen 810.
Re claim 6: Kimura discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a generation unit that generates provisional paper information in a case where the operation capable of duplicating the paper information and registering new paper information is accepted and at least one of setting values of the paper information is changed (e.g. the system discloses copying paper information, changing paper information that can correspond with paper property information. The user can register this information with the initial change, which is taught in ¶ [49], [83]-[86] and [105] above.),
wherein in a case where an operation of registering the provisional paper information is accepted, the processor registers the provisional paper information as the new paper information in the registration of the paper information (e.g. once the user presses the newly register button, the changed paper information settings are registered for the copied paper information, which is taught in ¶ [49], [83]-[86] and [105] above.).
Re claim 7: Kimura discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the processor further renders each of a plurality of setting values of the paper information editable, and in the registration of the paper information, in a case where a name of a paper being one of the plurality of setting values is edited, the processor registers the provisional paper information with the name of the paper updated to the edited name of the paper as the new paper information (e.g. the paper properties can be changed when the copied paper information is performed and the user selects to edit the paper information. The paper information edited can be the name of the paper, which is illustrated in figure 7B. The paper name and paper properties can be updated based on the user input changing the information, which is taught in ¶ [49], [83]-[86] and [105] above.).
Re claim 8: Kimura discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein in the registration of the paper information, in a case where at least one of a basis weight of the paper, a surface property of the paper, a color of the paper, and information specifying adjustment of a secondary transfer voltage for the paper as the plurality of setting values is edited by the editing unit, the processor registers the provisional paper information with the plurality of setting values updated to the edited plurality of setting values as the new paper information (e.g. as seen in figure 7B, the user can edit or change the settings associated with the paper information. The color information, grammage or surface property can be edited along with the adjustment of the transfer voltage. The user can change the settings associated with these areas and register the settings, which is taught in ¶ [49], [83]-[86] and [105] above.).
Re claim 11: Kimura discloses a method of controlling an image processing apparatus in which paper information is registrable, the method comprising:
setting predetermined information in the paper information (e.g. a user can set information that is associated with newly registered paper information, which is taught in ¶ [49] and [105] above.); and
registering the paper information (e.g. paper can be registered to a paper information list, which is taught in ¶ [105] above.),
wherein in the registering, in a case where an operation capable of duplicating the paper information and registering new paper information is accepted, the predetermined information is set in the new paper information and the new paper information is registered based on the fact that the predetermined information is set in the paper information (e.g. the invention discloses a copy information button used to copy existing paper to the paper information list, which is taught in ¶ [105] above. The name of the copied paper information can be changed as well as other properties of the same paper with a changed name. This changed information can be registered based on the input of the newly registered button. The changing of the settings associated with the paper is taught in ¶ [83]-[86] above.).
Re claim 12: Kimura discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute:
setting predetermined information in paper information (e.g. a user can set information that is associated with newly registered paper information, which is taught in ¶ [49] and [105] above.);
registering the paper information (e.g. paper can be registered to a paper information list, which is taught in ¶ [105] above.); and
in the registering, in a case where an operation capable of duplicating the paper information and registering new paper information is accepted, the predetermined information is set in the new paper information and the new paper information is registered based on the fact that the predetermined information is set in the paper information (e.g. the invention discloses a copy information button used to copy existing paper to the paper information list, which is taught in ¶ [105] above. The name of the copied paper information can be changed as well as other properties of the same paper with a changed name. This changed information can be registered based on the input of the newly registered button. The changing of the settings associated with the paper is taught in ¶ [83]-[86] above.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura in view of Takahashi (US Pub 2007/0263242).
Re claim 9: However, Kimura fails to specifically teach the features of the image processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the processor further issues a notification indicating that the provisional paper information is to be registered as the new paper information.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Takahashi. Similar to the primary reference, Takahashi discloses copy paper information (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Takahashi discloses wherein the processor further issues a notification indicating that the provisional paper information is to be registered as the new paper information (e.g. the system indicates or shows a notification that indicates that the paper information is to be registered as new paper information under a different name, which is taught in ¶ [210]-[212].).
[0210] A window shown in FIG. 21 is the same as that in FIG. 14 as for the list display of paper information, the list filtering function, and the list sorting function, except for a lower key arrangement. Upon pressing a copy key 2101, a window shown in FIG. 22 appears to allow the user to input a paper name. FIG. 22 shows an example in which the user copies paper information "plain paper" to create paper information "attribute change of plain paper". At this time, the number of characters is limited to the predetermined number of characters.
[0211] Upon pressing an OK key 2201, the input operation of the paper name is complete, and new paper information "attribute change of plain paper" appears in a list display shown in FIG. 24. However, for example, if the operator inputs a paper name "copy of plain paper" which has already existed, and presses the OK key, a window shown in FIG. 23 appears, and he or she cannot register that name. For this reason, all Type 2 data on the database are registered to have different names, and the user can select a paper sheet without confusion.
[0212] This embodiment exemplifies a case wherein the same paper names of Type 2 data are exclusively denied. However, since the paper IDs have uniqueness, as described above, a system that allows registering the same names may be programmed. Conversely, when the user copies Type 3 data to Type 2 and registers new paper information, this embodiment permits setting the same names for Type 2 and Type 3. However, unique names may be given to be distinguished from each other throughout Type 1, Type 2, and Type 3.
Therefore, in view of Takahashi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the processor further issues a notification indicating that the provisional paper information is to be registered as the new paper information, incorporated in the device of Kimura, in order to indicate the paper registered associated with a configured page, which can improve operability of the system for the operator (as stated in Takahashi ¶ [16]-[19]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura, as modified by Takahashi, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Iida (US Pub 2014/0268234).
Re claim 10: However, Kimura fails to specifically teach the features of the image processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the processor issues a notification prompting for selection of whether or not to register the provisional paper information as the new paper information in a case where the name of the paper information is not changed and at least one of the setting values of the paper information is changed.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Iida. Similar to the primary reference, Iida discloses configuring paper information associated with paper (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Iida discloses wherein the processor issues a notification prompting for selection of whether or not to register the provisional paper information as the new paper information in a case where the name of the paper information is not changed and at least one of the setting values of the paper information is changed (e.g. the invention displays a message to determine whether or not to continue to register a sheet of paper with the same name, which is illustrated in figure 8 and explained in ¶ [73] and [74]. If the user changes one setting attribute out of the settings but does not change the name, the system can warn the user about the overlap in media type value and ask whether or not the user still wants to register the media type, which is taught in ¶ [68]-[71].).
[0068] FIG. 7 depicts a view for showing an example of a screen for explaining a situation different to that of the previously described FIG. 4.
[0069] In FIG. 7, the value "RES", which indicates inputting upon use, is set for adjusting a color and an adjustment of the creep (shift) correction amount.
[0070] For these attributes, there exist those that the print unit 108 does not use, and those for which the print jobs for which they are used are limited. In the example of FIG. 7, the attribute of the color is not used by the print unit 108, but rather is an attribute used for the user to distinguish the paper. Adjustment of the creep (shift) correction amount is an attribute that the print unit 108 uses only in cases of jobs where creep correction is used. For such attributes, it is inconvenient to always request input of values in step S204 of FIG. 2. For this reason, in FIG. 7, even though the values of the two attributes for which "RES" is set are not specified, the remaining processing may be made to be possible.
[0071] The adjustment of the creep (shift) correction amount is a value that the print unit 108 uses in cases where a job for performing a creep correction is input. Accordingly, in cases where the "use temporarily" button 404 is pressed without inputting a value for a creep correction amount, when a job for which a creep correction is used is input, once again the inputting of the creep correction amount is prompted. Here, the example of the creep correction amount is given, but it is possible to adapt the example for attributes used by the print unit 108 according to the content of the job such as adjustment amounts of curl correction or an image position, or the number of tabs of the index sheet.
[0072] Note, even if in the paper information, other than the name, all of the attributes of the paper information is registered to be the same, from the perspective of the management of the paper information, there are use cases where such paper information is registered. However, if paper information having the same attributes increases, convenience will deteriorate. For this reason, in cases where paper information having identical attributes is registered, a warning message is displayed on the console unit 101.
[0073] FIG. 8 depicts a view for showing an example of an alerting screen displayed when paper information having identical attribute values is registered.
[0074] In the screen of FIG. 8, a message indicating that paper information having the same attributes is registered is displayed. Note, here, the name of the paper that is overlapping may be displayed in order that the paper information is distinguishable. An OK button 802 is a button for instructing the registration of the paper information to the paper database in spite of the overlapping, and when the OK button 802 is pressed, the paper information is registered. A cancel button 803 is a button for cancelling the registration of the paper information, and the registration of the paper information is not performed when the cancel button 803 is pressed.
Therefore, in view of Iida, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the processor issues a notification prompting for selection of whether or not to register the provisional paper information as the new paper information in a case where the name of the paper information is not changed and at least one of the setting values of the paper information is changed, incorporated in the device of Kimura, as modified by Takahashi, in order to prompt a user to determine whether to register a paper type based on a similar name but different attributes, which can aid in improving registering paper types and limiting the number of paper information items registered (as stated in Iida ¶ [06]-[10]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tanaka discloses copying paper information.
/CHAD DICKERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683