DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Priority
This application claims priority to provisional Application No. 63/613,088, filed December 21st, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 09/20/2024 and 10/08/2025 were considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 14-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao et al (Applied Catalysis B: Environmental 244 (2019) 170–177).
Regarding claim 1, Cao teaches the conversion of cellulose to 5-hydroxymethylfurfural. Cao teaches that for conversion of cellulose in H2O/THF system, a mixture of cellulose, catalyst, NaCl and solvent were loaded into flask (experimental). Cao teaches that the catalyst is HfO(PO4)1 or HfO(PO4)2 (Table 1). Cao does not explicitly teach that the cellulose is biomass-derived, however, unless a product by process imparts something special to the cellulose, the sourcing is not accorded patentable weight.
Regarding claim 2, Cao teaches that the molar ratio of P/Hf is 1 (Table 1).
Regarding claim 3, as seen above, Cao teaches that the metal phosphate is HfO(PO4)1 or HfO(PO4)2.
Regarding claims 4-6, Cao teaches that the reaction includes water and THF. Cao teaches that the mole ratio of THF to water is 4:1 (page 177, right column, paragraph 4). Further, THF is a cyclic ether.
Regarding claims 7-8, Cao teaches that the reaction also includes 0.20g of NaCl.
Regarding claim 9, Cao teaches that the reaction takes place at 145 to 190°C (page 171, right column, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 10, Cao teaches that the reaction time is 240 minutes to 300 minutes (page 174, right column, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 11, Cao teaches that the reaction takes place as a batch reaction (Page 177, right column, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 14, Dumesic teaches that the cellulose feed had a weight percentage of 5% (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 15, Cao teaches that the cellulose is microcrystalline cellulose (materials). Further, Dumesic teaches that the cellulose is lignocellulose.
Regarding claim 16, as seen above, the method of producing 5-hydroxymethylfurfuranl from biomass-derived cellulose and a hafnium phosphate catalyst has been rendered obvious. Further, Cao teaches that the reaction takes place at 145 to 190°C,
Regarding claim 19, Cao teaches that the molar ratio of P/Hf is 1 (Table 1).
Regarding claim 20, the solvent is THF, a cyclic ether.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 14-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al (Applied Catalysis B: Environmental 244 (2019) 170–177) in view of Dumesic et al (US 9,242,952 B2).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Cao teaches the conversion of cellulose to 5-hydroxymethylfurfural. Cao teaches that for conversion of cellulose in H2O/THF system, a mixture of cellulose, catalyst, NaCl and solvent were loaded into flask (experimental). Cao teaches that the catalyst is HfO(PO4)1 or HfO(PO4)2 (Table 1).
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
Cao does not explicitly teach that the cellulose is biomass-derived.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
However, Cao teaches that the exploration of feasible pathways for the conversion of abundant and renewable biomass into platform chemicals is highly desirable (introduction, paragraph 1).
Further, Dumesic teaches a method to produce 5-hydroxymethylfurfural (HMF), the method comprising: reacting a reactant comprising cellulose, lignocellulose, or a combination thereof, in a reaction mixture comprising a polar, aprotic solvent and an acid, and wherein the reaction mixture is initially substantially devoid of water, for a time, at a temperature, and at a hydrogen ion concentration wherein at least a portion of the cellulose or lignocellulose present in the reactant is converted to HMF (claim 1). Dumesic further teaches that the cellulose is cellulosic biomass.
Regarding claim 1, as Cao teaches a method of producing 5-hydroxymethylfurfural (HMF) with cellulose and a metal phosphate catalyst and also teaches the importance of converting renewable biomass into platform chemicals and Dumesic teaches the successful production of 5-hydroxymethylfurfural (HMF) from biomass-derived cellulose, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use, specifically, biomass-derived cellulose in the method as taught By Cao.
Further, regarding the limitation that the catalyst has a ratio of Bronsted acid sites to Lewis acid sites greater than or equal to 0.27 and a total acid dentistry less than or equal to 0.4, the instant disclosures teaches that HfO(PO4)1 or HfO(PO4)2 are used in the process (Figures).
Regarding claim 2, Cao teaches that the molar ratio of P/Hf is 1 (Table 1).
Regarding claim 3, as seen above, Cao teaches that the metal phosphate is HfO(PO4)1 or HfO(PO4)2.
Regarding claims 4-6, Cao teaches that the reaction includes water and THF. Cao teaches that the mole ratio of THF to water is 4:1 (page 177, right column, paragraph 4). Further, THF is a cyclic ether.
Regarding claims 7-8, Cao teaches that the reaction also includes 0.20g of NaCl.
Regarding claim 9, Cao teaches that the reaction takes place at 145 to 190°C (page 171, right column, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 10, Cao teaches that the reaction time is 240 minutes to 300 minutes (page 174, right column, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 11, Cao teaches that the reaction takes place as a batch reaction (Page 177, right column, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 14, Dumesic teaches that the cellulose feed had a weight percentage of 5% (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 15, Cao teaches that the cellulose is microcrystalline cellulose (materials). Further, Dumesic teaches that the cellulose is lignocellulose.
Regarding claim 16, as seen above, the method of producing 5-hydroxymethylfurfuranl from biomass-derived cellulose and a hafnium phosphate catalyst has been rendered obvious. Further, Cao teaches that the reaction takes place at 145 to 190°C,
Regarding claim 19, Cao teaches that the molar ratio of P/Hf is 1 (Table 1).
Regarding claim 20, the solvent is THF, a cyclic ether.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al (Applied Catalysis B: Environmental 244 (2019) 170–177) in view of Dumesic et al (US 9,242,952 B2), as applied to claims 1-11, 14-16 and 19-20 and in further view of Qi et al (Cellulose (2011) 18:1327–1333).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Neither Cao nor Dumesic explicitly teach that the process of synthesizing 5-hydroxymethylfurfuranl includes a first and second reactor. However, Cao teaches that the process may include additional steps after the first cycle and Dumesic teaches that the reactants may go through double steps to produce HMF.
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims. (See MPEP § 2141.02)
The prior art does not explicitly teach the use a first reactor and second reactor with differing catalysts.
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
However, Qi teaches an efficient two-step process for converting microcrystalline cellulose into 5-HMF. Qi teaches that cellulose and catalyst, [EMIM][Cl] (1.0 g), were heated with water. Qi then teaches that after this reaction, the cellulose was then mixed with an additional catalyst, CrCl36H2O to produce 5-HMF (experimental).
Regarding claims 12 and 17, as such, one of ordinary skill in the art looking to improve the methods of production of Cao and Dumesic would find motivation in Qi to create a two-step process of producing 5-hydroxymethylfurfuranyl.
Regarding claims 13 and 18, as seen above, Qi teaches that the first catalyst is [EMIM][Cl] and the second is CrCl36H2O.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/A.G.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/FEREYDOUN G SAJJADI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1699