Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (TW I716851 B)
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a backlit circuit board (at least Fig.3B) for supporting a keycap, comprising: a substrate (first substrate 110) having a plurality of openings and a plurality of coupling members (130 and the other to the left attaching to key cap in Drawing above), the plurality of openings penetrating through the substrate to define a plurality of portions (surface indicated by 122 in Fig.3B) around the plurality of openings, the plurality of coupling members connected to the plurality of portions of the substrate, the plurality of coupling members extending toward an upper side of the substrate and configured to directly or indirectly connect the keycap 140; a lighting circuit 120 (see in Chen: and the second substrate 120 is a printed circuit board) formed on the plurality of portions of the substrate and located at the upper side of the substrate; and an illuminant 160 (light source) electrically connected to the lighting circuit and disposed on one of the plurality of portions of the substrate, wherein the illuminant vertically corresponds to a light impermeable region of the keycap, and a vertical projection of the light impermeable region at least partially overlaps the plurality of portions of the substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the back light circuit board, wherein the substrate comprises a metal plate and an insulation layer at least partially covering an upper surface of the metal plate (see in Chen: the material of the first substrate 110 includes metal, plastic or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the back light circuit board, wherein the plurality of coupling members 130 extend upward relative to the plurality of portions of the substrate to be above the lighting circuit (from the teachings the coupling members that have an elongated higher portion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chou (US 20020196619 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Chou teaches a backlit circuit board (at least Fig.1 and 2) for supporting a keycap, comprising: a substrate (base board 1) having a plurality of openings and a plurality of coupling members (the top L shaped anchor portion 12 that attached to the key cap), the plurality of openings penetrating through the substrate to define a plurality of portions (top surface of 1) around the plurality of openings, the plurality of coupling members 12 connected to the plurality of portions of the substrate (see 11 and 1 in Fig.1), the plurality of coupling members extending toward an upper side of the substrate and configured to directly or indirectly connect the keycap 6; a lighting circuit 2 (circuit board 2 in Fig.1 and 2) formed on the plurality of portions of the substrate and located at the upper side of the substrate; and an illuminant 3 ( light element 3 in Fig.1 and 2) electrically connected to the lighting circuit and disposed on one of the plurality of portions of the substrate, wherein the illuminant vertically corresponds to a light impermeable (since 3 is a plate in [0018] therefore that covers both light permeable and light impermeable portions of the key cap; [0018] The lighting element 3 is a plate type cold light board or cold cathode board and has a plurality of openings 31 and 32 of same or different shapes mating with the anchor sections 12) region of the keycap, and a vertical projection of the light impermeable region at least partially overlaps the plurality of portions of the substrate.
Regarding claim 11, Chou teaches a backlit keyswitch, (Fig.2) comprising: a keycap having a light permeable region and a light impermeable region (see in Chou: [0022]); and a backlit circuit board for supporting the keycap, the backlit circuit board comprising: a substrate 1 having a plurality of openings and a plurality of coupling members (top L shaped anchor 12), the plurality of openings penetrating through the substrate to define a plurality of portions around the plurality of openings, the plurality of coupling members connected to the plurality of portions of the substrate, the plurality of coupling members extending toward an upper side of the substrate and configured to directly or indirectly connect the keycap; a lighting circuit 2 formed on the plurality of portions of the substrate and located at the upper side of the substrate; and an illuminant 3 electrically connected to the lighting circuit and disposed on one of the plurality of portions of the substrate, wherein the illuminant vertically corresponds to the light impermeable region of the keycap, and a vertical projection of the light impermeable region at least partially overlaps the plurality of portions of the substrate (wherein from teachings of Chou, the key cap can either be all opaque, partly transparent and full transparent, based on desired design in [0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Liu (TW I597752 B)
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding the configuration of the switch circuit layer.
Liu teaches a switch circuit layer (151,152 in Fig.4 corresponding to 150 in Fgi.3), wherein the switch circuit layer 150 and the lighting circuit 120 are disposed at a same side of the substrate; the switch circuit layer has a switch unit (148a and 148b and 150 shown in Fig.2B); a vertical projection of the switch unit does not overlap the illuminant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the switch circuit layer as disclosed in Liu, in the device of Chen in order to achieve easy assembling of the light source through the switch circuit layer.
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above but is silent regarding the switch circuit layer has a first hole corresponding to the illuminant.
Liu teaches a switch circuit layer 140 (Fig.2A) has a first hole (146b) corresponding to the illuminant 180b (see in Liu: The light source holes 126a, 126b and the plurality of through holes 146a, 146b of the switch circuit layer 140 provide light energy to the light incident surface 174 of the corresponding light guide sheets 170a, 170b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the switch circuit layer as disclosed in Liu, in the device of Chen in order to achieve easy assembling of the light source through the switch circuit layer.
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Liu teaches the backlit circuit board, wherein the switch circuit layer has a second hole corresponding to one of the plurality of coupling members (144a and 142a corresponding to 124a and 122a in Fig.2A of Liu).
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of Liu teaches the back light circuit board, wherein the switch circuit layer 150 (Liu) has a switch circuit electrically connected to the switch unit 148b; vertical projections of the switch circuit and the lighting circuit 120 at least partially overlaps one of the plurality of portions of the substrate (from Fig.2 of Chen, the same reason to combine art as in claim 3 applies).
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of Liu teaches the back light circuit board, wherein the vertical projection of the switch unit 148b (Fig.2A in Liu) and a vertical projection of the illuminant 180b (in Liu) fall within a range surrounded by the plurality of coupling members (from combined teachings of Chen in view of Liu, the same reason to combine art as in claim 3 applies).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Liu and further in view of Chou2 (US 20140034467 A1, herein after Chou2)
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of Liu teaches the invention set forth in claim 3 above, but is silent regarding a light-absorption layer disposed on the switch circuit layer to define at least one light permeable window corresponding to the keycap.
However, it is a design choice to select the extent of light absorption/emission around/below the key cap. Chou2 discloses a light-absorption layer (20 in Fig.3) disposed on the switch circuit layer to define at least one light permeable window corresponding to the keycap and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the light absorption layer as disclosed in Chou2, in the device of Chen in view of Liu in order to narrow the light beam to the desired extent, emanating towards the key cap.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Liu and Chou2 and further in view of DE (DE 202011105529 U1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Liu and Chou2 teaches the invention set forth in claim 8 above, but is silent regarding a protective layer disposed on the substrate to cover the lighting circuit; the protective layer has a reflective surface and/or a microstructure located within a vertical projection of the at least one light permeable window.
DE teaches a lighted keyboard wherein a protective layer (18,20 in Fig.5) disposed on the substrate to cover the lighting circuit; the protective layer has a reflective surface (18) (- -and/or a microstructure located within a vertical projection of the at least one light permeable window - -) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a reflective surface, as disclosed in DE, in the device of Chen in view of Liu and Chou2 in order to enhance the light by reflection.
Claims 14 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Liu (TW I597752 B)
Regarding claim 14, Chou teaches the invention set forth in claim 11 above, but is silent regarding a switch circuit layer at a same side as the lighting circuit with respect to the substrate; the switch circuit layer has a switch unit; a vertical projection of the switch unit does not overlap the illuminant.
Liu teaches a switch circuit layer (151,152 in Fig.4 corresponding to 150 in Fgi.3), wherein the switch circuit layer 150 and the lighting circuit 120 are disposed at a same side of the substrate; the switch circuit layer has a switch unit (148a and 148b and 150 shown in Fig.2B); a vertical projection of the switch unit does not overlap the illuminant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the switch circuit layer as disclosed in Liu, in the device of Chou in order to achieve easy assembling of the light source through the switch circuit layer.
Regarding claim 22, Chou in view of Liu teaches the back light circuit board, wherein the vertical projection of the switch unit 148b (Fig.2A in Liu) and a vertical projection of the illuminant 180b (in Liu) fall within a range surrounded by the plurality of coupling members (from combined teachings of Chou in view of Liu, the same reason to combine art as in claim 3 applies).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Liu2 (US 20120048701, cited previously, hereinafter Liu2 )
Regarding claim 15, Chou teaches the invention set forth in claim 11 above, but is silent regarding a reflective layer at least partially covering the illuminant.
Liu2 teaches a reflective layer (33 in Fig.5 of Liu) at least partially covering the illuminant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the switch circuit layer as disclosed in Liu2, in the device of Chou in order to enhance the light.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou and further in view of Chou2 (US 20140034467 A1, herein after Chou2)
Regarding claim 16, Chou teaches the invention set forth in claim 11 above, but is silent regarding a light-absorption layer disposed on the switch circuit layer to define at least one light permeable window corresponding to the keycap.
However, it is a design choice to select the extent of light absorption/emission around/below the key cap. Chou2 discloses a light-absorption layer (20 in Fig.3) disposed on the switch circuit layer to define at least one light permeable window corresponding to the keycap and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the light absorption layer as disclosed in Chou2, in the device of Chen in order to narrow the light beam to the desired extent, emanating towards the key cap.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Chou2 and further in view of DE (DE 202011105529 U1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 17, Chou in view of Chou2 teaches the invention set forth in claim 16 above, but is silent regarding a protective layer disposed on the substrate and configured to cover the lighting circuit; the protective layer has a reflective surface and/or a microstructure located within a vertical projection of the at least one light permeable window.
DE teaches a lighted keyboard wherein a protective layer (18,20 in Fig.5) disposed on the substrate and configured to cover the lighting circuit; the protective layer has a reflective surface (18) (- -and/or a microstructure located within a vertical projection of the at least one light permeable window - -) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a reflective surface, as disclosed in DE, in the device of Chou in view of Chou2 in order to enhance the light by reflection.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Liu and further in view of Chen3 (US 9443674 B1, cited previously, hereinafter Chen3)
Regarding claim 18, Chou in view of Liu teaches the backlit keyswitch having a printed circuit layer, and the switch circuit layer 140 (Liu) has a first hole for accommodating the illuminant 180b (in Liu) but does not teach the switch circuit layer is a membrane switch circuit board.
However, Chen3 teaches a membrane switch circuit board 31 (Fig.10 and 9) having a multi-layered structure as disclosed below:
and the switch circuit layer has a first hole for accommodating the illuminant 32 (Fig.9 and 10) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a membrane type of switch layer in the device of Chou in view of Liu, from the teachings of Chen3, in order to achieve a cost-effective membrane type switch layer.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou in view of Liu and Chen3 and further in view of Watanabe (US 20100097246, cited previously)
Regarding claim 19, Chou in view of Liu and Chen3 teaches the backlit keyswitch, wherein when the first hole is a blind hole (since LED 12 in Chou does not reach base board 1) but does not teach microstructures.
Watanabe teaches microstructures in the path of the light (Fig.4) such that it is attached to the membrane laminated body 20 the microstructure 28 (in Watanabe) is disposed on the at least one layer of the multi-layered structure.
From the teachings of Watanabe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the location of the microstructure in the desired path of light, in the membrane switch circuit board, in the device of Chou in view of Liu and Chen3, in order to clearly illuminate the key cap ([0082] of Watanabe).
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view Chou in view of Liu and Chou3 and further in view of Motoki (JP 2004207166 A, cited previously)
Regarding claim 20, Chou in view of Liu and Chou3 already teaches a membrane circuit switch layer, but is silent regarding the backlit keyswitch
further comprises a glue layer disposed around the first hole and configured to adhere
the membrane switch circuit board and the backlit circuit board.
However, Chou in view of Liu and Chou3 teaches a spacer plate 4 (Liu) between the LED and switch circuit layers. And furthermore, Motoki teaches a ring like adhesive layer 9 (Fig.1 and 2) to robustly attached top and bottom keyswitch elements. And from the teachings of Motoki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to exchangeably use a ring like adhesive element in place of the spacer plate (of Liu), for attaching top and bottom elements surrounding a illuminant element in the device of Chou in view of Liu and Chou3, from the teachings of Motoki, in order to achieve easy assembling/disassembling adhesive and easy venting through discharge holes within it (see in Motoki:
)
Regarding claim 21, Chou in view of Liu, Chou3 and Motoki teaches the backlit keyswitch, wherein the glue layer is an open-ring shaped glue layer (see rejection in claim 20 above and 9 in Fig. 2 with a breach (see in Motoki:The pressure-sensitive adhesive layer is provided with a vent through which the adhesive layer communicates with the outside air).
Other art
US 20130121017 A1:
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed by the Applicant on 3/12/26 is acknowledged, however they are moot in light of new grounds of rejection.
Previously presented prior art is copied below:
Examiner notes the below prior art that was cited previously:
US 20130121017 A1:
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875