Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mida et al. (US 2014/0265252 A1) hereinafter, Mida.
Regarding claim 1, Mida teaches a system, comprising:
a bed floor (108) including a hitch opening (102);
a platform (124) mounted to cover the hitch opening, the platform having a first bed surface (222) and a second bed surface (202) facing opposite the first bed surface; and
a hitch (116) supported on the first bed surface of the platform (Fig 2-7), wherein the platform and the hitch are selectively movable as a unit between a towing position where the hitch is located in a cargo area above the bed floor (Fig 7) and a stowed position where the hitch is located underneath the bed floor (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 2, Mida teaches that the first bed surface is flush with an upper surface of the bed floor when in the towing position (Fig 7) and the second bed surface is flush with the upper surface of the bed floor when in the stowed position (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 3, Mida teaches an actuator (156+160) that is selectively controlled to move the unit between the towing position and the stowed position (Fig 2-7).
Regarding claim 4, Mida teaches that the actuator comprises a lever arm (180) that is coupled to a drive mechanism (160) that interconnects the lever arm and the unit (Fig 2-7).
Regarding claim 7, Mida teaches that the unit is rotatable relative to the bed floor between the towing position and the stowed position (180 degrees, Para [0061] and Fig 2-7).
Regarding claim 9, Mida teaches at least one lock member (174) that is moveable between a lock position where the unit is prevented from moving relative to the bed floor (Fig 7) and an unlock position where the unit is allowed to move relative to the bed floor (Fig 6).
Regarding claim 18, Mida teaches a method comprising:
selectively moving a trailer hitch (116) between a towing position where the trailer hitch is located in a cargo area above a vehicle bed floor (Fig 7) and a stowed position where the trailer hitch is located underneath the vehicle bed floor and hidden from view (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 19, Mida teaches rotating the trailer hitch between the towing position and the stowed position (moving from Fig 7 to Fig 4).
Regarding claim 20, Mida teaches locking the trailer hitch relative to the vehicle bed floor when trailer hitch is in the towing position (Fig 7);
unlocking the trailer hitch (Fig 6);
rotating the trailer hitch to the stowed position (Fig 5); and
relocking the trailer hitch to the vehicle bed floor (Fig 4).
Claim(s) 12-14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Works (US 5,016,898 A).
Regarding claim 12, Works teaches a system, comprising: a bed floor defining a cargo area (B) and including a hitch opening (18); a receptacle (12) supported by a vehicle frame (14) underneath the bed floor and having an open end aligned with the hitch opening (18); a platform (10) mounted to cover the open end of the receptacle (Fig 1-6), the platform having a first bed surface (24) and a second bed surface (31) facing opposite the first bed surface (Fig 8-9); and a hitch (25) supported on the first bed surface of the platform (Fig 7-9), wherein the platform and the hitch are selectively movable as a unit between a towing position where the hitch is located in the cargo area (Fig 4) and a stowed position where the hitch is received within the receptacle and the second bed surface faces the cargo area (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 13, Dick teaches that the first bed surface is flush with an upper surface of the bed floor when in the towing position (Fig 4) and the second bed surface is flush with the upper surface of the bed floor when in the stowed position (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 14, Works teaches a lever arm (41) that is coupled to a drive mechanism (40) that interconnects the lever arm and the unit (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 17, Works teaches that the receptacle comprises an enclosed tub (12+24) extending underneath the bed floor from the open end, and wherein the enclosed tub includes at least one drain opening (24’, Fig 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 8, 10-11, and 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 5 recites that the lever arm is received within the first receptacle and covered with a cap when the unit is in the stowed position.
Claim 8 recites a pivot rod coupled to the unit to support the unit relative to a vehicle frame for pivoting movement between the towing position and the stowed position.
Claims 10 and 16 recite locking teeth associated with the bed floor along one edge of the hitch opening.
Claim 15 recites that the unit is rotatable relative to the bed floor between the towing position and the stowed position via selective movement of the lever arm.
Since the prior art (e.g. Mida and Works) teach stowable trailer hitch that lack said features, the prior art does not anticipate the claimed subject matter.
For illustration purposes, Fig 3-4 of the examined disclosure shows the stowable hitch, which is different than the stowable hitch taught by the prior art of record (Fig. 7 of Mida and Fig. 4 of Works, etc.)
Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have modified the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention without resorting to impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references noted on the attached PTO-892 form teach stowable trailer hitches of interest.
/HOSAM SHABARA/Examiner, Art Unit 3618