DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final communication is in response to Application No. 18/890,926 filed 9/20/2024 which is a continuation of Application Nos. 17/159,390 filed 1/27/2021 (now U.S. Patent 12,131,002) and 15/935,129 filed 3/26/2018 (now U.S. Patent 10,921,953 and claims priority from foreign application JP2017-128309 filed 6/30/2017. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-19 have been examined.
Priority
It is not apparent that the parent patent documents (U.S. Patent 12,131,002, U.S. Patent 10,921,953, and foreign application JP2017-128309) provide necessary support to establish an effective filing date earlier than the originally filed claims in the instant application. Specifically, the limitation in question states:
“…an adding mode of the new icon including a first mode in which the new icon is placed only on the screen displayed on the touch panel and a second mode in which the new icon is placed on both the screen displayed on the touch panel and a screen which is not displayed on the touch panel among the plurality of screens.”
This limitation essentially recites that a first mode allows adding icons only to the current screen and a second mode allows adding icons to both the current a screen and another screen not currently displayed.
However, this does not appear to be the functionality described at least in the parent patent documents. Each of the disclosures describe the ability to either, A) add icons to a “common area” of a screen, which are propagated to the “common areas” of other screens not displayed (S340), or B), add icons to an “individual area” of a screen which are only assigned to the “individual area” of the current screen (S350); however, both options are available in the same “admin” mode. The disclosures also describe that a “general mode” allows adding controls just to the “individual area” of a screen (S190, S210, S200, S220). In both modes, icons are allowed to be added to the “individual area” of the currently displayed screen which results in the icon only added to the currently displayed screen. Therefore, according to the parent patent documents, it is not the modes, rather, it is the location within the currently displayed screen, (“common area” or “individual area”) that determines whether A), the new icon is placed only on the current screen or B), the new icon is placed on both the current screen and a screen not displayed. Of note is that independent claim 1 in U.S. Patent 12,131,002 recite: “when determining that the area is the individual area, register the particular icon on the individual area of only the standby screen currently displayed on the display regardless whether the operation mode is the administrator mode or the general mode…”
Independent claim 1 appears to establish new functionality, therefore, the effective filing data of the claims is the filing date of the instant application: 9/20/2024.
Double Patenting
A Double Patenting analysis has been performed with respect to issued patents having common relationships of inventorship and/or ownership with respect to the above allowed claims, none are found to warrant a double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirihara et al. (US 2015/0172487 A1, hereinafter “Kirihara”), and further in view of Yamamichi (US 2016/0062575 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kirihara teaches an image processing device, comprising:
a touch panel; a scanner configured to scan an image; a printer configured to print an image; and a controller, wherein the image processing device is configured to execute scanning using the scanner and copying using the scanner and the printer. More specifically, the apparatus includes: image reader 108 (scanner) and image forming part 109 (printer) (Kiri, Figure 2, [0041]-[0042]). “Copy” is one of the functions of the apparatus (Kirihara, Figure 2).
wherein the controller is configured to cause the touch panel to display a standby screen including one of a plurality of screens switchable from each other, each of the plurality of screens is configured to display a plurality of icons, the plurality of icons including a scan icon associated with execution of the scanning and a copy icon associated with execution of the copying. More specifically, Figure 2 depicts a standby screen with a plurality of screens switchable from each other including a plurality of icons including “copy” and “box storage” (Figure 5 is result of selecting “box storage” indicated it is another term for “scan”) (Kirihara, [0043]-[0046]).
wherein the controller is further configured to newly add a new icon on a screen displayed in the touch panel among the plurality of screens. More specifically, when the gear icon is selected on any of the detailed function setting screens of Figures 3-5, and 7, a one-touch application (and icon) can be created according to the currently selected settings and registered to one of the plurality of screens (Kirihara, Figures 9A-9C, [0073]-[0080]).
However, Kirihara may not explicitly teach every aspect of
an adding mode of the new icon including a first mode in which the new icon is placed only on the screen displayed on the touch panel and a second mode in which the new icon is placed on both the screen displayed on the touch panel and a screen which is not displayed on the touch panel among the plurality of screens.
Yamamichi discloses an information processing apparatus that executes an application including a plurality of user interfaces and displays a screen for customizing the plurality of user interfaces, a list of the acquired control information, and receiving an instruction to edit the plurality of user interfaces (Yamamichi, abstract). The information processing apparatuses include controls for a printer function, a facsimile function, a copy function, a scanner function, and a file transmission function (Yamamichi, [0032]). Figure 7A depicts a UI customization dialog invoked during a currently selected tab (screen displayed, shown at 708 and in step s1001, [0088]). The controls pertaining to the currently selected tab can be added or removed from the currently selected tab and can be added or removed from additional tabs that wouldn’t have been displayed at the time of the invoking of the dialog (Yamamichi, Figures 5, 6, 7A, 7B, and 8, [0065]-[0076], [0088]). Therefore, a user has the option of adding a control only to the currently selected screen, or adding the control to the currently selected screen and screens not currently selected/displayed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Kirihara and Yamamichi that an image processing device with scanning, copying, and printing functions where new functions can be added to screens as icons would include a first mode of adding a new icon to the currently displayed screen and a second mode of adding a new icon to the current screen and another screen not currently displayed. With Kirihara and Yamamichi disclosing user interfaces for image processing devices with scanning, copying, and printing functions that are customizable by adding new functions to screens of the user interface, with Kirihara disclosing the user interface is a touch panel ([0039]) and that the newly added functions are iconic, and with Yamamichi additionally suggesting a user has the option of adding a control only to the currently selected screen, or adding the control to the currently selected screen and screens not currently selected/displayed, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing an image processing device with scanning, copying, and printing functions where new functions can be added to screens as icons would include a first mode of adding a new icon to the currently displayed screen and a second mode of adding a new icon to the current screen and another screen not currently displayed in order to be able to choose to add a function to just one screen or several screens if the function is frequently considered associated with many other functions on different screens for the user. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this image processing device with scanning, copying, and printing functions where new functions can be added to screens as icons.
Regarding claim 2, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to display the plurality of icons on each of the plurality of screens in a manner that multiple icons are arranged in a right-left direction side-by-side and multiple icons are arranged in an up-down direction side-by-side. More specifically, at least Figure 2 depicts 2 rows by 4 columns of icons (Kirihara, Figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to display the plurality of icons in a manner that an image and a text are arranged in an up-down direction side-by-side on each of the plurality of screens. More specifically, at least Figure 2 depicts 2 rows by 4 columns of icons, the icons have text underneath (Kirihara, Figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of screens includes a first area and a second area, wherein, in the first area, the plurality of icons are arrangeable in a manner that multiple icons are arranged in a right-left direction side-by-side and multiple icons are arranged in an up-down direction side-by-side, and wherein, in the second area, the plurality of icons are not arrangeable in the manner. More specifically, Figures 15C, 18, 19, and 23 depict a region separator “region A” on each screen, that delineates the region of icons that are arrangeable and not arrangeable (Kirihara, [0243]-[0245], [0266]).
Regarding claim 5, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 4, wherein the first area and the second area are arranged in an up-down direction side-by-side on each of the plurality of screens. More specifically, Figures 15C, 18, 19, and 23 depict a region separator “region A” on each screen, that delineates the region of icons that are arrangeable and not arrangeable (Kirihara, [0243]-[0245], [0266]).
Regarding claim 7, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when arranging the new icon in the second mode, the controller is configured to arrange the new icon on both the screen displayed on the touch panel and the screen which is not displayed on the touch panel. More specifically, Kirihara suggesting the one or more screens are customized on a touch panel such that icons are added to screens (Kirihara, [0039], [0043]-[0046], Figures 2, 9C, 13, 15C, 18, 19, 21A, 21B, 23, 25A, 25B) combined with Yamamichi’s suggestion of adding a control only to the currently selected screen, or adding the control to the currently selected screen and screens not currently selected/displayed (Yamamichi, Figures 5, 6, 7A, 7B, and 8, [0065]-[0076], [0088]).
Regarding claim 8, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when arranging the new icon in the second mode, the controller is configured to arrange the new icon associated with a same particular process on both the screen displayed on the touch panel and the screen which is not displayed on the touch panel. More specifically, Kirihara suggesting the one or more screens are customized on a touch panel such that icons are added to screens (Kirihara, [0039], [0043]-[0046], Figures 2, 9C, 13, 15C, 18, 19, 21A, 21B, 23, 25A, 25B) combined with Yamamichi’s suggestion of adding a control only to the currently selected screen, or adding the control to the currently selected screen and screens not currently selected/displayed using the same process (Yamamichi, Figures 5, 6, 7A, 7B, and 8, [0065]-[0076], [0088]).
Regarding claim 9, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when arranging the new icon in the second mode, the controller is configured to arrange the new icon associated with a same setting value on both the screen displayed on the touch panel and the screen which is not displayed on the touch panel. More specifically, Kirihara suggesting the one or more screens are customized on a touch panel such that icons that include settings for a particular function are added to screens (Kirihara, [0039], [0043]-[0046], Figures 2, 9C, 13, 15C, 18, 19, 21A, 21B, 23, 25A, 25B) combined with Yamamichi’s suggestion of adding a control with particular settings only to the currently selected screen, or adding the control with particular settings to the currently selected screen and screens not currently selected/displayed using the same process (Yamamichi, Figures 5, 6, 7A, 7B, and 8, [0065]-[0076], [0088]).
Regarding claim 10, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when arranging the new icon in the second mode, in response to a setting value is associated with the new icon arranged on the screen displayed on the touch panel and the screen, the controller is configured to associate the setting value with the new icon arranged on a screen which is not displayed on the touch panel. More specifically, Kirihara suggesting the one or more screens are customized on a touch panel such that icons, which can be set, that include settings for a particular function are added to screens (Kirihara, [0039], [0043]-[0046], Figures 2, 9B, 9C, 10, 13, 15C, 18, 19, 21A, 21B, 23, 25A, 25B) combined with Yamamichi’s suggestion of adding a control with particular settings only to the currently selected screen, or adding the control with particular settings to the currently selected screen and screens not currently selected/displayed using the same process (Yamamichi, Figures 5, 6, 7A, 7B, and 8, [0065]-[0076], [0088]).
Regarding claim 11, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when arranging the new icon in the second mode, the controller is configured to arrange the new icon associated with a same function on both the screen displayed on the touch panel and the screen which is not displayed on the touch panel. More specifically, Kirihara suggesting the one or more screens are customized on a touch panel such that icons, which can be set, for a particular function or settings for a particular function are added to screens (Kirihara, [0039], [0043]-[0046], Figures 2, 9B, 9C, 10, 13, 15C, 18, 19, 21A, 21B, 23, 25A, 25B) combined with Yamamichi’s suggestion of adding a control with particular settings only to the currently selected screen, or adding the control with particular settings to the currently selected screen and screens not currently selected/displayed using the same process (Yamamichi, Figures 5, 6, 7A, 7B, and 8, [0065]-[0076], [0088]).
Regarding claim 12, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when arranging the new icon in the second mode, in response to a function is associated with the new icon arranged on the screen displayed on the touch panel and the screen, the controller is configured to associate the function with the new icon arranged on a screen which is not displayed on the touch panel. More specifically, Kirihara suggesting the one or more screens are customized on a touch panel such that icons, which can be set, for a particular function or settings for a particular function are added to screens (Kirihara, [0039], [0043]-[0046], Figures 2, 9B, 9C, 10, 13, 15C, 18, 19, 21A, 21B, 23, 25A, 25B) combined with Yamamichi’s suggestion of adding a control with particular settings only to the currently selected screen, or adding the control with particular settings to the currently selected screen and screens not currently selected/displayed using the same process (Yamamichi, Figures 5, 6, 7A, 7B, and 8, [0065]-[0076], [0088]).
Regarding claim 13, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when arranging the new icon in the second mode, the controller is configured to associate execution of the scanning with the icon to be displayed on both the screen displayed on the touch panel and the screen which is not displayed on the touch panel. More specifically, Kirihara suggesting the one or more screens are customized on a touch panel such that icons, which can be set, for a particular function (e.g., scanning / “box storage”) or settings for a particular function are added to screens (Kirihara, [0039], [0041], [0043]-[0046], [0100], [0232], Figures 2, 9B, 9C, 10, 13, 15C, 18, 19, 21A, 21B, 23, 25A, 25B) combined with Yamamichi’s suggestion of adding a control with particular settings only to the currently selected screen, or adding the control with particular settings to the currently selected screen and screens not currently selected/displayed using the same process (Yamamichi, Figures 5, 6, 7A, 7B, and 8, [0032], [0065]-[0076], [0088]).
Regarding claim 14, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when arranging the new icon in the second mode, the controller is configured to associate execution of a scan-to-file as one of execution forms of the scanning with the new icon to be displayed on both the screen displayed on the touch panel and the screen which is not displayed on the touch panel. More specifically, Kirihara suggesting the one or more screens are customized on a touch panel such that icons, which can be set, for a particular function (e.g., scan to file / “box storage”) or settings for a particular function are added to screens (Kirihara, [0039], [0041], [0043]-[0046], [0057]-[0058], [0100], [0232], Figures 2, 9B, 9C, 10, 13, 15C, 18, 19, 21A, 21B, 23, 25A, 25B) combined with Yamamichi’s suggestion of adding a control with particular settings only to the currently selected screen, or adding the control with particular settings to the currently selected screen and screens not currently selected/displayed using the same process (Yamamichi, Figures 5, 6, 7A, 7B, and 8, [0032], [0065]-[0076], [0088]).
Regarding claim 15, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when arranging the new icon in the second mode, the controller is configured to associate execution of printing using the printer with the new icon to be displayed on both the screen displayed on the touch panel and the screen which is not displayed on the touch panel. More specifically, Kirihara suggesting the one or more screens are customized on a touch panel such that icons, which can be set, for a particular function (e.g., printing) or settings for a particular function are added to screens (Kirihara, [0039], [0041], [0043]-[0046], [0057]-[0058], [0062], [0100], [0232], Figures 2, 7, 9B, 9C, 10, 13, 15C, 18, 19, 21A, 21B, 23, 25A, 25B) combined with Yamamichi’s suggestion of adding a control with particular settings only to the currently selected screen, or adding the control with particular settings to the currently selected screen and screens not currently selected/displayed using the same process (Yamamichi, Figures 5, 6, 7A, 7B, and 8, [0032], [0065]-[0076], [0088]).
Regarding claim 16, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when arranging the new icon in the second mode, the controller is configured to associate execution of the copying with the new icon to be displayed on both the screen displayed on the touch panel and the screen which is not displayed on the touch panel. More specifically, Kirihara suggesting the one or more screens are customized on a touch panel such that icons, which can be set, for a particular function (e.g., copying) or settings for a particular function are added to screens (Kirihara, [0039], [0041], [0043]-[0046], [0057]-[0058], [0062], [0087], [0089], [0100], [0232], Figures 2, 37, 9B, 9C, 10, 13, 15C, 18, 19, 21A, 21B, 23, 25A, 25B) combined with Yamamichi’s suggestion of adding a control with particular settings only to the currently selected screen, or adding the control with particular settings to the currently selected screen and screens not currently selected/displayed using the same process (Yamamichi, Figures 5, 6, 7A, 7B, and 8, [0032], [0065]-[0076], [0088]).
Regarding claim 17, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when arranging the new icon in the second mode, the controller is configured to associate execution of a facsimile function with the new icon to be displayed on both the screen displayed on the touch panel and the screen which is not displayed on the touch panel. More specifically, Kirihara suggesting the one or more screens are customized on a touch panel such that icons, which can be set, for a particular function (e.g., facsimile) or settings for a particular function are added to screens (Kirihara, [0039], [0041], [0043]-[0046], [0057]-[0058], [0062], [0087], [0089], [0100], [0232], Figures 2, 37, 9B, 9C, 10, 13, 15C, 18, 19, 21A, 21B, 23, 25A, 25B) combined with Yamamichi’s suggestion of adding a control with particular settings only to the currently selected screen, or adding the control with particular settings to the currently selected screen and screens not currently selected/displayed using the same process (Yamamichi, Figures 5, 6, 7A, 7B, and 8, [0032], [0065]-[0076], [0088]).
Regarding claim 18, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when arranging the new icon in the second mode, the controller is configured to associate execution of a web service function with the new icon to be displayed on both the screen displayed on the touch panel and the screen which is not displayed on the touch panel. More specifically, Kirihara suggesting the one or more screens are customized on a touch panel such that icons, which can be set, for a particular function (e.g., mail transmission / web service) or settings for a particular function are added to screens (Kirihara, [0039], [0041], [0043]-[0046], [0057]-[0058], [0062], [0087], [0089], [0100], [0232], Figures 2, 37, 9A, 9B, 9C, 10, 13, 15C, 18, 19, 21A, 21B, 23, 25A, 25B) combined with Yamamichi’s suggestion of adding a control with particular settings only to the currently selected screen, or adding the control with particular settings to the currently selected screen and screens not currently selected/displayed using the same process (Yamamichi, Figures 5, 6, 7A, 7B, and 8, [0032], [0065]-[0076], [0088]).
Regarding claim 19, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 1, wherein, when arranging the new icon in the second mode, the controller is configured to associate execution of a convenient tool function with the new icon to be displayed on both the screen displayed on the touch panel and the screen which is not displayed on the touch panel. More specifically, Kirihara suggesting the one or more screens are customized on a touch panel such that icons, which can be set, for a particular function (e.g., one-touch function / convenient tool) or settings for a particular function are added to screens (Kirihara, [0039], [0041], [0043]-[0046], [0057]-[0058], [0062], [0087], [0089], [0100], [0232], Figures 2, 37, 9A, 9B, 9C, 10, 13, 15C, 18, 19, 21A, 21B, 23, 25A, 25B) combined with Yamamichi’s suggestion of adding a control with particular settings only to the currently selected screen, or adding the control with particular settings to the currently selected screen and screens not currently selected/displayed using the same process (Yamamichi, Figures 5, 6, 7A, 7B, and 8, [0032], [0065]-[0076], [0088]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirihara and Yamamichi, and further in view of Kanazawa (US 2018/0115665 A1, filed 4/14/2017).
Regarding claim 6, Kirihara and Yamamichi suggest the image processing device according to claim 4, including that the screen settings are associated with an authenticated user (Kirihara, [0039]-[0040]), however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the controller is configured to arrange a button to display an authentication screen on the second area of each of the plurality of screens.
Kawashima discloses a processing apparatus such as a multifunction machine having functions such as a print function, a scan function, and a copy function. The processing apparatus includes a function-screen processing unit and a customization-screen processing unit which presents, to the user, a customization screen through which, for each of the setting items in the group of setting items corresponding to the function, specification of whether the setting item is to be displayed (Kawashima, abstract, [0003], [0004]). A button 112 for logging in to the apparatus persists across many screens that will invoke an authentication screen (Kawashima, [0030], Figures 3, 4A, 4B, 4C, and 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Kirihara and Yamamichi with Kawashima that an image processing device with scanning, copying, and printing functions where functions can be added to screens specific to authenticated users would include wherein the controller is configured to arrange a button to display an authentication screen on the second area of each of the plurality of screens. With Kirihara and Kawashima disclosing user interfaces for image processing devices with scanning, copying, and printing functions that are customizable by adding functions to screens of the user interface for an authenticated user, and with Kawashima additionally suggesting a login button that persists across screens for invoking an authentication screen, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing an image processing device with scanning, copying, and printing functions where functions can be added to screens specific to authenticated users would include wherein the controller is configured to arrange a button to display an authentication screen on the second area of each of the plurality of screens in order to allow use of the multifunction peripheral without having to login saving time but also allowing a user to decide to log in for customization at any time desired. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this image processing device with scanning, copying, and printing functions where new functions can be added to screens.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Sliwa (US 2004/0113941 A1) – user interface customization allows adding functions to one or adding functions to several tabs of a multifunction peripheral device.
Akuzawa (US 2016/0072972 A1) - user interface customization allows adding functions to screens which include common buttons and individual buttons of a multifunction peripheral device.
Katsumata (US 9,291,972 B2) – user interface customization allows adding functions to screens of a multifunction peripheral device.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F RIEGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171