DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the amendment filed on 06/08/2026.
Claims 21-40 are pending and are rejected. Claims 1-20 have been canceled. Claims 1, 28, and 35 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendments to claims 21, 28, and 35 do not overcome the rejection because Chen continues to teach the amended limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 21, 28, and 35 below. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 21-40 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-12, 15, and 18 of Patent No. 12107932.
Present Application 18/890937
Co-pending Application Patent No. 12107932
Claims 21, 28, and 35
providing, to a first user of an online dating service, a view of a profile including a photo, the profile being of a second user in the online dating service;
soliciting the first user to pay a fee for the online dating service;
providing a feature to the first user on the online dating service, at least in part based on the fee; and
delivering a communication from the first user to the second user via the online dating service.
Claims 24, 37, and 31
wherein the feature is defined by permitting the first user to communicate more frequently with the second user, at least in part based on the fee.
Claims 27, 34, and 40
wherein the feature is defined by permitting the first user to receive preferential positioning in the context of being matched to the second user, at least in part based on the fee.
Claims 1, 8, and 15
creating a first profile for a user in an online dating service;
providing, to the user, a view of a second profile, the second profile including a photo and being of another user in the online dating service;
soliciting the user to pay a fee for the online dating service;
permitting the user to receive preferential positioning in the context of being matched to the other user, at least in part based on the fee;
delivering a communication with the other user's profile; and
permitting the user to communicate more frequently with the other user, at least in part based on the fee.
Claims 22, 29, and 36
the communication is defined by a message.
Claims 2 and 9
delivering a message to the other user via the online dating service.
Claims 23 and 30
the fee is for a subscription-based service.
Claims 3 and 10
the online dating service includes a subscription-based service.
Claims 25, 38, and 32
the feature is defined by providing an additional match to the first user, at least in part based on the fee .
Claims 4, 7, and 11
providing an additional match to the user, at least in part based on the fee.
Claims 26, 33, and 39
the feature is defined by permitting the first user to target a search based on a criterion, at least in part based on the fee.
Claims 5, 12, and 18
permitting the user to target a search based on a criterion, at least in part based on the fee.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter of the present applicant and that of Patent No. 12107932 are substantially the same and the claimed subject matter of the present application would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the claimed subject matter of Patent No. 12107932.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23 , 28-30, 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20150058423 A1 ), hereafter Chen in view of Khaef et al. (US 20140372290 A1), hereafter Khaef.
Regarding claim 21, Chen teaches a method, comprising:
providing, to a first user of an online dating service, a view of a profile including a photo, the profile being of a second user in the online dating service ([0044], fig. 1, the action logger 146 populates the activity log 142 with information about user actions. Any action that a particular user takes with respect to another node on the social networking system 130 may be associated with each user's profile, through information maintained in the activity log 142; [0082] notifications concerning the photos category may be provided to the user when, for example, the user is "tagged" in a photo, another comments on a photo in which the user appears or is "tagged", the user uploads a photo to the social networking website);
delivering a communication from the first user to the second user via the online dating service [0069] if User A and User B are friends, there may be an additional path that indirectly connects User A to the article through User B, who posted the article; ([0072] how often User A views the profile or content associated with User B may be determined and expressed as an observation coefficient); and
detecting actions taken by the first user and the second user in the online dating service ([0044] The action logger 146 is capable of receiving communications from the web server 132 about user actions on and/or off the social networking system 130. The action logger 146 populates the activity log 142 with information about user actions, enabling the social networking system 130 to discover various actions taken by its users within the social networking system 130 and outside of the social networking system 130), and for each of the detected actions, storing data indicative of the detected action ([0044] when a user takes an action within the social networking system 130, the action is recorded in the activity log 142), wherein the detected actions include at least one of viewing another user's profile ([0072] how often User A views the profile or content associated with User B), changing the user's own profile ([0047] changing user profile information changing user profile information), sending a message to another user via the online dating service ([0044] sending a message to another user), and performing a matching search using the online dating service ([0071] User A or User B have searched for each other).
Chen does not explicitly teach
soliciting the first user to pay a fee for the online dating service; and
providing a feature to the first user on the online dating service, at least in part based on the fee.
Khaef teaches
soliciting the first user to pay a fee for the online dating service ([0073] A sponsor may offer the (online dating) site a discount or special offer for users that pre-purchase gift certificates); and
providing a feature to the first user on the online dating service, at least in part based on the fee ([0102] acknowledger may be required to pay a small fee to accept (i.e., acknowledge) the invitation from Initiator (the first user);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Chen disclosure, a fee dating system, as taught by Khaef. One would be motivated to do so for enhanced user experience and lead to more revenue generation opportunities for operators and advertising sponsors of such sites.
Regarding claims 22, 29, and 36, Chen and Khaef teach all limitations of parent claims 21, 28, and 35, wherein Chen further teaches the communication is defined by a message ([0042] The web server may include a mail server or other messaging functionality for receiving and routing messages between the social networking system and one or more user devices).
Regarding claims 23 and 30, Chen and Khaef teach all limitations of parent claims 21 and 28, wherein Khaef further teaches the fee is for a subscription-based service ([0037] an application service provider--an individual person, business, or other entity--may allow access, on a free registration, paid subscriber).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Chen disclosure, a fee for a subscription, as taught by Khaef. One would be motivated to do so for enhanced user experience and lead to more revenue generation opportunities for operators and advertising sponsors of such sites.
Regarding claim 28, Chen teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable medium that includes code for execution and that, when executed by a processor, is operable to perform operations comprising:
providing, to a first user of an online dating service, a view of a profile including a photo, the profile being of a second user in the online dating service ([0044] The action logger 146 populates the activity log 142 with information about user actions. Any action that a particular user takes with respect to another node on the social networking system 130 may be associated with each user's profile, through information maintained in the activity log 142; [0082] notifications concerning the photos category may be provided to the user when, for example, the user is "tagged" in a photo, another comments on a photo in which the user appears or is "tagged", the user uploads a photo to the social networking website);
delivering a communication from the first user to the second user via the online dating service ([0069] if User A and User B are friends, there may be an additional path that indirectly connects User A to the article through User B, who posted the article; [0072] how often User A views the profile or content associated with User B may be determined and expressed as an observation coefficient); and
detecting actions taken by the first user and the second user in the online dating service ([0044] The action logger 146 is capable of receiving communications from the web server 132 about user actions on and/or off the social networking system 130. The action logger 146 populates the activity log 142 with information about user actions, enabling the social networking system 130 to discover various actions taken by its users within the social networking system 130 and outside of the social networking system 130), and for each of the detected actions, storing data indicative of the detected action ([0044] when a user takes an action within the social networking system 130, the action is recorded in the activity log 142), wherein the detected actions include at least one of viewing another user's profile ([0072] how often User A views the profile or content associated with User B), changing the user's own profile ([0047] changing user profile information changing user profile information), sending a message to another user via the online dating service ([0044] sending a message to another user), and performing a matching search using the online dating service ([0071] User A or User B have searched for each other).
Chen does not explicitly teach
soliciting the first user to pay a fee for the online dating service; and
providing a feature to the first user on the online dating service, at least in part based on the fee.
Khaef teaches
soliciting the first user to pay a fee for the online dating service ([0073] A sponsor may offer the (online dating) site a discount or special offer for users that pre-purchase gift certificates); and
providing a feature to the first user on the online dating service, at least in part based on the fee ([0102] acknowledger may be required to pay a small fee to accept (i.e., acknowledge) the invitation from Initiator (the first user);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Chen disclosure, a fee dating system, as taught by Khaef.
Regarding claim 35, Chen teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a memory that stores at least one instruction; and
a processor configured to execute the at least one instruction to cause the apparatus to
provide, to a first user of an online dating service, a view of a profile including a photo, the profile being of a second user in the online dating service ([0044] The action logger 146 populates the activity log 142 with information about user actions. Any action that a particular user takes with respect to another node on the social networking system 130 may be associated with each user's profile, through information maintained in the activity log 142; [0082] notifications concerning the photos category may be provided to the user when, for example, the user is "tagged" in a photo, another comments on a photo in which the user appears or is "tagged", the user uploads a photo to the social networking website);
deliver a communication from the first user to the second user via the online dating service ([0069] if User A and User B are friends, there may be an additional path that indirectly connects User A to the article through User B, who posted the article; [0072] how often User A views the profile or content associated with User B may be determined and expressed as an observation coefficient); and
detecting actions taken by the first user and the second user in the online dating service ([0044] The action logger 146 is capable of receiving communications from the web server 132 about user actions on and/or off the social networking system 130. The action logger 146 populates the activity log 142 with information about user actions, enabling the social networking system 130 to discover various actions taken by its users within the social networking system 130 and outside of the social networking system 130), and for each of the detected actions, storing data indicative of the detected action ([0044] when a user takes an action within the social networking system 130, the action is recorded in the activity log 142), wherein the detected actions include at least one of viewing another user's profile ([0072] how often User A views the profile or content associated with User B), changing the user's own profile ([0047] changing user profile information changing user profile information), sending a message to another user via the online dating service ([0044] sending a message to another user), and performing a matching search using the online dating service ([0071] User A or User B have searched for each other).
Chen does not explicitly teach
solicit the first user to pay a fee for the online dating service;
provide a feature to the first user on the online dating service, at least in part based on the fee; and
solicit the first user to pay a fee for the online dating service ([0073] A sponsor may offer the (online dating) site a discount or special offer for users that pre-purchase gift certificates); and
provide a feature to the first user on the online dating service, at least in part based on the fee ([0102] acknowledger may be required to pay a small fee to accept (i.e., acknowledge) the invitation from Initiator (the first user);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Chen disclosure, a fee dating system, as taught by Khaef. One would be motivated to do so for enhanced user experience and lead to more revenue generation opportunities for operators and advertising sponsors of such sites.
Claims 24-25, 37-38, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Khaef and further in view of Giordani et al. (US 8332418 B1), hereafter Giordani.
Regarding claims 24, 37, and 31, Chen and Khaef teach all limitations of parent claims 21, 35, and 28, Chen does not explicitly teach
wherein the feature is defined by permitting the first user to communicate more frequently with the second user, at least in part based on the fee.
Giordani teaches
wherein the feature is defined by permitting the first user to communicate more frequently with the second user, at least in part based on the fee (col. 3, lines 19-21, a matching service agrees to provide 10 matches and additional matches can be made for additional fees).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Chen disclosure, an addition fee after user exceeds the free service, as taught by Giordani. One would be motivated to do so to maintain the processes and databases for a number of different users, or it may represent a distributed set of computers located in different geographic regions, each serving a different group of users.
Regarding claims 25, 38, and 32, Chen and Khaef teach all limitations of parent claims 21, 28, and 35, Chen does not explicitly teach
wherein the feature is defined by providing an additional match to the first user, at least in part based on the fee.
Giordani teaches
wherein the feature is defined by providing an additional match to the first user, at least in part based on the fee (col. 3, lines 20-21, additional matches can be made for additional fees).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Chen disclosure, an addition fee after user exceeds the free service, as taught by Giordani. One would be motivated to do so to maintain the processes and databases for a number of different users, or it may represent a distributed set of computers located in different geographic regions, each serving a different group of users.
Claims 26-27, 33-34, and 39-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of in view of Khaef and further in view of Thomas (US 20110252340 A1).
Regarding claims 26, 33, and 39, Chen and Khaef teach all limitations of parent claims 21, 28, and 35, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the feature is defined by permitting the first user to target a search based on a criterion, at least in part based on the fee.
Thomas teaches
the feature is defined by permitting the first user to target a search based on a criterion, at least in part based on the fee ([0094] once an account is set up and the required membership fee is paid, the user is then allowed to begin his/her search).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Chen disclosure, a membership fee to search for other members, as taught by Thomas. One would be motivated to do so to maintain the processes and databases for a number of different users, or it may represent a distributed set of computers located in different geographic regions, each serving a different group of users.
Regarding claims 27, 34, and 40, Chen and Khaef teach all limitations of parent claims 21, 28, and 35, Chen does not explicitly teach
wherein the feature is defined by permitting the first user to receive preferential positioning in the context of being matched to the second user, at least in part based on the fee.
Thomas teaches
wherein the feature is defined by permitting the first user to receive preferential positioning in the context of being matched to the second user, at least in part based on the fee ([0071] As indicated, certain witnesses may be granted a limited membership, e.g., without search or hosting capabilities or other capabilities, but with a free or discounted membership to watch auditions or dates open to the public, limited public, or designated group, and so on).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention made to include in the Chen disclosure, a membership fee to search for other members, as taught by Thomas. One would be motivated to do so to maintain the processes and databases for a number of different users, or it may represent a distributed set of computers located in different geographic regions, each serving a different group of users.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANH NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458