DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 7, 10-12, 13, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2006/0079884 A1 to Manzo et al. (hereinafter “Manzo”).
Regarding claim 1, Manzo discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1-9C; and [0029]-[0060]) a forceps device (see Figs. 4-6C) comprising: a distal end part (Figs. 5A-B) including a treatment part (28) for treating an object; a columnar member (29, including 29B, see Fig. 5A/6B) connected to the distal end part (see [0038]); a pipe (23) connected to the columnar member on a side thereof opposite a side with which the distal end part is connected (see [0038]-[0041] and Figs. 5A-6C); a cover (38) mounted over the distal end part and the columnar member (see Figs. 5A-C and [0041]-[0042]); and an enlarged-diameter portion (stop shoulder 56) having a larger diameter than an end face, on a side closer to the pipe, of the cover that is mounted over the columnar member (see Figs. 5A-C and [0042]), wherein the enlarged-diameter portion is located at a position covering the end face (see Figs. 5B-C).
Manzo further discloses (claim 4) wherein the enlarged-diameter portion is provided at the pipe (see Figs. 5A-C and [0042]); (claim 5) wherein a diameter of the enlarged-diameter portion on a columnar member side is smaller than an inner diameter of a trocar into which the forceps device is configured to be inserted (inserting into a trocar is an intended use recitation, however, if the forceps device is inserted into a trocar, the diameter of the enlarged-diameter portion would have to be smaller than the inner diameter of the trocar for the device to actually be inserted into the trocar); (claim 6) a wire (68) connected to the treatment part for causing the treatment part to operate (see [0048]), wherein the columnar member comprises a through-hole through which the wire extends (see Figs. 8A-9C).
Regarding claim 7, Manzo discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1-9C; and [0029]-[0060]) a forceps device (see Figs. 4-6C) comprising: a distal end part (Figs. 5A-B) including a treatment part (28) for treating an object; a base cap (29, including 29B, see Fig. 5A/6B) connected proximally to the distal end part (see [0038]); a pipe (23) connected proximally to the base cap (see [0038]-[0041] and Figs. 5A-6C); a cover (38) that covers the distal end part and the base cap and has an end face at a proximal end of the base cap (see Figs. 5A-C and [0042]); and an enlarged-diameter portion (stop shoulder 56) having a diameter that is larger than a diameter of the end face of the cover (see Figs. 5A-C and [0042]).
Manzo further discloses (claim 10) wherein the enlarged-diameter portion is provided at the pipe (see Figs. 5A-C and [0042]); (claim 11) wherein the diameter of the enlarged-diameter portion is smaller than an inner diameter of a trocar into which the forceps device is configured to be inserted (inserting into a trocar is an intended use recitation, however, if the forceps device is inserted into a trocar, the diameter of the enlarged-diameter portion would have to be smaller than the inner diameter of the trocar for the device to actually be inserted into the trocar); (claim 12) a wire (68) connected to the treatment part (see [0048]), wherein the base cap comprises a through-hole through which the wire extends (see Figs. 8A-9C).
Regarding claim 13, Manzo discloses (see abstract; Figs. 1-9C; and [0029]-[0060]) a forceps device (see Figs. 4-6C) comprising: a distal end part (Figs. 5A-B) including a treatment part (28) for treating an object; a base cap (29, including 29B, see Fig. 5A/6B) connected proximally to the distal end part (see [0038]); a pipe (23) connected proximally to the base cap (see [0038]-[0041] and Figs. 5A-6C); a cover (38) that covers the distal end part and the base cap and has an end face at a proximal end of the base cap (see Figs. 5A-C and [0042]); and a hood (stop shoulder 56) having a diameter that is larger than a diameter of the end face of the cover (see Figs. 5A-C and [0042]).
Manzo further discloses (claim 16) wherein the is mounted at the pipe (see Figs. 5A-C and [0042]); (claim 17) wherein the diameter of the hood is smaller than an inner diameter of a trocar into which the forceps device is configured to be inserted (inserting into a trocar is an intended use recitation, however, if the forceps device is inserted into a trocar, the diameter of the hood would have to be smaller than the inner diameter of the trocar for the device to actually be inserted into the trocar).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 8-9, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manzo in view of US 2008/0300629 A1 to Surti (hereinafter “Surti”).
Manzo fails to specifically disclose, with respect to claim 2, wherein the enlarged-diameter portion has a tapered shape in which a diameter of the enlarged-diameter portion decreases from an end adjacent to the columnar member toward an end adjacent to the pipe, although Mando does disclose with respect to claim 3 wherein a diameter of the enlarged-diameter portion at the end adjacent to the pipe is smaller than a diameter of the pipe (see Figs. 5A-C and [0042]). Manzo teaches that the enlarged-diameter portion is a stop shoulder (see [0042]). Surti discloses (see Figs. 3/6, [0021], [0024], [0030]) the known use in the field of surgery of a stop shoulder (40) comprising an enlarged-diameter portion having a tapered shape (48) in which a diameter of the enlarged diameter portion decreases (see Figs. 3/6) which acts to limit the further movement of a sleeve (24) by abutting the proximal end surface of the sleeve (see [0030]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of combining prior art elements according to known method to yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,82 USPQ2d 1385,1395- 97(2007)), to obtain the predictable result of a tapered stop shoulder instead of a straight stop shoulder, since Manzo teaches a straight stop shoulder which functions to abut the proximal end of cover 38 and prevent further proximal movement thereof (see [0042]), and Surti discloses a tapered stop shoulder which functions to abut the proximal end of the sleeve 24 to prevent further proximal movement thereof (see [0030]), and therefore it would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a tapered stop shoulder instead of a straight stop shoulder since they both provide the same predictable function of abutting a proximal end of a sleeve/cover to prevent further proximal movement thereof.
Manzo fails to specifically disclose, with respect to claim 8, wherein the enlarged-diameter portion has a tapered shape in which the diameter of the enlarged-diameter portion decreases from an end of the enlarged-diameter portion that is adjacent to the base cap toward an end of the enlarged-diameter portion that is adjacent to the pipe, although Mando does disclose with respect to claim 9 wherein the diameter of the enlarged-diameter portion at the end of the enlarged-diameter portion that is adjacent to the pipe is smaller than a diameter of the pipe (see Figs. 5A-C and [0042]). Manzo teaches that the enlarged-diameter portion is a stop shoulder (see [0042]). Surti discloses (see Figs. 3/6, [0021], [0024], [0030]) the known use in the field of surgery of a stop shoulder (40) comprising an enlarged-diameter portion having a tapered shape (48) in which a diameter of the enlarged diameter portion decreases (see Figs. 3/6) which acts to limit the further movement of a sleeve (24) by abutting the proximal end surface of the sleeve (see [0030]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of combining prior art elements according to known method to yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,82 USPQ2d 1385,1395- 97(2007)), to obtain the predictable result of a tapered stop shoulder instead of a straight stop shoulder, since Manzo teaches a straight stop shoulder which functions to abut the proximal end of cover 38 and prevent further proximal movement thereof (see [0042]), and Surti discloses a tapered stop shoulder which functions to abut the proximal end of the sleeve 24 to prevent further proximal movement thereof (see [0030]), and therefore it would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a tapered stop shoulder instead of a straight stop shoulder since they both provide the same predictable function of abutting a proximal end of a sleeve/cover to prevent further proximal movement thereof.
Manzo fails to specifically disclose, with respect to claim 14, wherein the hood has a tapered shape in which a diameter of the hood decreases from a first end of the hood that is adjacent to the base cap toward a second end of the hood that is adjacent to the pipe, although Mando does disclose with respect to claim 15 wherein a diameter of hood at the second end is smaller than a diameter of the pipe (see Figs. 5A-C and [0042]). Manzo teaches that the enlarged-diameter portion is a stop shoulder (see [0042]). Surti discloses (see Figs. 3/6, [0021], [0024], [0030]) the known use in the field of surgery of a stop shoulder (40) comprising an enlarged-diameter portion having a tapered shape (48) in which a diameter of the enlarged diameter portion decreases (see Figs. 3/6) which acts to limit the further movement of a sleeve (24) by abutting the proximal end surface of the sleeve (see [0030]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of combining prior art elements according to known method to yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,82 USPQ2d 1385,1395- 97(2007)), to obtain the predictable result of a tapered stop shoulder instead of a straight stop shoulder, since Manzo teaches a straight stop shoulder which functions to abut the proximal end of cover 38 and prevent further proximal movement thereof (see [0042]), and Surti discloses a tapered stop shoulder which functions to abut the proximal end of the sleeve 24 to prevent further proximal movement thereof (see [0030]), and therefore it would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a tapered stop shoulder instead of a straight stop shoulder since they both provide the same predictable function of abutting a proximal end of a sleeve/cover to prevent further proximal movement thereof.
Conclusion
/SHAUN L DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771