DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figure 1: Please provide text labels inside the empty boxes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 4: “an electronics” is grammatically unclear.
Claim 2: “the ratio”, “the ON ganglion cells and OFF ganglion cells” lack proper antecedent basis.
Claims 5, 10-12: Unclear what signal aspect is intended to be covered by “repetition rate”, since a frequency is already recited.
Claim 6: Unclear because the claim does not recite a transitional phrase (i.e. “comprising”) and does not clearly recite method steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fan (US 2020/0069945).
Regarding claims 1, 6, Fan discloses the same invention as claimed, including an arrangement for stimulating a retina (abstract; Figure 1), comprising: a camera (Paragraph 51), a multiplicity of electrodes for interacting with the retina (Paragraph 51), an electronics package (Paragraph 51) configured to use an image evaluation algorithm to determine a respective target value for the stimulation of the retina for a multiplicity of pixels from a camera signal output by the camera (Paragraphs 49-50), to use a decoding algorithm to determine a respective set of stimulation parameters for each of the pixels on the basis of the determined target value (Paragraphs 49-50), to output a stimulation signal to one of the electrodes for each of the pixels on the basis of the set of stimulation parameters in order to stimulate the retina (Paragraphs 49-50), to receive action potentials, created by the retina, for each of the pixels via one of the electrodes (Paragraphs 49-50), to use a classification algorithm to determine an actual value of the stimulation of the retina for each of the pixels from the action potentials received (Paragraphs 49-50), to use an optimization algorithm to adjust the determination of the set of stimulation parameters for each of the pixels on the basis of the determined target value and the determined actual value, in such a way that the actual value approaches the target value (Paragraphs 7, 49-50), wherein at least the multiplicity of electrodes are formed as part of a retinal implant of the arrangement (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Fan discloses stimulation typically comprises an amplitude and frequency or repetition rate as recited (Paragraph 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan (US 2020/0069945) in view of Nirenberg (US 2013/0289668).
Regarding claim 2, Fan does not disclose a ratio of ON and OFF ganglion cells to be excited as recited. However, Nirenberg teaches determining stimulation based on a ratio of ON and OFF ganglion cells as recited (Paragraphs 236, 296), in order to mimic natural retinal stimulation (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fan as taught by Nirenberg to include a ratio of ON and OFF ganglion cells to be excited as recited, in order to mimic natural retinal stimulation.
Regarding claims 3, 7, Fan does not disclose a neural network as recited. However, Nirenberg teaches optimizing stimulation via a neural network as recited (Paragraph 108), in order to efficiently optimize the stimulation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fan as taught by Nirenberg to include a neural network as recited, in order to efficiently optimize the stimulation.
Regarding claims 4, 8, 9, Fan does not disclose sinusoidal signals as recited. However, Nirenberg teaches stimulating via sinusoidal signals as recited (Paragraph 95; signals are superimposed at least due to limited spatial proximity on retinal array), in order to stimulate the retina. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fan as taught by Nirenberg to include sinusoidal signals as recited, in order to stimulate the retina.
Regarding claims 10-12, Fan discloses stimulation typically comprises an amplitude and frequency or repetition rate as recited (Paragraph 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chichilnisky (US 2024/0359009) shows calibrating a retinal stimulator by recording activation responses.
Greenberg (US 2006/0184062) shows fitting a retinal stimulator by recording neural activity.
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796