DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The present Office action is responsive to the application as filed on 09-20-2024. As directed, claims 1-10 are currently pending examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 1, lines 21-22, it is suggested that “the restriction” be replaced with “a restriction” as the term has not been previously introduced.
At claim 2, line 6, it is suggested that “the contact segments” be replaced with “the at least two contact segments” for consistency in the claim.
At claim 2, line 7, it is suggested that “the elastic needles” be replaced with “the at least two elastic needles” for consistency in the claim.
At claim 9, line 5, it is suggested that “the end face” be replaced with “an end face” as the term has not been previously introduced in this dependency chain.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 2026/0000574).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a fascia gun (paragraph 95, lines 1-7; Figs. 6-9 and 17-18), comprising:
a housing (70) (paragraph 96, lines 1-7; Fig. 18);
a movement assembly (paragraph 67, lines 13-15; paragraph 87, lines 1-6; paragraph 95, lines 1-7; paragraph 96, lines 1-12; see piston 20, drive mechanism 50, and control circuit/controller 60; Figs. 6-9 and 16-18);
a massage head (10) (paragraph 46, lines 1-6; Fig. 2); and
a conduction component (paragraph 68, lines 1-6; paragraph 69, lines 1-5; Figs. 4-5; see tact switch 30 and boss 109; paragraph 78, lines 1-10; paragraph 98, lines 1-8; Fig. 11; see magnetic sensor 41 and magnetic member 40, and note that the tact switch 30 and the magnetic member are each provided in the Fig. 11 embodiment), wherein:
the housing (70) has a receiving cavity and an opening communicated with the receiving cavity (see Figs. 16-18, where the opening is the end of the gun where massage head 10 protrudes from, and the receiving cavity is the interior of the housing holding the device components);
the movement assembly comprises a driver, a piston and a main control board (paragraph 67, lines 13-15; paragraph 87, lines 1-6; paragraph 95, lines 1-7; paragraph 96, lines 1-12; see piston 20, drive mechanism 50, and control circuit/controller 60; Figs. 6-9 and 16-18), the driver (50) is electrically connected to the main control board (60) and is provided in the receiving cavity (paragraph 88, lines 14-15; paragraph 73, lines 5-6; paragraph 90, lines 1-7; paragraph 95, lines 1-3), the piston (20) is connected to the driver (50) (paragraph 96, lines 1-4), the main control board (60) is configured to control the driver (50) to start or stop (paragraph 88, lines 9-22), and the piston (20) is movably provided at the opening (paragraph 96, lines 1-6; see Figs. 9 and 17-18, where 20 sleeves head 10 and is provided at the opening of the housing 70);
the massage head (10) is detachably connected to the piston (20), and at least part of the massage head (10) is disposed outside the housing (70) (paragraph 52, lines 1-9; paragraph 53, lines 1-5; Fig. 18);
the conduction component comprises a trigger (40 and/or 109) and a switch controller (41 and/or 30), the trigger (109) is provided on the massage head (10), the switch controller (30) is provided on the piston (20), and the switch controller (30) is connected to an anti-mistouch circuit of the main control board (60) (paragraph 68, lines 1-6; paragraph 69, lines 1-5; paragraph 70, lines 1-11, note the open/closed connection of the boss 109 and the tact switch 30 as the anti-mistouch circuitry in connection with the control circuitry/controller 60; Figs. 4-5; see tact switch 30 and boss 109; paragraph 78, lines 1-10; paragraph 98, lines 1-8; Fig. 11; see magnetic sensor 41 and magnetic member 40, and note that the tact switch 30 and the magnetic member are each provided in the Fig. 11 embodiment);
when the massage head (10) is separated from the piston (20), the trigger (40 and/or 109) and the switch controller (41 and/or 30) are spaced apart from each other, and the switch controller (41 and/or 30) is configured to disconnect the anti-mistouch circuit of the main control board (60) to limit the main control board from controlling the start of the driver (50) (paragraph 70, lines 1-11); or
when the massage head (10) is connected to the piston (20), the trigger (40 and/or 109) is configured to trigger the switch controller (41 and/or 30) to conduct the anti-mistouch circuit of the main control board (60) to release the restriction of the main control board (60) on the driver (50) (paragraph 70, lines 1-11; paragraph 78, lines 1-10; Figs. 4-5 and 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2026/0000574), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Xue (JP 2023/099973) further in view of Wang (CN 118416402).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the fascia gun of claim 1, as discussed above.
While Zhang indicates that when the massage head (10) is connected to the piston (20), the contact segments of the trigger (109) and the controller switch (30) are abutted against each other in a one-to-one correspondence to conduct the anti-mistouch circuit (paragraph 70, lines 1-11), Zhang fails to disclose wherein:
the trigger is a conductive plate, and the switch controller is an elastic needle plate;
the elastic needle plate comprises a circuit board and at least two elastic needles, the elastic needles are provided on the circuit board at intervals, and at least two contact segments are provided on the conductive plate; and
when the massage head is connected to the piston, the contact segments are abutted against the elastic needles in a one-to-one correspondence to conduct the anti-mistouch circuit.
However, Xue teaches a connection between a massage head (111) and a main body (2) of a facia gun (102) that includes a conductive plate (110) and a needle plate (plate containing flick pins 15, 17, and/or 120 in Figs. 3 and 18);
the needle plate (plate containing flick pins 15, 17, and/or 120 in Figs. 3 and 18) comprises a circuit board (28) and at least two needles (see plurality of pins 15 and 17 in Fig. 18), the needles (15 and 17) are provided on the circuit board (28) at intervals, and at least two contact segments are provided on the conductive plate (110) (“A specific configuration of the massage head 1 will be described with reference to FIG. The massage head 1 includes a head shell 24 that contacts the affected area, a heating piece 26, a thermistor 25, a connecting rod 27, and a circuit board. The heat-generating piece 26 and the thermistor 25 are electrically connected to a circuit board 28, and the circuit board 28 is attached to the end surface of the connecting rod 27” and Fig. 5; “As shown in FIG. 3, flick pins 120, 120, are arranged as follows. On the surface of the supporting portion 12 on the side of the main body 2 facing the connecting rod 27, conductive rings arranged radially with a predetermined interval so as to form concentric circles are provided and electrically connected to the circuit board 19. It is The spacing of the conductors 110 is designed to approximately match the spacing of the flick pins 120. Further, the center of the row of flick pins 120 and the center of the concentric circle of conductor 110 are designed to substantially coincide with each other by screwing connecting rod 27 and support portion 12 together” and “A second feature of the fascia gun 102 according to this embodiment is the electrical connection structure of the massage head. This point will be described with reference to FIG.3, the massage head 111 connected to the fascia gun 102 of this embodiment has a flick pin (15, 17) are provided and arranged not in a line in a predetermined direction but in a cross shape. The central flick pin 17 corresponds to the center of the concentric circles of the conductor 110 and is arranged at the intersection of the crosses. In addition, one flick pin 15 among the flick pins in the periphery is formed in a larger size than the other flick pins, so that the user can easily sense contact with the conductor 110 during installation. The user's convenience is improved accordingly”); and
when the massage head (111) is connected to the body (2), the contact segments are abutted against the needles (15 and 17) in a one-to-one correspondence (“The central flick pin 17 corresponds to the center of the concentric circles of the conductor 110 and is arranged at the intersection of the crosses. In addition, one flick pin 15 among the flick pins in the periphery is formed in a larger size than the other flick pins, so that the user can easily sense contact with the conductor 110 during installation. The user's convenience is improved accordingly”), in order to establish an electrical connection between the head and the body (“A second feature of the fascia gun 102 according to this embodiment is the electrical connection structure of the massage head”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the conduction component of Zhang as a conductive plate and a needle plate, wherein the needle plate comprises a circuit board and at least two needles, the needles are provided on the circuit board at intervals, and at least two contact segments are provided on the conductive plate, when the massage head is connected to the piston, the contact segments are abutted against the needles in a one-to-one correspondence, as taught by Xue, as a known alternative manner of establishing an electrical connection between detachable parts of a facia gun, and thereby conducting the anti-mistouch circuit.
It is noted that in the Xue invention, the trigger and the switch controller are effectively provided in an opposite arrangement as in the claims and in the Zhang reference. In other words, the conductive plate is on the piston side, and the needle plate is arranged on the massage head side. However, the Courts have held that reversal of parts is held to be an obvious modification (see MPEP 2144.04 IV(A) and In re Gazda). Because the operation and conductivity of the electrical components would still operate as expected if the needle plate were contained on the piston and the conductive plate were contained on the massage head, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the conduction components of modified Zhang could reasonably be reversed to place the conductive plate on the massage head and the needle plate on the piston, as a simple reversal of parts to obtain the predictable result of generating an electrical connection between the piston and massage body and the massage head.
Modified Zhang fails to disclose wherein the needles are elastic.
However, in an analogous skin care device, Wang teaches wherein an electrical conductor may be made up of a metal elastic needle, which is more beneficial for reliable electrical connection (“In this embodiment, the conductive part 500 is a metal elastic needle, which is more beneficial for reliable electric connection”; Fig. 27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the needles of modified Zhang to be made from an elastic metal, as taught by Wang, in order to produce a more reliable electrical connection between the needle plate and the conducive plate.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2026/0000574), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Giraud (US 2015/0305969).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the fascia gun of claim 1, as discussed above.
Zhang further discloses wherein the trigger is a magnetic member (40), and the switch controller is a magnetic sensor (41) (paragraph 78, lines 1-10; Fig. 6);
when the massage head (10) is connected to the piston (20), the magnetic member (40) is close to the magnetic sensor (41) (paragraph 78, lines 1-10; Fig. 6); and
when the magnetic sensor (41) senses a magnetic field of the magnetic member (40), the anti-mistouch circuit of the main control board (60) is conducted (paragraph 78, lines 1-10).
Zhang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the magnetic sensor is a hall element.
However, in an analogous skin care field of endeavor, Giraud teaches that a known type of magnetic sensor is a hall element (paragraph 18, lines 1-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic sensor of Zhang to be specifically provided as a hall element, given that Giraud teaches that a hall element is a known type of magnetic sensor for provision in determining attachment and attachment type of a massage head to the body of a device (Giraud: paragraph 18, lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in view of Giraud disclose the fascia gun of claim 3, as discussed above.
Zhang further discloses wherein a slot (200) is provided on one side of the piston (20) facing the massage head (10), the switch controller (41) is provided in the slot (200), the massage head (10) comprises a massage part (100) and a connection part (101), the trigger (40) is provided on a side of the connection part (101) away from the massage part (100), and the connection part (101) is plugged into the slot (200) to make the trigger (40) trigger the switch controller (41) (paragraph 57, lines 1-4 and Fig. 2; paragraph 58, lines 1-4 and Fig. 12; see also Figs. 6-9 for coupling of 101 with 200, and note that 200 is defined by the outer wall of piston 20 in which sensor 41 is seated; paragraph 76, lines 1-8; paragraph 78, lines 1-10).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2026/0000574), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Hart (US 2022/0362097).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the fascia gun of claim 1, as discussed above.
Zhang further discloses wherein the driver (50) comprises a motor (paragraph 73, lines 5-6).
Zhang fails to disclose wherein:
the movement assembly further comprises a battery provided in the receiving cavity, and the driver comprises an eccentric wheel and a bearing connecting rod;
the battery is electrically connected to the motor and the main control board, and an output end of the motor is connected to the eccentric wheel; and
one end of the bearing connecting rod is rotatably connected to the eccentric wheel, and another end of the bearing connecting rod is rotatably connected to the piston.
However, Hart teaches a fascia gun (100) (paragraph 65, lines 1-4; Fig. 1) wherein:
the movement assembly further comprises a battery provided in the receiving cavity (paragraph 57, lines 1-11; paragraph 59, lines 1-13;, note motor 202, battery 200, piston 212, and circuit board 205 as parts of the movement assembly Fig. 2, note that the receiving cavity is defined by an interior of housing 104), and the driver comprises a motor (202), an eccentric wheel (204) and a bearing connecting rod (206) (paragraph 69, lines 1-10; Fig. 3, note that 204 is eccentric, as it is an arcuate shape offset from the longitudinal axis of the motor shaft);
the battery (200) is electrically connected to the motor (202) and the main control board (205) (paragraph 57, lines 1-10), and an output end of the motor (202) is connected to the eccentric wheel (204) (paragraph 59, lines 1-10; Fig. 3); and
one end of the bearing connecting rod (206) is rotatably connected to the eccentric wheel (204), and another end of the bearing connecting rod (206) is rotatably connected to the piston (212) (paragraph 59, lines 1-15; paragraph 69, lines 1-5; note that the entire connection of rod 206 with rotating crankshaft 204 is regarded as creating rotatable connection between the crankshaft, the rod, and the piston by virtue of this connection; Fig. 3).
Therefore, given that each of Zhang and Hart describe percussive massage devices in the form of fascia guns, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Zhang such that the movement assembly further comprises a battery provided in the receiving cavity, and the driver comprises an eccentric wheel and a bearing connecting rod, the battery is electrically connected to the motor and the main control board, and an output end of the motor is connected to the eccentric wheel, and one end of the bearing connecting rod is rotatably connected to the eccentric wheel, and another end of the bearing connecting rod is rotatably connected to the piston, as taught by Hart, to provide a known mechanism for producing reciprocation at a piston and as a known manner of offering electrical communication between the battery, the circuit board, and the motor in order to establish the reciprocal motion of the piston and the massage head.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the claim objection, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 5 is written to require the conduction component further comprises a first bracket and a connecting wire, the first bracket is provided on a bottom wall of the slot, and the switch controller is provided on a side of the first bracket away from the bottom wall of the slot; and one end of the connecting wire is connected to the switch controller, and another end of the connecting wire is configured to pass through the bottom wall of the slot and is connected to the main control board.
In Zhang, while a magnetic sensor (41) and a magnetic member (40) are provided as parts of the conduction component to satisfy the limitations of claims 1 and 3, the conduction component is not provided with a first bracket for holding the switch controller (in this dependency chain given as the magnetic sensor 41). Rather, looking to Zhang’s Figure 12, the switch controller (41) is located within a wall of the piston (20), while the tact switch (30) is provided on the bottom wall of the piston (20). Further, the magnetic member (40), as seen in Figure 4, is provided on a side portion of the massage head (10) so that it may interface with the magnetic sensor (41) contained in the side wall of the piston (21) (see Fig. 6). Further, in Figure 11, the end of the massage head (10) that would be placed within the slot (200) includes a boss (109A) meant to interface with the tact switch (30). Thus, there does not appear to be any articulated reason to further provide a first bracket for attachment to the switch controller, and specifically positioning the first bracket on a bottom wall of the slot, given that the switch controller (41) is located in the side wall of the piston (20), and further since the tact switch (30) and boss (109) and the magnetic sensor (41) and magnetic member (40) are positioned such that they don’t interfere with one another (i.e., the tact switch is at the bottom wall of the slot to interface the boss of the massage head).
Further, Zhang provides that the rotation angle of the connecting member can be determined based on the side wall positioning of the magnetic member and sensor (see paragraphs 79 and 81). Thus, moving the placement of these elements would eliminate the ability to determine the rotational angle between the massage head and the piston which is derived from the threaded connection of the two members (see Figs. 2-3). At best, the bracket could be regarded as the bottom lip of the piston, as seen in Figure 5, on which the tact switch (30) is located. But once again, this does not resolve the issues present with moving the location of the magnetic member and sensor. Further, while claim 1 regards the switch controller as both the tact switch and the magnetic sensor (see 30 and 41 in piston 20), claim 3 specifically sets forth that the switch controller is the hall element, analogous to the magnetic sensor. Thus, there does not seem to be any motivated rationale for providing the structures as outlined in claim 5 when starting from the Zhang primary reference. No additional prior art documents have been identified that anticipate and/or render obvious the combination of these claimed elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hart, relied upon above, is further cited for its wire connection shown in Figures 11 and 12.
Chen (US 2022/0087894) is cited for its rotatable connection between a drive shaft and a piston as seen in Figures 7-11.
/PAIGE KATHLEEN BUGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785