DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/20/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1, line 11, “second lens” should be changed to --second lens.--; in claim 12, line 2, “surface” should be changed to --surface.--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 10-12, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al (US 2018/0231740 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Chen et al discloses an optical imaging system (page 4, sections [0083]-[0084], Figures 6 & 20) comprising: a first lens having positive refractive power (Figure 20, F1=4.489 mm, Figure 6, “10”); a second lens having negative refractive power (Figure 20, F2=-9.409 mm, Figure 6, “20”); a third lens having positive refractive power (Figure 20, F3=6.559 mm, Figure 6, “30”); a fourth lens having negative refractive power (Figure 20, F4=-8.243 mm, Figure 6, “40”); a fifth lens having positive refractive power (Figure 20, F5=7.026 mm, Figure 6, “50”); and a sixth lens having negative refractive power (Figure 20, F6=-5.897 mm, Figure 6, “60”), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially arranged from an object side to an imaging plane (Figure 6, “10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60”), wherein the optical imaging system has a total of six lenses (Figure 6, “10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60”), wherein v2 < 21 → v2=20.350 (Figure 20), where v2 represents an Abbe number of the second lens.
Regarding claim 2, Chen et al discloses wherein R1/f < 0.42 → 1.712 mm/4.194 mm = 0.41 (Figure 20), where R1 represents a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens and f represents a total focal length of the optical imaging system.
Regarding claim 4, Chen et al discloses wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 6, “11”).
Regarding claim 5, Chen et al discloses wherein the first lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 6, “12”).
Regarding claim 6, Chen et al discloses wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 6, “21”).
Regarding claim 7, Chen et al discloses wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 6, “31”).
Regarding claim 10, Chen et al discloses wherein the fifth lens has a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 6, “51”).
Regarding claim 11, Chen et al discloses wherein the sixth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 6, “61”).
Regarding claim 12, Chen et al discloses wherein the sixth lens has a concave image-side surface (Figure 6, “62”).
Regarding claim 14, Chen et al discloses wherein the sixth lens has at least one inflection point formed on one or both of an object-side surface and an image-side surface (Figure 6, “60”).
Regarding claim 15, Chen et al discloses wherein the first to sixth lenses are formed of a plastic material (page 4, section [0083]).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-12, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al (US 2017/0248770 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Chen et al discloses an optical imaging system (page 4, sections [0058] – page 6, section [0085], Figure 1) comprising: a first lens having positive refractive power (page 5, TABLE 1, F1=4.02 mm, Figure 1, “110”); a second lens having negative refractive power (page 5, TABLE 1, F2=-9.46 mm, Figure 1, “120”); a third lens having positive refractive power (page 5, TABLE 1, F3=39.41 mm, Figure 1, “130”); a fourth lens having negative refractive power (page 6, TABLE 1, F4=-24.29 mm, Figure 1, “140”); a fifth lens having positive refractive power (page 6, TABLE 1, F5=6.87 mm, Figure 1, “150”); and a sixth lens having negative refractive power (page 6, TABLE 1, F6=-4.52 mm, Figure 1, “160”), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially arranged from an object side to an imaging plane (Figure 1, “110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160”), wherein the optical imaging system has a total of six lenses (Figure 1, “110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160”), wherein v2 < 21 → v2=20.4 (page 5, TABLE 1), where v2 represents an Abbe number of the second lens.
Regarding claim 2, Chen et al discloses wherein R1/f < 0.42 → 2.020 mm/5.06 mm = 0.40 (page 5, TABLE 1), where R1 represents a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens and f represents a total focal length of the optical imaging system.
Regarding claim 4, Chen et al discloses wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 1, “111”).
Regarding claim 5, Chen et al discloses wherein the first lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 5, TABLE 1, S2=22.678 mm, Figure 1, “112”).
Regarding claim 6, Chen et al discloses wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 5, TABLE 1, S3=13.094 mm, Figure 1, “121”).
Regarding claim 8, Chen et al discloses wherein the fourth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 6, TABLE 1, S8=13.808 mm, Figure 1, “141”).
Regarding claim 9, Chen et al discloses wherein the fourth lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 6, TABLE 1, S9=6.892 mm, Figure 1, “142”).
Regarding claim 10, Chen et al discloses wherein the fifth lens has a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 6, TABLE 1, S10=3.307 mm, Figure 1, “151”).
Regarding claim 11, Chen et al discloses wherein the sixth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 6, TABLE 1, S12=5.618 mm, Figure 1, “161”).
Regarding claim 12, Chen et al discloses wherein the sixth lens has a concave image-side surface (Figure 1, “162”).
Regarding claim 14, Chen et al discloses wherein the sixth lens has at least one inflection point formed on one or both of an object-side surface and an image-side surface (Figure 1, “160”).
Regarding claim 15, Chen et al discloses wherein the first to sixth lenses are formed of a plastic material (page 3, section [0050]).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gong et al (US 2018/0120539 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Gong et al discloses an optical imaging system (page 7, section [0126] – page 8, section [0127], Figures 20 & 38) comprising: a first lens having positive refractive power (Figure 38, F1=5.209 mm, Figure 20, “10”); a second lens having negative refractive power (Figure 38, F2=-23.080 mm, Figure 20, “20”); a third lens having positive refractive power (Figure 38, F3=37.189 mm, Figure 20, “30”); a fourth lens having negative refractive power (Figure 38, F4=-37.033 mm, Figure 20, “40”); a fifth lens having positive refractive power (Figure 38, F5=5.351 mm, Figure 20, “50”); and a sixth lens having negative refractive power (Figure 38, F6=-5.587 mm, Figure 20, “60”), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially arranged from an object side to an imaging plane (Figure 20, “10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60”), wherein the optical imaging system has a total of six lenses (Figure 20, “10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60”), wherein v2 < 21 → v2=20.412 (Figure 38), where v2 represents an Abbe number of the second lens.
Regarding claim 2, Gong et al discloses wherein R1/f < 0.42 → 1.849 mm/4.7300 mm = 0.39 (Figure 38), where R1 represents a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens and f represents a total focal length of the optical imaging system.
Regarding claim 4, Gong et al discloses wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 20, “10”).
Regarding claim 5, Gong et al discloses wherein the first lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 20, “10”).
Regarding claim 6, Gong et al discloses wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 20, “20”).
Regarding claim 7, Chen et al discloses wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (page 8, section [0126], Figure 38, S31=9.747 mm, Figure 20, “33’”).
Regarding claim 10, Chen et al discloses wherein the fifth lens has a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 20, “50”).
Regarding claim 11, Chen et al discloses wherein the sixth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Figure 20, “60”).
Regarding claim 12, Chen et al discloses wherein the sixth lens has a concave image-side surface (Figure 20, “60”).
Regarding claim 13, Chen et al discloses wherein a constant indicating brightness of the optical imaging system, F-number, is less than 1.8 → Fno=1.6862 (Figure 38).
Regarding claim 14, Chen et al discloses wherein the sixth lens has at least one inflection point formed on one or both of an object-side surface and an image-side surface (Figure 20, “60”).
Regarding claim 15, Chen et al discloses wherein the first to sixth lenses are formed of a plastic material (page 4, section [0097]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 3: an optical imaging system as claimed, specifically wherein an angle of view of the optical imaging system is 82 degrees or more.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 16: an optical imaging system as claimed, specifically wherein TTL/IMGH < 0.69, where TTL represents a distance on an optical axis from the object-side surface of the first lens to the imaging plane, and IMGH represents a diagonal length of the imaging plane.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 June 26, 2026