DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF CLAIMS
This Non-Final action is in reply to the application 18/891,062 filed on 09/20/2024.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/20/2024, 03/03/2026. was fully considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)(a2) as being unpatentable by us pg pub 20230323640 – Kiyama et al hereinafter as KIYAMA
Regarding Claim 17
KIYAMA discloses:
17. A bucket lip assembly comprising:
a bucket lip including an upper lip side including an upper lip surface, (See detail in annotated fig . 1 – bucket lip – 102 , an upper lip surface - 105) a first lateral edge, a second lateral edge (See detail in annotated fig. 1 – where in the lateral edge is interpreted such that a first lateral edge is on the left most side and the second lateral edge is on the right most side where 105 is pointed), ( See detail in annotated fig. 2 - forward lip edge, on the edge that is most forward) and a back lip edge(See detail in annotated fig. 1 - back lip edge of bucket lip), and a lower lip side; (See detail in annotated fig. 2. lower lip side)
the bucket lip further including a shroud station positioned laterally between two coupler mounting stations, upon the forward lip edge; ( See detail in annotated fig. 1 – shroud and coupler mounting stations)
the shroud station including a top surface ( See detail in annotated - Shroud Stations – Top surface) recessed relative to the upper lip surface (See detail in annotated Fig. 1 – upper lip surface), a bottom surface( See detail in annotated Fig. 2 – bottom surface), a forward-facing shroud contact surface( Fig. 2 – forward facing shroud contact surface), and a beveled transition surface extending between the top surface and the respective forward-facing shroud contact surface( See detail in annotated fig. 1 and 2 – forward facing shroud contact surface); and
a shroud boss attached to the top surface. (See detail in annotated figure. 2 and para. 0089 - wherein 108 attaches to the bucket lip as integral part of lip)
Regarding Claim 19
KIYAMA discloses claim 18:
19. The bucket lip assembly of claim 18 further comprising a shroud installed upon the shroud station and secured to the shroud boss, and the shroud forming an installation pocket fitted over the forward lip edge and having a plurality of internal pocket surfaces in alignment, respectively, with the top surface, the beveled transition surface, the forward-facing shroud contact surface, and the bottom surface. ( See detail in annotated fig. 2 and fig. 20 and para. 0089 - wherein 108 attaches to the bucket lip as integral part of lip)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by us pg pub 20230323640 – Kiyama et al hereinafter as KIYAMA in view of US PG Pub 20230323624 – Halike Gururaj et al. hereinafter as HALIKE GURURAJ
Regarding Claim 1
KIYAMA discloses:
A bucket lip comprising:
including an upper lip side having an upper lip surface extending in a lateral direction( fig . 1 – bucket lip – 102 , an upper lip surface - 105) between a first lateral edge and a second lateral edge( fig. 1 – where in the lateral edge is interpreted such that a first lateral edge is on the left most side and the second lateral edge is on the right most side where 105 is pointed), and in a fore-aft direction between a forward lip edge ( fig. 2 - forward lip edge, on the edge that is most forward) and a back lip edge(fig. 1 - back lip edge of bucket lip), and a lower lip side; ( fig. 2. lower lip side)
a plurality of shroud stations along the forward lip edge; ( fig. 1 and 2 – shroud stations)
the plurality of shroud stations each including a top surface ( fig. 2 - Shroud Stations – Top surface) recessed relative to the upper lip surface ( Fig. 1 – upper lip surface), a bottom surface( Fig. 2 – bottom surface), and a forward-facing shroud contact surface( Fig. 2 – forward facing shroud contact surface);
the plurality of shroud stations each further including a beveled transition surface extending between the respective top surface and the respective forward-facing shroud contact surface. ( see fig. 2 )
KIYAMA discloses of a bucket lip, HALIKE GURURAJ discloses a bucket lip that is a casting, HALIKE GURURAJ further discloses:
an elongate one-piece casting( para. 0039 – lip may be cast or machined or both.)
the elongate one-piece casting further including ( para. 0039 – lip may be cast or machined or both.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for KIYAMA ‘s lip component to utilize the function of the lip being cast as taught by HALIKE GURURAJ. KIYAMA would benefit from being cast In a way of increasing the longevity of the wear component. HALIKE presents that there are two standard ways of forming a lip in either machining or casting, so selecting whichever you use is merely picking from a finite number of predictable choices. (See MPEP 2143(I) (E), Examples 1-9)
[AltContent: textbox (Vertical beam height)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Coupler mounting stations)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lower Lip side)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Upper lip surface)][AltContent: textbox (Forward lip edge)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Shroud station recess)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Shroud stations)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (back lip edge)]
[AltContent: textbox (Acute – bottom surfaces and horizontal plane)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Horizontal plane)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Vertical plane)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Shroud station – bottom surface)][AltContent: textbox (acute)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (obtuse)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Extending between the top surface and respective forward facing shroud contact surface)][AltContent: textbox (Bevel transition surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Forward lip edge)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Forward facing shroud contact surface)][AltContent: textbox (Shroud Stations – Top surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 2
KIYAMA / HALIKE GURURAJ disclose claim 1
KIYAMA discloses:
2. The bucket lip of claim 1 wherein the beveled transition surface slopes angularly downward from the top surface to the forward-facing shroud contact surface, ( See fig. 2 – beveled transition surface) and defines an obtuse angle with the top surface and an acute angle with the forward-facing shroud contact surface. ( fig. 2 wherein the angles are obtuse and acute as shown in figure)
Regarding Claim 3
KIYAMA / HALIKE GURURAJ disclose claim 2
KIYAMA discloses:
3. The bucket lip of claim 2 wherein a running length of the beveled transition surface from the top surface to the forward-facing shroud contact surface is greater than 10% of a running length of the top surface. ( fig. 2 )
The angle for the running length of the beveled transition surface from the top surface to the forward facing shroud contact surface is seen as a results effective variable.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention to utilize the percent of the running length as it has been held that routine optimization of a results effective variable is obvious in this case to achieve the top surface and the bottom surface defines a percent of the running length of the top surface as this would improve the shroud assembly fastening mechanism.
Regarding Claim 4
KIYAMA / HALIKE GURURAJ disclose claim 2
KIYAMA discloses:
4. The bucket lip of claim 2 wherein the forward-facing shroud contact surface is vertically oriented, and wherein a vertical plane is defined parallel to the forward-facing shroud contact surface and a horizontal plane is defined normal to the vertical plane. ( see fig. 2 where in the forward facing contact surface is vertically oriented to a vertical plane. Where in horizontal plane normal to vertical plane)
Regarding Claim 5
KIYAMA / HALIKE GURURAJ disclose claim 4
KIYAMA discloses:
5. The bucket lip of claim 4 wherein at least one of the top surface or the bottom surface slopes relative to the horizontal plane. ( See figure 2 where in top surface slopes relative to the horizontal plane)
Regarding Claim 6
KIYAMA / HALIKE GURURAJ disclose claim 5
KIYAMA discloses:
6. The bucket lip of claim 5 wherein the top surface slopes downward relative to the horizontal plane, and the bottom surface slopes upward relative to the horizontal plane, and each of the top surface and the bottom surface defines a respective draft angle to the horizontal plane that is from 3⁰ degrees to 10⁰. ( fig. 2 )
The angle between the top surface and the bottom surface is a respective draft angle is seen as a results effective variable.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention to utilize the respective degree of angle for the respective draft angle as it has been held that routine optimization of a results effective variable is obvious in this case to achieve the top surface and the bottom surface defines a respective draft angle to the horizontal plane as this would improve the shroud assembly fastening mechanism.
Regarding Claim 7
KIYAMA / HALIKE GURURAJ disclose claim 4
KIYAMA discloses:
7. The bucket lip of claim 4 wherein the beveled transition surface defines an angle to the vertical plane that is from 35⁰ to 65⁰.
The beveled angle between beveled transition surface defines an angle to the vertical plane is seen as a results effective variable.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention to utilize the degree of the beveled angle as it has been held that routine optimization of a results effective variable is obvious in this case to achieve the degree of the beveled angle between beveled transition surface as this would improve the should shroud assembly fastening mechanism.
Regarding Claim 8
KIYAMA / HALIKE GURURAJ disclose claim 1
HALIKE GURURAJ discloses one piece casting as disclosed in claim 1:
8. The bucket lip of claim 1 wherein the elongate one-piece casting includes an integral beam extending between the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge. ( para.0039 – discloses that a part can be machined, see vertical beam in figure 1. Wherein the casting forms a beam between each side of the lip forming a vertical beam)
Regarding Claim 9
KIYAMA / HALIKE GURURAJ disclose claim 8
KIYAMA discloses:
9. The bucket lip of claim 8 wherein the elongate one-piece casting defines a vertical beam height, and the forward-facing shroud contact surface defines a vertical blunt height that is from 30% to 50% of the vertical beam height. ( fig. 1 )
The percentage of the vertical blunt height and the vertical beam height is seen as a results effective variable.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention to utilize the value percentage of the vertical beam height as it has been held that routine optimization of a results effective variable is obvious in this case to achieve the height percentage as this would improve the shroud assembly fastening mechanism.
Regarding Claim 10
KIYAMA / HALIKE GURURAJ disclose claim 1
KIYAMA discloses:
10. The bucket lip of claim 1 wherein each of the plurality of shroud stations includes sidewalls extending upwardly from the top surface and, together with the top surface, forming a bathtub profile having as a bathtub bottom the top surface. ( See figure 20 where in the surface show a bathtub profile)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 11
KIYAMA / HALIKE GURURAJ disclose claim 1
KIYAMA discloses:
11. The bucket lip of claim 1 wherein the plurality of shroud stations are in an alternating arrangement with a plurality of coupler stations along the forward lip edge, and each of the plurality of shroud stations and the plurality of coupler stations is in a centrally stepped-forward arrangement. (see detail in annotated fig. 1 where in the shroud stations alternate where in the coupler stations are in between the shroud stations )
Regarding Claim 12
12. A bucket lip comprising:
including an upper lip side having an upper lip surface extending in a lateral direction ( fig . 1 – bucket lip – 102 , an upper lip surface - 105) between a first lateral edge and a second lateral edge( fig. 1 – where in the lateral edge is interpreted such that a first lateral edge is on the left most side and the second lateral edge is on the right most side where 105 is pointed), and in a fore-aft direction between a forward lip edge ( fig. 2 - forward lip edge, on the edge that is most forward) and a back lip edge(fig. 1 - back lip edge of bucket lip), and a lower lip side; ( fig. 2. lower lip side) and
a plurality of shroud stations along the forward lip edge( fig. 1 and 2 – shroud stations)
and each including a top surface ( fig. 2 - Shroud Stations – Top surface) and a beveled transition surface extending to a forward-facing shroud contact surface and, together with the top surface, forming an aquiline profile. ( See fig. 2 wherein beveled transition surface and top surface creates a aquiline profile with bevel)
KIYAMA discloses of a bucket lip, HALIKE GURURAJ discloses a bucket lip that is a casting, HALIKE GURURAJ further discloses:
an elongate one-piece casting( para. 0039 – lip may be cast or machined or both.)
the elongate one-piece casting further including ( para. 0039 – lip may be cast or machined or both.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for KIYAMA ‘s lip component to utilize the function of the lip being cast as taught by HALIKE GURURAJ. KIYAMA would benefit from being cast In a way of increasing the longevity of the wear component. ( para. 0039 ) HALIKE presents that there are two standard ways of forming a lip in either machining or casting, so selecting whichever you use is merely picking from a finite number of predictable choices. (See MPEP 2143(I) (E), Examples 1-9)
Regarding Claim 13
KIYAMA / HALIKE GURURAJ disclose claim 12
KIYAMA discloses:
13. The bucket lip of claim 12 wherein the forward-facing shroud contact surface is vertically oriented and defines a vertical plane, and the beveled transition surface defines an acute angle to the vertical plane. ( see fig. 2 where in the forward facing contact surface is vertically oriented to a vertical plane. Where in horizontal plane normal to vertical plane)
Regarding Claim 14
KIYAMA / HALIKE GURURAJ disclose claim 13
KIYAMA discloses:
14. The bucket lip of claim 13 wherein the acute angle is from 35⁰ to 65⁰.
The angle for the acute angle is seen as a results effective variable.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention to utilize the angle as it has been held that routine optimization of a results effective variable is obvious in this case to an acute angle with respect to respective planes as this would improve the should shroud assembly fastening mechanism
Regarding Claim 15
KIYAMA / HALIKE GURURAJ disclose claim 13
KIYAMA discloses:
15. The bucket lip of claim 13 wherein the bottom surface defines an acute angle to a horizontal plane that is smaller than the acute angle to the vertical plane defined by the beveled transition surface. ( fig. 2 – acute angle of horizontal plane )
The angle for the acute angle wherein the bottom surface defines an acute angle to a horizontal plane that is smaller than the acute angle to the vertical plane defined by the beveled transition surface is seen as a results effective variable is obvious in this case acute angle to a horizontal plane that is smaller than the acute angle to the vertical plane defined by the beveled transition surface as this would improve the should shroud assembly fastening mechanism
.
Regarding Claim 16
KIYAMA / HALIKE GURURAJ disclose claim 12
KIYAMA discloses:
16. The bucket lip of claim 12 wherein the top surface is recessed from the upper lip surface, and each of the plurality of shroud stations includes sidewalls forming, together with the top surface, a bathtub profile. ( See figure 20 where in the surface show a bathtub profile)
Claim(s) 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by us pg pub 20230323640 – Kiyama et al hereinafter as KIYAMA
Regarding Claim 18
KIYAMA discloses claim 17:
18. The bucket lip assembly of claim 17 wherein the top surface slopes downward relative to the horizontal plane, and the bottom surface slopes upward relative to the horizontal plane, such that each of the top surface and the bottom surface defines a respective draft angle to a horizontal plane that is from 3⁰ to 10⁰. ( The angle between the top surface and the bottom surface is a respective draft angle is seen as a results effective variable.)
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention to utilize the respective degree of angle for the respective draft angle as it has been held that routine optimization of a results effective variable is obvious in this case to achieve the top surface and the bottom surface defines a respective draft angle to the horizontal plane as this would improve the shroud assembly fastening mechanism.
Regarding Claim 20
KIYAMA discloses claim 17:
20. The bucket lip assembly of claim 17 wherein: the bucket lip includes an integral beam extending between the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge; and the bucket lip defines a vertical beam height, and the forward-facing shroud contact surface defines a vertical blunt height that is from 30% to 50% of the vertical beam height. (See annontated fig. 1 – vertical beam height)
The percentage of the vertical blunt height and the vertical beam height is seen as a results effective variable.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention to utilize the value percentage of the vertical beam height as it has been held that routine optimization of a results effective variable is obvious in this case to achieve the height percentage as this would improve the shroud assembly fastening mechanism.
Conclusion
/A.H.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671