DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are pending for examination.
This Office Action is FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, last four lines: change to “…continuously monitor the VPD page via an input/output storage channel over which data is written from the host information handling system to the remote storage array [[between the host information handling system and the remote storage array]] and determine whether the critical event has occurred based on the status information.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Velayuthaperumal et al. (US 20200159621 A1, hereinafter “Velayuthaperumal”).
Regarding Claim 6, Velayuthaperumal discloses a remote storage array (Fig. 6: storage subsystem 124) configured to communicatively couple to a host information handling system (Fig. 6: coupled to management computer 604. Management computer 604 connected to bus 528 to management controller 522. [0077]: management controller 522 communicates with remote external computers over management bus 528. Although external computers coupled to management bus 528 may be host computers 104, they may also be management computers or client computers where a system admin may configure and manage RAID controller 108. Although labeled as management computer 604, [0077] supports another host computer 104 to serve as management computer 604. For simplicity, please note that all uses of “management computer 604” and “system admin” hereinafter will refer to host computer 104), the remote storage array comprising:
one or more storage resources (Fig. 6: storage devices 116);
a vital product data (VPD) page stored on one of the one or more storage resources ([0103]: storage device failure log 616 stored in a storage device 116); and
a controller configured to write status information to the VPD page (Fig. 6; [0100]-[0103]: RAID controller 108 (Fig. 1b: embedded in storage subsystem 124) records the storage device ID and physical location corresponding to the storage device 116 containing the block of data that experienced the miscompare), including information regarding whether a critical event has occurred at the remote storage array that can lead to data loss of data written from the host information handling system to the remote storage array ([0130]-[0131]: if more than one storage device was recorded in storage device failure log 616, this means that more than two storage devices 116 had miscompares, resulting in a possible data loss. [0121]: miscompare determined by reading data from storage device 116. [0058]: hosts 104 writes data to storage devices 116 via RAID controller 108), wherein the host information handling system comprises a storage monitor ([0077]: management computer 604 regarded as host computer 104. Fig. 6; [0083]: system admins manage RAID controller 108 and storage subsystem 124 through management computer 604 (“storage monitor”), where management tasks include monitoring events in RAID controller 108) configured to continuously monitor the VPD page via an input/output storage channel over which data is written from the host information handling system to remote storage array between the host information handling system and the remote storage array (Fig. 5-6: [0081]: host computers 104 send I/O requests (read/write) to RAID controller 108 across host buses 112. RAID controller 108 sends read and write requests to storage devices 116. [0083]: system admins perform management tasks through management computer 604, including reading error logs that identify failing storage devices 116 from a storage device failure log 616 in non-volatile memory (NVM) 518. Fig. 6; [0077]: management controller 522 allows system admins to communicate remotely with RAID controller 108 and obtain debug and error logs, monitor performance. Management controller 522 communicates with remote computers (hosts 104, management computers) over management bus 528. Fig. 1b; [0085]: RAID controller 108 embedded within storage subsystem 124. [0103]: storage device failure log 616 may be stored, in place of NVM 518, in a storage device 116. I/O channel interpreted as combination of buses 112 + 528. Thus, host 104 reads error logs (“VPD”) stored in a storage device 116, remotely coupled to host 104 via bus 528 of channel 112 + 528) and determine whether the critical event has occurred based on the status information ([0083]: system admins can read error logs that identify failing storage devices 116 from storage device failure log 616 and take a specific action to repair or remedy the logged storage devices 116 failure. [0133]: determines possible permanent data loss of the identified storage devices 116 from storage device failure log 616).
Regarding Claim 8, Velayuthaperumal discloses the storage array of Claim 6, as referenced above, wherein the critical event is indicative of performance issues associated with the remote storage array (Velayuthaperumal: [0101]-[0103]: storage device failure log 616 contains storage device IDs corresponding to the storage device 116 containing the data block that experienced the miscompare ([0098]: coherency error). Fig. 6; [0077]: management controller 522, shown embedded within RAID controller 108, communicates with remote external computers over management bus 528… external computers may be host computers 104. Fig. 1b; [0085]: RAID controller 108 embedded within storage subsystem 124, the storage subsystem 124 containing storage device 116. Since host computers 104 are remote, storage subsystem 124 containing storage device 116 are also remote relative to host computers 104).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velayuthaperumal in view of Bazzani et al. (US 20110238887 A1, hereinafter “Bazzani”).
Regarding Claim 1, Velayuthaperumal discloses an information handling system (Fig. 6: hosts 104 + management computer 604) comprising:
a host information handling system (Fig. 6: management computer 604 connected to bus 528 to management controller 522. [0077]: management controller 522 communicates with remote external computers over management bus 528. Although external computers coupled to management bus 528 may be host computers 104, they may also be management computers or client computers where a system admin may configure and manage RAID controller 108. Although labeled as management computer 604, [0077] supports host computer 104 to serve as management computer 604. For simplicity, please note that all uses of “management computer 604” and “system admin” hereinafter will refer to host computer 104) comprising:
a storage monitor (Fig. 6; [0083]: Fig. 6; [0083]: system admins manage RAID controller 108 and storage subsystem 124 through management computer 604 (“storage monitor”), where management tasks include monitoring events in RAID controller 108) …configured to…:
read status information from a vital product data (VPD) page stored on a remote storage volume communicatively coupled to the storage monitor via an input/output storage channel over which data is written from the host information handling system to the remote storage volume (Fig. 5-6: [0081]: host computers 104 send I/O requests (read/write) to RAID controller 108 across host buses 112. RAID controller 108 sends read and write requests to storage devices 116. [0083]: system admins perform management tasks through management computer 604, including reading error logs that identify failing storage devices 116 from a storage device failure log 616 in non-volatile memory (NVM) 518. Fig. 6; [0077]: management controller 522 allows system admins to communicate remotely with RAID controller 108 and obtain debug and error logs, monitor performance. Management controller 522 communicates with remote computers (hosts 104, management computers) over management bus 528. Fig. 1b; [0085]: RAID controller 108 embedded within storage subsystem 124. [0103]: storage device failure log 616 may be stored, in place of NVM 518, in a storage device 116. I/O channel interpreted as combination of buses 112 + 528. Thus host 104 reads error logs (“VPD”) stored in a storage device 116, remotely coupled to host 104 via bus 528 of channel 112 + 528);
determine from the status information whether a critical event has occurred at the remote storage volume that can lead to data loss of data ([0083]: system admins can read error logs that identify failing storage devices 116 from storage device failure log 616 and take a specific action to repair or remedy the logged storage devices 116 failure. [0133]: determines possible permanent data loss of the identified storage devices 116 from storage device failure log 616) written from the information handling system to the remote storage volume ([0058]: hosts 104 writes data to RAID controller 108, then written to storage devices 116. Thus, permanent data loss refers to data written from hosts 104 to remote storage devices 116); and
Velayuthaperumal does not disclose:
…a host information handling system comprising: a processor; and… a program of instructions embodied in non-transitory computer readable media… executed by the processor
responsive to a determination that the critical event has occurred, suspend write operations to the remote storage volume.
However, Bazzani teaches:
a host information handling system comprising: a processor (Fig. 3: processor(s) 310); and… a program of instructions embodied in non-transitory computer readable media (Fig. 3; [0049]: state monitoring application 332 (program module or set of instructions) embodied in memory 324. [0048]: memory 324 may include various non-transitory computer readable media such as ROM, RAM, EROM, etc.) executed by the processor ([0060])
responsive to a determination that the critical event has occurred, suspend write operations to the remote storage volume ([0045]: responsive to the reported operating state 124 indicating HDD 110 may shut down or may be lost/degraded, hybrid storage device 100 completes the write operation in flash memory 122. I.e., write operations to HDD are suspended and redirected to flash memory 122).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Velayuthaperumal and Bazzani by implementing the hardware environment and write redirect as taught by Bazzani. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to apply the method in a computing environment and increase storage reliability by completing the write operation in a secondary location after detecting imminent risk of data loss (Bazzani: [0023]).
Regarding Claim 2, Velayuthaperumal in view of Bazzani teaches the information handling system of Claim 1, as referenced above.
Bazzani further teaches:
wherein the critical event is indicative of an imminent shut down of the remote storage volume ([0045]: change in the reporting operating state 124 indicates HDD 110 may shut down).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to further combine Velayuthaperumal and Bazzani by implementing the reporting state when monitoring a storage device (HDD 110) taught by Bazzani towards the monitored storage device taught by Velayuthaperumal (Fig. 1b; Fig. 6; [0077]; [0085]: remote storage device 116). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification to remediate against change in environmental state information and storage sensitivity (Bazzani: [0023], [0042]).
Regarding Claim 3, Velayuthaperumal in view of Bazzani teaches the information handling system of Claim 1, as referenced above, wherein the critical event is indicative of performance issues associated with the remote storage volume (Velayuthaperumal: [0101]-[0103]: storage device failure log 616 contains storage device IDs corresponding to the storage device 116 containing the data block that experienced the miscompare ([0098]: coherency error). Fig. 6; [0077]: management controller 522, shown embedded within RAID controller 108, communicates with remote external computers over management bus 528… external computers may be host computers 104. Fig. 1b; [0085]: RAID controller 108 embedded within storage subsystem 124, the storage subsystem 124 containing storage device 116. Since host computers 104 are remote, storage subsystem 124 containing storage device 116 are also remote relative to host computers 104).
Regarding Claim 7, Velayuthaperumal discloses the storage array of Claim 6, as referenced above.
Velayuthaperumal does not disclose:
wherein the critical event is indicative of an imminent shut down of the remote storage array.
However, Bazzani teaches:
wherein the critical event is indicative of an imminent shut down of the remote storage array ([0045]: change in the reporting operating state 124 indicates HDD 110 may shut down).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Velayuthaperumal and Bazzani by implementing the reporting state when monitoring a storage device (HDD 110) taught by Bazzani towards the monitored storage device taught by Velayuthaperumal (Fig. 1b; Fig. 6; [0077]; [0085]: remote storage device 116). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification to remediate against change in environmental state information and storage sensitivity (Bazzani: [0023], [0042]).
Regarding Claim 9, Velayuthaperumal discloses a system (Fig. 6) comprising:
a remote storage array (Fig. 6: storage subsystem 124), comprising:
one or more storage resources (Fig. 6: storage devices 116);
a vital product data (VPD) page stored on one of the one or more storage resources ([0103]: storage device failure log 616 stored in a storage device 116); and
a controller configured to write status information to the VPD page (Fig. 6; [0100]-[0103]: RAID controller 108 (Fig. 1b: embedded in storage subsystem 124) records the storage device ID and physical location corresponding to the storage device 116 containing the block of data that experienced the miscompare), including information regarding whether a critical event has occurred at the remote storage array that can lead to data loss of data written to the remote storage array ([0130]-[0131]: if more than one storage device was recorded in storage device failure log 616, this means that more than two storage devices 116 had miscompares, resulting in a possible data loss. [0121]: miscompared determined by reading data from storage device 116. [0058]: hosts 104 writes data to storage devices 116 via RAID controller 108); and
a host information handling system communicatively coupled to the remote storage array via an input/output storage channel over which data is written from the host information handling system to the remote storage array (Fig. 5-6: [0081]: host computers 104 send I/O requests (read/write) to RAID controller 108 across host buses 112. RAID controller 108 sends read and write requests to storage devices 116. [0077]: management controller 522 communicates with remote computers (hosts 104, management computers) over management bus 528. Although labeled as management computer 604, [0077] supports host computer 104 to serve as management computer 604. For simplicity, please note that all uses of “management computer 604” and “system admin” hereinafter will refer to host computer 104. I/O channel interpreted as combination of buses 112 + 528. Host computer 104 remotely coupled to storage subsystem 124 via channel = buses 112 + 528), the host information handling system comprising:
a storage monitor (Fig. 6; [0083]: system admins manage RAID controller 108 and storage subsystem 124 through management computer 604 (“storage monitor”), where management tasks include monitoring events in RAID controller 108) …configured to…:
read the status information from the VPD page ([0083]: system admins perform management tasks through management computer 604, including reading error logs that identify failing storage devices 116 from a storage device failure log 616);
determine from the status information whether the critical event has occurred ([0133]: determines possible permanent data loss of the identified storage devices 116 from storage device failure log 616); and
Velayuthaperumal does not disclose:
a processor;
…a program of instructions embodied in non-transitory computer readable media… executed by the processor
responsive to a determination that the critical event has occurred, suspend write operations to the remote storage array.
However, Bazzani teaches:
a host information handling system comprising: a processor (Fig. 3: processor(s) 310); and… a program of instructions embodied in non-transitory computer readable media (Fig. 3; [0049]: state monitoring application 332 (program module or set of instructions) embodied in memory 324. [0048]: memory 324 may include various non-transitory computer readable media such as ROM, RAM, EROM, etc.) executed by the processor ([0060])
responsive to a determination that the critical event has occurred, suspend write operations to the remote storage volume ([0045]: responsive to the reported operating state 124 indicating HDD 110 may shut down or may be lost/degraded, hybrid storage device 100 completes the write operation in flash memory 122. I.e., write operations to HDD are suspended and redirected to flash memory 122).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Velayuthaperumal and Bazzani by implementing the hardware environment and write redirect as taught by Bazzani. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to apply the method in a computing environment and increase storage reliability by completing the write operation in a secondary location after detecting imminent risk of data loss (Bazzani: [0023]).
Regarding Claim 10, Velayuthaperumal in view of Bazzani teaches the system of Claim 9, as referenced above.
Bazzani further teaches:
wherein the critical event is indicative of an imminent shut down of the remote storage array [0045]: change in the reporting operating state 124 indicates HDD 110 may shut down).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to further combine Velayuthaperumal and Bazzani by implementing the reporting state when monitoring a storage device (HDD 110) taught by Bazzani towards the monitored storage device taught by Velayuthaperumal (Fig. 1b; Fig. 6; [0077]; [0085]: remote storage device 116). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification to remediate against change in environmental state information and storage sensitivity (Bazzani: [0023], [0042]).
Regarding Claim 11, Velayuthaperumal in view of Bazzani teaches the system of Claim 9, as referenced above, wherein the critical event is indicative of performance issues associated with the remote storage array (Velayuthaperumal: [0101]-[0103]: storage device failure log 616 contains storage device IDs corresponding to the storage device 116 containing the data block that experienced the miscompare ([0098]: coherency error). Fig. 6; [0077]: management controller 522, shown embedded within RAID controller 108, communicates with remote external computers over management bus 528… external computers may be host computers 104. Fig. 1b; [0085]: RAID controller 108 embedded within storage subsystem 124, the storage subsystem 124 containing storage device 116. Since host computers 104 are remote, storage subsystem 124 containing storage device 116 are also remote relative to host computers 104).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velayuthaperumal in view of Bazzani, in further view of Gold (US 20020101711 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Velayuthaperumal in view of Bazzani teaches the information handling system of Claim 1, as referenced above.
Velayuthaperumal in view of Bazzani does not teach:
wherein the program of instructions is further configured to inject a notification regarding the critical event into a service of an operating system of the information handling system.
However, Gold teaches:
wherein the program of instructions is further configured to inject a notification regarding the critical event into a service of an operating system of the information handling system ([0103]: in the event of a non-fatal RAID hardware failure, the RAID management module can display a set of hardware failure alert messages on the status page of the web administration interface. Hardware failure alerts display a “critical severity” message. Known to one of ordinary skill in the art that a web interface runs on a web browser, which runs on an OS. Thus, a critical severity failure message (“notification”) is sent to and displayed on a web interface (“OS service”)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Velayuthaperumal, Bazzani, and Gold by implementing web-based RAID failure notification taught by Gold. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to immediately alert the user without delay and allow the user to replace the failed storage devices upon receiving the alert (Gold: [0098]).
Regarding Claim 12, Velayuthaperumal in view of Bazzani teaches the system of Claim 9, as referenced above.
Velayuthaperumal in view of Bazzani does not teach:
wherein the program of instructions is further configured to inject a notification regarding the critical event into a service of an operating system of the information handling system.
However, Gold teaches:
wherein the program of instructions is further configured to inject a notification regarding the critical event into a service of an operating system of the information handling system ([0103]: in the event of a non-fatal RAID hardware failure, the RAID management module can display a set of hardware failure alert messages on the status page of the web administration interface. Hardware failure alerts display a “critical severity” message. Known to one of ordinary skill in the art that a web interface runs on a web browser, which runs on an OS. Thus, critical severity failure alert messages (“notifications”) are sent to and displayed on a web interface running on an OS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine Velayuthaperumal, Bazzani, and Gold by implementing web-based RAID failure notification taught by Gold. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to immediately alert the user without delay and allow the user to replace the failed storage devices upon receiving the alert (Gold: [0098]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim objections, amendments have overcome previously raised issues such that the objection of claim 6 has been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112(a), amendments have overcome previously raised issues such that the rejections of claims 1-4 and 6-12 have been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112(b), amendments overcome previously raised issues such that the rejection of claim 12 has been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues:
Page 8: “The Examiner alleges that Velayuthaperumal discloses this claim feature at paragraphs [0077], [0083], [0085], and [0103], contending that "management computer 604 reads error logs ("VPD") stored in a storage device 116, remotely coupled to management computer 604 via management controller 522 and management bus 528." (Office Action at Pages 6-7). Thus, the Examiner equates management computer 604 to the claimed storage monitor, storage device 116 to the claimed remote storage volume, and management bus 528 to the claimed input/output storage channel. However, management bus 528 is an out-of-band management channel that is distinct from the data path over which host computer 104 writes data to storage devices 116 via RAID controller 108. Indeed, Velayuthaperumal describes that "management controller 522 communicates with remote external computers over management bus 528" to configure and manage RAID controller 108. Velayuthaperumal at [0077], [0083]. The claims, however, recite that the storage monitor reads and monitors the VPD page via an input/output storage channel "over which data is written from the host information handling system to the remote storage volume." In other words, the same in-band storage path used for data operations. As the Specification describes, such configuration means that "host information handling system 102 is not required to establish a separate communications channel for receiving status notifications."”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., in-band channel) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
With respect to Claim 1 and similar independent claims, the claims merely recite “an I/O channel over which data is written from the host IHS to the remote storage array.” From Fig. 5-6 and [0077] of Velayuthaperumal, the combination of buses 112 and 528 form a single channel as they both connect to hosts 104. Thus, the rejections of the independent claims and corresponding dependent claims are maintained.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Carlough et al. (US 20190158223 A1) – [0042]: communication channel 112 can be implemented as two unidirectional buses or as a bi-directional bus with CRC checking in each direction.
Further emphasizes multiple buses can form a channel
Kano (US 20160080893 A1) – two buses of a memory bus 121 and media bus 122 as a communication channel
Liu et al. (US 11200132 B1) -- client writes data to be backed up to backup storage system 115 = remote storage. Logs are stored on DAE (storage volume of remote storage array) and transferred to host server for admin analysis. Does not describe where admin is; unknown whether admin is a client, the host server, or a separate entity.
Ofer (US 5935260 A) – Fig. 1-2: host reads/writes over bus 13 to remote disk array. Writes to controller [Wingdings font/0xE0] cache [Wingdings font/0xE0] disk. Error information about storage device maintained in cache; host requests to read said information over bus 13
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.M.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2114
/ASHISH THOMAS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2114