DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Response to Office Action mailed 17 September 2025, filed 9 December 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 13-19, 21-26, and 28-30 under 35 USC §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sasai et al. (US 2012/0177300 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 13-18, 21-25, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2022/0408087 A1) in view of Jhu et al. (US 2024/0040129 A1) and Sasai et al. (US 2012/0177300 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 16, and 23, Lim discloses an apparatus performing a method of encoding/decoding video data, the method comprising: wherein the plurality of syntax elements include a significance flag [Lim: ¶ [0235]: First, significant_flag, a flag representing whether a residual coefficient has a non-zero value, may be encoded S1510] and four or more greater_than_N flags [Lim: ¶ [0242]: Besides a flag, gt_1_flag and gt_2_flag, shown in FIG. 16, gt_N_flag such as gt_3_flag, gt_4_flag or gt_5_flag, etc. may be additionally encoded];
Lim may not explicitly disclose determining first respective contexts for each syntax element in a first set of the plurality of syntax elements from respective context tables for each syntax element in the first set of the plurality of syntax elements: determining second respective contexts for each syntax element in a second set of the plurality of syntax elements from a shared context table; an absolute value of a transform coefficients in a block, decoding the plurality of syntax elements to determine the absolute value of the transform coefficients in the block using the first respective contexts and the second respective contexts; and decoding the block based on the absolute value of the transform coefficients.
However, Jhu discloses receiving a plurality of syntax elements that indicate four or more greater_than_N flags [Jhu: ¶ [0088]: a coefficient is firstly signaled through syntaxes of sig_coeff_flag, abs_level_gt1_flag, par_level_flag, and abs_level_gt3_flag, all using context-coded bins in the first pass. The rest part of level information of the coefficient is coded with syntax element of abs_remainder using Golomb-rice code and bypass-coded bins in the second pass], wherein the plurality of syntax elements include receiving a plurality of syntax elements that indicate an absolute value of a transform coefficients in a block, [Jhu: Table 2: TABLE 2 Semantic of residual coding The array AbsLevel[ xC ][ yC ] represents an array of absolute values of transform coefficient levels for the current transform block and the array AbsLevelPass1[ xC ][ yC ] represents an array of partially reconstructed absolute values of transform coefficient levels for the current transform block], decoding the plurality of syntax elements to determine the absolute value of the transform coefficients in the block [Jhu: ¶ [0066] and Table 2]; and decoding the block based on the absolute value of the transform coefficients [Jhu: ¶ [0066] and Table 2].
Jhu may not explicitly disclose determining second respective contexts for each syntax element in a second set of the plurality of syntax elements from a shared context table; an absolute value of a transform coefficients in a block, decoding the plurality of syntax elements to determine the absolute value of the transform coefficients in the block using the first respective contexts and the second respective contexts.
However, Sasai discloses determining first respective contexts for each syntax element in a first set of the plurality of syntax elements from respective context tables for each syntax element in the first set of the plurality of syntax elements [Sasai: FIG. 7: S140]; determining second respective contexts for each syntax element in a second set of the plurality of syntax elements from a shared context table [Sasai: FIG. 7: S150]; decoding the plurality of syntax elements to determine the absolute value of the transform coefficients in the block using the first respective contexts and the second respective contexts [Sasai: ¶ [0014]: The image coding method of the present invention may further comprise performing frequency transform on the image to generate transform coefficients of frequency components and to generate the current signals to be coded which respectively indicate the transform coefficients of the frequency components, wherein in the selecting, the context which is set as a dedicated context for a processing unit which is included in the processing units may be selected in the case where the frequency component corresponding to the current signal to be coded is lower than a predetermined frequency]; and decoding the block based on the absolute value of the transform coefficients [Sasai: Title].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the image processing of Jhu with the processing with a significant flag of Lim in order to provide less computational load when coefficients have all zero values as well as the processing of Sasai in order to provide improved processing for specific data sets.
Regarding Claims 2, 9, 17, and 24, Lim in view of Jhu and Sasai disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 1, 8, 16, and 23, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Lim in view of Jhu and Sasai discloses wherein N equals seven, and wherein the four or more greater_than_N flags include a greater_than_1 flag (gt1), a greater_than_2 flag (gt2), a greater_than_3 flag (gt3), a greater_than_4 flag (gt4), a greater_than_5 flag (gt5), a greater_than_6 flag (gt6), and a greater_than_7 flag (gt7) [Lim: ¶ [0242]; and Jhu: ¶ [0103] Pass 1: sig_coeff_flag, coeff_sign_flag, abs_level_gt1_flag, par_level_flag; ¶[0104]: Pass 2: abs_level_gt3_flag, abs_level_gt5_flag, abs_level_gt7_flag, abs_level_gt9_flag; ¶ [0105]: Pass 3: abs_remainder].
Regarding Claims 3, 10, 18, and 25, Lim in view of Jhu and Sasai disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 2, 9, 17, and 24, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Lim in view of Jhu and Sasai discloses wherein the plurality of syntax elements include the significance flag (sig) [Lim: ¶ [0235]], a parity flag (parity) [Jhu: ¶ [0011]: In a method of decoding a video signal according to the present disclosure, when at least one of the first syntax, at least one gt_N_flag representing whether an absolute value has a value greater than (2N−1) or a parity flag representing whether an absolute value is an even number is decoded], and a level remaining syntax element (remlevel) [Jhu: ¶ [0088]: The rest part of level information of the coefficient is coded with syntax element of abs_remainder using Golomb-rice code and bypass-coded bins in the second pass], and wherein the absolute value of a respective transform coefficient is equal to sig + gt1 + gt2 + gt3 + gt4 + gt5 + gt6 + gt7 + parity + (2 * remlevel) [Jhu: Table 1: AbsLevelPass1[ xC ][ yC ] = sig_coeff_flag[ xC ][ yC ] + par_level_flag[ n ] + abs_level_gtx_flag[ n ][ 0 ] + 2 * abs_level_gtx_flag[ n ][ 1 ]
if( sh_dep_quant_used_flag )
QState = QStateTransTable[ QState ][ AbsLevelPass1[ xC ][ yC ] & 1 ] firstPosModel = n − 1 }
for( n = firstPosMode0; n > firstPosModel; n− − ) {
xC = ( xS << log2SbW ) + DiagScanOrder[ log2SbW ][ log2SbH ][ n ][ 0 ] yC = ( yS << log2SbH ) + DiagScanOrder[ log2SbW ][ log2SbH ][ n ][ 1 ] if( abs_level_gtx_flag[ n ][ 1 ] )
abs_remainder[ n ] ae(v)
AbsLevel[ xC ][ yC ] = AbsLevelPass1[ xC ][ yC ] +2 * abs_remainder[ n ]].
Regarding Claims 6, 13, 21, and 28, Lim in view of Jhu and Sasai disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 1, 8, 16, and 23, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Lim in view of Jhu and Sasai discloses wherein decoding the plurality of syntax elements to determine the absolute value of the transform coefficients in the block comprises: decoding context coded syntax elements of the plurality of syntax elements in a first pass [Jhu: ¶ [0088]]; and decoding bypass coded syntax elements of the plurality of syntax elements in a second pass after the first pass [Jhu: ¶ [0088]].
Regarding Claims 7, 14, 22, and 29, Lim in view of Jhu and Sasai disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 1, 8, 16, and 23, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Lim in view of Jhu and Sasai discloses wherein decoding the block based on the absolute value of the transform coefficients comprises: determining respective signs of the absolute value of the transform coefficients to determine values of the transform coefficients [Jhu: Table 2: coeff_sign_flag]; applying an inverse transform to the values of the transform coefficients to determine residual values [Jhu: ¶ [0067]: The quantized coefficient levels are then processed through an Inverse Quantization 214 and an Inverse Transform 216 to obtain a reconstructed prediction residual]; and performing a prediction process on the residual values to decode the block [Jhu: ¶ [0054]: In the encoder 100, decoder-related circuitries are also needed in order to reconstruct pixels for the purpose of prediction. First, a prediction residual is reconstructed through an Inverse Quantization 134 and an Inverse Transform 136].
Regarding Claims 15 and 30, Lim in view of Jhu and Sasai disclose(s) all the limitations of Claims 14 and 23, respectively, and is/are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Furthermore, Lim in view of Jhu and Sasai discloses further comprising a display configured to display a picture that includes the block [Jhu: ¶ [0068]: The reconstructed block may further go through an In-Loop Filter 228 before it is stored in a Picture Buffer 226, which functions as a reference picture store. The reconstructed video in the Picture Buffer 226 may be sent to drive a display device, as well as used to predict future video blocks].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 11, 19, and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN R MESSMORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482