DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-9 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Natarajan (US 2022/0131253 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Natarajan teaches a communication device comprising:
a first radio frequency circuit (RF amplifier 1102, having RF signal input port 1101 and output port 1103;[0061]–[0062]);
a plurality of second radio frequency circuits (amplifiers 1112, 1118, 1128, 1134 of phased array 1111, each coupled to an antenna 1114/1120/1130/1136;[0061], [0063]–[0064]); and
a power division/combination network (the assembly of three passive reconfigurable divider/combiners 1104, 1108, 1124 with transmission lines 1106, 1110, 1116, 1122, 1126, 1132; [0061], FIG. 11) comprising:
a signal combining port, wherein the signal combining port is coupled to the first radio frequency circuit and is configured to transmit a combined signal (port 3 (1190) of first divider/combiner 1104, coupled to output port 1103 of RF amplifier 1102; the circuits "operate as passive power combiners when operating in one or more different receive modes of operation";[0062], [0101]);
a plurality of signal dividing ports, wherein the plurality of signal dividing ports is coupled to the plurality of second radio frequency circuits, and wherein each of the plurality of signal dividing ports is configured to transmit a divided signal (ports 1194/1195 of 1108 and 1197/1198 of 1124, coupled through transmission lines to the four output amplifiers; each device "splits the power with 3 dB along each path"; [0063]–[0064]);
a power divider/combiner comprising: a common port; a first dividing port; a second dividing port (second passive divider/combiner 1108; circuit assembly 400 of FIG. 4) ; [0061], [0063]; third port 406 / Port 3 1193; [0038], [0063]);
a first signal transmission network comprising: a first end coupled to the common port; and a second end coupled to the first dividing port (first transmission line 417 of port coupling assembly 410, coupling first port 402 to third port 406 (λ/4 at f₀, √2·Z₀);[0046], [0049]);
a second signal transmission network comprising: a third end coupled to the common port; and a fourth end coupled to the second dividing port (second transmission line 419 coupling second port 404 to third port 406; [0046], [0049]),
wherein the power divider/combiner is configured to operate in an operating mode comprising a first mode and a second mode,
wherein in the first mode both the first signal transmission network and the second signal transmission network are in a connected state (both connected; divider/combiner mode: SW5 491 and SW7 495 closed, "the network operates like a power divider/combiner," both paths (port 1–port 3 and port 2–port 3) active; 3 dB split; [0050]–[0051], FIG. 5, table 550), and
wherein in the second mode the second signal transmission network is in the connected state and the first signal transmission network is in a disconnected state (first disconnected, second connected; thru mode Port 2 to Port 3: "when switch SW4 490 is closed, Port 1 402 is shorted to ground, and appears as an open at Port 3 406," while SW2 430 and SW3 450 closed pass power from Port 2 to Port 3 with impedance match to Z₀; described as "a path between the first port and the third port is active, while a path between the second port and the third port is inactive"; [0052], [0099], FIG. 6, table 650); and
a mode tuning circuit coupled to the first signal transmission network and configured to provide an operating mode tuning capability for setting the operating mode (switch controller 401 with first through seventh control signal outputs CSW1 403 … CSW7 417 coupled to the control inputs of SW1–SW7, setting mode by control-value sets; upstream, main controller 1150 / CPU 1152 / beam table 1154 mapping each beam to a set of mode settings commanded to the divider/combiners; [0047], [0093]–[0095], [0061], [0067]–[0068]).
Regarding claim 2, Natarajan teaches the communication device of claim 1, wherein the mode tuning circuit is further coupled to the second signal transmission network, wherein the operating mode further comprises a third mode, and wherein in the third mode the first signal transmission network is in the connected state and the second signal transmission network is in the disconnected state (thru mode Port 1→Port 3: SW6 497 closed shorts Port 2 404, which "appears as an open at Port 3," while SW1 420 and SW3 450 closed pass Port 1↔Port 3 — [0054], FIG. 7, table 750; App. Emb. 13 [0095]; Natarajan cl. 13. Mode tuning circuit coupled to second network: CSW6 413→SW6 497 and CSW2 405→SW2 430 — [0047]).
Regarding claim 4, Natarajan teaches the communication device of claim 1, wherein a signal dividing port in the a plurality of signal dividing ports is configured to receive a signal, and the power division/combination network is configured to combine powers of the plurality of second radio frequency circuits into the first radio frequency circuit, or wherein the signal combining port is configured to receive the signal, and the power division/combination network is configured to divide a power of the first radio frequency circuit into the plurality of second radio frequency circuits (RF input 1140 → amp 1102 → port 3 1190 → 3 dB split to 1191/1192 → the four output amplifiers — [0062]–[0064]. Combine: "operate as passive power combiners when operating in one or more different receive modes”; [0101]).
Regarding claim 5, Natarajan teaches the communication device of claim 1, wherein the communication device further comprises an antenna coupled to a second radio frequency circuit in the plurality of second radio frequency circuits (Antennas 1114, 1120, 1130, 1136, "each of the four antennas being coupled to a different one of the four output amplifiers"; [0061], [0063]–[0064]).
Regarding claim 6, Natarajan teaches the communication device of claim 1, wherein the common port is configured to be used as the signal combining port, and the first dividing port and the second dividing port are configured to be used as the signal dividing ports; or wherein the power division/combination network comprises a plurality of power dividers/combiners comprising a lower-level power divider/combiner, a first-level power divider/combiner, and an upper-level power divider/combiner, wherein at least some of the plurality of power dividers/combiners are connected in series, wherein the lower-level power divider/combiner comprises a first common port, the first-level power divider/combiner comprises a second common port, and the upper-level power divider/combiner comprises a third dividing port and a fourth dividing port, wherein the first common port is coupled to the third dividing port or the fourth dividing port, the second common port is configured to be used as the signal combining port, and wherein dividing ports of the at least some of the plurality of power dividers/combiners that are not coupled to the common port are configured to be used as the signal dividing ports (standalone assembly 400 — third port 406 = combining port, first port 402 and second port 404 = dividing ports; divider when input applied to third port, combiner when inputs applied to first and second — [0038], [0093]).
Regarding claim 7, Natarajan teaches the communication device of claim 1, wherein the power divider/combiner further comprises an isolation circuit coupled between the first signal transmission network and the second signal transmission network, and wherein the mode tuning circuit is further coupled to the isolation circuit (Impedance and switch interconnect circuit 408 "controllably connecting the first port 402 to the second port 404," comprising coupling impedance 475 = 2·Z₀, "in some embodiments … a coupling resistance" — [0038], [0043], Natarajan cl. 5. Controller 401 coupled into that circuit via CSW5 411→SW5 491 and CSW7 415→SW7 495 — [0044]–[0045], [0047]).
Regarding claim 8, Natarajan teaches the communication device of claim 7, wherein the mode tuning circuit comprises a first switch coupled to the first signal transmission network and configured to control whether the first signal transmission network is in the connected state (SW4 490 "controllably connecting the first terminal 471 of the first switching module 470 to ground," terminal 471 coupled to first port 402; closing it opens the first path at Port 3 — [0044], [0052]. Alt.: assembly 412 = SW1 420 + capacitor 426 coupling first port to ground — [0040], Natarajan cl. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Natarajan teaches the communication device of claim 8, wherein the mode tuning circuit further comprises a second switch coupled to the second signal transmission network and configured to control whether the second signal transmission network is in the connected state (SW6 497 "controllably connecting the second port 404 to ground"; closing it makes Port 2 appear open at Port 3 — [0045], [0054]. Alt.: assembly 414 = SW2 430 + cap 436 — [0041], Natarajan cl. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Natarajan teaches an operating method of a communication device, wherein the operating method comprises:
transmitting a combined signal from a signal combining port (port 3 (1190) of first divider/combiner 1104, coupled to output port 1103 of RF amplifier 1102; the circuits "operate as passive power combiners when operating in one or more different receive modes of operation";[0062], [0101]);
transmitting a divided signal from a plurality of signal dividing ports coupled to a plurality of second radio frequency circuits (ports 1194/1195 of 1108 and 1197/1198 of 1124, coupled through transmission lines to the four output amplifiers; each device "splits the power with 3 dB along each path"; [0063]–[0064]);
providing an operating mode tuning capability for configuring an operation mode of a power divider/combiner, wherein the operating mode comprises a first mode and a second mode, wherein in the first mode both a first signal transmission network and a second signal transmission network are in a connected state (both connected; divider/combiner mode: SW5 491 and SW7 495 closed, "the network operates like a power divider/combiner," both paths (port 1–port 3 and port 2–port 3) active; 3 dB split; [0050]–[0051], FIG. 5, table 550), and
wherein in the second mode the second signal transmission network is in the connected state and the first signal transmission network is in a disconnected state (first disconnected, second connected; thru mode Port 2 to Port 3: "when switch SW4 490 is closed, Port 1 402 is shorted to ground, and appears as an open at Port 3 406," while SW2 430 and SW3 450 closed pass power from Port 2 to Port 3 with impedance match to Z₀; described as "a path between the first port and the third port is active, while a path between the second port and the third port is inactive"; [0052], [0099], FIG. 6, table 650); and
controlling, by a mode tuning circuit, the first signal transmission network and the second signal transmission network to be the connected state when in the first mode; or controlling, by the mode tuning circuit, the first signal transmission network to be in the disconnected state and the second signal transmission network to be in the connected state when in the second mode (switch controller 401 with first through seventh control signal outputs CSW1 403 … CSW7 417 coupled to the control inputs of SW1–SW7, setting mode by control-value sets; upstream, main controller 1150 / CPU 1152 / beam table 1154 mapping each beam to a set of mode settings commanded to the divider/combiners; [0047], [0093]–[0095], [0061], [0067]–[0068]).
Regarding claim 18, Natarajan teaches the operating method of the communication device of claim 17, further comprising controlling, by the mode tuning circuit, the first signal transmission network to be in the connected state and the second signal transmission network to be in the disconnected state when in a third mode of the operating mode (Thru mode Port 1→Port 3 — [0054], [0095]).
Regarding claim 19, Natarajan teaches a power divider/combiner comprising:
a common port; a first dividing port; a second dividing port (second passive divider/combiner 1108; circuit assembly 400 of FIG. 4); [0061], [0063]; third port 406 / Port 3 1193; [0038], [0063]);
a first signal transmission network comprising: a first end coupled to the common port; and a second end coupled to the first dividing port (first transmission line 417 of port coupling assembly 410, coupling first port 402 to third port 406 (λ/4 at f₀, √2·Z₀);[0046], [0049]);
a second signal transmission network comprising: a third end coupled to the common port; and a fourth end coupled to the second dividing port (second transmission line 419 coupling second port 404 to third port 406; [0046], [0049]),
wherein the power divider/combiner is configured to operate in an operating mode comprising a first mode and a second mode, wherein in the first mode both the first signal transmission network and the second signal transmission network are in a connected state (both connected; divider/combiner mode: SW5 491 and SW7 495 closed, "the network operates like a power divider/combiner," both paths (port 1–port 3 and port 2–port 3) active; 3 dB split; [0050]–[0051], FIG. 5, table 550), and
wherein in the second mode only one of the second signal transmission network or the first signal transmission network is in the connected state (first disconnected, second connected; thru mode Port 2 to Port 3: "when switch SW4 490 is closed, Port 1 402 is shorted to ground, and appears as an open at Port 3 406," while SW2 430 and SW3 450 closed pass power from Port 2 to Port 3 with impedance match to Z₀; described as "a path between the first port and the third port is active, while a path between the second port and the third port is inactive"; [0052], [0099], FIG. 6, table 650); and
a mode tuning circuit coupled to the first signal transmission network and configured to provide an operating mode tuning capability for setting the operating mode (switch controller 401 with first through seventh control signal outputs CSW1 403 … CSW7 417 coupled to the control inputs of SW1–SW7, setting mode by control-value sets; upstream, main controller 1150 / CPU 1152 / beam table 1154 mapping each beam to a set of mode settings commanded to the divider/combiners; [0047], [0093]–[0095], [0061], [0067]–[0068]).
Regarding claim 20, Natarajan teaches the power divider/combiner of claim 19, further comprising comprises an isolation circuit coupled to the mode tuning circuit and located between the first signal transmission network and the second signal transmission network (Coupling impedance 475 between the two branches, with SW5/SW7 controlled by controller 401 — [0043]–[0045], [0047], cl. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 10-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang (US 2019/0214700 A1), SHEN (US 2021/0314015 A1), and Sjöland (US 2022/0109418 A1).
/WEN W HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648