Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, and 6-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by D1 (Toth et al., US 6,257,587).
For claim 1, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-7, a shaft sealing kit (10) for a sealing gap formed between a shaft (18) and a machine part (16) engaging around the shaft, wherein the shaft and the machine part are adjustable relative to one another about an axis of rotation L, comprising
a foam ring (86) of an elastically deformable foam material (Col.3, L 63-65; Col.4, L 1-8) configured to be arranged in the sealing gap to be sealed off; and
a kneading ring (24,64), configured to be arranged in a rotationally fixed manner on the shaft or on the machine part and has a main body (body of 24 and 64) away from which at least one cam (68) extends, which engages in a displacing manner in the foam ring (86) in the assembled state of the shaft sealing kit (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 2, D1 discloses the shaft sealing kit as claimed in claim 1, wherein the kneading ring (24, 64) has a plurality of cams (74, 68), which are arranged spaced apart from one another in the circumferential direction of the kneading ring (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 3, D1 discloses the shaft sealing kit as claimed in claim 2, wherein at least some of the cams are radial cams (radial portion of 24, 64. Figures 1-2.)
For claim 4, D1 discloses the shaft sealing kit as claimed in claim 2, wherein at least some of the cams are axial cams (74, 68. Figures 1-2.)
For claim 6, D1 discloses the shaft sealing kit as claimed in claim 1, wherein each cam is of a rounded design (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 7, D1 discloses the shaft sealing kit as claimed in claim 2, wherein at least some of the cams of the kneading ring coincide in their geometry and/or size (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 8, D1 discloses the shaft sealing kit as claimed in claim 1, wherein the kneading ring has at least one supporting flange (62, 26) for the foam ring, which extends away from the main body of the kneading ring in a radial direction (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 9, D1 discloses the shaft sealing kit as claimed in claim 8, wherein the kneading ring has two supporting flanges (62, 82), between which the foam ring engages in the assembled state of the shaft sealing kit (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 10, D1 discloses the shaft sealing kit as claimed in claim 1, wherein the kneading ring (24, 64) consists of metal, plastic or a composite material or in that the kneading ring is an injection-molded part (MPEP 608.02 (IX).)
For claim 11, D1 discloses the shaft sealing kit as claimed in claim 1, wherein the foam material of the foam ring is at least partly an open cell or mixed cell foam (Col.4, L1-3.)
For claim 12, D1 discloses a shaft arrangement including the shaft sealing kit as claimed in claim 1, the shaft arrangement comprising: a first machine part in the form of the shaft (18) and the machine part being a second machine part (16) engaging around the shaft, which are arranged rotatably relative to one another about an axis of rotation L thereby forming the sealing gap; and at least one of the shaft sealing kit (10), wherein the foam ring (86) of the shaft sealing kit is arranged in the sealing gap and the kneading ring (24, 64) is arranged in a rotationally fixed manner on the other machine part respectively wherein, when the shaft (18) is rotating, the foam ring (86) is progressively compressed in the direction of rotation of the shaft by each cam (68, 74) of the kneading ring (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 13, D1 discloses the shaft arrangement as claimed in claim 12, wherein the foam ring (86) fully peripherally contacts the kneading ring (24, 64) or is in sections at a distance from it in the circumferential direction (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 14, D1 discloses the shaft arrangement as claimed in claim 12, wherein the shaft arrangement comprises at least one sealing ring (40,42, 46) with a sealing edge, which lies peripherally against the shaft in a dynamically sealing manner (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 15, D1 discloses the shaft arrangement as claimed in claim 12, wherein the shaft sealing kit is arranged offset with respect to the sealing ring (246) in an axial direction toward the outside N of the sealing gap (Figure 3.)
For claim 16, D1 discloses the shaft arrangement as claimed in claim 12, wherein the shaft sealing kit is arranged offset with respect to the sealing ring (430) in an axial direction toward the inside H of the sealing gap (Figure 4.)
For claim 17, D1 discloses the shaft arrangement as claimed in claim 12, wherein the shaft arrangement has a plurality of sealing rings (42, 46), which are arranged lying one behind the other in an axial direction (Figures 1-2), wherein a shaft sealing kit is respectively arranged between two of the sealing rings lying next to one another in pairs (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 18, D1 discloses the shaft arrangement as claimed in claim 17, wherein each foam ring (686) lies respectively with its two side flanks in interlocking engagement against one of the sealing rings (682, 127. Figure 7.)
For claim 19, D1 discloses the shaft arrangement as claimed in claim 12, wherein each foam ring is indirectly or directly supported at the outer circumference in a radial direction on the second machine part (Figure 3.)
For claim 20, D1 discloses the shaft arrangement as claimed in claim 12, wherein each sealing ring and the foam ring of each shaft sealing kit are arranged wherein they are held together in a machine part formed as a mounting sleeve (Figures 1-7.)
For claim 21, D1 discloses the shaft arrangement as claimed in claim 12, wherein the foam ring (86) is arranged for conjoint rotation on one of the two machine parts (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 22, D1 discloses the shaft arrangement as claimed in claim 17, wherein each foam ring lies respectively with its two side flanks in interlocking engagement against one of the sealing rings over its entire radial extent (Figures 1-7.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Toth et al., US 6,257,587) alone.
For claim 5, D1 discloses the shaft sealing kit as claimed in claim 1, wherein, in the assembled state of the shaft sealing kit, the foam ring is compressible by each cam respectively by at least 10% of its radial or axial extent (d1, d2) (During operation, form ring 86 is compressible by cams 74, 68. Figures 1-2.)
D1 discloses the claimed invention except for the foam ring is compressible by each cam respectively by at least 10% of its radial or axial extent (d1, d2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have the foam ring compressible by each cam respectively by at least 10% of its radial or axial extent, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 167 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). One skill in the art would realize that compressing the form ring at least 10% would yield the expected result of sealing.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides example of invention. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes Carter (US 2,276,225); Belsanti (US 4,427,201); and Wilkinson (US 5,687,974).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675