DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application No. 18/891,169 filed on 9/20/2024. Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/17/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshafie et al. (hereinafter Elshafie)(US 2023//0180278) in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim)(US 2011/0122971).
Regarding claims 1, 15, 17, and 20, Elshafie teaches as follows:
A communication device (interpreted as the device 905 in figure 9)(the device 905 may be an example of or include the components of a device 605, a device 705, or a UE 115 as described herein, see, ¶[0158] and figure 9), comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a program or instructions capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the communication device to perform (the device 905 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, such as a communications manager 920, an input/output (I/O) controller 910, a transceiver 915, an antenna 925, a memory 930, code 935, and a processor 940, see, ¶ [0158] and figure 9):
in a case that a first signal (interpreted as the reference signal DMRS or CSI-RS) is received, determining channel information (interpreted as the CSI) of a first channel based on the first signal; and sending the channel information of the first channel to a second communication device (a UE 115 may receive messages (e.g., downlink messages, sidelink messages) that include reference signals such as demodulation reference signals (DMRS) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (among other reference signals). The UE 115 may measure the reference signals, generate a channel state information (CSI) based on the measurements, and transmit the generated CSI in a CSI report to a communication device (e.g., a base station 105, another UE 115) from which the UE 115 received the messages, see, ¶ [0085] and figure 1); wherein
the first channel (interpreted as communication link 210 in figure 2) is a channel that the first signal (interpreted as the reference signals such as DMRS and CSI-RS) goes through (the base station 105-a may transmit downlink messages to the UE 115-a over a communication link 210, and the UE 115-a may transmit uplink messages to the base station 105-a over communication link 205. The communication link 205 and the communication link 210 may be examples of a communication link 125 described with reference to FIG. 1, see, ¶[0092] and figure 2); and
the channel information of the first channel comprises information of a channel from at least one antenna port of a third communication device (interpreted as the base station) to at least one antenna port of the communication device (interpreted as the UE)(the base station and the UE inherently include at least one antenna port to communication each other)(the device 905 may include a single antenna 925. However, in some other cases, the device 905 may have more than one antenna 925, which may be capable of concurrently transmitting or receiving multiple wireless transmissions, see, ¶[0160] and figure 9), the third communication device being a device that sends the first signal (the third communication device is interpreted as the second device based on Applicant’s Specification. “the second communication device may be a communication device that sends the first signal, such as the third communication device,” see, Application’s published Specification ¶[0044]).
Elshafie does not teach that the channel information is affected by the beamforming matric or vector.
Kim teaches as follows:
The receiver computes channel quality information (CQI)(equivalent to applicant’s channel information) values based on the precoding matrix and/or the beamforming vector(s) selected in step 312 (step 314). The receiver generates feedback information including the computed CQI values and indices of the selected precoding matrix and/or the selected beamforming vector(s). The generated feedback information is sent to the transmitter (see, ¶[0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie with Kim to include computing the channel quality information based on the beamforming vectors as taught by Kim in order to efficiently generate feedback information.
Regarding claims 2, 16, and 18, Elshafie teaches as follows:
Wherein the first signal comprises a demodulation reference signal (DMRS)(a UE 115 may receive messages (e.g., downlink messages, sidelink messages) that include reference signals such as demodulation reference signals (DMRS) or CSI-RSs (among other reference signals), see, ¶[0085]).
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Elshafie teaches as follows:
Sending, by the first communication device, the channel information of the first channel to the second communication device based on a channel information reporting configuration (interpreted as the reporting indication 505 in figure 5); wherein the channel information reporting configuration is associated with the first signal (at 505, the base station 105-b may transmit a reporting indication to the UE 115-c. The reporting indication may indicate a reporting configuration or a sequence of reporting configurations for reporting CSI to the base station 105-b, see, ¶[0124] and figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Elshafie teaches as follows:
The channel information reporting configuration at least comprises a resource (interpreted as resource allocated for PDSCH or PDDCCH) of the first signal (the UE 115 may generate CSI based on decoding a PDSCH or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)(e.g., DMRSs included in the PDSCH or PDCCH), see, ¶[0087]).
Regarding claim 5, Elshafie teaches as follows:
In a case that the channel information reporting configuration indicates a target resource and the first signal exists in a first resource of the target resource, reporting, by the first communication device, channel information on the first resource to the second communication device, wherein the target resource at least comprises a measurement resource and a reporting resource, the measurement resource is used by the first communication device to measure the first signal, and the reporting resource is used to report channel information of the first channel measured by the first communication device based on the measurement resource (the base station may transmit downlink messages over PDSCHs, and the UE may be configured to transmit a CSI report in a PUCCH occasion corresponding to a given PDSCH occasion, see, ¶[0045]).
Regarding claim 6, Elshafie teaches as follows:
Reporting, by the first communication device, channel information on a third resource to the second communication device, wherein the third resource belongs to the first resource, and the second communication device has successfully decoded the first signal on the third resource (at 535, the UE 115 may transmit the CSI report including the modified CSI report to the base station 105 using the next available uplink slot, see, ¶[0130]).
Regarding claims 7-8, Elshafie teaches as follows:
Examples of types of CSI may include a DMRS reference signal received power (RSRP), a rank indicator, a channel quality indicator (CQI), or a PMI, among other types of CSI. A rank indicator may request a number of layers to be used for downlink transmissions or sidelink transmissions (e.g., based on antenna ports of the UE 115)(see, ¶[0085]).
Therefore, the channel information (rank indicator) is associated with antennal ports of the UE and the base station.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshafie et al. (hereinafter Elshafie)(US 2023//0180278) in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim)(US 2011/0122971), and further in view of Seo et al. (hereinafter Seo)(US 2016/0057759).
Regarding claims 9-10, Elshafie teaches as follows:
The UE 115 may measure the reference signals, generate CSI based on the measurements, and transmit the generated CSI in a CSI report to a communication device (e.g., a base station 105, another UE 115) from which the UE 115 received the messages. Examples of types of CSI may include a DMRS reference signal received power (RSRP)(equivalent to applicant’s performing power processing on channel information corresponding to the DMRS), a rank indicator, a channel quality indicator (CQI), or a PMI, among other types of CSI (see, ¶[0085]).
Elshafie in view of Kim teaches all limitations as presented above except for marking positions of the DMRS.
Seo teaches as follows:
FIG. 6 illustrates a position of a reference signal on a pair of resource blocks in a system that a base station supports four transmitting antennas. In FIG. 6, resource elements (REs) marked with ‘0’, ‘1’, ‘2’ and ‘3’ represent position of the CRS for each of antenna ports ‘0’, ‘1’, ‘2’ and ‘3’. Meanwhile, resource elements marked with ‘D’ represent the position of the DMRS (see, ¶[0094] and figure 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie in view of Kim with Seo to include marking on resource elements as taught by Seo in order to efficiently represent the position of the DMRS.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshafie et al. (hereinafter Elshafie)(US 2023//0180278) in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim)(US 2011/0122971), and further in view of Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang)(US 2021/0273763).
Regarding claim 11, Elshafie teaches the DMRS as the first signal as presented above.
Elshafie in view of Kim does not explicitly teach whether the DMRS supports single-layer or multi-layer.
Wang teaches as follows:
The first type of DMRS may have one port and support a single layer, while the second type of DMRS may have two ports and support spatial multiplexing (two layers or rank 2)(see, ¶[0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie in view of Kim with Wang to include different type of DMRS as taught by Wang in order to efficiently select between a single layer and a two layers signals.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshafie et al. (hereinafter Elshafie)(US 2023//0180278) in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim)(US 2011/0122971), and further in view of Chae et al. (hereinafter Chae)(US 2015/0078282).
Regarding claims 12-13, Elshafie in view of Kim teaches all limitations as presented above except for the interference information associated with the channel information.
Chae teaches as follows:
An interference signal having a higher intensity than a predetermined threshold value from among the plurality of interference signals is removed through the Q-CDM code, and an interference signal having a lower intensity than a predetermined threshold value from among the plurality of interference signals is removed through null precoding (see, ¶[0009]); and
inter-cell interference (ICI) may reduce cell-edge UE performance and average sector throughput under a multi-cell environment with a frequency reuse factor of 1 (see, ¶[0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie in view of Kim with Chae to include setting a threshold value for interference signal intensity as taught by Chae in order to efficiently determine whether the detected interference affects channel information or not.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshafie et al. (hereinafter Elshafie)(US 2023//0180278) in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim)(US 2011/0122971), and further in view of Xu (US 2017/0359110).
Regarding claim 14, Elshafie in view of Kim teaches all limitations as presented above except for considering the channel information associated with the well-known signal-to-ratio threshold.
Xu teaches as follows:
If the parameter includes a signal-to-noise ratio parameter, the preset parameter threshold may be specifically a preset signal-to-noise ratio threshold. Therefore, the preset condition may be: A signal-to-noise ratio of the precoded CSI-RS is greater than or equal to the preset signal-to-noise ratio threshold. That is, if the user equipment determines by means of comparison that the signal-to-noise ratio of the precoded CSI-RS is greater than or equal to the preset signal-to-noise ratio threshold, the user equipment determines that the signal-to-noise ratio of the precoded CSI-RS meets the preset condition (see, ¶[0175]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshafie in view of Kim with Xu to include setting a preset signal-to-noise ratio threshold as taught by Xu in order to efficiently determine the channel information associated with the well-known signal-to-noise ratio.
Conclusion
/JEONG S PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2417
September 30, 2026