DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-20) in the reply filed on 3/18/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-14 and 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 6, “data.” should be amended to –data;-- . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milluzzi et al. (US 12342794) in view of Falbaum (US 5778825).
For claims 1, 6, 15 and 18, Milluzzi et al. teach a system comprising:
an enrichment object (135) comprising a sensor;
at least one a processor (260); and
a memory in communication with the processor and the at least one sensor, and having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by the processor, is configured to cause the system to:
analyze sensor data received in real time from the sensor;
and generate a behavioral profile based, at least in part, on the analyzed sensor data (see “SUMMARY”, columns 5, 15, and 16).
As described above, Milluzzi et al. disclose most of the claimed invention except for mentioning the use of magnetic sensors.
Falbaum teaches that it is old and well known in the art of enrichment device for animals to use magnetic sensors (see [0028]) in order to detect and respond to animals’ movement and/or behavior.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Milluzzi et al. so as to include the use of magnetic sensors, in a similar manner as taught in Falbaum, in order to detect and respond to animals’ movement and/or behavior.
For claims 2 and 6, Milluzzi et al. as modified by Falbaum (emphasis on Milluzzi et al.) further teach wherein the sensor data is received in real time in response to a user interacting with the enrichment object (see “SUMMARY”, columns 5, 15, and 16).
For claims 3 and 6, Milluzzi et al. as modified by Falbaum (emphasis on Falbaum) further teach the use of multiple magnetic sensors (see [0028]).
For claims 4, 6 and 16, Milluzzi et al. as modified by Falbaum (emphasis on Milluzzi et al.) further teach wherein the memory, when executed by the processor, is further configured to cause the system to:
transmit a signal to an imaging device in an environment comprising the enrichment object to initiate or terminate video data collection (see columns 7 and 12).
For claims 5, 6 and 17, Milluzzi et al. as modified by Falbaum (emphasis on Milluzzi et al.) further teach wherein the memory, when executed by the processor, is further configured to cause the system to:
transmit a signal to an environmental stimulus (equivalent to “a treat”) in an environment comprising the enrichment object (see column 7).
For claim 7, as described above, Milluzzi et al. as modified by Falbaum disclose most of the claimed invention except for mentioning: 1) the use of a plurality of enrichment objects and 2) the state data comprises mechanical or electrical failures of a corresponding enrichment object in the plurality of enrichment objects. Regarding 1), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Milluzzi et al. as modified by Falbaum so as to provide an additional enrichment objects where it is needed, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routing skill in the art. Regarding 2), an Official Notice is taken that having mechanical or electrical failure correspondents in pet enrichment objects is a well known technique used in the art in order to trigger maintenance alerts and to ensure continuous safe operation of the pet enrichment object. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Milluzzi et al. as modified by Falbaum so as to provide mechanical or electrical failure correspondents in order to trigger maintenance alerts and to ensure continuous safe operation of the pet enrichment object.
For claims 8, 12 and 18, Milluzzi et al. as modified by Falbaum further teach wherein the at least one enrichment object is a silicone enrichment object (see [0012] of Falbaum) further comprising at least one accelerometer (240 and see columns 2 and 7 of Milluzzi et al.), at least one gyroscope, or at least one barometer (see columns 2 and 7 of Milluzzi et al.).
For claims 9, 12 and 20, Milluzzi et al. as modified by Falbaum wherein: the sensor data is additionally received from the at least one accelerometer (240 and see columns 2 and 7 of Milluzzi et al.), the at least one gyroscope, or the at least one barometer; the sensor data is automatically segmented; and the sensor data is analyzed using a machine learning model (425 and see columns 12 and 17 of Milluzzi et al.) by:
automatically detecting activities in the sensor data associated with the user interacting with the at least one enrichment object, wherein the sensor data is segmented based on the detected activities; and
generating the behavioral profile using the machine learning model by detecting patterns between the sensor data and the detected activities (see columns 5 and 15 of Milluzzi et al.).
For claim 10, Milluzzi et al. as modified by Falbaum (emphasis on Falbaum) further teach wherein: the machine learning model is configured to dynamically generate a visual (equivalent to “camera device” 255) of the sensor data; and the memory, when executed by the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the system to: transmit in real time the sensor data or the visual of the sensor data to an external device.
For claim 11, Milluzzi et al. as modified by Falbaum (emphasis on Falbaum) further teach wherein a level of work readiness of the user is determined based on the behavioral profile of the user by comparing patterns of play in the behavioral profile to a current state of play (see columns 11 and 14).
For claim 13, Milluzzi et al. as modified by Falbaum (emphasis on Falbaum) further teach wherein: the user is interacting with the at least one enrichment object in an environment; and the at least one signal is based on a bite pressure or a movement (see columns 3 and 8) of the at least one enrichment object from the user.
For claim 14, Milluzzi et al. as modified by Falbaum (emphasis on Falbaum) further teach wherein the at least one signal marks a location of the environment for a handler of the user (equivalent to “GPS”, see column 1).
For claim 19, Milluzzi et al. as modified by Falbaum (emphasis on Falbaum) further teach wherein the enrichment object further comprising comprises: charging hardware configured to enable wireless charging of the at least one sensor through the silicone shell (see [0013] and [0014]).
Conclusion
Note, although the examiner recites certain excerpts for the prior art, MPEP 2141.02 VI states “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS”.
The prior arts Lau Caruso et al. (US 2023/0225290) and Gibbs (US 2020/0404886) teach an animal behavioral training system.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Timothy Collins can be reached on 571-272-6886. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TRINH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644