DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 20, 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed July 21, 2023 are accepted.
Abstract
The Abstract filed July 21, 2023 is accepted.
Specification
The specification filed July 21, 2023 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 13 - 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leonard (US 10,890,925 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Leonard discloses a vehicle leveling system, comprising a sensor (22) for sensing a level state of a vehicle based on a calibration state (See Column 9, lines 41 – 60); and a smart device (24) in communication with the sensor providing audible or human sensory feedback (Column 9, lines 41 – 63, for example, where a visual indication is displayed in the screen of the smart device as shown in figures 3 - 6) as to the level state of the vehicle (See Figure 1).
Referring to claim 7, Leonard sets forth a vehicle leveling system, comprising a sensor (22) for sensing a state of levelness of a vehicle (See Column 9, lines 41 – 60); and a smart device (24) in communication with the sensor (22) providing audible or human sensory feedback (Column 9, lines 41 – 63, for example, where a visual indication is displayed in the screen of the smart device as shown in figures 3 - 6) as to the state of levelness.
In regards to claim 13, Leonard teaches a vehicle leveling system wherein the levelness of a vehicle calibration state is based on a calibration state (See Column 9, lines 41 – 60).
Regarding claim 14, the method of leveling a vehicle, comprising the steps of sensing a state of levelness of a vehicle (with sensor 22); and providing audible or human sensory feedback to a user as to the state of levelness (with smart device 24) will be achieved by the regular operation of Leonard (See Abstract).
With regards to claim 20, the method wherein the levelness of a vehicle calibration state is based on a calibration state (See Column 9, lines 41 – 60) will be achieved by the regular operation of Leonard.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 6, 8 – 12 and 15 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leonard (US 10,890,925 B2) and Alexander et al. (US 11,995,292 B1).
Leonard discloses a vehicle leveling system as recited in paragraph 6 above.
Leonard does not disclose an audible tone as to the level state of the vehicle as recited in claim 2, including a varying frequency as recited in claim 3, including voice as recited in claim 4, including light as recited in claim 5, and including haptic as recited in claim 6.
Referring to claim 2, Leonard sets forth a vehicle leveling system wherein the audible or human sensory feedback includes an audible tone (Column 20, lines 23 – 30) when the device is on/off, in Bluetooth mode and to indicate the life of the battery. Alexander et al. discloses a leveling system comprising a communication network (Figure 1) comprising graphical, audible, textual, haptic, or other representation of a leveling mechanism or process (Column 7, lines 7 – 27) in order to diversify the input/output capabilities of the system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Leonard by providing an audible leveling feedback, as taught by Alexander et al. in order to diversify the input/output capabilities of the system (Column 7, lines 7 – 27).
In regards to claim 3, Alexander et al. discloses a leveling system comprising a communication network (Figure 1) comprising graphical, audible, textual, haptic, or other representation of a leveling mechanism or process (Column 7, lines 7 – 27) in order to diversify the input/output capabilities of the system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Leonard by providing an audible varying frequency leveling feedback, as taught by Alexander et al., in order to diversify the input/output capabilities of the system (Column 7, lines 7 – 27).
Regarding claim 4, Alexander et al. discloses a leveling system comprising a communication network (Figure 1) comprising graphical, audible, textual, haptic, or other representation of a leveling mechanism or process (Column 7, lines 7 – 27) in order to diversify the input/output capabilities of the system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Leonard by providing a voice leveling feedback, as taught by Alexander et al., in order to diversify the input/output capabilities of the system (Column 7, lines 7 – 27).
With regards to claim 5, Alexander et al. discloses a leveling system comprising a communication network (Figure 1) comprising graphical, audible, textual, haptic, or other representation of a leveling mechanism or process (Column 7, lines 7 – 27) in order to diversify the input/output capabilities of the system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Leonard by providing a light feedback, as taught by Alexander et al., in order to diversify the input/output capabilities of the system (Column 7, lines 7 – 27).
Referring to claim 6, the combination of Leonard and Alexander et al. discloses a vehicle leveling system wherein the audible or human sensory feedback includes haptic (See Column 7, lines 7 – 27 of Alexander et al.).
In regards to claim 8, Leonard sets forth a vehicle leveling system wherein the audible or human sensory feedback includes an audible tone (Column 20, lines 23 – 30) when the device is on/off, in Bluetooth mode and to indicate the life of the battery. Alexander et al. discloses a leveling system comprising a communication network (Figure 1) comprising graphical, audible, textual, haptic, or other representation of a leveling mechanism or process (Column 7, lines 7 – 27) in order to diversify the input/output capabilities of the system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Leonard by providing an audible tone feedback, as taught by Alexander et al. in order to diversify the input/output capabilities of the system (Column 7, lines 7 – 27).
Regarding claim 9, Alexander et al. discloses a leveling system comprising a communication network (Figure 1) comprising graphical, audible, textual, haptic, or other representation of a leveling mechanism or process (Column 7, lines 7 – 27) in order to diversify the input/output capabilities of the system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Leonard by providing an audible varying frequency leveling feedback, as taught by Alexander et al., in order to diversify the input/output capabilities of the system (Column 7, lines 7 – 27).
With respect to claim 10, Alexander et al. discloses a leveling system comprising a communication network (Figure 1) comprising graphical, audible, textual, haptic, or other representation of a leveling mechanism or process (Column 7, lines 7 – 27) in order to diversify the input/output capabilities of the system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Leonard by providing a voice leveling feedback, as taught by Alexander et al., in order to diversify the input/output capabilities of the system (Column 7, lines 7 – 27).
Referring to claim 11, Alexander et al. discloses a leveling system comprising a communication network (Figure 1) comprising graphical, audible, textual, haptic, or other representation of a leveling mechanism or process (Column 7, lines 7 – 27) in order to diversify the input/output capabilities of the system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Leonard by providing a light feedback, as taught by Alexander et al., in order to diversify the input/output capabilities of the system (Column 7, lines 7 – 27).
In regards to claim 12, the combination of Leonard and Alexander et al. discloses a vehicle leveling system wherein the audible or human sensory feedback includes haptic (See Column 7, lines 7 – 27 of Alexander et al.).
Regarding claim 15, the method wherein the audible or human sensory feedback includes an audible tone will be achieved by the regular operation of the system disclosed by the combination of Leonard and Alexander et al. (as modified above).
With respect to claim 16, the method wherein the audible tone includes a varying frequency will be achieved by the regular operation of the system disclosed by the combination of Leonard and Alexander et al. (as modified above).
Referring to claim 17, the method wherein the audible or human sensory feedback includes voice will be achieved by the regular operation of the system disclosed by the combination of Leonard and Alexander et al. (as modified above).
In regards to claim 18, the method wherein the audible or human sensory feedback includes light will be achieved by the regular operation of the system disclosed by the combination of Leonard and Alexander et al. (as modified above).
Regarding claim 19, the method wherein the audible or human sensory feedback includes haptic will be achieved by the regular operation of the system disclosed by the combination of Leonard and Alexander et al. (as modified above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are considered relevant but fail to teach the combination as claimed:
Donnelly et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0180719 A1) discloses an accurate, easy-to-use, low cost level indication system easily installed on the exterior or interior of an RV. The device provides a visible and/or audible level indication that can be viewed from within the cab of the tow vehicle or motor home day or night. The device can be calibrated at any time by the operator. Donnelly et al. fails to teach a smart device in communication with the sensor as claimed.
Tooley et al. (US 12,607,462 B2) discloses a method and system for wireless vehicle leveling, wherein the system incorporates a wireless remote sensor featuring an inertial measurement unit, comprising accelerometers, gyroscopes, and magnetometers, to precisely measure the vehicle's tilt in roll, pitch, and yaw axes. The sensor wirelessly communicates with a smart device and second computer equipped with a display, providing real-time visualization of the vehicle's current tilt and the necessary adjustments to attain a level position.
YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
August 7, 2026
/YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855