DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 14, 15, 16, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “when the leaked is detected”; it appears “when the leak is detected” was intended. Claim 16 contains the same informality.
Claim 14 recites “from a supply configuration, in which liquid coolant flows to the cooling plate, and a bypass configuration”; it appears “to a bypass configuration” was intended.
Claim 15 recites “to processor to: monitor”; it appears “the processor to: monitor” was intended. Claim 15 further recites “a cooling distribution unit, comprising: a supply line; a return line; and an information handling system,” which as punctuated places the information handling system within the cooling distribution unit; it appears the information handling system was intended as a separate element of the system, consistent with claim 1 and the specification, and the claim has been examined accordingly.
Claim 16 recites “when the leaked is detected; and. issue a leak alert”; the stray period following “and” should be removed.
Claim 17 does not end with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "outlet manifold” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation " the inlet manifold” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Interpretation
The claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. All wherein clauses are considered limiting and are given patentable weight.
Regarding “information handling system” (claims 1–10, 15–20), the specification states that an information handling system “can include any instrumentality or aggregate of instrumentalities operable to compute, calculate, determine, classify, process, transmit, receive, retrieve, originate, switch, store, display, communicate, manifest, detect, record, reproduce, handle, or utilize any form of information, intelligence, or data” (¶[0012]; similarly ¶[0025]). Consistent with this express definition, “information handling system” is interpreted to encompass an aggregate of information-handling instrumentalities, including a server system comprising multiple computing nodes together with associated management controllers.
Regarding “a processor” (claims 1–3, 6, 10, 15–16), the specification states that the recited monitoring and diverting operations “may be executed, or employed in whole, or in part, by the baseboard management controller 112, 212, the CPU 108, 208 …a combination thereof, or any other type of controller, device, module, processor, or any combination thereof” (¶[0022]). Consistent with the specification, “processor” is interpreted to encompass any controller or combination of controllers that performs the recited functions, and is not limited to a host CPU of a single server.
Regarding “a bypass line connected between the valve and the pump” (claims 5, 9, 18), the recitation is construed consistent with the accompanying wherein clause, which defines the connection functionally: “wherein in the bypass configuration liquid coolant flows between the valve and the pump.” “Connected between” therefore encompasses fluid connection along the flow path from the valve to the pump.
The clauses “the processor to: monitor … and divert …” are functional recitations. To carry these limitations, the prior art must disclose a processor configured to perform the recited functions, not merely one capable of modification to do so; the grounds below rely on express disclosures of the recited functions.
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless— (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 11, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Gao (US 2019/0373776 A1, hereinafter “Gao”).
Regarding claim 1, Gao discloses a system (electronic rack 200, FIG. 2; ¶[0029]; see also electronic rack 400, FIGS. 4A–4B, which “may represent electronic rack 200 of FIG. 2,” ¶[0042]) comprising: a cooling distribution unit (CDU 201, FIG. 2, mainly including heat exchanger 211, liquid pump 212, and a pump controller; ¶[0031]); an information handling system (the rack’s information technology system, comprising server blades 203A–203E, FIG. 2, having one or more processors, memory, and storage devices, and rack management unit 202, FIG. 2; ¶¶[0024], [0032]–[0034]) comprising: a cooling plate in fluid communication with the cooling distribution unit, wherein the cooling distribution unit selectively circulates liquid coolant through the cooling plate (cold plates 411A–411B, FIGS. 4A–4B, attached to the server liquid distribution loops, receive cooling liquid from the secondary loop of CDU 201 via liquid manifold 225, FIG. 2 (¶¶[0031], [0043]); RMC 222 controls the speed of liquid pump 212, “which in turn controls a liquid flow rate of cooling liquid supplied to the liquid manifold 225 to be distributed to at least some of server blades 203” (¶[0036])); a leak sensor to detect the presence of liquid coolant leaks (leak detectors 413A–413B, FIGS. 4A–4B; ¶[0044]); and a processor to communicate with the leak sensor and the cooling distribution unit (RMC 222, FIGS. 2 and 4A–4B, to which each leak detector 413 is communicatively coupled (¶[0044]) and which communicates with the pump controller of CDU 201 (¶[0036])), the processor to: monitor the information handling system for leak detection via the leak sensor (“RMC 222 monitors any possible liquid leak within any of the server blades 410 via leak detectors 413”; ¶[0044]; FIGS. 4A–4B); and divert fluid flow from the cooling distribution unit away from the cooling plate when a leak is detected (in response to a signal from leak detector 413A, RMC 222 commands server FCD 403A, FIGS. 4A–4B, which “causes at least a substantial portion of the cooling liquid to be diverted from server supply line 401A to server return line 402A,” bypass path 420A, FIGS. 4A–4B, allowing the liquid to bypass the liquid distribution loop and cold plates 411A without entering the server blade (¶[0047]); alternatively rack FCD 415, FIGS. 4A–4B, diverts liquid from rack liquid supply line 225A to rack liquid return line 225B via bypass path 430, FIGS. 4A–4B, bypassing the server blades (¶[0053])).Regarding claim 2, Gao discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the processor further to: de-energize the information handling system when the leak is detected (in addition to shutting down the cooling liquid distributed to the server blades with liquid leaking, RMC 222, FIGS. 2 and 4A–4B, “may further reduce the workload or shut down the power to the server blades to prevent overheat of the IT components,” where “the server blade may be power down, while other server blades may still operate normally”; ¶[0056]).Regarding claim 4, Gao discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above, further comprising: a supply line connected between the cooling distribution unit and the cooling plate (server liquid supply line 401A, FIGS. 4A–4B, coupled to rack liquid supply line 225A, which receives cooling liquid from the secondary loop of CDU 201 and delivers it to the server liquid distribution loop attached to cold plates 411A; ¶¶[0031], [0043]); a return line connected between the cooling distribution unit and the cooling plate (server liquid return line 402A, FIGS. 4A–4B, coupled between the server liquid distribution loop and rack liquid return line 225B, which returns warmer liquid to CDU 201; ¶¶[0031], [0043]); and a valve disposed along the supply line (server FCD 403A, a three-way valve attached to server supply line 401A; ¶¶[0045], [0048], FIGS. 4A–4B), the valve including a supply configuration, in which liquid coolant flows to the cooling plate (in the first position “during the normal operations, server supply line 401A is opened to allow the cooling liquid to enter server blade 410A”; ¶[0048]), and a bypass configuration in which liquid coolant is prevented from flowing to the cooling plate (in the second position “the server supply line to server blade 410A is closed, but the bypass path 420A is opened,” diverting the cooling liquid to server return line 402A and bypassing the liquid distribution loop and cold plates without entering the server blade; ¶¶[0047]–[0048]).Regarding claim 11, Gao discloses a method comprising: monitoring an information handling system for liquid coolant leaks via a leak sensor (“RMC 222 monitors any possible liquid leak within any of the server blades 410 via leak detectors 413”; ¶[0044], FIGS. 4A–4B); and preventing fluid flow to a cooling plate within the information handling system when a leak is detected (in response to the leak detector signal, the server FCD blocks the cooling liquid from entering the server blade, or diverts it from the server supply line to the server return line, bypassing the liquid distribution loop and cold plates 411A; ¶¶[0046]–[0047]).Regarding claim 12, Gao discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: powering off the information handling system when a leak is detected (in addition to shutting down the cooling liquid, “the server blade may be power down, while other server blades may still operate normally”; ¶[0056]).Regarding claim 14, Gao discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: selectively moving a valve disposed along a supply line to the cooling plate, from a supply configuration, in which liquid coolant flows to the cooling plate, and a bypass configuration in which liquid coolant is prevented from flowing to the cooling plate, when a leak is detected (in response to the signal from leak detector 413A, RMC 222 commands server FCD 403A, a three-way valve attached to server supply line 401A, from the first position, in which the supply line is opened to allow cooling liquid to enter the server blade, to the second position, in which the supply line is closed and bypass path 420A diverts the cooling liquid to server return line 402A; ¶¶[0045], [0047]–[0048], FIGS. 4A–4B).Regarding claim 15, Gao discloses a system (electronic rack 200, FIG. 2; ¶[0029]; see also electronic rack 400, FIGS. 4A–4B, which “may represent electronic rack 200 of FIG. 2,” ¶[0042]) comprising: a cooling distribution unit, comprising: a supply line; a return line (CDU 201, whose heat exchanger’s secondary loop includes a supply manifold, also referred to as rack liquid supply line 225A, and a return manifold, also referred to as rack liquid return line 225B; ¶[0031], FIGS. 2 and 4A–4B); and an information handling system (the rack’s information technology system comprising server blades 410A–410B and rack management unit 202; ¶¶[0024], [0032]–[0034]) comprising: a cooling plate in fluid communication with the supply line and the return line (cold plates 411A attached to the server liquid distribution loop, coupled via server liquid supply line 401A to rack liquid supply line 225A and via server liquid return line 402A to rack liquid return line 225B; ¶[0043]); a leak sensor to detect the presence of liquid coolant leaks within the information handling system (leak detectors 413A–413B; ¶[0044]); and a processor to communicate with the leak sensor and the cooling distribution unit (RMC 222; ¶¶[0036], [0044]), to processor to: monitor the information handling system for leak detection via the leak sensor (¶[0044]); and divert fluid flow from the supply line directly to the return line and away from the cooling plate when a leak is detected (RMC 222 activates rack FCD 415 to divert the cooling liquid from rack liquid supply line 225A to rack liquid return line 225B via bypass path 430, bypassing the server blades; ¶[0053]; similarly, server FCD 403A diverts from server supply line 401A to server return line 402A via bypass path 420A; ¶[0047]).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 6, 13, 16, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Chainer et al. (US 2016/0091262 A1, hereinafter “Chainer”).Regarding claim 3, Gao discloses the system of claim 2 as set forth above. Gao does not expressly disclose wherein the processor further to: issue a leak alert. Chainer discloses a processor to issue a leak alert (controller notification step 406, FIG. 4; upon leak detection, “the head node and the facility controller are notified regarding the coolant leak,” ¶[0056]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Gao’s RMC to issue a leak alert as taught by Chainer, in order to convey the leak and its location to supervisory control for a data-center-level response (Chainer ¶[0056]).Regarding claim 5, Gao discloses the system of claim 4 as set forth above, including liquid pump 212 of CDU 201, FIG. 2, circulating the cooling liquid through the secondary loop (¶¶[0031], [0036]). Gao does not expressly disclose a pump disposed along the return line. Chainer discloses a pump disposed along the return line (pumps 108 disposed on the server return lines at the manifold, receiving coolant from the server via connector 116, FIG. 1B; the pumps at the manifold level provide dedicated coolant flow for the individual servers, ¶¶[0025]–[0026]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose Gao’s pump along the return line as taught by Chainer, in order to provide dedicated pumps at the manifold level ensuring closed liquid cooling loops for individual servers (Chainer ¶[0025]). Regarding a bypass line connected between the valve and the pump, wherein in the bypass configuration liquid coolant flows between the valve and the pump, Gao discloses bypass path 420A, FIGS. 4A–4B, connected to server FCD 403A such that, in the second position, the cooling liquid is diverted through the bypass path to server return line 402A and flows back toward the pump of CDU 201 (¶¶[0047]–[0048]).Regarding claim 6, Gao discloses the system of claim 5 as set forth above, wherein the processor further to: selectively move the valve from the supply configuration to the bypass configuration when a leak is detected by the leak sensor (in response to a signal received from leak detector 413A indicating liquid leak within server blade 410A, RMC 222 transmits a command to activate server FCD 403A, FIGS. 4A–4B, moving the three-way valve from the first position, in which server supply line 401A is opened, to the second position, in which the supply line is closed and bypass path 420A is opened to divert the cooling liquid to server return line 402A; ¶¶[0047]–[0048]).
Regarding claim 13, Gao discloses the method of claim 12 as set forth above. Gao does not expressly disclose issuing a leak alert when a leak is detected. Chainer discloses issuing a leak alert when a leak is detected (controller notification step 406, FIG. 4; upon leak detection, “the head node and the facility controller are notified regarding the coolant leak,” ¶[0056]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to issue a leak alert in Gao’s method as taught by Chainer, in order to convey the leak and its location to supervisory control for a data-center-level response (Chainer ¶[0056]).Regarding claim 16, Gao discloses the system of claim 15 as set forth above, wherein the processor further to: de-energize the information handling system when the leak is detected (“the server blade may be power down”; ¶[0056]). Gao does not expressly disclose issue a leak alert. Chainer discloses a processor to issue a leak alert (controller notification step 406, FIG. 4; ¶[0056]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Gao’s RMC to issue a leak alert as taught by Chainer, in order to convey the leak and its location to supervisory control for a data-center-level response (Chainer ¶[0056]).Regarding claim 17, Gao discloses the system of claim 16 as set forth above, further comprising: a valve in fluid communication with the supply line (server FCD 403A, a three-way valve attached to server supply line 401A; ¶¶[0045], [0048]), the valve including a supply configuration, in which liquid coolant flows to the cooling plate (first position; ¶[0048]), and a bypass configuration in which liquid coolant is prevented from flowing to the cooling plate (second position, in which the supply line is closed and bypass path 420A diverts the cooling liquid to the return line, bypassing the cold plates; ¶¶[0047]–[0048]).Regarding claim 18, Gao discloses the system of claim 17 as set forth above, including liquid pump 212 of CDU 201 (¶[0031]) and bypass path 420A connected to server FCD 403A such that, in the second position, the cooling liquid is diverted through the bypass path to server return line 402A and flows back toward the pump of CDU 201 (¶¶[0047]–[0048], FIGS. 4A–4B). Gao does not expressly disclose a pump in fluid communication with the return line. Chainer discloses a pump in fluid communication with the return line (pumps 108 disposed on the server return lines at the manifold, receiving coolant from the server via connector 116, FIG. 1B; ¶¶[0025]–[0026]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose Gao’s pump in fluid communication with the return line as taught by Chainer, in order to provide dedicated pumps at the manifold level ensuring closed liquid cooling loops for individual servers (Chainer ¶[0025]). Regarding a bypass line connected between the valve and the pump, wherein in the bypass configuration liquid coolant flows between the valve and the pump, Gao discloses bypass path 420A, through which, in the bypass configuration, the cooling liquid flows from the valve to the return line and back toward the pump (¶¶[0047]–[0048]).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Novotny et al. (US 2010/0236772 A1, hereinafter “Novotny”), claim 8 as interpreted above.Regarding claim 7, Gao discloses the system of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the cooling distribution unit is associated with: an outlet manifold (supply manifold, also referred to as rack liquid supply line 225A, of the secondary loop of CDU 201, supplying cooling liquid to the server blades; ¶[0031], FIGS. 2 and 4A–4B); a supply line coupled between the outlet manifold and the cooling plate (server liquid supply line 401A, coupled between rack liquid supply line 225A and the server liquid distribution loop attached to cold plates 411A; ¶[0043], FIGS. 4A–4B); an inlet manifold (return manifold, also referred to as rack liquid return line 225B, returning warmer liquid to CDU 201; ¶[0031], FIGS. 2 and 4A–4B); a return line coupled between the cooling plate and the inlet manifold (server liquid return line 402A, coupled between the server liquid distribution loop and rack liquid return line 225B; ¶[0043], FIGS. 4A–4B); and a bypass line coupled between the outlet manifold and the inlet manifold (bypass path 430, through which rack FCD 415 diverts cooling liquid from rack liquid supply line 225A to rack liquid return line 225B, bypassing the server blades; ¶[0053], FIGS. 4A–4B). Gao does not expressly disclose that the outlet manifold and inlet manifold are comprised within the cooling distribution unit. Novotny discloses a cooling distribution unit comprising internal manifolds (CDU embodiments “include an internal distribution manifold,” the internal secondary distribution manifold supporting up to 6 heat exchangers and equipped with quick release couplings for both supply and return connections; ¶[0052]; see also internal manifold embodiment components 905, FIG. 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate Gao’s supply and return manifolds within the CDU as taught by Novotny, in order to provide a modular unit with quick-release supply and return connections supporting multiple heat exchanger circuits (Novotny ¶[0052]).
Regarding claim 8, Gao discloses the system of claim 7 as set forth above, including a valve (rack FCD 415, placed or attached to rack liquid supply line 225A; ¶[0053], FIGS. 4A–4B) including a supply configuration, in which liquid coolant flows to the cooling plate (in the first position, the cooling liquid is allowed to flow through the rack manifold to reach the server blades; ¶[0038]), and a bypass configuration in which liquid coolant is prevented from flowing to the cooling plate (rack FCD 415 diverts the cooling liquid from rack liquid supply line 225A to rack liquid return line 225B via bypass path 430, bypassing the server blades; ¶[0053]). Gao does not expressly disclose that the valve is disposed within the outlet manifold. Novotny discloses a valve disposed within a manifold of a cooling distribution unit (internal manifold components 905 comprise secondary flow control/balancing valves 945, FIG. 9; ¶[0065]; the internal distribution manifold is equipped with flow regulators for each secondary loop circuit; ¶[0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose Gao’s valve within the outlet manifold as taught by Novotny, in order to allow flow to each cooling circuit to be regulated independently within a modular, serviceable unit (Novotny ¶[0052]).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Novotny, and further in view of Chainer, as interpreted above.Regarding claim 9, Gao in view of Novotny discloses the system of claim 8 as set forth above, and Gao discloses that in the bypass configuration the cooling liquid flows from the valve (rack FCD 415) through bypass path 430 to rack liquid return line 225B and back toward liquid pump 212 of CDU 201 (¶¶[0031], [0053], FIGS. 2 and 4A–4B). Gao does not expressly disclose a pump disposed within the inlet manifold. Chainer discloses a pump disposed within a manifold along the return line (manifold 201 includes pumps 208, ¶[0028]; pumps 108 disposed on the server return lines at the manifold, receiving coolant from the server via connector 116, FIG. 1B; ¶¶[0025]–[0026]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose Gao’s pump within the inlet manifold as taught by Chainer, in order to provide dedicated pumps at the manifold level ensuring closed liquid cooling loops for individual servers (Chainer ¶[0025]).Regarding claim 10, Gao discloses the system of claim 9 as set forth above, wherein the processor further to: selectively move the valve from the supply configuration to the bypass configuration when a leak is detected by the leak sensor (in response to a signal indicating liquid leak within at least one of the server blades, RMC 222 activates rack FCD 415 to divert the cooling liquid from rack liquid supply line 225A to rack liquid return line 225B via bypass path 430; ¶¶[0038], [0053]).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Chainer, and further in view of Novotny.Regarding claim 19, Gao discloses the system of claim 18 as set forth above, including the supply manifold (rack liquid supply line 225A) of the secondary loop of CDU 201 (¶[0031]). Gao does not expressly disclose that the cooling distribution unit comprises an outlet manifold and the valve is disposed within the outlet manifold. Novotny discloses a cooling distribution unit comprising an internal manifold with valves disposed within it (CDU embodiments include an internal distribution manifold, ¶[0052]; internal manifold components 905 comprise secondary flow control/balancing valves 945, FIG. 9, ¶[0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate the manifold within Gao’s CDU with the valve disposed within it as taught by Novotny, in order to provide a modular unit with independently regulated flow for each cooling circuit (Novotny ¶[0052]).
Regarding claim 20, Gao discloses the system of claim 18 as set forth above, including the return manifold (rack liquid return line 225B) of the secondary loop of CDU 201 (¶[0031]). Gao does not expressly disclose that the cooling distribution unit comprises an inlet manifold and the pump is disposed within the inlet manifold. Chainer discloses a pump disposed within a manifold on the return side (manifold 201 includes pumps 208, ¶[0028]; pumps 108 on the server return lines, FIG. 1B, ¶¶[0025]–[0026]), and Novotny discloses a cooling distribution unit comprising an internal manifold (¶[0052]; internal manifold embodiment components 905, FIG. 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate the return manifold within Gao’s CDU as taught by Novotny with the pump disposed within it as taught by Chainer, in order to provide dedicated manifold-level pumping in a modular, serviceable unit (Chainer ¶[0025]; Novotny ¶[0052]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2004/0265662 – system and method for exchange using fuel cell fluids
US 2011/0308783 – fluid-powered heat exchanger apparatus for cooling electronic equipment
US 2012/0111037 – vapor-compression refrigeration apparatus with refrigerant bypass and controlled heat load
/ZHENGFU J FENG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835 August 21, 2026