DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05 March 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9 are currently pending in the application. The rejections of record from the office action dated 05 December 2025 not repeated herein have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraga et al. (EP 1260526 A1) in view of Isaka et al. (US 2017/0008986 A1).
Regarding claims 1-9, Hiraga discloses a fluorine containing polymer for coating an electric wire or cable, wherein the fluorine containing polymer comprises tetrafluoroethylene, hexafluoropropylene and perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether, having a melt flow rate at 372°C in a range of 0.1 to 100, wherein the polymer may comprise 5 to 25% by weight of hexafluoropropylene and 0 to 20% by weight of perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether, and wherein the perfluoroalkyl vinyl ether may be a perfluoropropyl vinyl ether (i.e. a fluorine -containing copolymer, comprising tetrafluoroethylene unit, hexafluoropropylene unit and perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) unit, wherein the copolymer has a content of hexafluoropropylene unit overlapping 8.5% to 9.5% or 8.6% to 9.2% by mass with respect to the whole of the monomer units, a content of perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) unit overlapping 1.2 to 1.8% or 1.2 to 1.7% by mass with respect to the whole of the monomer units, and a melt flow rate at 372°C overlapping 9.0 to 15.0 g/10min or 10.0 to 14.0 g/10min; a coated electric wire comprising a coating layer comprising the fluorine-containing copolymer; a formed article comprising the fluorine-containing copolymer, wherein the formed article is an electric wire)(abstract, [0011]-[0015], [0023] claims 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose any amounts in the disclosed ranges including those in the claimed ranges and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Hiraga discloses that the number of unstable end groups such as -COF (“carbonyl group” see instant spec at [0031]) and -CF=CF2 should be at most 20 per 106 carbon atoms of the polymer (i.e. 100 or less per 106 main-chain carbon atoms)(Hiraga [0022]). Hiraga does not identify CH2OH groups as unstable groups.
Isaka discloses a tetrafluoroethylene/hexafluoropropylene copolymer and identified -CH2OH as an unstable group (abstract, [0061]).
It is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include -CH2OH groups in the list of groups that should be at most 20 per 106 carbon atoms of the polymer of Hiraga in order to prevent the negative effects of unstable groups on the polymer, for example to prevent cells and voids in the final product (Hiraga [0005]-[0006]).
Regarding claim 5, Hiraga discloses that it is preferable to have stable groups such as -CF2H in the polymer, and -CF2H accounts for at least half of the polymer chain terminals ([0022]). While Hiraga does not specifically disclose that the copolymer has a number of -CF2H groups of 50 or more per 106 main-chain carbon atoms, given that it is preferable to have stable groups to prevent cells and voids in the final product ([0005]-[0006]), it is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a number of -CF2H groups of 50 or more per 106 main-chain carbon atoms in order to prevent cells and voids in the final product.
Regarding claim 6, Hiraga discloses that the coating may be for an electric wire (i.e. an article)(abstract).
Although Hiraga does not disclose injection molded as claimed, it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed injection molded and given that Hiraga meets the requirements of the claimed article, Hiraga clearly meets the requirements of the present claims.
Regarding claim 8, Hiraga discloses that the coating may be for an electric wire (i.e. electric wire coating)(abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Hiraga discloses that the tetrafluoroethylene unit is present at 70-95 % (i.e. overlapping 88.7 to 90.3%)([0011]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Hiraga discloses broad ranges and does not disclose the specific MFR range, hexafluoropropylene range or perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) range.
However, as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Applicant argues that the Examples of Hiraga fall outside of the claimed ranges and do not include perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether).
Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971) MPEP 2123 II.
Applicant argues that the instant invention exhibits the unexpected results of giving a beautiful injection molded article by being molded at high injection speed by an injection molding method into uniform thickness thin films, can give a formed article which is excellent in the 70°C abrasion resistance, the 125°C tensile creep resistance, the durability to repeated loads, the 92.5% high-temperature rigidity, the creep resistance, the solvent crack resistance and the ductility to tensile force applied at 115°C and the chemical solution low permeation, and points to the Declaration of Tadaharu Isaka dated 02 March 2026, which points to instant Examples 1-3.
However, it is noted that the instant claims are not commensurate in scope with the data presented in instant Examples 1-3 because the instant claims broadly recite 8.5 to 9.5% hexafluoropropylene, 1.2 to 1.8% perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) and MFR at 372°C of 9.0 to 15.0 g/10 min, while instant Examples 1-3 are directed to 8.6 to 9.2% hexafluoropropylene, 1.2 to 1.7% perfluoro(propyl vinyl ether) and MFR at 372°C of 10.0 to 14.0 g/10 min. Regarding the amount of -COF, -CF=CF2 and -CH2OH groups, it is unclear what amounts of these groups are present in instant Examples 1-3, so it is unclear whether the data presented is commensurate in scope with the claims regarding the amounts of these groups. Further, it is noted that no proper side-by-side comparison is made given that the Comparative examples differ in the number of -CF2H groups and the number of -COOH, -COF and -CH2OH groups as shown in instant Table 3/A.
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably be able to extend the probative value of the tested species to the remaining embodiments encompassed by the claim.
However, it is noted that “the arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record”, In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965) (MPEP 716.01(c)(II)). It is the examiner’s position that the arguments provided by the applicant regarding whether one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably be able to extend the probative value of the tested species to the remaining embodiments encompassed by the claim must be supported by a declaration or affidavit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES C YAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782