Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US publication no.: US 2022/0024324 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, A road construction machine comprising: a chassis (see figures 1-3 for the drive machine that includes frame 104); a driving gear (see paragraph 28 for the drive train components); one or more working aggregates for installing or removing a road surface and/or for conveying a paving material (see figures 1-3 and paragraph 23, where the working aggregates are depicted; hydraulic systems 112 ); one or more individual drives (PTO motor 214 and drive motor 200, figures 1-3) which are adapted to power the driving gear and/or the working aggregates; a primary drive system (power modules 304(1)- 304(7), figure 3)) for powering the one or more individual drives of the road construction machine; and an interface (power assembly 130, figures 1-3), wherein the interface is adapted to connect the primary drive system in a coupleable manner to the one or more individual drives to enable the one or more individual drives to be supplied with power from the primary drive system, and the primary drive system is adapted to be replaceable (see figure 3 and paragraphs 27 and 37-48, where it is explained that the power modules are interchangeable amongst many drive modules).
Regarding claim 2, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the road construction machine according to claim 1, wherein the primary drive system has a primary drive source, wherein the primary drive source is selected from the following group: a combustion engine, a fuel cell, an accumulator or an external power source located outside the road construction machine (see figure 3, where the primary power modules 304 are listed).
Regarding claim 3, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the road construction machine according to claim 1, further comprising a buffer battery (battery modules 304(1), figure 3) arranged between the primary drive system and the one or more individual drives (see paragraph 43, where the scenario is depicted where the engine powers the system directly or is utilized to charge the battery modules).
Regarding claim 4, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the road construction machine according to claim 3, wherein the buffer battery is a direct current battery or an alternating current battery (see paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 5, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the road construction machine according to claim 3, further comprising a first converter (DC/DC converter 220, paragraph 53) arranged between the primary drive system and the buffer battery.
Regarding claim 6, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the road construction machine according to claim 5, wherein the first converter comprises a first inverter, a first rectifier(DC/DC converter 220, paragraph 53) or a first transformer.
Regarding claim 7, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the road construction machine according to claim 3, further comprising one or more second converters (inverter 624, figure 5; paragraph 52) arranged between the buffer battery and the one or more individual drives.
Regarding claim 8, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the road construction machine according to claim 7, wherein each of the one or more second converters comprises a second inverter (inverter 624, figure 5; paragraph 52) or a second rectifier.
Regarding claim 9, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the road construction machine according to claim 3, further comprising a power distributor arranged (HV junction assembly 622, figure 6) between the buffer battery and the one or more individual drives.
Regarding claim 10, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the road construction machine according to claim 9, further comprising one or more second converters (inverter 624, figure 6; paragraph 52) arranged between the buffer battery and the one or more individual drives, wherein the power distributor is arranged between the one or more second converters and the buffer battery or between the one or more second converters and the one or more individual drives.
Regarding claim 11, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the road construction machine according to claim 1, wherein the primary drive system has lifting points (see paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 12, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the road construction machine according to claim 11, wherein the lifting points are attached to a combustion engine, a fuel cell, an accumulator, a fuel tank, a pressure tank, a hydrogen tank, or any combination thereof (see figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 13, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the road construction machine according to claim 1, wherein the road construction machine comprises several different primary drive systems (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 14, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the road construction machine according to claim 1, wherein the interface comprises a releasable mechanical connection, a first releasable electrical connection and/or a second releasable electrical connection (see paragraphs 27 and 47).
Regarding claim 15, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the road construction machine according to claim 1, further comprising a control system (master controller 206, figures 2-3) , wherein the control system is adapted to recognize type of the primary drive system (paragraph 48).
Regarding claim 16, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the road construction machine according to claim 15, wherein drive-specific information is displayable to a user depending on the primary drive system (see paragraph 36).
Regarding claim 17, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the road construction machine according to claim 15, wherein the control system is adapted to control the road construction machine depending on the primary drive system (see paragraphs 33-34).
Regarding claim 18, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the road construction machine according to claim 17, wherein the control system is adapted to control the one or more individual drives of the road construction machine (see paragraphs 33-34).
Regarding claim 20, Sopko, Jr et al. teach, the method according to claim 19, further comprising: disconnecting the first primary drive system from the interface; removing the first primary drive system from the road construction machine; inserting a second primary drive system into the road construction machine; and connecting the second primary drive system to the interface (see paragraphs 27 and 47 and figure 3).
Conclusion
/ZOHEB S IMTIAZ/Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2837