DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A1-B1, claims 1-4, 6, 11, 12, 19, 20 in the reply filed on 7/13/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 7-10, 13-18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/13/26. Note that this is different from the claims identified by Applicant. Claim 5 is withdrawn since the fixing member is part of the 4th embodiment (see Specification Paragraph 104), claim 10 is withdrawn since the protrusion with sliding surface/ball bearing is part of the 5th embodiment (Paragraphs 108-109), and claims 13-15 are withdrawn since these pertain to the 13th and 14th embodiments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6: Unclear to recite a second movement restriction portion without reciting a first.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 12, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Holt (US 2022/0265159).
Regarding claims 1, 12, 19, 20, Holt disclose the same invention as claimed (Figures 6C-D shown above for example), including a heart sound acquisition device (Paragraph 14) comprising: a main body (Figure 6C: 1, 24); a movable member including a first sensor configured to be brought into contact with a human body to acquire a heart sound (Figure 6C: lower bell-shaped structure 2); a biasing portion configured to bias the movable member to allow the first sensor to press the human body when the heart sound is acquired (Figure 6D: spring 25); and wherein the movable member is movable with respect to the main body in a pressing direction that is a direction in which the first sensor presses the human body (Figures 6D-E, 7A-B), and the main body includes an adjustment portion configured to adjust a biasing force of the biasing portion on the movable member (Figures 6B-C: mating thread portion between parts 1 and 24).
Regarding claim 2, Holt discloses the biasing portion as recited (Figures 6D-E).
Regarding claim 3, Holt discloses an elastic body as recited (Figures 6D-E).
Regarding claim 4, Holt discloses the main body comprises a first member 24 and a second member 1 including a movement restriction portion (Figure 6D: top wall of housing 1 constrains spring) and including the adjustment portion as recited (Figures 6B-C: thread on 24 mates with portion on housing 1).
Regarding claim 6, Holt discloses the main body includes a second movement restriction portion as recited (Figure 6B-C: bottom of screw 24 constrains movement of lower bell-shaped moveable member).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holt (US 2022/0265159) in view of Hulings (US 2022/0249024).
Regarding claim 11, Holt does not disclose a mark as recited. However, Hulings teaches a mark used for relatively positioning a main body and movable member of a sensor in the pressing direction, the mark being attached on at least one of the main body or movable member (Paragraphs 188-189; Figure 13D), in order to provide a visual gauge that indicates exerted pressure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holt as taught by Hulings to include a mark as recited, in order to provide a visual gauge that indicates exerted pressure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hon (US 5,025,792; US 5,070,888) shows sensors with adjustable springs for contact pressure.
Mills (US 4,608,987) shows springs or foam as biasing elements for a sensor.
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796