DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9, 10 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 17 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,136,936 B2. This is an obvious type double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12,136,936 B2 discloses in claims 1 and 4, a mobile tactical device for enabling radio communications between talk groups, the mobile tactical device comprising:
a radio connection interface configured to receive communications from a mobile radio in a plurality of mobile frequencies;
at least one frequency converter configured to convert the plurality of mobile frequencies selected at the mobile radio into a plurality of transmission frequencies; and
a controller storing an assigned mobile frequency and an assigned transmission frequency for each of multiple talk groups,
the controller configured to set the at least one frequency converter to convert communications from the mobile radio to the assigned transmission frequency for a specific talk group of the multiple talk groups upon determining that the assigned mobile frequency for the specific talk group has been selected at the mobile radio.
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12,136,936 B2 does not disclose in claims 1 and 4 where the frequency is selected.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that push-to-talk devices are capable of recognizing assigned frequencies for communication.
Claim 9 corresponds to claim 2 in U.S. Patent No. 12,136,936 B2.
Regarding claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 12,136,936 B2 discloses in claims 17 and 18, a method of enabling radio communications between talk groups, the method comprising:
storing a plurality of assigned mobile frequencies and corresponding transmission frequencies for each of multiple talk groups, the multiple talk groups including at least a first talk group assigned a first mobile frequency and a first transmission frequency and a second talk group assigned a second mobile frequency and a second transmission frequency;
determining that a first momentary transmission received from a mobile radio has the first mobile frequency assigned to the first talk group;
configuring at least one frequency converter to convert subsequent communications from the mobile radio from the first mobile frequency to the first transmission frequency for transmission to the first talk group;
determining that a second momentary transmission received from the mobile radio has the second mobile frequency assigned to the second talk group; and
reconfiguring the at least one frequency converter to convert the subsequent communications from the mobile radio from the second mobile frequency to the second transmission frequency for transmission to the second talk group.
Regarding claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 12,136,936 B2 does not disclose in claims 17 and 18 determining when the momentary transmissions are received and reconfiguring the frequency converter to transmit in a second frequency.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that push-to-talk devices are capable of detect when the PTT buttons are pressed for communications as well as converters being capable of converting signals to at least a second transmission frequency.
Regarding claim 16, U.S. Patent No. 12,136,936 B2 discloses in claims 17 and 18, a method of enabling radio communications between talk groups, the method comprising:
storing a plurality of assigned mobile frequencies and corresponding transmission frequencies for each of multiple talk groups, the multiple talk groups including at least a first talk group assigned a first mobile frequency and a first transmission frequency and a second talk group assigned a second mobile frequency and a second transmission frequency;
determining that a first momentary transmission received from a mobile radio has the first mobile frequency assigned to the first talk group;
configuring at least one frequency converter to convert subsequent communications received from users of the first talk group from the first transmission frequency to the first mobile frequency for transmission to the mobile radio;
determining that a second momentary transmission received from the mobile radio has the second mobile frequency assigned to the second talk group; and
reconfiguring the at least one frequency converter to convert subsequent communications received from users of the second talk group from the second transmission frequency to the second mobile frequency for transmission to the mobile radio.
Regarding claim 16, U.S. Patent No. 12,136,936 B2 does not disclose in claims 17 and 18 determining when the momentary transmissions are received and reconfiguring the frequency converter to transmit in a second frequency.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that push-to-talk devices are capable of detect when the PTT buttons are pressed for communications as well as converters being capable of converting signals to at least a second transmission frequency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-10 and 12-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090180421 A1 (Hall et al., hereinafter Hall) in view of US 20050148361 A1 (Kazutoshi Higuchi, hereinafter Higuchi) and further in view of US 6411806 B1 (Garner et al., hereinafter Garner).
Regarding claim 1, Hall discloses a mobile tactical device (Fig. 1, “multiband mobile SATCOM terminal (MMST) 110”) for enabling radio communications between [talk groups] (par. [0019], “The multiband mobile SATCOM terminal (MMST) is a small form factor, multi-band, multi-function, modular, vehicular-based tactical satellite communications terminal. … line-of-site (LOS) UHF/VHF and over-the-horizon wideband… operating in any satellite frequency band including Ku, Ka, X, and C bands. … line-of-site to over-the-horizon communications on the quick halt (COTH) and communications on-the-move (COTM). …modern reliable networks to extend communications beyond the physical limitation of customary land mobile radio RF propagation characteristics.” Par. [0027], “Satellites 102 connect remote mobile units 104 with other satellite stations 106 located well beyond LOS communications. The MMST 110, installed within the remote mobile unit 104, enables seamless cross-banding satellite communication capability and provides a tactical satellite communication system 100 with a high data rate for mobile applications”), the mobile tactical device comprising:
a radio connection interface configured to receive communications from a mobile radio in a plurality of mobile frequencies (pars. [0040], “MMST 110 includes tactical radio system 420 that supports communications to a network of mobile end users 108”; [0041], “Radio over IP module 118 that converts the standard analog audio push-to-talk interface…”);
at least one frequency converter configured to convert the plurality of mobile frequencies selected at the mobile radio into a plurality of transmission frequencies (par. [0021], “converting… Ka, Ku, X or C RF and providing L-band”); and the controller configured to set the at least one frequency converter to convert communications from the mobile radio to the assigned transmission frequency for a specific [talk group] of the multiple talk groups upon determining that the assigned mobile frequency for the specific [talk group] has been selected at the mobile radio (par. [0021], “converting… Ka, Ku, X or C RF and providing L-band”).
Hall does not specifically disclose a controller storing an assigned mobile frequency and an assigned transmission frequency for each of multiple talk groups,
In related art concerning multi-band radio terminal apparatus, Higuchi discloses a controller storing an assigned mobile frequency and an assigned transmission frequency for each of multiple [talk groups] (par. [0027], “It should be understood in this embodiment that as to the respective intermediate frequencies for the reception system and the transmission system, the RX (reception side) intermediate frequency is commonly set to 210.38 MHz in both the communication frequency bands, whereas the TX (transmission side) intermediate frequencies are set to 255.38 MHz (first communication frequency band) and 290.38 MHz (second communication frequency band).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Higuchi’s teachings about a controller storing an assigned mobile frequency and an assigned transmission frequency for each of multiple talk groups control the first frequency converter and the second frequency converter based on the at least one assigned mobile frequency and corresponding assigned transmission frequency with the multiband mobile SATCOM terminal disclosed by Hall because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that transmitters, receivers are configured with specific hardware and software to perform specific functions, where a controller/processor controls/executes software that is stored in at least a memory to perform such functions. Where storing assigned frequencies and transmit frequencies are parameters that can be stored for execution by the processor/controller.
Hall and Higuchi do not specifically disclose where the enabled communications are radio communications between talk groups.
In related art concerning virtual network configuration and management system for satellite communication system, Garner discloses where the enabled communications are radio communications between talk groups (Fig. 20 and col. 1, lines 50-65; col. 2, lines 40-56; col. 7, lines 12-29; claim 1, “trunked systems, generally in the 800-900 MHz band, provide groups of end users with virtual network systems by assigning frequencies on a demand basis…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Garner’s teachings where the enabled communications are radio communications between talk groups with the multiband mobile SATCOM terminal disclosed by Hall and Higuchi because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that interoperability among groups that might use legacy UHF/VHF radios via frequency conversion, enables secure, global PTT communications without extra infrastructure. Where the groups can be military tactical PTT groups, emergency groups and disaster recovery groups, among others.
Regarding claim 10, Hall discloses a method of enabling radio communications between [talk groups] (Fig. 1, “multiband mobile SATCOM terminal (MMST) 110”; par. [0019], “The multiband mobile SATCOM terminal (MMST) is a small form factor, multi-band, multi-function, modular, vehicular-based tactical satellite communications terminal. … line-of-site (LOS) UHF/VHF and over-the-horizon wideband… operating in any satellite frequency band including Ku, Ka, X, and C bands. … line-of-site to over-the-horizon communications on the quick halt (COTH) and communications on-the-move (COTM). …modern reliable networks to extend communications beyond the physical limitation of customary land mobile radio RF propagation characteristics.” Par. [0027], “Satellites 102 connect remote mobile units 104 with other satellite stations 106 located well beyond LOS communications. The MMST 110, installed within the remote mobile unit 104, enables seamless cross-banding satellite communication capability and provides a tactical satellite communication system 100 with a high data rate for mobile applications”), the method comprising:
determining that a first momentary transmission received from a mobile radio has the first mobile frequency assigned to the first [talk group] (pars. [0040], “MMST 110 includes tactical radio system 420 that supports communications to a network of mobile end users 108”; [0041], “Radio over IP module 118 that converts the standard analog audio push-to-talk interface…”);
configuring at least one frequency converter to convert subsequent communications from the mobile radio from the first mobile frequency to the first transmission frequency for transmission to the first [talk group] (par. [0021], “converting… Ka, Ku, X or C RF and providing L-band”); and the controller configured to set the at least one frequency converter to convert communications from the mobile radio to the assigned transmission frequency for a specific [talk group] of the multiple talk groups upon determining that the assigned mobile frequency for the specific [talk group] has been selected at the mobile radio (par. [0021], “converting… Ka, Ku, X or C RF and providing L-band”).
Hall does not specifically disclose storing a plurality of assigned mobile frequencies and corresponding transmission frequencies for each of multiple [talk groups]; the multiple talk groups including at least a first talk group assigned a first mobile frequency and a first transmission frequency and a second talk group assigned a second mobile frequency and a second transmission frequency; determining that a second momentary transmission received from the mobile radio has the second mobile frequency assigned to the second talk group; and reconfiguring the at least one frequency converter to convert the subsequent communications from the mobile radio from the second mobile frequency to the second transmission frequency for transmission to the second talk group.
Higuchi discloses storing a plurality of assigned mobile frequencies and corresponding transmission frequencies for each of multiple [talk groups] (par. [0027], “It should be understood in this embodiment that as to the respective intermediate frequencies for the reception system and the transmission system, the RX (reception side) intermediate frequency is commonly set to 210.38 MHz in both the communication frequency bands, whereas the TX (transmission side) intermediate frequencies are set to 255.38 MHz (first communication frequency band) and 290.38 MHz (second communication frequency band).”); the multiple talk groups including at least a first talk group assigned a first mobile frequency and a first transmission frequency and a second talk group assigned a second mobile frequency and a second transmission frequency (par. [0027], “It should be understood in this embodiment that as to the respective intermediate frequencies for the reception system and the transmission system, the RX (reception side) intermediate frequency is commonly set to 210.38 MHz in both the communication frequency bands, whereas the TX (transmission side) intermediate frequencies are set to 255.38 MHz (first communication frequency band) and 290.38 MHz (second communication frequency band).”); determining that a second momentary transmission received from the mobile radio has the second mobile frequency assigned to the second talk group (par. [0023], “In a signal reception system, a radio (wireless) communication signal transmitted from a base station (not shown) is received by a second frequency band antenna 101, and then a signal within a reception frequency (all channels) band is derived from a second frequency band duplexer 102. The reception frequency band of the reception signal within the second frequency band, derived from the second frequency band duplexer 102, is selected from 1930 MHz to 1990 MHz”); and reconfiguring the at least one frequency converter to convert the subsequent communications from the mobile radio from the second mobile frequency to the second transmission frequency for transmission to the second talk group (par. [0027], “The second frequency converting system 4-phase-modulates/demodulates both an intermediate frequency signal and a base-band signal. A local oscillator used in the respective frequency converting operations is arranged by a voltage-controlled oscillator and a PLL (phase-locked loop)”; par. [0039], “On the transmission side (TX), the frequency of the transmission intermediate signal when the radio terminal apparatus is operated in the first communication frequency band is different from that when the radio terminal apparatus is operated in the second communication frequency band. As a result, since a second TX local oscillator is arranged by the second voltage-controlled oscillator 35 and the second phase-locked loop 36, when the radio terminal apparatus is operated in the first communication frequency band, such a local oscillator signal having a frequency of 255.38 MHz is produced, whereas when the radio terminal apparatus is operated in the second communication band, such a local oscillator signal having a frequency of 290.38 MHz is produced. These local oscillator signals are supplied to the second TX frequency mixer 41.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Higuchi’s teachings about storing a plurality of assigned mobile frequencies and corresponding transmission frequencies for each of multiple [talk groups]; determining that a second momentary transmission received from the mobile radio has the second mobile frequency assigned to the second talk group and reconfiguring the at least one frequency converter to convert the subsequent communications from the mobile radio from the second mobile frequency to the second transmission frequency for transmission to the second talk group with the multiband mobile SATCOM terminal disclosed by Hall because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that transmitters, receivers are configured with specific hardware and software to perform specific functions, where a controller/processor controls/executes software that is stored in at least a memory to perform such functions. Where storing assigned frequencies and transmit frequencies are parameters that can be stored for execution by the processor/controller; and by using the frequency converter disclosed by Higuchi, the signals are converted and transmitted at the supported frequencies of the receiving end (Higuchi, pars. [0020], [0027]).
Hall and Higuchi do not specifically disclose where the enabled communications are radio communications between talk groups.
In related art concerning virtual network configuration and management system for satellite communication system, Garner discloses where the enabled communications are radio communications between talk groups (Fig. 20 and col. 1, lines 50-65; col. 2, lines 40-56; col. 7, lines 12-29; claim 1, “trunked systems, generally in the 800-900 MHz band, provide groups of end users with virtual network systems by assigning frequencies on a demand basis…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Garner’s teachings where the enabled communications are radio communications between talk groups with the multiband mobile SATCOM terminal disclosed by Hall and Higuchi because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that interoperability among groups that might use legacy UHF/VHF radios via frequency conversion, enables secure, global PTT communications without extra infrastructure. Where the groups can be military tactical PTT groups, emergency groups and disaster recovery groups, among others.
Regarding claim 16, Hall discloses a method of enabling radio communications between [talk groups] (Fig. 1, “multiband mobile SATCOM terminal (MMST) 110”; par. [0019], “The multiband mobile SATCOM terminal (MMST) is a small form factor, multi-band, multi-function, modular, vehicular-based tactical satellite communications terminal. … line-of-site (LOS) UHF/VHF and over-the-horizon wideband… operating in any satellite frequency band including Ku, Ka, X, and C bands. … line-of-site to over-the-horizon communications on the quick halt (COTH) and communications on-the-move (COTM). …modern reliable networks to extend communications beyond the physical limitation of customary land mobile radio RF propagation characteristics.” Par. [0027], “Satellites 102 connect remote mobile units 104 with other satellite stations 106 located well beyond LOS communications. The MMST 110, installed within the remote mobile unit 104, enables seamless cross-banding satellite communication capability and provides a tactical satellite communication system 100 with a high data rate for mobile applications”), the method comprising:
determining that a first momentary transmission received from a mobile radio has the first mobile frequency assigned to the first [talk group] (pars. [0040], “MMST 110 includes tactical radio system 420 that supports communications to a network of mobile end users 108”; [0041], “Radio over IP module 118 that converts the standard analog audio push-to-talk interface…”);
configuring at least one frequency converter to convert subsequent communications received from users of the first talk group from the first transmission frequency to the first mobile frequency for transmission to the mobile radio (par. [0021], “converting… Ka, Ku, X or C RF and providing L-band”); and the controller configured to set the at least one frequency converter to convert communications from the mobile radio to the assigned transmission frequency for a specific [talk group] of the multiple talk groups upon determining that the assigned mobile frequency for the specific [talk group] has been selected at the mobile radio (par. [0021], “converting… Ka, Ku, X or C RF and providing L-band”).
Hall does not specifically disclose storing a plurality of assigned mobile frequencies and corresponding transmission frequencies for each of multiple [talk groups]; the multiple talk groups including at least a first talk group assigned a first mobile frequency and a first transmission frequency and a second talk group assigned a second mobile frequency and a second transmission frequency; determining that a second momentary transmission received from the mobile radio has the second mobile frequency assigned to the second talk group; and reconfiguring the at least one frequency converter to convert subsequent communications received from users of the second talk group from the second transmission frequency to the second mobile frequency for transmission to the mobile radio.
Higuchi discloses storing a plurality of assigned mobile frequencies and corresponding transmission frequencies for each of multiple [talk groups] (par. [0027], “It should be understood in this embodiment that as to the respective intermediate frequencies for the reception system and the transmission system, the RX (reception side) intermediate frequency is commonly set to 210.38 MHz in both the communication frequency bands, whereas the TX (transmission side) intermediate frequencies are set to 255.38 MHz (first communication frequency band) and 290.38 MHz (second communication frequency band).”); the multiple talk groups including at least a first talk group assigned a first mobile frequency and a first transmission frequency and a second talk group assigned a second mobile frequency and a second transmission frequency (par. [0027], “It should be understood in this embodiment that as to the respective intermediate frequencies for the reception system and the transmission system, the RX (reception side) intermediate frequency is commonly set to 210.38 MHz in both the communication frequency bands, whereas the TX (transmission side) intermediate frequencies are set to 255.38 MHz (first communication frequency band) and 290.38 MHz (second communication frequency band).”); determining that a second momentary transmission received from the mobile radio has the second mobile frequency assigned to the second talk group (par. [0023], “In a signal reception system, a radio (wireless) communication signal transmitted from a base station (not shown) is received by a second frequency band antenna 101, and then a signal within a reception frequency (all channels) band is derived from a second frequency band duplexer 102. The reception frequency band of the reception signal within the second frequency band, derived from the second frequency band duplexer 102, is selected from 1930 MHz to 1990 MHz”); and reconfiguring the at least one frequency converter to convert subsequent communications received from users of the second talk group from the second transmission frequency to the second mobile frequency for transmission to the mobile radio (par. [0027], “The second frequency converting system 4-phase-modulates/demodulates both an intermediate frequency signal and a base-band signal. A local oscillator used in the respective frequency converting operations is arranged by a voltage-controlled oscillator and a PLL (phase-locked loop)”; par. [0039], “On the transmission side (TX), the frequency of the transmission intermediate signal when the radio terminal apparatus is operated in the first communication frequency band is different from that when the radio terminal apparatus is operated in the second communication frequency band. As a result, since a second TX local oscillator is arranged by the second voltage-controlled oscillator 35 and the second phase-locked loop 36, when the radio terminal apparatus is operated in the first communication frequency band, such a local oscillator signal having a frequency of 255.38 MHz is produced, whereas when the radio terminal apparatus is operated in the second communication band, such a local oscillator signal having a frequency of 290.38 MHz is produced. These local oscillator signals are supplied to the second TX frequency mixer 41.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Higuchi’s teachings about storing a plurality of assigned mobile frequencies and corresponding transmission frequencies for each of multiple [talk groups]; determining that a second momentary transmission received from the mobile radio has the second mobile frequency assigned to the second talk group and reconfiguring the at least one frequency converter to convert subsequent communications received from users of the second talk group from the second transmission frequency to the second mobile frequency for transmission to the mobile radio with the multiband mobile SATCOM terminal disclosed by Hall because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that transmitters, receivers are configured with specific hardware and software to perform specific functions, where a controller/processor controls/executes software that is stored in at least a memory to perform such functions. Where storing assigned frequencies and transmit frequencies are parameters that can be stored for execution by the processor/controller; and by using the frequency converter disclosed by Higuchi, the signals are converted and transmitted at the supported frequencies of the receiving end (Higuchi, pars. [0020], [0027]).
Hall and Higuchi do not specifically disclose where the enabled communications are radio communications between talk groups.
In related art concerning virtual network configuration and management system for satellite communication system, Garner discloses where the enabled communications are radio communications between talk groups (Fig. 20 and col. 1, lines 50-65; col. 2, lines 40-56; col. 7, lines 12-29; claim 1, “trunked systems, generally in the 800-900 MHz band, provide groups of end users with virtual network systems by assigning frequencies on a demand basis…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Garner’s teachings where the enabled communications are radio communications between talk groups with the multiband mobile SATCOM terminal disclosed by Hall and Higuchi because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that interoperability among groups that might use legacy UHF/VHF radios via frequency conversion, enables secure, global PTT communications without extra infrastructure. Where the groups can be military tactical PTT groups, emergency groups and disaster recovery groups, among others.
Regarding claim 2, Hall, Higuchi and Garner disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Hall discloses wherein the controller is further configured to set the at least one frequency converter to convert communications to the mobile radio from the assigned transmission frequency to the assigned mobile frequency for the specific [talk group] of the multiple talk groups upon determining that the assigned mobile frequency for the ]specific talk group] has been selected at the mobile radio (par. [0021], “converting… Ka, Ku, X or C RF and providing L-band”) and Garner discloses the talk groups (Fig. 20 and col. 1, lines 50-65; col. 2, lines 40-56; col. 7, lines 12-29; claim 1, “trunked systems, generally in the 800-900 MHz band, provide groups of end users with virtual network systems by assigning frequencies on a demand basis…”).
Regarding claim 3, Hall, Higuchi and Garner disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Hall discloses wherein the radio connection interface includes a port configured for connection to different types of mobile radios (Fig. 1, “Internet Protocol RoIP system 118”; at least par. [0059], “flexible architecture that allows many different modes of terrestrial and satellite framing, digital voice processing, and differing modulation/demodulation formats. The coaxial transmit 628 and coaxial receive connection 626”).
Regarding claim 4, Hall, Higuchi and Garner disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Hall further discloses comprising an antenna connection interface including a port configured for connection to different types of antennas for transmitting outgoing communications from the mobile radio and receiving incoming communications to the mobile radio (Fig. 1, “Internet Protocol RoIP system 118”; at least par. [0059], “flexible architecture that allows many different modes of terrestrial and satellite framing, digital voice processing, and differing modulation/demodulation formats. The coaxial transmit 628 and coaxial receive connection 626”).
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 18, Hall, Higuchi and Garner disclose all the limitations of claims 1, 10 and 16, respectively. Hall discloses wherein the controller is configured to set the at least one frequency converter to convert communications from the mobile radio to the assigned transmission frequency for a first [talk group] of the multiple talk groups (par. [0021], “converting… Ka, Ku, X or C RF and providing L-band”); and the controller configured to set the at least one frequency converter to convert communications from the mobile radio to the assigned transmission frequency for a specific [talk group] of the multiple talk groups upon determining that the assigned mobile frequency for the specific [talk group] has been selected at the mobile radio (par. [0021], “converting… Ka, Ku, X or C RF and providing L-band”) upon determining that the assigned mobile frequency for the first talk group has been selected at the mobile radio based on a first momentary transmission from the mobile radio (pars. [0021], [0088], “the key pressed, determines the current state”).
and the controller is configured to set the at least one frequency converter to convert communications from the mobile radio to the assigned transmission frequency for the first talk group until receiving a second momentary transmission from the mobile radio in the assigned mobile frequency for a second talk group of the multiple [talk groups] (par. [0021], “converting… Ka, Ku, X or C RF and providing L-band”); and the controller configured to set the at least one frequency converter to convert communications from the mobile radio to the assigned transmission frequency for a specific [talk group] of the multiple talk groups upon determining that the assigned mobile frequency for the specific [talk group] has been selected at the mobile radio (par. [0021], “converting… Ka, Ku, X or C RF and providing L-band”; since PTT is a half-duplex system, only one transmission can be transmitted at a time, where a second transmission can be placed to a second user that might be in a second group as in the system disclosed by Garner).
Regarding claims 8, 13 and 19, Hall, Higuchi and Garner disclose all the limitations of claims 1, 10 and 16, respectively.
Hall does not specifically disclose comprising a frequency filter configured to pass transmissions received from the mobile radio in the assigned mobile frequencies of the stored [talk groups] and reject transmissions received from the mobile radio that are not in the assigned mobile frequencies of the stored [talk groups].
Higuchi discloses a frequency filter configured to pass transmissions received from the mobile radio in the assigned mobile frequencies of the stored talk groups and reject transmissions received from the mobile radio that are not in the assigned mobile frequencies of the stored talk groups (par. [0020], “The bandwidth of this TX intermediate frequency signal is limited to 1.25 MHz by a TX IF band-pass filter 38. The band-limited TX IF signal is amplified by a TX variable amplifier 37 provided at a post stage to a necessary signal level thereof”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Higuchi's teachings about a frequency filter configured to pass transmissions received from the mobile radio in the assigned mobile frequencies of the stored talk groups and reject transmissions received from the mobile radio that are not in the assigned mobile frequencies of the stored talk groups with the multiband mobile SATCOM terminal disclosed by Hall and Garner because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by using filters desired frequencies are passed while rejecting undesired frequencies.
Regarding claims 9, 14 and 20, Hall, Higuchi and Garner disclose all the limitations claims 1, 10 and 16, respectively. Hall further discloses wherein the mobile frequency is in a VHF or UHF frequency range (par. [0038], “the MMST 110 consists of a lower unit 430, an integrated tactical multiband UHF/VHF radio 420”) and the assigned transmission frequency is in an L-band or S-band frequency range (“SATCOM unit 410” uses L-band (1-2 GHz) and S-band (2-4 GHz) frequencies).
Regarding claim 15, Hall, Higuchi and Garner disclose all the limitations claims 10.
Hall and Higuchi do not specifically disclose comprising upon determining that the first momentary transmission received from the mobile radio has the first mobile frequency assigned to the first talk group, configuring the at least one frequency converter to convert subsequent communications received from users of the first talk group from the first transmission frequency to the first mobile frequency for transmission to the mobile radio, and upon determining that the second momentary transmission received from the mobile radio has the second mobile frequency assigned to the second talk group, reconfiguring the at least one frequency converter to convert subsequent communications received from users of the second talk group from the second transmission frequency to the second mobile frequency for transmission to the mobile radio.
Garner disclose comprising upon determining that the first momentary transmission received from the mobile radio has the first mobile frequency assigned to the first talk group, configuring the at least one frequency converter to convert subsequent communications received from users of the first talk group from the first transmission frequency to the first mobile frequency for transmission to the mobile radio, and upon determining that the second momentary transmission received from the mobile radio has the second mobile frequency assigned to the second talk group, reconfiguring the at least one frequency converter to convert subsequent communications received from users of the second talk group from the second transmission frequency to the second mobile frequency for transmission to the mobile radio (Fig. 20 and col. 1, lines 50-65; col. 2, lines 40-56; col. 7, lines 12-29; claim 1, “trunked systems, generally in the 800-900 MHz band, provide groups of end users with virtual network systems by assigning frequencies on a demand basis…”, where the frequency is changed/reconfigured based on the requested frequency when users press the PTT button).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Garner’s teachings where the enabled communications are radio communications between talk groups with the multiband mobile SATCOM terminal disclosed by Hall and Higuchi because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that interoperability among groups that might use legacy UHF/VHF radios via frequency conversion, enables secure, global PTT communications without extra infrastructure. Where the groups can be military tactical PTT groups, emergency groups and disaster recovery groups, among others.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall in view of Higuchi and Garner, and further in view of US 20190297361 A1 (Hiraoka et al., hereinafter Hiraoka).
Regarding claim 5, Hall, Higuchi and Garner disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Hall, Higuchi and Garner do not specifically disclose wherein a control connection interface enabling connection to a user interface to allow a user to locally configure one or more of the multiple talk groups, the controller enabling configuration of the multiple talk groups both locally via the control connection interface and remotely via a network operation center.
In related art concerning signal processing apparatus and communication system, Hiraoka discloses wherein a control connection interface enabling connection to a user interface to allow a user to locally configure one or more of the multiple talk groups, the controller enabling configuration of the multiple talk groups both locally via the control connection interface and remotely via a network operation center (pars. [0043] and [0069], local and remote control of group configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Hiraoka's teachings about a control connection interface enabling connection to a user interface to allow a user to locally configure one or more of the multiple talk groups, the controller enabling configuration of the multiple talk groups both locally via the control connection interface and remotely via a network operation center with the multiband mobile SATCOM terminal disclosed by Hall, Higuchi and Garner because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that having local and remote control configuration of the groups provides flexibility to the system.
Claims 7, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall in view of Higuchi and Garner, and further in view of US 20130023201 A1 (Coleman et al., hereinafter Coleman).
Regarding claims 7, 11 and 17, Hall, Higuchi and Garner disclose all the limitations claims 1, 10 and 16, respectively.
Hall, Higuchi and Garner do not specifically disclose wherein upon receipt of a momentary transmission via the radio connection interface, the controller is configured to cause the at least one frequency converter to cycle through a plurality of frequency conversions corresponding to the assigned mobile frequencies for the multiple talk groups until determining that the momentary transmission corresponds to the assigned mobile frequency for the specific talk group, and upon determining that the momentary transmission corresponds to the assigned transmission frequency for the specific talk group, the controller is configured set the at least one frequency converter to convert communications from the mobile radio to the assigned transmission frequency for the specific talk group and to convert communications to the mobile radio from the assigned transmission frequency to the assigned mobile frequency for the specific talk group.
In related art concerning systems and methods for radio frequency hopping communications, Coleman discloses wherein upon receipt of a momentary transmission via the radio connection interface, the controller is configured to cause the at least one frequency converter to cycle through a plurality of frequency conversions corresponding to the assigned mobile frequencies for the multiple talk groups until determining that the momentary transmission corresponds to the assigned mobile frequency for the specific talk group, and upon determining that the momentary transmission corresponds to the assigned transmission frequency for the specific talk group, the controller is configured set the at least one frequency converter to convert communications from the mobile radio to the assigned transmission frequency for the specific talk group and to convert communications to the mobile radio from the assigned transmission frequency to the assigned mobile frequency for the specific talk group (pars. [0024]-[0027], “rapidly cycling between different RF bands”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use’s teachings where cycling through a plurality of frequencies with the multiband mobile SATCOM terminal disclosed by Hall, Higuchi and Garner because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by cycling though the frequencies improves reliability, security, and coexistence in crowded environments that use multiple frequencies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20170026205 A1 relates to interference-excising diversity receiver adaptation.
US 20120286893 A1 relates to filter array for narrowband and wideband waveform operation in a communications radio (par. [0057], frequency cycling).
US 20130300573 A1 relates to patient monitoring and surveillance system.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Yuwen (Kevin) Pan can be reached at (571) 272-7855. The fax phone numbers for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned are 571-273-8300 for regular communications and for After Final communications.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2600's customer service number is 703-306-0377.
/Angelica M. Perez/
Patent Examiner AU 2649