1FIRST NON-FINAL REJECTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: first device and second device in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to directed to an abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application and does not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Utilizing the two step process adopted by the Supreme Court (Alice Corp vs CLS Bank Int'l US Supreme Court, 110 USPQ2d 1976 (2014) and the recent 101 guideline, Federal Register Vol. 84, No., Jan 2019), determination of the subject matter eligibility under the 35 USC 101 is as follows: Specifically, the Step 1 requires claim belongs to one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). If Step 1 is satisfied, then in the first part of Step 2A (Prong one), identification of any judicial recognized exceptions in the claim is made. If any limitation in the claim is identified as judicial recognized exception, then proceeding to the second part of Step 2A (Prong two), determination is made whether the identified judicial exception is being integrated into practical application. If the identified judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, then in Step 2B, the claim is further evaluated to see if the additional elements, individually and in combination, provide "inventive concept" that would amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. If the element and combination of elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial recognized exception itself, then the claim is ineligible under the 35 USC 101.
Looking at the claims, the claims satisfy the first part of the test 1A, namely the claims are directed to two of the four statutory classes, apparatus and method. In Step 2A Prong one, we next identify any judicial exceptions in the claims. Claims 1 and 11 recite a first device configured to measure a first depth of the tire tread and a second depth of the tire tread, wherein the first depth of the tire tread and the second depth of the tire tread are associated with a first customer; a processing unit configured to receive the first depth of the tire tread and the second depth of the tire tread, wherein the processing unit comprises an algorithm, wherein the algorithm determines a wear rate based on at least the first depth of the tire tread, the second depth of the tire tread, and a plurality of factors associated with the first customer, and wherein the processing unit is configured, based on the wear rate, to forecast when the depth of the tire tread will decrease below a predetermined threshold; and a second device associated with the first customer, wherein the second device is configured to receive a message from the processing unit communicating an estimate of when the depth of the tire tread is forecasted to fall below the predetermined threshold. As well as measuring a first depth of the tire tread; measuring a second depth of the tire tread; associating the first depth of the tire tread and the second depth of the tire tread with a first customer; communicating the first depth of the tire tread and the second depth of the tire tread to a processing unit, wherein the processing unit includes an algorithm to determine a wear rate, and wherein the algorithm determines the wear rate based on at least the first depth of the tire tread, the second depth of the tire tread, and a plurality of factors associated with the first customer; forecasting, based on the wear rate, when the depth of the tire tread will decrease below a predetermined threshold; and communicating to the first customer an estimate of when the depth of the tire tread is forecasted to fall below the predetermined threshold. These limitations describe functions and steps that can be performed mentally or in a computer and are similar to the kind of ‘organizing human activity’ at issue in Alice Corp. Although the claims are not drawn to the same subject matter, the abstract ideas a processing unit configured to receive and forecast, and comprising an algorithm that determines wear rate, as well as the steps of associating the first and second depth, communicating the first and second depths, and forecasting and communicating an estimate are similar to the abstract ideas of managing risk (hedging) during consumer transactions (Bilski) and mitigating settlement risk in financial transactions (Alice Corp.) The method steps described and functions are therefore directed to an abstract idea.
With the identification of abstract ideas, we proceed to Step 2A, Prong two, where the additional elements are taken as a whole, and we evaluate whether the identified abstract idea is being integrated into a practical application.
In Step 2A, Prong two, the claims recite “a first device configured to measure a first depth of the tire tread and a second depth of the tire tread, wherein the first depth of the tire tread and the second depth of the tire tread are associated with a first customer”, “a second device associated with the first customer, wherein the second device is configured to receive a message from the processing unit communicating an estimate of when the depth of the tire tread is forecasted to fall below the predetermined threshold”, “measuring a first depth of the tire tread; measuring a second depth of the tire tread”, and “communicating the first depth of the tire tread and the second depth of the tire tread to a processing unit” but said limitations, recited at high level of generality, merely are directed to insignificant data collection activity and a general purpose computer. These limitations do not improve the functioning of any devices. In short, the claims do not provide sufficient evidence to show that they are more than a drafting effort to monopolize the abstract idea. As such, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. Consequently, with the identified abstract idea not being integrated into a practical application, we proceed to Step 2B and evaluate whether the additional elements provide "inventive concept" that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
In Step 2B, the claims recite “a first device configured to measure a first depth of the tire tread and a second depth of the tire tread, wherein the first depth of the tire tread and the second depth of the tire tread are associated with a first customer”, “a second device associated with the first customer, wherein the second device is configured to receive a message from the processing unit communicating an estimate of when the depth of the tire tread is forecasted to fall below the predetermined threshold”, “measuring a first depth of the tire tread; measuring a second depth of the tire tread”, and “communicating the first depth of the tire tread and the second depth of the tire tread to a processing unit” but said limitations, recited at high level of generality, merely is directed to data collection activity and a general purpose computer that is well-understood, routine and conventional (See McPillan et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0009618 and Pryce et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0008148, both disclose tire tread depth measurement with a drive over sensor or hand held device that communicate to an additional device). As such, the claims do not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims recite abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and do not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As such, taken as a whole, the claims including the dependent claims that further recite an abstract idea are ineligible under the 35 USC 101.
Further, the devices of claims 9, 10, 19, and 20 are disclosed in McPillan and Pryce, therefore the claimed devices are well-understood, routine and conventional, and the claims do not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims further recite the abstract idea without being integrated into a practical application, and do not provide additional elements that would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McPillan et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0084355.
With respect to claims 1 and 11, McPillan teaches a system for forecasting a depth of a tire tread of a vehicle (abstract), comprising: a first device configured to measure a first depth of the tire tread and a second depth of the tire tread (tread depth measurement device 140 that measures a plurality of tread depth of tires 108, paragraphs 56-62), wherein the first depth of the tire tread and the second depth of the tire tread are associated with a first customer (interpreted as the tread depth measurements being associated to the vehicle and/or a specific tire, paragraph 63); a processing unit configured to receive the first depth of the tire tread and the second depth of the tire tread (computing device 170 receives tread depth measurements, paragraphs 56-62), wherein the processing unit comprises an algorithm, wherein the algorithm determines a wear rate based on at least the first depth of the tire tread, the second depth of the tire tread, and a plurality of factors associated with the first customer (computing device 170 having a tread life estimator 182 that models an estimated tread life based on the depth measurements and other characteristics, paragraph 70), and wherein the processing unit is configured, based on the wear rate, to forecast when the depth of the tire tread will decrease below a predetermined threshold (projected tread depth is determined, paragraph 71); and a second device associated with the first customer, wherein the second device is configured to receive a message from the processing unit communicating an estimate of when the depth of the tire tread is forecasted to fall below the predetermined threshold (estimated time that is communicated to a user, paragraph 75).
With respect to claims 2 and 12, McPillan teaches wherein the processing unit includes storage, wherein the storage is configured to store the first depth of the tire tread and the second depth of the tire tread (paragraph 63).
With respect to claims 3 and 13, McPillan teaches wherein the plurality of factors associated with the first customer include a first odometer reading and a second odometer reading, wherein the first odometer reading corresponds to the first depth of the tire tread and the second odometer reading corresponds to the second depth of the tire tread (the current distance at the time of each measurement is associated with each depth measurement, paragraph 27 and 72).
With respect to claims 4, 5, 14, and 15, McPillan teaches wherein the algorithm determines a correction factor based on a sub-set of the plurality of factors associated with the first customer (thread life estimator 182 uses model to revise measurements for projected tread depth, paragraph 79).
With respect to claims 7 and 17, McPillan teaches wherein the correction factor is updated when the first device measures a third depth of the tire tread (interpreted as newly received sensor data that is input into model for revising the determined projected tread depth, paragraph 104).
With respect to claims 8 and 18, McPillan teaches wherein the sub-set of the plurality of factors associated with the first customer include at least one of a model of the vehicle and a year of the vehicle (paragraph 63).
With respect to claims 9, 10, 19 and 20, McPillan teaches wherein the first device is an automatic tread measurement device, and wherein the automatic tread measurement device is configured to measure the first depth of the tire tread and the second depth of the tire tread when the vehicle drives over the automatic tread measurement device (paragraph 22), and wherein the first device is a handheld device (paragraph 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McPillan et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0084355 in view of Lim et al. WO 2025/034535.
With respect to claims 6 and 16, McPillan teaches the claimed invention except wherein the correction factor ranges from 0.85 and 1.15.
Lim teaches a method for determining tread remaining on a tire wherein a tire model that is used that is associated with a specific type of vehicle 20 from a manufacturer and a specific tire 10 at a specific position on the vehicle 20, and in order to arrive at the correct tread 12 depth information from the method, a correction factor is applied and this correction factor may be 0.992 (paragraphs 55-57).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of McPillan with the correction factor that may be in that range as taught by Lim in order to provide a more accurate tread depth calculation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pryce U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0008148 discloses a hand held or drive over tire tread depth measurement system.
McPillan et ap U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0009618 describes a similar tread life indicator system.
Nervin et al. U.S. Patent 11338621 describes a drive over tread depth sensor and method.
Sinner et al. U.S. Patent 9418492 describes mileage of the vehicle associated with a measured tread depth.
FREDDIE KIRKLAND III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/Freddie Kirkland III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 9/18/2026