DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/20/2024 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osada et al. (CN114460789A, English translation attached) in view of Ohtomo et al. (CN203658648, English translation attached) and Osada (CN114527546A, English translation attached, hereinafter called 'Osada’546’).
Regarding claim 1, Osada teaches a lens driving apparatus (Osada, figs. 1-18, abstract, a lens driving device) comprising:
a fixed member (see fig. 9, the base component 18 has been referred to as a fixed member; paragraph [n0109] “The fixed-side metal component 5F is configured as a fixed-side pedestal portion 18D fixed to the base component 18”);
a lens holding member (see Osada, fig. 10, and annotated image, Osada, fig. 10, lens holding member 2A) having a tubular part (see Osada, fig. 10, and annotated image, Osada, fig. 10, the tubular part 12; paragraph [n0041] “the cylindrical portion 12”) capable of holding a lens body adhered thereto with an adhesive (paragraph [n0041] “The lens body can also be configured to be fixed to the inner circumferential surface of the cylindrical portion 12 using an adhesive”); and
an actuator (see fig. 11, shape memory alloy wire SA: SA1-SA8, paragraph [n0010] “a shape memory actuator”) configured to move the lens holding member (lens holding member 2A) with respect to the fixed member (abstract, a base member 18, a lens holding member 2A supported so as to be movable relative to the base member 18, a fixed side metal member 5F attached to the base member, and a shape memory alloy wire SA having one end fixedly adhered to the fixed side metal member and configured so as to move the lens holding member by contracting in response to a temperature rise),
wherein the lens holding member (2A) is formed of synthetic resin (paragraph [n0104] “The lens holding component 2A is the same as the lens holding component 2 shown in FIG2, and is formed by injection molding of a synthetic resin”) in which one or more metal adherends (see fig. 10, conductive member 20 has been referred to as metal adherends, hereinafter called metal adherends 20; see annotated image, Osada, fig. 10, and Osada, fig. 10, metal adherends 20) are embedded (see paragraph [n0099] “Figure 10 is a perspective view of lens holding member 2A, which is another example of lens holding member 2. The lens holding member 2A differs from the lens holding member 2 in that the conductive member 20 is embedded by an embedded molding”),
wherein the metal adherends each have both an embedded part embedded in the tubular part and an exposed part exposed on an inner surface of the tubular part (see annotated image, Osada, fig. 10, the metal adherends 20 each have both an embedded part 20B1, 20A1 embedded in the tubular part 12 and the exposed part exposed on the inner surface of the tubular part 12).
Osada does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the metal adherends is disposed at a position corresponding to a weld line formed when the lens holding member is molded.
However, Ohtomo teaches the analogous lens driving device (Ohtomo, abstract, lens driving device; paragraph [0027] “Figures 3A and 3B are diagrams showing the base component 1 and the metal component 2 in the first embodiment. Figure 3A is a perspective view of the base component 1 with the metal component 2 embedded therein, and Figure 3B is a perspective view of the metal component 2”), and further teaches wherein at least one of the metal adherends (fig. 3A, metal component 2) is disposed at a position corresponding to a weld line formed (Ohtomo, fig. 3, weld lines 1f; paragraph [0083],“the gate 1f where weld lines”) when the lens holding member (fig. 3, the base component 1 has been referred to as the lens holding member) is molded (paragraph [0081] “the synthetic resin component can pass under high pressure through the corners of the first side 1d, which is provided with a part of the first metal component 2c and a part of the second metal component 2b, and is located at both ends of the first side 1d, which is prone to obstructing the flow of the synthetic resin component”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Osada to have the specific weld line as taught by Ohtomo for the purpose of achieving the following effect: preventing resin breakage (Ohtomo, As described in paragraph [0083).
Although Osada does not explicitly disclose that wherein the metal adherends are configured such that the exposed part serves as a portion bonded and fixed to the lens body.
However, Osada’546’ teaches the analogous lens driving (Osada’546’, abstract, a lens driving device), and further teaches wherein the metal adherends (Osada’546’, figs. 19-23, MA+5F has been referred to as the metal adherends; described in paragraph [n0085] “The metal component assembly MA is a unit used when mounting the metal component 5 to the lens holding component 2 and the base component 18”) are configured such that the exposed part serves as a portion bonded (see Osada’546’, paragraph [n0250] “This is because the two fixed-side metal components 5F, the fifth fixed-side terminal block 5F5 and the sixth fixed-side terminal block 5F6, are bonded and fixed by applying a single layer of light-curing adhesive EA, the first light-curing adhesive EA1”) and fixed to the lens body (a lens body; see paragraph [n0251]-[n0260] “a lens body”; see figs. 19-23, described in paragraph [n0250]-[n0259], this is because MA+5F having bonded, the cylindrical portion 12 of the lens holding member 2 forms a lens mounting hole capable of mounting a lens body, and the metal component assembly MA on the lens holding component 2; therefore, the metal adherends MA+5F are configured such that the exposed part serves as a portion bonded and fixed to the lens body).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Osada to have the specific structure as taught by Osada’546’ for the purpose to prevent the lens from falling off the cylindrical part due to falling impact (Osada’546’, paragraph [n0260]).
Regarding claim 2, combination Osada-Ohtomo-Osada’546’ discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Ohtomo further teaches wherein the at least one of the metal adherends (see Ohtomo, fig. 3A, 2h) disposed at the position corresponding to the weld line (the 1f) is exposed on a surface of the tubular part (see annotated image, Ohtomo, fig. 3A, the tubular part).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Osada to have the specific weld line as taught by Ohtomo for the purpose of achieving the following effect: preventing resin breakage (Ohtomo, paragraph [0083).
Regarding claim 3, Osada-Ohtomo-Osada’546’ discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Osada further teaches wherein the metal adherends include a first metal adherend and a second metal adherend separated from each other and disposed at different positions in a circumferential direction of the tubular part (see annotated image, Osada, fig. 10, the metal adherends include a first metal adherend and a second metal adherend separated from each other and disposed at different positions in a circumferential direction of the tubular part 12),
wherein each of the first metal adherend and the second metal adherend has the embedded part and the exposed part (see annotated image, Osada, fig. 10, each of the first metal adherend and the second metal adherend has the embedded part and the exposed part), and
Osada does not explicitly disclose wherein the first metal adherend is disposed at the position corresponding to the weld line.
However, Ohtomo teaches wherein the first metal adherend is disposed at the position corresponding to the weld line (see annotated image, Ohtomo, fig. 3A, the first metal adherend 2e is disposed at the position corresponding to the weld line 1f).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Osada to have the specific weld line as taught by Ohtomo for the purpose of achieving the following effect: preventing resin breakage (Ohtomo, paragraph [0083).
Regarding claim 4, Osada-Ohtomo-Osada’546’ discloses the invention as described in Claim 3 and Osada further teaches wherein the exposed part of each of the first metal adherend and the second metal adherend extends in the circumferential direction of the tubular part (see annotated image, Osada, fig. 10, the exposed part of each of the first metal adherend and the second metal adherend extends in the circumferential direction of the tubular part).
Regarding claim 7, Osada-Ohtomo-Osada’546’ discloses the invention as described in Claim 2 and Osada further teaches wherein the actuator includes one or more shape memory alloy wires provided between a movable member (fig. 11, movable side metal part 5M) and the fixed member (fig. 11, fixed side metal part 5F), the movable member (5M) including the lens holding member (lens holding component 2),
(note: as described in paragraph [n0109]”The metal component 5 shown in Figure 11(A) is the same as the metal component 5 shown in Figure 3, and is configured to fix the end of the shape memory alloy wire SA. In this example, metal part 5 includes a fixed side metal part 5F and a movable side metal part 5M. The fixed-side metal component 5F is configured as a fixed-side pedestal portion 18D fixed to the base component 18. The movable side metal component 5M is configured as a movable side pedestal portion 2D fixed to the lens holding component 2, see Figure 10(A)”)
wherein one end of each of the shape memory alloy wires is fixed to a movable metal member (Osada, figs. 11(A)-(B), 5M has been referred to as movable metal member) provided on the movable member (see paragraph [n0109] “The metal component 5 shown in Figure 11(A) is the same as the metal component 5 shown in Figure 3, and is configured to fix the end of the shape memory alloy wire SA”; paragraph [n0110] “The movable side metal component 5M includes the first movable side wiring board 5M1 to the fourth movable side wiring board 5M4.”; thus, Osada having one end of each of the shape memory alloy wires is fixed to a movable metal member provided on the movable member).
wherein another end of each of the shape memory alloy wires (fig. 11, SA1 to SA8) is fixed to a fixed metal member (fig. 11, 5F1 to 5F8) provided on the fixed member (5F; paragraph [n0048] “Metal component 5 is configured to fix the end of shape memory alloy wire SA”),
wherein the metal adherends (see annotated image, Osada, fig. 10, metal adherends 20) further include an outer exposed part exposed (see annotated image, Osada, fig. 10, 20A3, 20B3) to an outer surface of the lens holding member (2A), and
wherein the movable metal member (Osada, figs. 11(A)-(B), 5M) is fixed to the outer exposed part (see annotated image, Osada, fig. 10, 20A3, 20B3).
(note: Osada described more deal in paragraph [n0099] “Figure 10 is a perspective view of lens holding member 2A, which is another example of lens holding member 2. The lens holding member 2A differs from the lens holding member 2 in that the conductive member 20 is embedded by an embedded molding. Specifically, Figure 10(A) is a perspective view of the lens holding member 2A with the conductive component 20 removed, Figure 10(B) is a perspective view of the conductive component 20 embedded in the lens holding member 2A, and Figure 10(C) is a perspective view of the lens holding member 2A with the conductive component 20 embedded. In addition, in Figures 10(B) and 10(C), the conductive parts 20 are marked with dot patterns for clarity. [n0100] Figure 11 is a diagram showing the positional relationship between metal component 5, leaf spring 6, conductive component CM, conductive component 20, and shape memory alloy wire SA. Specifically, Figure 11(A) is a diagram showing the positional relationship between the metal component 5, the base component 18A, and the conductive component 20. Figure 11(B) is a diagram showing the positional relationship of metal component 5, leaf spring 6, conductive component CM, conductive component 20, and shape memory alloy wire SA. In Figure 11(B), the conductive component 20 is marked with a dot pattern for clarity”)
Regarding claim 8, Osada-Ohtomo-Osada’546’ discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Osada further teaches wherein the movable metal member (5M) and the outer exposed part (20A3, 20B3) are welded to each other (see Osada, paragraph [n0111] “The first movable side terminal block 5M1 is welded to the first conductive part 20A1”; paragraph [n0120] “The third part 6A3 has a fifth through hole 6AH5 and a sixth through hole 6AH6 through which a circular protrusion 2T (see Figure 10(C)) protruding upward is inserted, and a seventh through hole 6AH7 for engaging with the third conductive part 20A3 (see Figure 10(C)) of the first conductive member 20A. The protrusion 2T is formed on the first movable side pedestal part 2D1.In this example, the leaf spring 6 is fixed to the protrusion 2T by hot riveting or cold riveting the protrusion 2T. However, the leaf spring 6 and the protrusion 2T can also be fixed by adhesive. Furthermore, the third part 6A3 of the first leaf spring 6A is fixed to the third conductive part 20A3 of the first conductive component 20A by welding”; thus, Osada teaches wherein the movable metal member 5M and the outer exposed part 20A3, 20B3 are welded to each other).
Regarding claim 9, Osada-Ohtomo-Osada’546’ discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Osada further teaches wherein a camera module (Osada, paragraph [n0008] “The camera module may consist of, for example, an external substrate, a lens drive device 101”) comprising:
the lens driving apparatus of claim 1 (described in claim 1);
the lens body fixed to the lens holding member by the adhesive (described in claim 1); and
an imaging sensor (an imaging element; see paragraph [n0088] “an imaging element”) facing the lens body (see paragraph [n0088] “The camera module may consist of, for example, an external substrate, a lens drive device 101, a lens body mounted on the lens holding member 2, and an imaging element mounted on the external substrate opposite to the lens body. The camera module may also include control devices”).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osada et al. (CN114460789A, English translation attached) in view of Ohtomo et al. (CN203658648, English translation attached) and Osada’546’ (CN114527546, English translation attached), and further in view of Inagaki et al. (US20150212288).
Regarding claim 5, Osada-Ohtomo-Osada’546’ discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Osada teaches wherein the exposed part extends in a circumferential direction of the tubular part (see annotated image, Osada, fig. 10, the exposed part extends in a circumferential direction of the tubular part 12), but Osada does not explicitly disclose wherein has a plurality of recesses capable of containing the adhesive.
However, Inagaki teaches the analogous lens driving (Inagaki, figs. 1-9, abstract, a lens driving apparatus includes a lens holding member, a static member including a housing, a biasing member, and a moving mechanism), and further teaches wherein the exposed part extends (see Inagaki, fig. 3A, a portion IVA has been referred to as the exposed part extends; paragraph [0026] “FIGS. 4A and 4B illustrate a portion IVA illustrated in FIG. 3A”) in a circumferential direction of the tubular part (see fig. 3A, the exposed part extends IVA in a circumferential direction of the tubular part 1h; paragraph [0046] “The lens holding member 1 has a tubular portion 1h having a tubular shape”), and has a plurality of recesses (Inagaki, fig. 4B, recess 1b) capable of containing the adhesive (see fig. 4B, as described in paragraph [0047] “Each recess 1b serves as an adhesive”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Osada to have the specific plurality of recesses as taught by Inagaki for the purpose to provide a lens driving apparatus in which an adhesive used for joining an upper leaf spring and a lens holding member together is less likely to come off (Inagaki, paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 6, Osada-Ohtomo-Osada’546’-Inagaki discloses the invention as described in Claim 5 and Inagaki further teaches wherein the plurality of recesses (Inagaki, recesses, 1b) are a plurality of grooves extending in the circumferential direction of the tubular part (See Inagaki, figs. 3A-4B, the plurality of recesses 1b are a plurality of grooves extending in the circumferential direction of the tubular part 1h).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Osada to have the specific plurality of recesses as taught by Inagaki for the purpose to provide a lens driving apparatus in which an adhesive used for joining an upper leaf spring and a lens holding member together is less likely to come off (Inagaki, paragraph [0009]).
Conclusion
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872