DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on December 30, 2024, June 17, 2025 and February 25, 2026 are is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-9, 12, 13 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Katla et al. (Katla), U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0049161.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Katla discloses a monostatic sensing method (Sensing devices may be monostatic) (0079), applied to a first device (AP-STA or non AP-STA) (having a processor and a memory that stores computer instructions for the processor to execute; figure 1) and comprising: performing monostatic sensing based on a first frame structure, to obtain a first sensing result; receiving a first request frame from a second device (AP-STA or non AP-STA), wherein the first request frame is used to request to obtain a monostatic sensing result (the sensing initiator may send a request frame with information indicating required or requested sensing parameters to one or more devices) (0089); and sending a first response frame to the second device based on the first request frame (see data frames of figures 9 and 10), wherein the first response frame comprises the first sensing result (As shown at 303, the sensing initiator may receive a message or messages from devices to which the sensing session requirements were indicated, and such messages may indicate whether the respective devices are able to participate as Tx sensing responders, Rx sensing responders, or as both Tx sensing responders and Rx sensing responders.) (0090). Please note that the first and second devices described above are interchangeable (The sensing procedures provided in this disclosure may be performed by AP-STAs and/or non-AP-STAs) (0075).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Katla discloses the method/device according to claims 1 and 12, wherein if the first device is a personal basic service set control point or an access point, the first frame structure comprises one of the following: a directional multigigabit (DMG) beacon frame, a data frame, or a beam refinement protocol (BRP); or if the first device is a station, the first frame structure comprises one of the following: a sector sweep (SSW), a short SSW, a BRP, or a data frame (As shown at 302, the sensing initiator may send a request frame with information indicating required or requested sensing parameters to one or more devices.) (0089; figure 9).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Katla discloses the method/device according to claims 1 and 12, further comprising: sending fifth information, wherein the fifth information is used to announce that the first device performs monostatic sensing based on the first frame structure (the sensing initiator may send a request frame with information indicating required or requested sensing parameters to one or more devices) (0089) and (As shown at 303, the sensing initiator may receive a message or messages from devices to which the sensing session requirements were indicated, and such messages may indicate whether the respective devices are able to participate as Tx sensing responders, Rx sensing responders, or as both Tx sensing responders and Rx sensing responders.) (0090).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Katla discloses the method/device according to claims 7 and 18, wherein if the first device is a personal basic service set control point or an access point, the first frame structure is a DMG beacon frame in a current or next beacon transmission interval (BTI), or the first frame structure is a data frame in a current or next data transmission interval (DTI), or the first frame structure is a BRP in a current or next DTI; or if the first device is a station, the first frame structure is an SSW or a short SSW in current or next association beamforming training (A-BFT), or the first frame structure is a data frame in a current or next DTI, or the first frame structure is a BRP in a current or next DTI (see data frames of figures 9 and 10).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Katla discloses the method/device according to claims 7 and 18, wherein the fifth information is comprised in a third frame structure; and if the first device is a personal basic service set control point or an access point, the third frame structure is one or more of the following: an association request frame, an association response frame, a reassociation request frame, a reassociation response frame, a DMG beacon frame, an information request frame, an information response frame, a probe request frame, a probe response frame, or a data frame; or if the first device is a station, the third frame structure is one or more of the following: an association request frame, an association response frame, a reassociation request frame, a reassociation response frame, an information request frame, an information response frame, a probe request frame, a probe response frame, an SSW frame, a short SSW frame, or a data frame (see data frames of figures 9 and 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 10, 11, 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record, Katla discloses monostatic sensing as described above. Regarding claims 3 and 14, Katla, however, taken individually or in combination, fails to suggest or render obvious, a method and apparatus as claimed as a whole, for receiving first information and second information from the second device, wherein the first information is used to request the first device to perform monostatic sensing, the second information is used to request to obtain target beam information and target location information, the target beam information is beam information for sending the first frame structure by the first device, and the target location information is information about a location of the first device for sending the first frame structure; sending the target beam information and the target location information to the second device based on the second information; and the performing monostatic sensing based on a first frame structure, to obtain a first sensing result comprises: performing monostatic sensing based on the first information and the first frame structure, to obtain the first sensing result, as explicitly claimed.
Regarding claims 4-6, they are indicated allowable based solely on their dependence on claim 3.
Regarding claim 10, Katla, taken individually or in combination, fails to suggest or render obvious, a method and apparatus as claimed as a whole, wherein the first request frame is further used to request to obtain target beam information and target location information, the target beam information is beam information for sending the first frame structure by the first device, the target location information is information about a location of the first device for sending the first frame structure, and the method further comprises: sending the target beam information and the target location information to the second device based on the first request frame, as explicitly claimed.
Regarding claim 11, Katla, taken individually or in combination, fails to suggest or render obvious, a method and apparatus as claimed as a whole, receiving a second request frame from the first device, wherein the second request frame is used to request to obtain target beam information and target location information, the target beam information is beam information for sending the first frame structure by the first device, and the target location information is information about a location of the first device for sending the first frame structure; and sending the target beam information and the target location information to the second device based on the second request frame, as explicitly claimed.
Regarding claims 15-17, they are indicated allowable based solely on their dependence on claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Eitan et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0371220 discloses multi-static wireless sensing.
ABOUL-MAGD et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0322116 discloses a method, apparatus and system for communicating Wi-Fi sensing measurements and feedback.
Park et al. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0030440 discloses beam management for radio frequency sensing.
/TEMICA M BEAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646