DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the application filed 12/02/2024.
The claim filed on 09/20/2024 has been preliminarily amended. Claim 1 has been canceled and claims 2-23 have been added.
Claims 2-23 are pending with claims 2 and 13 as independent claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 22-23 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 22 is a duplicate of claim 19 and claim 23 is a duplicate of claim 20. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7, 11-12, 16, 18-20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, for claims 7 and 18, limitations “multiple external measurement tools required for completing the workflow step”, “an order in which measurements must be received from the multiple external measurement tools” and “rules for validating measurement data received from each of the multiple external measurement tools” do not appear to have any support in the specification. In addition, for claims 11-12, 19-20, and 22-23, limitations “a skill level designation for an end-user to whom the enhanced electronic document is to be presented”, “presentation parameters for displaying the GUI elements based on the skill level designation”, and “additional guidance information to be displayed for end-users having a lower skill level designation” do not appear to have any support in the specification. Also, for claims 5 and 16, limitations “a threshold value for the measurement data”, “a condition for comparing received measurement data against the threshold value”, and “an action to be taken based on the comparison” do not appear to have any support in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7, 9, 11-20, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meriaz et al. (US 2022/0091707, filed 09/21/2020, hereinafter Meriaz) in view of Abe (US 2019/0120664, published 4/25/2019).
As per claim 2. A computer-implemented method comprising:
receiving at a document management service of a server computer an electronic document to be enhanced with an interactive workflow comprising, in part, individual graphical user interface elements that correspond with individual content items set forth within the content of the electronic document; (Meriaz teaches in [0116] “user may be performing maintenance on a component and may wish to view technical documentation via the IETM on the component, on a maintenance procedure the user is performing on the component, as well as on a part being used in performing the maintenance procedure. Here, the user may need to view the technical documentation for the different topics by interchangeably moving back-and-forth between the technical documentation for the different topics.” And in [0146] “the management computing entity 100 and/or user computing entity 110 provides functionality in the access and use of the technical documentation provided via the IETM in accordance with user instructions and/or input received from the user via an IETM viewer (e.g., a browser, a window, an application, a graphical user interface, and/or the like).” And in [0171] “topics may include procedures, tasks, operations, services, checklists, planning, and/or the like performed with respect to the item. For instance, topics may include maintenance procedures and/or tasks performed on the item. Therefore, the maintenance procedure (e.g., an identifier of the maintenance procedure such as a title of the maintenance procedure) may be selected by the user directly from the table of contents to access content found in the technical documentation for the maintenance procedure.” And in [0457] “munitions may be required to be loaded/installed on the vehicle using a number of operations (e.g., steps) and in a certain sequence.” And in [0459] “the user may be tasked with loading munitions onto the aircraft and therefore has also signed into the IETM identifying a specific job to be performed. Once signed in, the user may select a mechanism to invoke the article loading module.” And in [0460] “the article loading module reading the item the user is currently signed into the IETM to view in Operation 6410.” (emphasis added) examiner note: a user accesses technical documentation (electronic document) to perform loading munitions procedure. The content item may correspond to procedure and the graphical interface element correspond to a topic such as loading munitions),
with a document processing engine executing at the server computer, processing content of the electronic document to identify the plurality of individual content items within the electronic document; (Meriaz teaches in [0463] “The user may select some type of mechanism (e.g., a button) displayed on the window after the user has identified the article(s) be loaded at each of the positions for the item. If the user has indicated to generate the workflow, then the article loading module generates the workflow for loading the selected article(s) onto and/or into the object for the item in Operation 6455.” And in [0464] “the workflow may include one or more procedures to be performed by personnel in loading the article(s) onto and/or into the object for the item. Here, the workflow may identify the sequential order in which the procedures are to be performed.” And in [0466] “the user may then select the procedures, one-by-one, in the order in which they are found in the table of contents to view the operations that need to be performed for the procedures in loading the articles onto and/or into the object for the item.” (emphasis added) examiner note: based on the user selection of the articles (munitions) to be loaded, the article loading module generates workflow for loading the selected articles, wherein the workflow includes one or more procedures. Thus, the article loading module identifies one or more procedures corresponding to the loading of the selected articles and identifies the sequential order (patterns) of the procedures)
generating a first file with a data object for each individual content item, wherein i) each data object includes information for presenting graphical user interface (GUI) element associated with the interactive workflow, ii) [at least one data object includes metadata requiring receipt of measurement data from external measurement tool to complete a workflow step associated with that data object]; (Meriaz teaches in [0457-0463] “The user may select some type of mechanism (e.g., a button) displayed on the window after the user has identified the article(s) be loaded at each of the positions for the item. If the user has indicated to generate the workflow, then the article loading module generates the workflow for loading the selected article(s) onto and/or into the object for the item in Operation 6455.” And in [0466] “the article loading module may provide a digital workflow to be displayed in the form of a table of contents that lists the different procedures that make up the workflow in the order in which they are to be performed…each of the different procedures may be selectable. Therefore, the user may then select the procedures, one-by-one, in the order in which they are found in the table of contents to view the operations that need to be performed for the procedures in loading the articles onto and/or into the object for the item.” And in [0468] “Once the user has selected the various articles to be loaded at the different stations, a digital workflow in the form of a table of contents 6515 may be generated with the different procedures to be performed in loading the aircraft in the order in which they are to be performed as shown in FIG. 65B.” And in [0475] “each operation (e.g., step) found in the procedure may be associated with a selection mechanism such as a checkbox control that the user selects to acknowledge that he or she has completed the particular operation in the procedure. Therefore, the loading workflow module may determine whether input has been received that the selection mechanism for each operation has been selected by the user.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the table of contents may be a file generated in response to user input, wherein the table of contents different procedures may represent data objects to be performed by the user. Such a procedure may be may be a checkbox field to be processed by the user,
embedding the first file within the electronic document to create a first enhanced electronic document; (Meriaz teaches [0468] “Once the user has selected the various articles to be loaded at the different stations, a digital workflow in the form of a table of contents 6515 may be generated with the different procedures to be performed in loading the aircraft in the order in which they are to be performed as shown in FIG. 65B.” and in [0469] “a digital workflow may be displayed on a window in the form of a table of contents listing the procedures to be performed in loading the articles onto and/or into the object for the item.” And in [0472] “the loading workflow module may retrieve the data for the procedure from the technical documentation for the item and provide the data for the procedure to display on a new window for the user.” (emphasis added) EX.: the embedding of the first file indicates functions, which generates table of contents from identified procedures corresponding to user selected articles to be loaded, wherein each procedure is generated to be selectable and each operation in selected procedure is associated with interactive checkbox, indicate that workflow functions may be embedded on the technical documentation creating enhanced technical documentation) and
storing the first enhanced electronic document in a document library accessible to the server computer; Meriaz teaches in [0468] “the user may be generating a workflow for loading the object of the item at a later time and therefore, the user may not be ready to start the actual loading of the object. Here, the article loading module may be configured to save the workflow so that is may be used at the later time.” And in [0504] “The technical documentation associated with an item (e.g., the dataset that includes the textual information, corresponding media content, and other data that make up the technical documentation for the item) is typically stored and/or provided in accordance with S1000D standards. S1000D standards require a document to be broken down into individual data modules that are typically identified via XML and/or SGML tags, labels, and/or metadata and that are organized into a hierarchical XML and/or SGML structure. In various embodiments, the XML and/or SGML files and/or data stored therein may be converted to JSON formatted data and/or files. Accordingly, in these embodiments, the content found in the JSON formatted data and/or files provides the technical documentation for the item.” And in [0514] “if the technical documentation involves multiple files… various embodiments would allow the user to search the entire library (e.g., multiple PDF files) for the technical documentation in the IETM with a single search.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the generated workflow representing selectable objects (in JSON formatted data) in the table of contents maybe saved as a file stored a library).
Meriaz does not explicitly disclose
at least one data object includes metadata requiring receipt of measurement data from external measurement tool to complete a workflow step associated with that data object. However, Abe, in an analogous art, teaches in [0025-0027] “The image capturing unit 101 captures image of the exterior view of a target measurement tool on which a measurement result is displayed. As the image capturing unit 101, in general, use of a camera that captures a still image is assumed. However, the still image only has to be finally output, for example, a video camera that extracts a still image from a moving image and outputs the still image may be used… an extract of a portion where a measurement result of the caliper 10 is displayed. The caliper 10 holds a target object of a dimension measurement between a main scale 10a and a slider 10b provided slidably in the longitudinal direction of the main scale 10a and measures width t of the held target object.” And in [0046-0047] “the user wearing the frame 201 on the head looks at a target measurement tool to perform measurement operation by the target measurement tool. Then, the user can direct, without using the hands, the image capturing unit 101 to a direction in which the target measurement tool is captured as image… when an instruction “image capturing” is input, the instruction recognizing unit 203 recognizes the instruction and gives an instruction for image capturing to the image capturing unit 101. When an instruction “saving” is input, the instruction recognizing unit 203 recognizes the instruction and instructs the measurement-value reading unit 102 to store a measurement value in the measurement-value storing unit 100a.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the extracted measurement value may be metadata that is required to be received from digital caliper as an external measurement too, wherein the workflow step may be completed by capturing the measurement value by a video camera and saving/storing the measurement value in storage unit.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Meriaz with the teaching of Abe because “in the measurement, a user cannot use any of the hands and it is difficult for the user to record the measurement value while performing the measurement. Therefore, the user has to record the measurement value every time the user performs the measurement and cannot continuously perform the measurement. Therefore, workability is low… Means for Solving the Problems… an image capturing unit configured to capture image of an exterior view of a target measurement tool on which a measurement result is displayed; and a measurement-value reading unit configured to read a measurement value from an exterior view image of the target measurement tool captured by the image capturing unit… the user can quickly visually recognize the measurement value as a numerical value.” Abe [0004-0010].
Claims 3 and 14. The rejection of the computer-implemented method of claim 2 is incorporated, wherein processing content of the electronic document comprises:
identifying the electronic document as being a first document type of a plurality of predefined document types, wherein each document type is associated with a document structure; (Meriaz teaches in [0463] “If the user has indicated to generate the workflow, then the article loading module generates the workflow for loading the selected article(s) onto and/or into the object for the item in Operation 6455.” And in [0464] “the workflow may identify the sequential order in which the procedures are to be performed.” And in [0468] “Once the user has selected the various articles to be loaded at the different stations, a digital workflow in the form of a table of contents 6515 may be generated with the different procedures to be performed in loading the aircraft in the order in which they are to be performed as shown in FIG. 65B.” (emphasis added) EX.: the identity of a document type may be predefined by identifying procedures corresponding to the selected articles and the sequential order of procedures. In other words, once the user selects the articles to be loaded, the corresponding procedures and the sequential order of the procedure may be defined. Accordingly, different selected articles may correspond to different procedures and different sequential order, which may define a different document) and
selecting a set of rules used in processing content of the electronic document based on the first document type, wherein the selected rules determine how measurement data requirements are identified within the document; (Meriaz teaches in [0468] “Once the user has selected the various articles to be loaded at the different stations, a digital workflow in the form of a table of contents 6515 may be generated with the different procedures to be performed in loading the aircraft in the order in which they are to be performed as shown in FIG. 65B.” and in [0469] “each of the procedures found in the table of contents may be selectable so that the user selects the procedures one at a time in the sequence provided to view the operations to perform for the selected procedure to load the articles onto and/or into the object for the item.” (emphasis added) EX.: the generation of table of contents, the identification of the procedures corresponding to the selected articles, and functionality of making each procedure selectable object may be selected rules that allows the user to perform loading of the articles into one or more station positions in an aircraft).
Claims 4 and 15. The rejection of the computer-implemented method of claim 2 is incorporated, Meriaz does not explicitly disclose wherein the metadata in the at least one data object specifies:
a type of measurement tool required to complete the workflow step; a measurement value type to be received from the measurement tool; and a format for storing the measurement value within the enhanced electronic document. However, Abe, in an analogous art, teaches in [0025-0027] “The image capturing of the exterior view by the image capturing unit 101 needs to be performed at least in a range and at resolution necessary for reading the measurement result because it is necessary to read the measurement result from an exterior view image. For example, when the target measurement tool is a caliper 10 of an analog type shown in FIG. 1”. (emphasis added) examiner note: the measurement tool type may be a digital caliper, the measurement value type may be digital value type, and the format of storing the measurement value may be presented in digital format as shown in fig. 4.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Meriaz with the teaching of Abe because “in the measurement, a user cannot use any of the hands and it is difficult for the user to record the measurement value while performing the measurement. Therefore, the user has to record the measurement value every time the user performs the measurement and cannot continuously perform the measurement. Therefore, workability is low… Means for Solving the Problems… an image capturing unit configured to capture image of an exterior view of a target measurement tool on which a measurement result is displayed; and a measurement-value reading unit configured to read a measurement value from an exterior view image of the target measurement tool captured by the image capturing unit… the user can quickly visually recognize the measurement value as a numerical value.” Abe [0004-0010].
Claims 5 and 16. The rejection of the computer-implemented method of claim 2 is incorporated, Meriaz does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one data object includes metadata specifying: a threshold value for the measurement data; a condition for comparing received measurement data against the threshold value; and an action to be taken based on the comparison. However, Abe, in an analogous art, teaches in [0034 and 0039] “The tool specifying unit 104 compares the exterior view image of the target measurement tool and the tool specifying information stored in the tool-specifying-information storing unit 103… If the comparison is possible with a characteristic part of the exterior view, the part only has to be included in an image capturing range… When the exterior view image of the measurement tool is a three-dimensional shape model, the comparison with the exterior view image of the target measurement tool in the tool specifying unit 104 can be performed using exterior view images from a plurality of viewpoints extractable from the three-dimensional shape model.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the tool specifying information stored in the tool-specifying information storing nuit 104 may be the threshold value for measurement. the condition of comparison may be indicated by “if the comparison is possible with a characteristic part of the exterior view”, wherein the action may be capturing an image of the only part included in the capturing range.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Meriaz with the teaching of Abe because “in the measurement, a user cannot use any of the hands and it is difficult for the user to record the measurement value while performing the measurement. Therefore, the user has to record the measurement value every time the user performs the measurement and cannot continuously perform the measurement. Therefore, workability is low… Means for Solving the Problems… an image capturing unit configured to capture image of an exterior view of a target measurement tool on which a measurement result is displayed; and a measurement-value reading unit configured to read a measurement value from an exterior view image of the target measurement tool captured by the image capturing unit… the user can quickly visually recognize the measurement value as a numerical value.” Abe [0004-0010].
Claims 6 and 17. The rejection of the computer-implemented method of claim 2 is incorporated, wherein generating the file including data objects comprises:
identifying input fields within the electronic document; Meriaz teaches in [0246] “the module auto-populates one or more of the fields on the electronic order form based at least in part on the queried data in Operation 1945. At this point, the order part module provides the electronic order form for display for the user to view in Operation 1950. Here, in particular embodiments, the form may be displayed on a separate window than the window displaying the list of parts.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the auto-populating one or more fields may be input fields identified by the order part module,
determining which input fields require measurement data from external measurement tools; Meriaz teaches in [0339, 0348, and 0470-0475] “the user may be provided a field (e.g., a checkbox) in the sequential information that the user is able to check as he or she completes steps in the sequence… the sequence skip module receives input on the fields and determines which of the fields have been checked by the user. Accordingly, if the sequence skip module determines the step acknowledged by the user is not the next sequential step to be performed, then the sequence skip module causes the steps in the sequence that have been skipped by the user to be displayed as highlighted in the sequential information displayed on the window in Operation 3715.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the checkbox field may be a field that is required to be filled, and
generating data objects with metadata that specifies requirements for automatically populating the identified input fields with measurement data received from the external measurement tools; Meriaz teaches in [00246 and 0479-0480] “Once the user has completed filling out the electronic form, the user may submit the electronic form… the form may be submitted directly to the supplier to fulfill the order for the part or the form may be placed in a queue and submitted indirectly depending on the embodiment… Once the user has completed the workflow, the loading workflow module again records image(s) of the object to document the loading of the articles and records the completion of the workflow in the log.” (emphasis added) examiner note: once auto completion of the form fields has completed, a completed form may be generated.
Meriaz does not explicitly disclose
automatically populating the identified input fields with measurement data received from the external measurement tools. However, Abe, in an analogous art, teaches in [0047] “When an instruction “saving” is input, the instruction recognizing unit 203 recognizes the instruction and instructs the measurement-value reading unit 102 to store a measurement value in the measurement-value storing unit 100a.” (emphasis added) examiner note: using voice command, measurement data may be saved or stored in storing unit 100a implemented in a personal computer form database, for example.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Meriaz with the teaching of Abe because “in the measurement, a user cannot use any of the hands and it is difficult for the user to record the measurement value while performing the measurement. Therefore, the user has to record the measurement value every time the user performs the measurement and cannot continuously perform the measurement. Therefore, workability is low… Means for Solving the Problems… an image capturing unit configured to capture image of an exterior view of a target measurement tool on which a measurement result is displayed; and a measurement-value reading unit configured to read a measurement value from an exterior view image of the target measurement tool captured by the image capturing unit… the user can quickly visually recognize the measurement value as a numerical value.” Abe [0004-0010].
Claims 7 and 18. The rejection of the computer-implemented method of claim 2 is incorporated, wherein at least one data object includes metadata specifying:
an order in which measurements must be received from the multiple external measurement tools; Meriaz teaches in [0470-0480] the process flow 6600 begins with the loading workflow module determining whether input has been received indicating the user has selected a procedure in the table of contents in Operation 6610. If so, then the loading workflow module determines whether the selected procedure is the next procedure to be performed for the workflow in Operation 6615. Therefore, in particular embodiments, that loading workflow module is configured to determine whether the procedure(s) found in the workflow listed before the selected procedure have been performed. As further discussed below, the loading workflow module marks the procedures that have been completed in some embodiments… If each of the procedures in the workflow before the currently selected procedure has not been completed, then the loading workflow module provide an error to the user in Operation 6620. For example, the loading workflow module may provide an error message for displaying on a window informing the user that the selected procedure is not the next procedure to be performed in the workflow.” (emphasis added) examiner note: if more than one measurements as multiple procedures, in the workflow, required to be performed by the user, then the workflow module would enforce the order in which the measurement procedures should be completed.
rules for validating measurement data received from each of the multiple external measurement tools. Meriaz teaches in [0470-0480] “then the loading workflow module in particular embodiments records one or more images of the object in Operation 6675 to document the progress of loading the articles that has been completed to that point. For example, imaging devices may be installed at different locations in the loading area to allow images to be taken of the different loading stations. In addition, the loading workflow module records the progress of the workflow in a log in Operation 6680. Therefore, in the example, the user can retrieve the incomplete workflow upon returning from lunch and continue with the remainder of the workflow for loading the munitions onto the jet fighters. Once the user has completed the workflow, the loading workflow module again records image(s) of the object to document the loading of the articles and records the completion of the workflow in the log… Recordation of the images and progress of the workflows in various embodiments can allow for tracking of the workflows being performed, as well as allow for quality control measures to be put into place to evaluate different personnel on performing loading tasks.” (emphasis added) examiner note: validating measurement data has been received may be similar to recording images for workflow procedures or confirming tasks been completed when reviewed by the pilot, for example.
Meriaz does not explicitly disclose multiple external measurement tools required for completing the workflow step; an order in which measurements must be received from the multiple external measurement tools. However, Abe, in an analogous art, teaches in [0025-0026 and 0031-0035] “The measurement-value reading unit 102 reads a measurement value from the exterior view image of the target measurement tool captured by the image capturing unit 101… the micrometer 20 reads the measurement value in 0.5 mm units according to, when a graduation 0 on the leftmost side of the sleeve graduations is represented as a 0-th graduation, up to which graduation counted from the 0-th graduation is exposed… FIG. 3A is a diagram showing the exterior view of a micrometer 20, which is an example of a micrometer of an analog type. FIG. 3B is a diagram of an extract of a portion where a measurement result of the micrometer 20 is displayed… FIG. 4A is a diagram showing the exterior view of a digital caliper 30, which is an example of a digital caliper. FIG. 4B is a diagram of an extract of a portion where a measurement result of the digital caliper 30 is displayed.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the multiple external measurement tools may be the micrometer 20 and the caliper 30 such that the multiple external measurement tools may be utilized by Meriaz as workflow procedures that the user has to complete.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Meriaz with the teaching of Abe because “in the measurement, a user cannot use any of the hands and it is difficult for the user to record the measurement value while performing the measurement. Therefore, the user has to record the measurement value every time the user performs the measurement and cannot continuously perform the measurement. Therefore, workability is low… Means for Solving the Problems… an image capturing unit configured to capture image of an exterior view of a target measurement tool on which a measurement result is displayed; and a measurement-value reading unit configured to read a measurement value from an exterior view image of the target measurement tool captured by the image capturing unit… the user can quickly visually recognize the measurement value as a numerical value.” Abe [0004-0010].
Claim 9. The rejection of the computer-implemented method of claim 2 is incorporated, wherein the metadata in the at least one data object specifies:
Meriaz does not explicitly disclose
connection requirements for receiving measurement data from the external measurement tool, wherein the connection requirements indicate whether measurement data must be received via:
a wired connection to the external measurement tool,
a wireless connection to the external measurement tool, or
either a wired or wireless connection to the external measurement tool. However, Abe, in an analogous art, teaches in [0054] “A wireless communication scheme of the wireless transmission and reception unit 400b is arbitrary. The units provided in the frame 201 transmit and receive information to and from the units of the data collecting portion 400a via the wireless transmission and reception unit 400b. By configuring the measurement-data collecting apparatus 400 in this way, an obstructive connection cable can be eliminated. Further, a measurement place can be moved in a wirelessly communicable range. Therefore, work efficiency can be improved. In particular, when a portable terminal is applied as the data collecting portion 400a, the distance to the frame 201 is maintained as long as the user carries the portable terminal.” (emphasis added).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Meriaz with the teaching of Abe because “in the measurement, a user cannot use any of the hands and it is difficult for the user to record the measurement value while performing the measurement. Therefore, the user has to record the measurement value every time the user performs the measurement and cannot continuously perform the measurement. Therefore, workability is low… Means for Solving the Problems… an image capturing unit configured to capture image of an exterior view of a target measurement tool on which a measurement result is displayed; and a measurement-value reading unit configured to read a measurement value from an exterior view image of the target measurement tool captured by the image capturing unit… the user can quickly visually recognize the measurement value as a numerical value.” Abe [0004-0010].
Claims 11, 19, and 22. The rejection of the computer-implemented method of claim 2 is incorporated, wherein at least one data object includes metadata specifying: a skill level designation for an end-user to whom the enhanced electronic document is to be presented; presentation parameters for displaying the GUI elements based on the skill level designation; Meriaz teaches in [0448, 0457 and 0470-0480] “a caution panel is often provided in the cockpit of the aircraft to provide the pilot with warnings and/or cautions… personnel who are responsible for loading the munitions are regularly required to initially put together a workflow that includes a number of different procedures in a sequential order that are to be performed to load the munitions onto the vehicle… recordation of the images of the jet fighter loaded with the required munitions may allow for the pilot to view the images prior to takeoff to ensure the munitions have been properly loaded onto the aircraft. This can help to not only ensure success of the mission but can also ensure the safety of the pilot and any other flight crew member on the aircraft.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the skill level designation for an end-user to whom the documentation images to be presented may be a pilot level end-user and the presentation parameters may be a caution display panel,
and
additional guidance information to be displayed for end-users having a lower skill level designation. Meriaz teaches in [0447-0454] the IETM provide a virtual caution panel that mimics a caution panel found on an item (e.g., a piece of equipment) such as, for example, an aircraft… additional details are provided regarding a process flow for addressing warnings and/or cautions provided by a caution panel found on an item… a virtual caution panel that can be used by a user to assist the user in addressing warnings and/or cautions provided by such a caution panel found on an item.” (emphasis added) examiner note: additional information may be provided for pilots with less experience.
Claims 12, 20, and 23. The rejection of the computer-implemented method of claim 2 is incorporated, wherein generating the file including data objects comprises:
selecting multimedia content to be associated with at least one of the individual content items based on a skill level or experience level of an end-user;
generating a data object that includes information indicating a position within the electronic document at which the selected multimedia content is to be presented; Meriaz teaches in [0451-0454] “The virtual caution panel module then determines whether input has been received indicating the user has selected any of the warnings and/or cautions displayed on the virtual panel in Operation 6215. Accordingly, in particular embodiments, the virtual caution panel may be configured to allow the user to select different levels (e.g., set different colors) for the individual indicators displayed on the panel as well as select combinations of warnings and/or cautions… If the user has selected one or more warnings and/or cautions on the virtual caution panel, then the virtual caution panel module retrieves a corrective action (e.g., steps to perform to address the one or more cautions and/or warnings).” (emphasis added) examiner note: based on the user selecting to view a warning and/or caution, the virtual caution panel retrieves a corrective action as shown in fig. 63B. The warning and/or caution may be displayed on the top of panel and the corrective action may be displayed on the bottom of the caution panel, and
embedding the selected multimedia content within the enhanced electronic document. Meriaz teaches in [0451-0454] “If the user has selected one or more warnings and/or cautions on the virtual caution panel, then the virtual caution panel module retrieves a corrective action (e.g., steps to perform to address the one or more cautions and/or warnings) in Operation 6220. Therefore, in various embodiments, the corrective actions to address the different warnings and/or cautions may be stored within the IETM and retrieved by the virtual caution panel module based at least in part on the warnings and/or cautions (and/or combination thereof) identified by the user on the panel.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the corrective action may be stored or embedded on the interactive electronic technical manual (IETM) system.
Claim 13. The claim is directed towards a system to implement the steps of the method of claim 2, therefore, the claim is similarly rejected as claim 2. Furthermore, Meriaz teaches at least one processor; at least one memory storage device storing instructions thereon, which executed by the at least one processor, in [0007] “the apparatus comprises at least one processor and at least one memory comprising computer program code.” (emphasis added).
Claims 8, 10, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meriaz as applied to claims 2, 5, and 16 above, and further in view of Rosart et al. (US 2017/0124070, pub. 05/04/2017, hereinafter as Rosart).
Claim 8. The rejection of the computer-implemented method of claim 2 is incorporated, wherein the external measurement tool comprises:
Meriaz does not explicitly disclose
a digital measurement device having one or more integrated sensors; a processor for generating digital measurement data from the one or more integrated sensors; and a communication interface for transmitting the digital measurement data, wherein the digital measurement device is selected from the group consisting of: a torque wrench with integrated torque sensor, a pressure gauge, a laser measurement tool, a digital caliper, and a voltmeter. However, Babu, in an analogous art, teaches in [0019, 0027-0028, and 0032] “The flight deck contains flight deck instruments on at least one instrument panel, which may include switches, gauges, displays, and various controls that enable the flight crew to operate the aircraft… graphical elements are superimposed over associated flight deck instruments, in order to call the attention of a user to settings data applicable to a particular flight deck instrument. A visual overlay display may include a near-to-eye (NTE) display, such as a wearable display device (e.g., goggles, glasses, etc.) or a handheld NTE display, such as a smartphone… The image capture system 110 may be configured to obtain images at timed intervals, or in response to user actions (e.g., user-selection of an electronic checklist, user-selection of a particular flight deck instrument, etc.)… The flight deck assistance system 100 then sends the feedback of corrected position and readout values of the cockpit elements that need correction to the flight deck assistance system 100. The flight deck assistance system 100 then superimposes overlay text and/or symbol(s) over the cockpit elements for correction… The visual overlay display system has superimposed a graphical element 208 over the area where the speedbrake is located in the flight deck. In this particular embodiment, the graphical element 208 includes text providing instructions for a required setting for the speedbrake 206. However, in some embodiments, the visual overlay display system may present one or more symbols, or a combination of one or more symbols and text, to indicate steps necessary to alter the status of the speedbrake 206 to comply with electronic flight checklist requirements.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the flight deck instruments may be objects (procedures) in the checklist need to be performed by the user. Accordingly, an object of the checklist, viewed on visual display system, such as a pressure gauge, which includes a sensor, may be selected by the user to provide value to be readout as measurement data, wherein in response to user action of selecting the instrument, as a graphical element in the checklist, the flight deck assistance system may provide, as indicated by feedback, pressure data, fuel data, if fuel gauge, etc.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Meriaz with the teaching of Babu because “An electronic flight checklist may be used to prepare an aircraft for flight, or to ensure that certain conditions are met in order for the aircraft to operate safely during a particular phase of flight (e.g., Preflight, Taxi, Takeoff, Climb, Cruise, Descent, Approach and Landing and Shutdown). To prepare an aircraft for a particular phase of flight, a flight crew may follow one or more standard operating procedures. Often, these procedures are documented in the form of pre-flight and/or flight checklists of action items to be completed. Electronic flight checklists may include a safety exterior inspection, a flight deck inspection, or the like.” Babu [background].
Claims 10 and 21. The rejection of the computer-implemented method of claim 2 is incorporated, wherein: the electronic document describes maintenance procedures for equipment; Meriaz teaches in [0259-0260] “a user may be viewing the table of contents for the technical documentation of the item and may select a maintenance procedure listed in the table of contents directly from the table to view the content in the technical documentation on conducting the maintenance procedure… the user may be viewing an illustration (e.g., a 2D graphic) of the front braking assembly of an aircraft and may select the front wheel directly from the illustration to view the content on the technical documentation for the front wheel… The content is what a user views on the topic… The types of content found in a data module may include, for example: procedural used for tasks and steps information; fault used for troubleshooting… document describes maintenance procedures for maintaining front braking assembly of an aircraft… maintenance checklists used for preventive maintenance, services, and inspections; and/or the like.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the technical documentation may be an electronic document that describes procedure maintenance.
Meriaz does not explicitly disclose
the external measurement tool is integrated with or connected to the equipment being maintained; the measurement data comprises diagnostic information received directly from the equipment being maintained according to the workflow. However, Babu, in an analogous art, teaches in [0028 and 0032] “Image analysis is concerned with making quantitative measurements from an image to produce a description of it. In the simplest form, this task could be reading a switch position or a readout value… The flight deck assistance system 100 then sends the feedback of corrected position and readout values of the cockpit elements that need correction to the flight deck assistance system 100. The flight deck assistance system 100 then superimposes overlay text and/or symbol(s) over the cockpit elements for correction… a flight deck 202 includes flight deck instruments on at least one instrument panel, which may include switches, gauges, displays, and various controls that enable the flight crew to operate the aircraft. One of the flight deck instruments included in this particular example is a speedbrake 206.” (emphasis added) examiner note: instruments such as gauges may be an external measurement tools to measure pressure amount, fuel amount, etc. Here, the external tool may be image analysis module that may be integrated to the aircraft system to analyze, by providing quantitative measurement, to whether the position of the speedbrake 206 in the correct position or not.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Meriaz with the teaching of Babu because “An electronic flight checklist may be used to prepare an aircraft for flight, or to ensure that certain conditions are met in order for the aircraft to operate safely during a particular phase of flight (e.g., Preflight, Taxi, Takeoff, Climb, Cruise, Descent, Approach and Landing and Shutdown). To prepare an aircraft for a particular phase of flight, a flight crew may follow one or more standard operating procedures. Often, these procedures are documented in the form of pre-flight and/or flight checklists of action items to be completed. Electronic flight checklists may include a safety exterior inspection, a flight deck inspection, or the like.” Babu [background].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/AHAMED I NAZAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 06/24/2026
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178