DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, 17, it is unclear what the phrase “using at least one of a difference between the baseline OTDR trace and the real-time OTDR trace and a derivative thereof” means. It is unclear what “thereof” refers to; the baseline, the real-time or both.
Regarding claims 6, 13, 20, “the expected local noise level” lacks proper antecedent basis.
The other dependent claims are indefinite based on their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-11, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Browning et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2006/0097140).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 15, Browning et al. disclose (Figs. 1A, 3, 4) an OTDR system and method of assisting a user in finding a temporary event along an optical fiber link using an Optical Time Domain Reflectometer (OTDR), the method comprising: performing ([0035]) at least one OTDR acquisition toward the optical fiber link to obtain a baseline OTDR trace (“baseline signal”), wherein each OTDR acquisition is performed by propagating in the optical fiber link under test, a pulsed test signal and detecting corresponding return light from the optical fiber link so as to obtain an OTDR trace representing backscattered and reflected light as a function of distance in the optical fiber link; repeating OTDR acquisitions in real-time to obtain real-time OTDR traces (Fig. 3C; 46 “monitor sensor line in real time”); and for each new OTDR acquisition, comparing the corresponding real-time OTDR trace to the baseline OTDR trace to detect a temporary deformation of the OTDR trace using at least one of a difference ([0036] “compare attenuations”) between the baseline OTDR trace and the real-time OTDR trace and a derivative thereof, said temporary deformation being indicative of the presence of the temporary event along the optical fiber link. Browning et al. further disclose (Fig. 1A) an OTDR acquisition device (14a, 14b or 14c) and a processing unit (C) and computer instructions ([0026]) as claimed.
Regarding claims 2-4, 7, 9-11, 14, 16-18, Browning et al. also disclose ([0037]) the temporary event comprises a pinch (“crimping” or “some other bend in the fiber optic cable”) of the optical fiber which causes a temporary deformation of the OTDR trace. Browning et al. also disclose ([0032]) estimating a position (location of the fault condition) of the temporary event and outputting a user notification ([0029], “audible and/or visual notification of a fault”) as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Browning et al. in view of Desplat et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0123833).
Regarding claims 6, 13, 20, Browning et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Browning et al. do not disclose using a detection threshold chosen automatically based on an expected local noise level. Desplat et al. teach ([0070]) determining a detection threshold (detection threshold) based on an expected local noise level (measurement noise). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such a step in the apparatus of Browning et al. in view of Desplat et al. to maintain good detection sensitivity as taught, known and predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/THANH LUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878