DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/20/2024, 12/03/2024, and 08/14/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 17, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 32, 32, and 33 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 15, 17, 18, 19, 1, 9, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18, and 19 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12134896. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because said claims of the US Patent No.12134896 encompasses all the limitations in the claims of instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “regular roof tile” in claim 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “regular roof tile” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The disclosure has not specified was is regular and irregular roof tile.
The term “labyrinth-like sealing” in claim 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “labyrinth-like sealing” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The disclosure has not specified was a labyrinth-like is or to what degree to labyrinth it is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, and 27-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seery US20180351501.
Claim 1. Seery discloses a solar roof tile (100) for covering a pitched roof and for being mounted to battens of the pitched roof by means of a holder comprising an oblong beam (312) extending in a longitudinal direction and comprising a first support (at 316) supported in a mounted position on a first upper batten (304) of the pitched roof and a second support supported in the mounted position on a second lower batten (304 in Fig.3C); wherein at least one rest (surface of 318 and 334) is interconnected to the solar roof tile as a separate part for holding the solar roof tile on the holder.
Claim 2 and 15. Seery discloses connection of the solar roof tile and the rest is done by means of a mechanical connection (114 and P.0044) or by means of an adhesive.
Claim 3 and 16 falls as an unaddressed alternative as the option of the mechanical connection of claim 2 and 15 was addressed.
Claim 4 and 17. Seery discloses the rest is at least partially made from an elastic material (P.0060).
Claim 6 and 19. Seery discloses a drain channel extending in the longitudinal direction to drain atmospheric water along a longitudinal outer edge of the solar roof tile is incorporated in the rest (324 functions as a drainage channel – P.0051).
Claim 7 and 34. Seery discloses a multiplicity of drain channels is incorporated into the rest, thereby providing a labyrinth sealing with a thereupon resting solar roof tile (between 332, Fig.4A).
Claim 8. Seery discloses a rib (326) extending in the mounted position adjacent to the drain channel between two neighboring solar roof tiles is integrally formed with the rest.
Claim 11 and 32. Seery discloses the solar roof tile comprises a strip-like sealing element (124) extending parallel to at least a longitudinal outer edge or a horizontal outer edge of the solar roof tile (Fig.1B).
Claim 12 and 33. Seery discloses the sealing element (124) is arranged adjacent to the horizontal outer edge in an area shaded by an overhang section of the above neighboring solar roof tile on a face of the solar roof tile, which is in the mounted position facing the sun (P.0045:10-17).
Claim 13 as best understood. Seery suggest the rest is configured for interconnecting a regular roof tile in a water sealing manner by a labyrinth-like sealing.
Claim 14. Seery discloses solar roof tile (100) for covering a pitched roof and a holder for the solar roof tile for being mounted to the battens of the pitched roof, comprising: a. an oblong beam (312) extending in longitudinal direction and comprising a first support (at 316) supported in a mounted position on a first upper batten (304) of a pitched roof and a second support supported (at 320) in the mounted position on a second lower batten (304, Fig.3C); b. at least one rest (surface of 318 and 334) being interconnected to the solar roof tile as a separate part; and c. a drain channel (324) arranged adjacent to the at least one rest and extending in the longitudinal direction to drain atmospheric water along a longitudinal outer edge of the solar roof tile (P.0051 and Fig.4A).
Claim 20. Seery discloses the first support and the second support each comprise at least one first bearing area (318) supporting the oblong beam with respect to the first upper batten and the second lower batten in general perpendicular to its extension in the longitudinal direction (Fig.4A).
Claim 21. Seery discloses the first support and/or the second support comprise at least one second bearing area (318) supporting the oblong beam with respect to the first upper batten and the second lower batten in the longitudinal direction (Fig.4A).
Claim 22. Seery discloses perpendicular to the extension of the oblong beam the first bearing area of the first support is spaced a first distance apart from the rest and the first bearing area of the second support is spaced a second distance apart from the rest (6), wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance, such that the solar roof tile is arranged in the mounted position at its lower end inclined with respect to a plane defined by the first upper batten and the second lower batten (as shown in Figs.3C and 4A).
Claim 23. Seery discloses the first bearing area is spaced a third distance apart from an upper end of the oblong beam in the mounted position and the second bearing area is spaced a fourth distance apart from a lower end of the oblong beam in the mounted position, wherein the fourth distance is greater than the third distance, such that the oblong beam comprises an overhang section, which extends in the mounted position of the holding means in the longitudinal direction beyond the second lower batten (Fig.3C).
Claim 24. Seery discloses the oblong beam has at least in one area a C-shaped or U-shaped cross-section perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (U-shaped of 334 and 324).
Claim 25. Seery discloses the holder comprises a rib (326) extending in the mounted position adjacent to the drain channel between two neighboring solar roof tiles.
Claim 27. Seery discloses the holder comprises at least one securing element (318) for securing the solar roof tile in the mounted position in the longitudinal direction.
Claim 28. Seery discloses the at least one securing element is formed as a hook attached to the oblong beam (illustrated as 318 in Fig.4B).
Claim 29. Seery discloses the first support and/or the second support comprise at least one connection means (314) arranged in the respective first bearing area and/or the respective second bearing area to fasten the first support and/or the second support to the respective first upper batten and/or the respective second lower batten.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 18, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seery US20180351501 as applied to claims 1 and 14 above.
Claims 5 and 18. Seery is silent on the rest is formed as a rubber mat, however it
would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the
instant invention to form the rest as a rubber mat for its superior elastic properties, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claim 26. Seery is silent on the oblong beam being made at least partially from stamped and bent sheet metal and/or injection molded plastic material, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to form the material from a plastic material with the motivation to be anti-corrosive and can withstand time against the elements. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to attached NOTICE OF REFERENCE CITED.
BABAJIDE A. DEMUREN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3633
/BABAJIDE A DEMUREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633