DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: lifting mechanism in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the one linkage…and an other linkage" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is further not clear to the examiner if applicant is referring to a linkage of the bucket lift mechanism or the linkages recited in claim 3 of the lifting mechanism. The examiner suggests applicant amend the claim to provide clarity by adding the limitation of either --the one linkage of the bucket lift mechanism…and an other linkage of the bucket system-- or --the one linkage of the lift mechanism…and an other linkage of the lift mechanism-- or which ever linkage is being referred to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. CN 113492900 A.
Huang discloses a cart capable of being used as a paint cart comprising: a base (120) having wheels (110); a lifting mechanism (200 and 300) capable of holding and raising a bucket of paint thereon off the floor.
As for claim 3, Huang discloses wherein the lifting mechanism comprises a pair of linkages (312-313 and 322-323) and a connected bucket lift mechanism (311,321 and 211, 212, 220, 230).
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi KR 20170035424A.
Choi discloses a cart capable of being used as a paint cart comprising: a base (120) having wheels (121); a lifting mechanism (300) capable of holding and raising a bucket of paint thereon off the floor.
As for claim 3, Choi discloses wherein the lifting mechanism comprises a pair of linkages (310) and a connected bucket lift mechanism (100, 130).
As for claim 4, Choi discloses wherein one of the linkages comprises a user foot control (321) for raising and lowering the bucket lift mechanism.
As for claim 6, Choi discloses at least one hydraulic cylinder (320) which is capable of preventing the lifting mechanism from lowering too abruptly.
As for claim 7, Choi discloses wherein the at least one hydraulic cylinder (320) is pivotably attached (see Figure above, pivot pin attachments to the scissor leg and base) to the base (120) and the lifting mechanism (310).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. CN 113492900 A in view of Thibault US 2009/0302563.
As for claim 2, Huang discloses all the limitations as recited above but does not specify wherein a top platform attached to the base for holding tools and other materials. However, Thibault teaches a paint cart having a base (16) with wheels (28) wherein the cart is provided with a top platform (14) attached to the base (16) via supports (18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the cart of Huang to include additional supports and an upper platform as taught by Thibault in order to provide additional means for holding tools, objects and/or paint/liquids.
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. CN 113492900 A in view of Schmucker et al. US 2009/0194751.
As for claim 4, Huang discloses wherein the lifting mechanism (300) is actuated by handle (500). Huang does not disclose wherein one of the linkages comprises a user foot control for raising and lowering the bucket lift mechanism. However, the use of a foot operated linkage system is well known in the lifting art as evidence by Schmucker who teaches a foot operated lifting device wherein the lifting linkage system (10, 51) is connected to a foot control (21, 50) for actuating an arm (10) to a raised and lowered position (¶0037). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the cart of Huang to include a foot operated actuator for the lifting mechanism as taught by Schmucker in order to provide an auxiliary actuator for lifting and lowering the lifting mechanism.
As for claim 5, the modified Huang teaches wherein the connected bucket lift mechanism is pivotably attached (at 311 and 321) to a vertical member of the base (120, 130), the one linkage (312, 322) is pivotally attached to the base, and an other linkage (313, 323) is pivotably attached to the one linkage and the first connected bucket lift mechanism (311, 321).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. CN 113492900 A in view of Heberling et al. US 7018155.
As for claims 6 and 7, Huang disclose all the limitations as recited above but does not specify wherein at least one hydraulic cylinder which prevents the lifting mechanism from lowering too abruptly; wherein the at least one hydraulic cylinder is pivotably attached to the base and the lifting mechanism. However, the use of hydraulic cylinders and/or gas springs for dampening a lifting apparatus from lowering abruptly is well known in the art as evidence by Heberling who teaches a container lifter having a linkage lifting mechanism (24, 26, 28) connected to a support base (14, 60) wherein a hydraulic cylinder (64) is pivotally attached to a base (14, 60) and the lifting mechanism to prevent the lifting mechanism from lowering too abruptly (col. 7, lines 39-67 - col. 8, lines 1-7; and hydraulic system, col. 10, lines 23-24). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the cart of Huang to include a hydraulic cylinder as taught by Heberling in order to provide a means for controlling the speed at which the bucket is raised and lowered.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. CN 113492900 A in view of Schmucker et al. US 2009/0194751 as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Heberling et al. US 7018155.
As for claim 8, the modified Huang teaches all the limitations as recited above but does not specify wherein at least one hydraulic cylinder which prevents the lifting mechanism from lowering too abruptly; wherein the at least one hydraulic cylinder is pivotably attached to the base and the lifting mechanism. However, the use of hydraulic cylinders and/or gas springs for dampening a lifting apparatus from lowering abruptly is well known in the art as evidence by Heberling who teaches a container lifter having a linkage lifting mechanism (24, 26, 28) connected to a support base (14, 60) wherein a hydraulic cylinder (64) is pivotally attached to a base (14, 60) and the lifting mechanism to prevent the lifting mechanism from lowering too abruptly (col. 7, lines 39-67 - col. 8, lines 1-7; and hydraulic system, col. 10, lines 23-24). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the cart of Huang to include a hydraulic cylinder as taught by Heberling in order to provide a means for controlling the speed at which the bucket is raised and lowered.
Conclusion
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723