DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “spreading code sequence comprises a plurality of spreading code groups, each spreading code group comprises a plurality of same spreading codes and at least one guard symbol” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lakkis ‘2010 (US 2010/0309959) in view of Lakkis ‘2009 (US 2009/0279590).
Lakkis’ 2010 discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, a signal transmission method (see transmitter 302 in Fig. 3 for transmitting a signal), wherein the method comprises:
spreading a preamble symbol based on a first spreading code sequence to generate a first signal (see “spreading a preamble sequence with a Golay code” recited in paragraph [0020]), and wherein the first signal is used to determine a channel response (see “the remainder of the preamble to estimate the CIR (channel impulse response) and end of preamble” recited in paragraph [0021], wherein the preamble is spread with a Golay code as shown in paragraph [0020]); and sending the first signal to a receiver (see “receiving a data stream comprising a preamble based on Golay or generalized-Golay spreading code” recited in paragraph [0021] and see Fig. 3, wherein the preamble is spread at block 312 and sent using antenna 330 to the receiving antenna 330’).
Regarding claim 3, a signal transmission method (see transmitter 302 in Fig. 3 for transmitting a signal), wherein the method comprises:
receiving a first signal sent by a transmitter (see “receiving a data stream comprising a preamble based on Golay or generalized-Golay spreading code” recited in paragraph [0021] and see Fig. 3, wherein the preamble is spread at block 312 and sent using antenna 330 to the receiving antenna 330’), wherein the first signal is a signal generated by spreading a first spreading code sequence (see “spreading a preamble sequence with a Golay code” recited in paragraph [0020]); and determining a channel impulse response based on the first spreading code sequence and the first signal (see “the remainder of the preamble to estimate the CIR (channel impulse response) and end of preamble” recited in paragraph [0021], wherein the preamble is spread with a Golay code as shown in paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 5, a signal transmission apparatus (see wireless device 208 in Fig. 2 including transmitter 210, which may include the structure of transmitter 302 in Fig. 3), wherein the apparatus comprises:
at least one processor (see processor 204 in Fig. 2);
at least one memory (see memory 26 in Fig. 2) coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to spread a preamble symbol based on a first spreading code sequence to generate a first signal (see “spreading a preamble sequence with a Golay code” recited in paragraph [0020]), and wherein the first signal is used to determine a channel response (see “the remainder of the preamble to estimate the CIR (channel impulse response) and end of preamble” recited in paragraph [0021], wherein the preamble is spread with a Golay code as shown in paragraph [0020]); and a transmitter configured to send the first signal to a receiver (see “receiving a data stream comprising a preamble based on Golay or generalized-Golay spreading code” recited in paragraph [0021] and see Fig. 3, wherein the preamble is spread at block 312 and sent using antenna 330 to the receiving antenna 330’).
Lakkis ‘2010 does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 1, 3 and 5, wherein the first spreading code sequence comprises a plurality of spreading code groups, each spreading code group comprises a plurality of same spreading codes and at least one guard symbol, at least one of a first bit or a last bit of each spreading code group is a guard symbol and the plurality of spreading code groups comprises at least two spreading code groups with different spreading codes.
Lakkis ‘2009 discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 5, wherein the first spreading code sequence comprises a plurality of spreading code groups, each spreading code group comprises a plurality of same spreading codes (see “Spreading, at 430, may be implemented for certain aspects by performing an element-by-element multiplication (or, alternatively, an element-by-element XOR operation) of the same data burst (i.e., the same data sub-block) of size N repeated M times with each of the M spreading codes, wherein each spreading code of the original size M is repeated N/M times” recited in paragraph [0051]) and at least one guard symbol (see “At 440, spreading may be followed by appending a cyclic prefix (e.g., a copy of the last L chips of the spread sub-block, a known Golay sequence, or a guard interval) to each spread sub-block” recited in paragraph [0051]), at least one of a first bit or a last bit of each spreading code group is a guard symbol (see “At 440, spreading may be followed by appending a cyclic prefix (e.g., a copy of the last L chips of the spread sub-block, a known Golay sequence, or a guard interval) to each spread sub-block” recited in paragraph [0051], wherein the appended prefix/guard interval must be bits added to the beginning or end of the spread sub-block and thereby represents a first bit or a last bit of each spread sub-block), and the plurality of spreading code groups comprises at least two spreading code groups with different spreading codes (see “M spreading codes” recited in paragraphs [0050]-[0051]; that is, M different spreading codes are used in the spreading and each spreading code repeats N/M times).
It would have been obvious to modify the system of Lakkis ‘2010 using features, as taught by Lakkis ’2009, in order to minimize interference to other transmissions (see paragraph [0005] of Lakkis ’2009).
Claim(s) 2, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lakkis ‘2010 and Lakkis ‘2009 as applied to claims 1, 3 and 5 above, and further in view of Coon (US 2007/0140105).
Lakkis ’2010 and Lakkis ‘2009 disclose the features as shown above.
Lakkis ‘2010 does not disclose the following features: regarding claims 2, 4 and 6, wherein the guard symbol comprises a zero code.
Coon discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 2, 4 and 6, wherein the guard symbol comprises a zero code (see “a method of generating a signal for multiple access transmission comprises spreading blocks of symbols in time or frequency by applying a user-specific spreading code; and applying a guard interval in the form of a cyclic prefix (CP) or zero padding (ZP) to separate different spread blocks” recited in paragraph [0016]).
It would have been obvious to modify the system of Lakkis ‘2010 and Lakkis ‘2009 using features, as taught by Coon, in order to separate different spread blocks (see paragraph [0016] of Coon).
Conclusion
/JUTAI KAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473