DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
Prosecution on the merits of this application is reopened on claims 1-21 considered unpatentable for the reasons indicated below:
The indicated allowability of claims 1-15 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Walker et al. (EP 2491506 B1) and Brody (EP 3367900 B1). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (EP 2,491,506, cited by Applicant).
With respect to claims 1 and 18, Walker discloses: a system and associated method of operation comprising: an imaging device configured to capture an image of a subject using electromagnetic radiation (x-ray imaging system, par. [0013]), the imaging device having operating settings for controlling the imaging device (scan parameters, par. [0015, 0019]; and control logic configured to: receive subject data corresponding to the subject (parameter determiner, par. [0016]); automatically determine the operating settings based on: the subject data, wherein the subject data comprises a physical characteristic of the subject (patient information including patient demographics, pathology, future scan, scan of other patients, etc.; par. [0019]); wherein the operating settings comprise one or more of: a peak kilovoltage (kVp, par. [0015]), a tube current (mAs, par. [0015]), or an exposure time (injection rate, an injection to scan time, an injection amount, time between contrast studies, etc.; par. [0028]); and wherein the operating settings include at least one original value of the peak kilovoltage, the tube current, or the exposure time, and at least one of the operating settings is modified from the original value to a modified value, such that the subject will be exposed to less radiation after the operating settings are adjusted to the modified value (scan parameters may be changed to reduce radiation dose, par. [0025]), while still obtaining a medically useable image (reducing patient dose and optimizing image quality, par. [0020]).
Walker does not directly specify that the imaging device is further configured to generate the medically usable image of the subject using the operating settings and deactivate at least one of: an auto exposure, an Auto/automatic exposure control, an auto contrast, an auto pulse, or an auto low dose setting of the imaging device, prior to generating the image. However, Walker does disclose a device which is configured to make various changes to the scanning protocol based on dose information, including lowering the x-ray tube voltage, reducing tube current, shortening a scan length, switching to a prospectively gated technique, activate a tube-current modulation, or other dose reducing algorithm, reduce the scan field of view, etc. (par. [0025]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effectively filing date to activate/deactivate any applicable value or functionality of the device, given the teaching of Walker, in order to optimize image quality while minimizing a delivered dose to a patient.
With respect to claim 16, Walker discloses: a system and associated method of operation comprising: an imaging device configured to capture an image of a subject using electromagnetic radiation (x-ray imaging system, par. [0013]), the imaging device having operating settings for controlling the imaging device (scan parameters, par. [0015, 0019]; and control logic configured to: receive subject data corresponding to the subject (parameter determiner, par. [0016]); determine the operating settings based on: the subject data, wherein the subject data comprises a physical characteristic of the subject; a specific type of imaging procedure to be performed, a target location of the subject (patient information including patient demographics, pathology, future scan, scan of other patients, etc.; par. [0019]), wherein the operating settings comprise one or more of: a peak kilovoltage (kVp, par. [0015]), a tube current (mAs, par. [0015]), or an exposure time (injection rate, an injection to scan time, an injection amount, time between contrast studies, etc.; par. [0028]); and wherein the operating settings include at least one original value of the peak kilovoltage, the tube current, or the exposure time, and at least one of the operating settings is modified from the original value to a modified value, such that the subject will be exposed to less radiation after the operating settings are adjusted to the modified value (scan parameters may be changed to reduce radiation dose, par. [0025]), while still obtaining a medically useable image (reducing patient dose and optimizing image quality, par. [0020]).
Walker does not directly specify that the imaging device is further configured to generate the medically usable image of the subject using the operating settings and deactivate at least one of: an auto exposure, an Auto/automatic exposure control, an auto contrast, an auto pulse, or an auto low dose setting of the imaging device, prior to generating the image. However, Walker does disclose a device which is configured to make various changes to the scanning protocol based on dose information, including lowering the x-ray tube voltage, reducing tube current, shortening a scan length, switching to a prospectively gated technique, activate a tube-current modulation, or other dose reducing algorithm, reduce the scan field of view, etc. (par. [0025]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effectively filing date to activate/deactivate any applicable value or functionality of the device, given the teaching of Walker, in order to optimize image quality while minimizing a delivered dose to a patient.
With respect to claim 2, Walker discloses subject data which further comprises identification of a presence or absence of a consideration that may affect image quality (image quality based policy is based on multiple factors that can affect quality, par. [0028]).
With respect to claim 3, Walker discloses consideration of a myriad of physical factors that may be considered by the policies (par. [0087]). While Walker does not directly specify the consideration of an implant, a pin, a screw, a prosthesis, an artificial joint, or foreign matter, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to consider all relevant physical factors relating to a patient (such as patient demographics, physiology, organ radiosensitivity, etc. See Walker, par. [0087]).
With respect to claims 4 and 19, Walker discloses that the subject data is one or more of the subject's sex, height, weight, patient body type, or any combination thereof (par. [0087]).
With respect to claims 5, 17, and 20, Walker discloses transmitting the operating settings to the imaging device (see steps 418-420, par. [0049-0050], protocol is accepted and then used to scan the patient).
With respect to claim 7, Walker discloses that the control logic generates operating parameters to improve the quality of subsequent images (logging scan protocol for future imaging, par. [0034]).
With respect to claim 14, Walker discloses a user interface for a user to accept subject data, where data/settings may be entered manually (par. [0029], “automatically, semi-automatically, and/or by authorized personnel”).
With respect to claim 15, Walker discloses: a method of taking a medical image of a subject, the method comprising: providing the system of claim 1 (as addressed above); positioning the subject in order to capture the medical image (implicitly disclosed, patient placed on bed, 118, Fig. 1); and controlling operation of the system to take the medical image and reduce radiation exposure to the subject (step 420, Fig. 4; dose reduction is described in par. [0025]).
Claim(s) 6, 8-12, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker, in view of Brody (US 2017/0119331 A1, corresponds to Applicant’s citation of EP 3367900 B1).
With respect to claims 8-11 and 21, Walker does not directly specify a computer remotely located from the imaging device; and a communication link between the imaging device and the computer, wherein the control logic is in the computer, and wherein operating settings are transmitted from the computer to the imaging device using the communication link. Brody, from the same field of endeavor, discloses a system which includes a computer with control logic (any of source control modules, Fig. 1; par. [0019]), which transmit operating settings wirelessly via a communication link to a server (12) and imaging device (par. [0035], settings are necessarily received via a request). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to incorporate network functionality for communication between devices in the manner of Brody, with the device of Walker, in order to provide flexibility and connectivity from multiple devices, especially given the teaching of Walker (usage of a web-based application for personnel access to protocols, par. [0024]).
With respect to claim 12, Walker discloses a user interface for a user to accept subject data, where data/settings may be entered manually (par. [0029], “automatically, semi-automatically, and/or by authorized personnel”).
With respect to claim 6, Brody discloses automatic evaluation of an image to determine if a medically usable image was produced and if a medically usable image was not produced, the imaging device will prompt a user to adjust one or more of the operating settings in order to improve subsequent images (par. [0072-0073]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to incorporate the automatic evaluation step of Brody in the device/method of Walker, in order to properly recognize a usable image quickly and effectively without needed to perform the entire imaging process repeatedly.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker in view of Huo et al. (US 2010/0128063 A1).
With respect to claim 13, Walker does not directly specify a user interface configured to accept information identifying a brand or manufacturer of the imaging device. However, Huo discloses system for storing imaging data (abstract) which includes information relating to a manufacturer of a detector device (par. [0043]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to identify the manufacturer of the device associated with scan information in the manner of Huo in the method/device of Walker, in order to provide information relating to possible differences in operation between devices made by different manufacturers (see Huo, par. [0049]).
Conclusion
/MARK R GAWORECKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884 20 October 2026