DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 12/15/25.
Claims 1-7 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/15/25 with respect to claims 1-7 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission.
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of US Pat. 12126914 B2.
Even though instant application does not claim “the automatic exposure target value comprises a long exposure target value, a medium exposure target value and a short exposure target value, and the long exposure target value, the medium exposure target value and the short exposure target value respectively correspond to a long exposure weight value, a medium exposure weight value and a short exposure weight value; and the obtaining a compensation amount of the automatic exposure according to the evaluation value and an obtained automatic exposure target value comprises: obtaining a first compensation amount according to the long exposure target value, the long exposure weight value and the long exposure evaluation value; obtaining a second compensation amount according to the medium exposure target value, the medium exposure weight value and the medium exposure evaluation value; obtaining a third compensation amount according to the short exposure target value, the short exposure weight value and the short exposure evaluation value; and obtaining the compensation amount according to the first compensation amount, the second compensation amount and the third compensation amount, dividing an automatic exposure region into a trigger region, a buffer region and a converge region, wherein the buffer region is located between the trigger region and the converge region; a range of an exposure ratio multiple corresponding to the trigger region is less than a first exposure ratio multiple or greater than a second exposure ratio multiple; a range of an exposure ratio multiple corresponding to the buffer region is greater than the first exposure ratio multiple and less than a third exposure ratio multiple or greater than a fourth exposure ratio multiple and less than the second exposure ratio multiple; a range of an exposure ratio multiple corresponding to the converge region is greater than the third exposure ratio multiple and less than the fourth exposure ratio multiple; and the first exposure ratio multiple, the third exposure ratio multiple, the fourth exposure ratio multiple and the second exposure ratio multiple increase sequentially; and the triggering the automatic exposure when the compensation amount meets a preset trigger condition comprises: determining that the compensation amount meets the preset trigger condition when the compensation amount is located within the trigger region, and triggering the automatic exposure”, however not claiming this does not provide instant application a patentable distinction. Because lack of limitation makes the claim broad obvious variation of US Pat. 12126914 B2.
Even though US Pat. 12126914 B2 does not claim comprising: one or more processors; and a storage apparatus, configured to store one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, causing the one or more processors to perform the following steps. However, this is well known in the art as an example given in prior art shown under 103 rejection Zhao (U.S. Pub. No. 20190342511 A1) [0095]).
US Pat. 12126914 B2 also does not claim “wherein the evaluation value comprises a long exposure evaluation value, a medium exposure evaluation value and a short exposure evaluation value”. However, this is well known in the art as an example given in prior art shown under 103 rejection Zhao [0032] At block 04, the pixel unit array 31 is controlled to be exposed according to the corrected [evaluation value] long-exposure parameter, the corrected medium-exposure parameter and the corrected short-exposure parameter to output a high dynamic range image. [0035] In some embodiments, in order to ensure a uniform transition of brightness of the preview image, in an embodiment, the initial long-exposure time, the initial medium-exposure time and the initial short-exposure time should meet a condition of: initial long-exposure time/initial medium-exposure time=initial medium-exposure time/initial short-exposure time. [0036] In the related art, the high dynamic range image may be acquired by synchronously exposing the plurality of photosensitive pixels in the pixel unit array 31 with three different exposure times. However, in this way, the three different exposure times are calculated according to a histogram of the whole image Since the whole image does not has a linear brightness, calculating the three exposure times with the histogram of the whole image cannot realize a better auto exposure convergence.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine US Pat. 12126914 B2 and Zhao with predictable results. Same motivation described under Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 of this office action is applicable for combining US Pat. 12126914 B2 and Peng.
Instant Application 18/891,475
US Pat. 12126914 B2
1. A high-dynamic-range (HDR) image automatic exposure apparatus,
comprising: one or more processors; and a storage apparatus, configured to store one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, causing the one or more processors to perform the following steps:
obtaining statistical information and a window weight of automatic exposure;
obtaining an evaluation value of the automatic exposure according to the statistical information and the window weight;
obtaining a compensation amount of the automatic exposure according to the evaluation value and an obtained automatic exposure target value;
and triggering the automatic exposure when the compensation amount meets a preset trigger condition;
wherein the evaluation value comprises a long exposure evaluation value, a medium exposure evaluation value and a short exposure evaluation value.
1. A high-dynamic-range (HDR) image automatic exposure method,
applied to an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), the method comprising:
obtaining statistical information and a window weight of automatic exposure;
obtaining an evaluation value of the automatic exposure according to the statistical information and the window weight;
obtaining a compensation amount of the automatic exposure according to the evaluation value and an obtained automatic exposure target value;
and triggering the automatic exposure when the compensation amount meets a preset trigger condition;
the automatic exposure target value comprises a long exposure target value, a medium exposure target value and a short exposure target value,
and the long exposure target value, the medium exposure target value and the short exposure target value respectively correspond to a long exposure weight value, a medium exposure weight value and a short exposure weight value; and the obtaining a compensation amount of the automatic exposure according to the evaluation value and an obtained automatic exposure target value comprises: obtaining a first compensation amount according to the long exposure target value, the long exposure weight value and the long exposure evaluation value; obtaining a second compensation amount according to the medium exposure target value, the medium exposure weight value and the medium exposure evaluation value; obtaining a third compensation amount according to the short exposure target value, the short exposure weight value and the short exposure evaluation value; and obtaining the compensation amount according to the first compensation amount, the second compensation amount and the third compensation amount, dividing an automatic exposure region into a trigger region, a buffer region and a converge region, wherein the buffer region is located between the trigger region and the converge region; a range of an exposure ratio multiple corresponding to the trigger region is less than a first exposure ratio multiple or greater than a second exposure ratio multiple; a range of an exposure ratio multiple corresponding to the buffer region is greater than the first exposure ratio multiple and less than a third exposure ratio multiple or greater than a fourth exposure ratio multiple and less than the second exposure ratio multiple; a range of an exposure ratio multiple corresponding to the converge region is greater than the third exposure ratio multiple and less than the fourth exposure ratio multiple; and the first exposure ratio multiple, the third exposure ratio multiple, the fourth exposure ratio multiple and the second exposure ratio multiple increase sequentially; and the triggering the automatic exposure when the compensation amount meets a preset trigger condition comprises: determining that the compensation amount meets the preset trigger condition when the compensation amount is located within the trigger region, and triggering the automatic exposure.
9. Limitations of remaining claims of instant application are obvious over US Pat. 12126914 B2 in view of prior art discussed under Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 of this office action. Same motivation described under Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 of this office action is applicable for combining US Pat. 12126914 B2 and stated prior arts. Please note 35 U.S.C. 101 allows only one patent from one patent application or invention. In that aspect all dependent claims of instant application are obvious variation of independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (U.S. Pub. No. 20150009355 A1), in view of Mcelvain (U.S. Pub. No. 20210243352 A 1), further in view of Zhao (U.S. Pub. No. 20190342511 A1).
Regarding to claim 1:
1. Peng teach a high-dynamic-range (HDR) image automatic exposure apparatus, comprising: (Peng [0035] FIG. 4 is a block diagram of a motion adaptive CMOS imaging system 40 according to an embodiment of the invention. The motion adaptive CMOS imaging system 40 comprises a lens 400, pixel arrays (image sensing arrays) 410A and 410B, an image processor 420, auto exposure control units 430A and 430B and an auto focus control unit 440. The image processor 420 comprises processing units 421A and 421B, exposure statistics modules 422A and 422B, a focus statistics module 423, a contrast enhancement module 424, a motion detector 425 and a HDR image generator.)
one or more processors; and a storage apparatus, configured to store one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, causing the one or more processors to perform the following steps: (Peng [0055] Methods and apparatus of the present disclosure, or certain aspects or portions of embodiments thereof, may take the form of a program code (i.e., instructions) embodied in non-transitory storage media, such as floppy diskettes, CD-ROMS, hard drives, firmware, or any other machine-readable storage medium, wherein, when the program code is loaded into and executed by a machine, such as a computer, the machine becomes an apparatus for practicing embodiments of the disclosure. When implemented on a general-purpose processor, the program code combines with the processor to provide a unique apparatus that operates analogously to specific logic circuits.)
obtaining statistical information and a window weight (Peng FIG. 1 [0018] FIG. 2B is a block diagram of an exemplary weighting set applied to the multi-window image in FIG. 2A; [0006] FIG. 2B is a block diagram of an exemplary weighting set IMG2 applied to the multi-window image in FIG. 2A. The exposure statistics module 122 multiplies pixel values of pixels in a window by the weighting corresponding to the window and accumulates the multiplied pixel values to obtain window exposure statistics for the window) of automatic exposure; (Peng [0033] FIG. 3 Then, in step S330, an auto exposure control process is performed according to the motion index of each pixel, the first image data D(EV1) and the second image data D(EV2) to adjust the first exposure value EV1 and the second exposure value EV2.) obtaining an evaluation value of the automatic exposure (Peng [0056] In one embodiment, the invention provides a computer program product embodied in a non-transitory storage medium and loaded by an electronic apparatus to execute a motion adaptive imaging control method applied to a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) imaging system. The computer program product comprises: a first code, obtaining a first image data of a scene corresponding to a first exposure value and a second image data of the scene corresponding to a second exposure value, wherein the first exposure value is larger than the second exposure value; a second code, determining a motion index of each pixel of a high dynamic range (HDR) image data according to a pixel value difference between a first pixel value of a corresponding pixel of the first image data and a second pixel value of a corresponding pixel of the second image data; and a third code, performing an auto exposure control process, an auto focus control process and a contrast enhancement process according to the motion index of each pixel, the first image data and the second image data. [0057] The computer program product further comprises: a fourth code, collecting first exposure statistics ES1 of the first image data and second exposure statistics ES2 of the second image data according to ES 1 = x = 1 N j .di-elect cons. WDx Wx .times. M i , j .times. P i , j 1 x = 1 N i , j .di-elect cons. WDx M i , j and ##EQU00008## ES 2 = x = 1 N i , j .di-elect cons. WDx Wx .times. M i , j .times. P i , j 2 x = 1 N i , j .di-elect cons. WDx M i , j , ##EQU00008.2## respectively, wherein the first image data and the second image data are divided into N windows, Wx denotes a weighting corresponding to a window WDx, M.sub.i,j denotes a motion index of a pixel P.sub.i,j of the HDR image data, P.sup.1.sub.i,j denotes a pixel value of the first image data and P.sup.2.sub.i,j denotes a pixel value of the second image data; and a fifth code, performing the auto exposure control process based on the first exposure statistics ES1 and the second exposure statistics ES2 to adjust the first exposure value and the second exposure value) according to the statistical information and the window weight; (Peng [0046] FIG. 9A Each multiplier multiplies the motion adaptive window exposure statistics by the corresponding weighting. The summation module 930 sums up all the multiplied motion adaptive window exposure statistics. Then, the sum of all the multiplied motion adaptive window exposure statistics is divided by a weighting sum SW by the divider 940 to generate the exposure statistics. FIG. 9B is a block diagram of an exposure statistics sub-module 910-x for a window WDx in the exposure statistics module 422_1 in FIG. 9A)
obtaining a compensation amount of the automatic exposure (Peng [0033] FIG. 3 Then, in step S330, an auto exposure control process is performed according to the motion index of each pixel, the first image data D(EV1) and the second image data D(EV2) to adjust the first exposure value EV1 and the second exposure value EV2.) according to the evaluation value (Peng [0049] Referring back to FIG. 4, the focus statistics module 423 applies the motion index of each pixel of the HDR image data to an auto focus evaluation function to collect focus statistics of the HDR image data. Then, the auto focus control unit 440 performs the auto focus control process based on the focus statistics received from the focus statistics module 423 to adjust the focal length of the lens 400. Take a Laplacian evaluation function as an example, Laplacian operator calculates the image data through the second order differential operation as the following template:( - 1 - 4 - 1 - 4 20 - 4 - 1 - 4 - 1 ) . ##EQU00005## [0050] The motion index of each pixel is applied to the Laplacian evaluation function to obtain a motion adaptive Laplacian evaluation function f'(k). [0059] The computer program product may further comprise: a seventh code, applying the motion index of each pixel of the HDR image data to an auto focus evaluation function to perform the auto focus control process; an eighth code, multiplying a pixel value of each pixel of the HDR image data by the corresponding motion index to obtain a motion adaptive HDR image data; and a ninth code, performing the contrast enhancement process based on the motion adaptive HDR image data.)
Peng do not explicitly teach and an obtained automatic exposure target value; and triggering the automatic exposure when the compensation amount meets a preset trigger condition; wherein the evaluation value comprises a long exposure evaluation value, a medium exposure evaluation value and a short exposure evaluation value.
However Mcelvain teach and an obtained automatic exposure target value; (Mcelvain [0014] FIG. 4 illustrates an exposure time controller for auto exposure of an SME HDR image sensor based at least in part upon evaluation of a goodness metric [target value] derived from an HDR histogram synthesized from long-exposure pixel values and short-exposure pixel values from the SME HDR image sensor, according to an embodiment.) and triggering the automatic exposure when the compensation amount meets a preset trigger condition. (Mcelvain [0240] deriving a goodness metric from the HDR histogram, (V) adjusting [compensation amount] at least one of the long exposure time and the short exposure time [meets a preset, based at least in part upon the goodness metric [trigger], and (VI) outputting the at least one of the long exposure time and the short exposure time, as adjusted, to the SME HDR image sensor. [0241] (A2) In the auto exposure [trigger] method denoted as (A1), the goodness metric may include an entropy metric. [0242] (A3) In the auto exposure method denoted as (A2), the goodness metric may include a variance, across the HDR histogram, of contribution from individual bins of the HDR histogram to total entropy of the HDR histogram)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Peng, further incorporating Mcelvain in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate an obtained automatic exposure target value; and triggering the automatic exposure when the compensation amount meets a preset trigger condition. This functionality will improve efficiency with predictable results.
Mcelvain [0061] Referring again to FIGS. 1 and 2, exposure time controller 100 is configured to determine values for long exposure time 292 and short exposure time 294 that best capture the signal in luminance histogram 300. Thus, exposure time controller 100 may adjust both position and extent of high dynamic range 320 to best capture the dynamic range of scene 190. The combined teaching of Peng and Mcelvain do not explicitly teach wherein the evaluation value comprises a long exposure evaluation value, a medium exposure evaluation value and a short exposure evaluation value.
However Zhao teach wherein the evaluation value comprises a long exposure evaluation value, a medium exposure evaluation value and a short exposure evaluation value. (Zhao [0032] At block 04, the pixel unit array 31 is controlled to be exposed according to the corrected [evaluation value] long-exposure parameter, the corrected medium-exposure parameter and the corrected short-exposure parameter to output a high dynamic range image. [0035] In some embodiments, in order to ensure a uniform transition of brightness of the preview image, in an embodiment, the initial long-exposure time, the initial medium-exposure time and the initial short-exposure time should meet a condition of: initial long-exposure time/initial medium-exposure time=initial medium-exposure time/initial short-exposure time. [0036] In the related art, the high dynamic range image may be acquired by synchronously exposing the plurality of photosensitive pixels in the pixel unit array 31 with three different exposure times. However, in this way, the three different exposure times are calculated according to a histogram of the whole image Since the whole image does not has a linear brightness, calculating the three exposure times with the histogram of the whole image cannot realize a better auto exposure convergence)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Peng, further incorporating Mcelvain and Zhao in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the evaluation value comprises a long exposure evaluation value, a medium exposure evaluation value and a short exposure evaluation value. This functionality will improve quality with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 2:
2. Peng teach the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: obtain, according to an exposure ratio multiple, (Peng [0048] FIG. 10A The multiplier 1018-x multiples the weighting Wx by the motion weighting for the window WDx to generate the motion adaptive weighting W'x for the window WDx. Take the exposure statistics ES1 of an example, the exposure statistics ES1 is collected by the exposure statistics module 422_2 according to:
Above equation has both ratio and multiple related to exposure)
weight ratios of window weights corresponding to statistical values in statistical information of a plurality of times of exposure to a total window weight respectively; and multiply the statistical values by the corresponding weight ratios, (Peng [0048] equation has cumulative sum calculated as total window weight. [0006] After that, the exposure statistics module 122 sums up window exposure statistics of all the windows to obtain the exposure statistics of the image IMG1. For example, pixel values of pixels in the window WD7 are multiplied by 0.5 and pixel values of pixels in the window WD13 are multiplied by 1. After that, the auto exposure control unit 130 receives the exposure statistics from the exposure statistics module 122 and then performs the auto exposure control process to adjust the exposure value of the pixel array 110 when capturing images based on the exposure statistics)
to obtain the evaluation value of the automatic exposure. (Peng [0056] In one embodiment, the invention provides a computer program product embodied in a non-transitory storage medium and loaded by an electronic apparatus to execute a motion adaptive imaging control method applied to a complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) imaging system. The computer program product comprises: a first code, obtaining a first image data of a scene corresponding to a first exposure value and a second image data of the scene corresponding to a second exposure value, wherein the first exposure value is larger than the second exposure value; a second code, determining a motion index of each pixel of a high dynamic range (HDR) image data according to a pixel value difference between a first pixel value of a corresponding pixel of the first image data and a second pixel value of a corresponding pixel of the second image data; and a third code, performing an auto exposure control process, an auto focus control process and a contrast enhancement process according to the motion index of each pixel, the first image data and the second image data. [0057] The computer program product further comprises: a fourth code, collecting first exposure statistics ES1 of the first image data and second exposure statistics ES2 of the second image data according to ES 1 = x = 1 N j .di-elect cons. WDx Wx .times. M i , j .times. P i , j 1 x = 1 N i , j .di-elect cons. WDx M i , j and ##EQU00008## ES 2 = x = 1 N i , j .di-elect cons. WDx Wx .times. M i , j .times. P i , j 2 x = 1 N i , j .di-elect cons. WDx M i , j , ##EQU00008.2## respectively, wherein the first image data and the second image data are divided into N windows, Wx denotes a weighting corresponding to a window WDx, M.sub.i,j denotes a motion index of a pixel P.sub.i,j of the HDR image data, P.sup.1.sub.i,j denotes a pixel value of the first image data and P.sup.2.sub.i,j denotes a pixel value of the second image data; and a fifth code, performing the auto exposure control process based on the first exposure statistics ES1 and the second exposure statistics ES2 to adjust the first exposure value and the second exposure value)
Regarding to claim 3:
3. Peng teach the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the statistical information comprises exposure correspond to a same window weight table, and the window weight table comprises the window weights. (Peng [0006] The exposure statistics module 122 uses exposure metering to collect exposure statistics of image data captured by the pixel array 110. FIG. 2A is a block diagram of a multi-window image IMG1 used in the exposure metering. The image IMG1 captured by the pixel array 110 is divided into rows and columns of windows WD1.about.WD25. Each window comprises at least one pixel. FIG. 2B is a block diagram of an exemplary weighting set IMG2 applied to the multi-window image in FIG. 2A. The exposure statistics module 122 multiplies pixel values of pixels in a window by the weighting corresponding to the window and accumulates the multiplied pixel values to obtain window exposure statistics for the window. After that, the exposure statistics module 122 sums up window exposure statistics of all the windows to obtain the exposure statistics of the image IMG1. For example, pixel values of pixels in the window WD7 are multiplied by 0.5 and pixel values of pixels in the window WD13 are multiplied by 1. After that, the auto exposure control unit 130 receives the exposure statistics from the exposure statistics module 122 and then performs the auto exposure control process to adjust the exposure value of the pixel array 110 when capturing images based on the exposure statistics. Sane table with weight can be applicable to different exposure)
Peng do not explicitly teach wherein the statistical information comprises long exposure statistical information, medium exposure statistical information and short exposure statistical information; and the long exposure statistical information, the medium exposure statistical information and the short exposure statistical information.
However Mcelvain teach wherein the statistical information comprises long exposure statistical information, medium exposure statistical information and short exposure statistical information; and the long exposure statistical information, the medium exposure statistical information and the short exposure statistical information. (Mcelvain [0076] In a step 540, method 500 derives a goodness metric from the HDR histogram synthesized in step 530. The goodness metric may be based upon one or more parameters such as (a) the number of pixels overexposed or underexposed in the HDR histogram, (b) the number of pixels clipped at the lower and/or upper end of the HDR histogram, (c) statistical parameters of the HDR histogram, e.g., mean, weighted mean, or median, (d) the total entropy computed from the histogram, e.g., S.sub.total=−Σp.sub.i log.sub.2 (p.sub.i), wherein p.sub.i is a relative count in the i′th bin of the HDR histogram and the summation is over all bins i of the HDR histogram, (e) a weighted version of the total entropy S.sub.total, (f) entropy S.sub.noise due to noise, (g) useful entropy determined as F=S.sub.total−S.sub.noise, (h) variance across the HDR histogram of the contribution of individual bins to the total entropy, e.g., Var(S.sub.i), wherein S.sub.i=−p.sub.i log.sub.2(p.sub.i), and (i) a transition-point noise discrepancy defined herein as the noise discrepancy between long-exposure pixel values and short-exposure pixel values at the transition point between use of long-exposure pixel values and short-exposure pixel values in HDR image generation of an HDR image from image data captured by the SME HDR image sensor. Same algorithm can be applicable for medium exposure because [0063] In one implementation, exposure time controller 100 optimizes exposure time set 290 through an iterative process. In this iterative process, exposure time controller performs multiple iterations of (a) retrieving a frame of raw image data 280 from SME HDR image sensor 110, (b) adjusting one or both of long exposure time 292 and short exposure time 294 based upon long-exposure pixel values 282 and short-exposure pixel values 284, and (c) communicating an adjusted exposure time step 290 to SME HDR image sensor 110. Each subsequent iteration is based on raw image data 280 captured according to adjusted exposure time set 290 received in the preceding iteration. In another implementation, exposure time controller 100 optimizes exposure time set 290 in a non-iterative manner based upon analysis of raw image data 280 from several different frames, each captured using a different exposure time set 290.)
Allowable subject matter
Regarding to claim 4-7:
Claims 4-7 is/are allowed because prior art do not teach previous claim 4. So, no rejection under 103 is placed. These claims can be allowed after terminal disclaimer is filled.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896