Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 145, 170, and 530. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
in [0095], plate should be reference number 235, not 230;
in [0130] to [0134], faceplate 235 should be plate 235;
and in [0134], cover should be reference number 300, not 330 and 305.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 16 objected to because of the following informalities: "a flange disposed between within the internal volume" should be "a flange disposed within the internal volume". Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4, 9, and 18 objected to because of the following informalities: "the first extension and the second extension are configured form a channel in the closed position" should be "the first extension and the second extension are configured to form a channel in the closed position". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 13, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 7, 13, and 15, the phrase "substantially" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Korcz (US 20100108374 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Korcz teaches in figure 5 an in-use cover (10) for an electrical device (20), the cover comprising:
a base having an internal volume (14), the base including:
an upper cavity (wherein sidewalls 44 of the base 14 create an inner chamber), and
an extension ring (12) coupled to the upper cavity (wherein coupling members 38 on ring 12 connect with recesses 54 on base 14),
wherein the upper cavity and the extension ring are integrally formed from a unitary piece ([0043]); wherein base 14 and ring 12 can be one piece integrally molded);
a lid (16) pivotably connected to the base (pivot pins 64 connect with apertures 108), the lid movable between an open position that at least partially exposes the electrical device and a closed position that is configured to enclose the electrical device in the internal volume ([0018]; wherein the cover pivots open and closed).
Regarding claim 4, Korcz teaches the cover (10), further comprising a first extension (112) extending from the lid and a second extension ([0046]; formed by bottom wall 80 with sidewalls 78) extending from the base, wherein in the closed position, the first extension and the second extension are configured form a channel in the closed position ([0050]; an outer chamber 70 is formed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 6, 8, 9, 11-13, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korcz (US 20100108374 A1) in view of Jolly (US 20150083485 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Korcz teaches in figure 5 a cover (10), further comprising a flange (32 and 34).
Korcz does not teach a flange disposed within the internal volume between the upper cavity and the extension ring, wherein the electrical device is configured to be secured to the flange.
However, Jolly teaches in figure 2B a flange (220) disposed within the internal volume between the upper cavity (formed by walls 210) and the extension ring (111), wherein the electrical device (140) is configured to be secured to the flange ([0011]; wherein the device is secured to the base).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flange of Korcz to be disposed within the internal volume and be secured to the electrical device in order to decrease the amount of connection components not formed integrally with the base, for connecting to the electrical box or other components (Jolly [0017]).
Regarding claim 3, Korcz teaches in figure 5 a flange (32 and 34) and a cover (10) with interior volume, capable of an open and closed position ([0018]) for mating and connecting an electrical plug (22) to an electrical device (20; [0040], wherein the internal volume accommodates plugs).
Korcz does not teach a cover wherein in the closed position, a distance between the flange and an interior surface of the cover within the internal volume is a first distance, wherein the first distance is configured to be less than a combined height of a head and electrical contacts of an electrical plug to limit disconnection of the electrical plug from the electrical device in the closed position.
However, Jolly teaches in figure 1 a cover (100) wherein in the closed position, a distance between the flange (220) and an interior surface of the cover within the internal volume is a first distance (D3, or the difference between D1 and D2), wherein the first distance is configured to be less than a combined height of a head and electrical contacts of an electrical plug (30) to limit disconnection of the electrical plug from the electrical device (140) in the closed position ([0014]; wherein the plug is mated to the electrical device when the cover is closed, and D3 being less than D2 prevents disconnection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Korcz to have the distance between the flange and interior surface cover be less than the plug dimensions, in order to allow the plug to be sufficiently mated with the electrical device when the cover is closed (Jolly [0014]).
Regarding claim 6, Korcz teaches in figure 5 a cover (10), wherein the base (14) includes a first hinge portion (64) and the lid (16) includes a second hinge portion (108) configured to permit the lid to rotate relative to the base ([0050]; wherein the lid can pivot relative to the base).
Korcz does not teach a pin is received through the first hinge portion and the second hinge portion.
However, Jolly teaches in figure 1B a pin (130) is received through the first hinge portion (230) and the second hinge portion (128).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hinge of Korcz to include a pin received through the base and lid, in order to allow the method of rotation of the cover to be removable, made of different material, or structured to be more secure (Jolly [0026]).
Regarding claim 8, Korcz teaches in figure 5 an electrical enclosure (cover 10 with box 18) for housing an electrical device (20), the electrical enclosure comprising:
an in-use cover (10) including:
a base (14) having an internal volume, the base including:
an upper cavity (wherein sidewalls 44 of the base 14 create an inner chamber),
an extension ring (12) coupled to the upper cavity (wherein coupling members 38 on ring 12 connect with recesses 54 on base 14),
a flange (32 and 34),
wherein the upper cavity and the extension ring are integrally formed from a unitary piece ([0043]); wherein base 14 and ring 12 can be one piece integrally molded);
a lid (16) pivotably connected to the base (pivot pins 64 connect with apertures 108), the lid movable between an open position that at least partially exposes the internal volume and a closed position that is configured to enclose the internal volume ([0018]; wherein the cover pivots open and closed);
an electrical box (18) coupled to the extension ring (12) and configured to expand the internal volume ([0035]; wherein 12 and 18 are coupled together and have open volumes);
Korcz does not teach a flange disposed between within the internal volume between the upper cavity and the extension ring.
However, Jolly teaches in figure 2B a flange (220) disposed between within the internal volume between the upper cavity (formed by walls 210) and the extension ring (111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flange of Korcz to be disposed between the upper cavity and extension ring in order to decrease the amount of connection components not formed integrally with the base, for connecting to the electrical box or other components (Jolly [0017]).
Regarding claim 9, Korcz teaches in figure 5 an electrical enclosure (10 with 18) with a first extension (112) extending from the lid (16) and a second extension (bottom wall 80 with sidewalls 78) extending from the base (14), wherein in the closed position, the first extension and the second extension are configured form a channel in the closed position ([0050]; wherein the extensions form a chamber 70 in the closed position).
Regarding claim 11, Korcz teaches in figure 5 an electrical enclosure (cover 10 with box 18), wherein a flange (32 and 34) extends around an entire perimeter of the base ([0038]; the flange extends around the perimeter of 14) and includes a central opening (30) configured to receive the electrical device ([0036]; 30 receives 20).
Korcz does not teach the flange includes at least one opening configured to receive a fastening member for securing the electrical device within the central opening.
However, Jolly teaches in figure 4 a flange (220) includes at least one opening (222) configured to receive a fastening member (150) for securing the electrical device (140) within the central opening ([0022]; connectors 150 secure the structure 400 with device 140 in the opening 412).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flange of Korcz to include an opening and fastening methods to secure the electrical device, in order to allow the sufficient attachment of the cover assembly to the wall and provide stability to the device (Jolly [00222]).
Regarding claim 12, Korcz teaches in figure 5 an electrical enclosure (10 with 18) with a flange (32 and 34) and a cover (10) with interior volume, capable of an open and closed position ([0018]) for mating and connecting an electrical plug (22) to an electrical device (20; [0040], wherein the internal volume accommodates plugs).
Korcz does not teach a cover wherein in the closed position, a distance between the flange and an interior surface of the cover within the internal volume is a first distance, wherein the first distance is configured to be less than a combined height of a head and electrical contacts of an electrical plug to limit disconnection of the electrical plug from the electrical device in the closed position.
However, Jolly teaches in figure 1 a cover (100) wherein in the closed position, a distance between the flange (220) and an interior surface of the cover within the internal volume is a first distance (D3, or the difference between D1 and D2), wherein the first distance is configured to be less than a combined height of a head and electrical contacts of an electrical plug (30) to limit disconnection of the electrical plug from the electrical device (140) in the closed position ([0014]; wherein the plug is mated to the electrical device when the cover is closed, and D3 being less than D2 prevents disconnection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Korcz to have the distance between the flange and interior surface cover be less than the plug dimensions, in order to allow the plug to be sufficiently mated with the electrical device when the cover is closed (Jolly [0014]).
Regarding claim 13, Korcz teaches in figure 5 an electrical enclosure (10 with 18) with a base (14) and an electrical box (18), connected to be water-tight ([0035]; weatherproof seal).
Korcz does not teach the base and the electrical box are connected together with a snap fit.
However, Jolly teaches in figure 1B the base (110) and the electrical box (10) are connected together with a snap fit ([0017]; wherein the base and box are connected by connectors 150 through an opening, such as in a snap fit configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base and box connection of Korcz to be a snap fit connection, in order to make a cover assembly that protects the internal components from environmental contamination (Jolly [0002]).
Regarding claim 16, Korcz teaches in figure 5 an electrical system (cover assembly 10 with device 20 and box 18) comprising:
an in-use cover (10) including:
a base (14) having an internal volume, the base including:
an upper cavity (wherein sidewalls 44 of the base 14 create an inner chamber),
an extension ring coupled to the upper cavity (wherein coupling members 38 on ring 12 connect with recesses 54 on base 14),
a flange (32 and 34),
wherein the upper cavity and the extension ring are integrally formed from a unitary piece ([0043]); wherein base 14 and ring 12 can be one piece integrally molded);
a lid (16) pivotably connected to the base (pivot pins 64 connect with apertures 108), the lid movable between an open position that at least partially exposes the internal volume and a closed position that is configured to enclose the internal volume ([0018]; wherein the cover pivots open and closed);
an electrical box (18) coupled to the extension ring (12) and configured to expand the internal volume ([0035]; wherein 12 and 18 are coupled together and have open volumes);
an electrical device (20) coupled to the flange (opening 30 in 32 and 34 receives electrical device 20) and accessible within the upper cavity, the electrical device (20) extending toward the electrical box (18) ([0018]; device is accessible and within the upper cavity and towards box).
Korcz does not teach a flange disposed between within the internal volume between the upper cavity and the extension ring and an extension ring provides clearance between the electrical device and a surface of the electrical box.
However, Jolly teaches a flange (Figure 2B; 220) disposed between within the internal volume between the upper cavity (formed by walls 210) and the extension ring (111), and an extension ring provides clearance between the electrical device (140) and a surface of the electrical box (10; [0021]; wherein the electrical device is positioned at a sufficient distance from surface of the box).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flange of Korcz to be disposed between the upper cavity and extension ring, in order to decrease the amount of connection components not formed integrally with the base, for connecting to the electrical box or other components (Jolly [0017]), and to ensure a clearance between the electrical device and box, in order to provide space for attachments to the device like wires (Jolly [0021]).
Regarding claim 17, Korcz teaches in figure 5 an electrical system (10 with 18 and 20) that includes a flange (32 and 34), base (14), and electrical device (20).
Korcz does not teach an electrical system, further comprising a faceplate configured to receive the electrical device, wherein the faceplate is directly coupled to the flange and supports the electrical device within the base.
However, Jolly teaches an electrical system (100 with 10), further comprising a faceplate (430) configured to receive the electrical device ([0020]; insert 420 includes the device 140 configured with the faceplate), wherein the faceplate is directly coupled to the flange ([0022]; 430 has openings 432 lined up with openings 222 in flange 220 to connect with connectors 150) and supports the electrical device within the base ([0020]; structure 400 with the device is included in the base 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical system of Korcz to include a faceplate, in order to provide further protection to the flange and system and provide a more secure connection to the electrical box.
Regarding claim 18, Korcz teaches in figure 5 an electrical system (10 with 18 and 20), further comprising a first extension (112) extending from the lid (16) and a second extension (bottom wall 80 with sidewalls 78) extending from the base (14), wherein in the closed position, the first extension and the second extension are configured form a channel in the closed position ([0050]; wherein the extensions form a chamber 70 in the closed position).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korcz (US 20100108374 A1) in view of Chavan (US 20210159681 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Korcz teaches a cover (10), further comprising a blocking portion (74) positioned within the first extension (112) and/or the second extension (80 with 78) and configured to limit liquid from entering the channel ([0010] wherein the chamber protects the cover assembly from water and dirt).
Korcz does not teach a shape of the blocking portion is configured to change to accommodate an electrical cord.
However, Chavan teaches a shape of the blocking portion (84a) is configured to change to accommodate an electrical cord ([0053]; 84a is a flexible material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blocking portions of Korcz to change, in order to accommodate electrical cords and other attachments while still providing blocking protection (Chavan [0053]).
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korcz (US 20100108374 A1) in view of Jolly (US 20150083485 A1), as applied to claims 2, 3, 6, 8, 9, 11-13, and 16-18 above, and further in view of Chavan (US 20210159681 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Korcz teaches an electrical enclosure (10 with 18), further comprising a blocking portion (74) positioned within the first extension (112) and/or the second extension (80 with 78) and configured to limit liquid from entering the channel ([0010] wherein the chamber protects the cover assembly from water and dirt).
Korcz does not teach a shape of the blocking portion is configured to change to accommodate an electrical cord.
However, Chavan teaches a shape of the blocking portion (84a) is configured to change to accommodate an electrical cord ([0053]; 84a is a flexible material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blocking portions of Korcz to change, in order to accommodate electrical cords and other attachments while still providing blocking protection (Chavan [0053]).
Regarding claim 19, Korcz teaches an electrical system (10 with 18 and 20), further comprising a blocking portion (74) positioned within the first extension (112) and/or the second extension (80 with 78) and configured to limit liquid from entering the channel ([0010] wherein the chamber protects the cover assembly from water and dirt).
Korcz does not teach a shape of the blocking portion is configured to change to accommodate an electrical cord.
However, Chavan teaches a shape of the blocking portion (84a) is configured to change to accommodate an electrical cord ([0053]; 84a is a flexible material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the blocking portions of Korcz to change, in order to accommodate electrical cords and other attachments while still providing blocking protection (Chavan [0053]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korcz (US 20100108374 A1) in view of Shotey (US 7598453 B1).
Regarding claim 7, Korcz teaches in figure 5 a cover (10), wherein the lid (16) includes a connection region (108) configured to connect to the base (pivot pins 64 on base 14) and permit rotation about an axis ([0050]; wherein the lid can pivot relative to the base).
Korcz does not teach the lid includes a first connection region and a second connection region, the first connection region configured to connect to the base and permit rotation about a first axis and the second connection region configured to connect to the base and permit rotation about a second axis substantially perpendicular with respect to the first axis.
However, Shotey teaches in figure 14B the lid (4) includes a first connection region (lid hinge member 21) and a second connection region (lid hinge member 23), the first connection region configured to connect to the base (at base hinge member 25 on base 12) and permit rotation about a first axis and the second connection region configured to connect to the base (at base hinge member 27 on base 12) and permit rotation about a second axis substantially perpendicular with respect to the first axis (Col. 9, lines 38-42, wherein each connection portion pivots about an axis; Col. 2, lines 45-47, wherein the two pivot axes are perpendicular).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pivot method of Korcz to include two pivot connection regions, in order to allow either vertical or horizontal mounting in the installation of the cover (Shotey Col. 3, lines 1-8).
Claim(s) 14, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korcz (US 20100108374 A1) in view of Jolly (US 20150083485 A1), as applied to claims 2, 3, 6, 8, 9, 11-13, and 16-18 above, and further in view of Shotey (US 7598453 B1).
Regarding claim 14, Korcz teaches in figure 5 an electrical enclosure wherein the base (14) includes a first hinge portion (64) and the lid (16) includes a second hinge portion (108) configured to permit the lid to rotate relative to the base ([0050]; wherein the lid can pivot relative to the base) .
Korcz does not teach a pin is received through the first hinge portion and the second hinge portion, and wherein the lid is biased toward the base and is configured to automatically snap-fit with the base when it is released from an open position.
However, Shotey teaches in figure 14B a pin (50) is received through the first hinge portion (21 and 25) and the second hinge portion (23 and 27), and wherein the lid is biased toward the base (Col. 15, lines 65-67 and Col. 16, lines 1-3; wherein the hinge portions can be spring biased to close on the base) and is configured to automatically snap-fit with the base when it is released from an open position (Col. 7, lines 42-44; wherein the lid may be releasably held in a closed position over the base by a latching mechanism known in the art, like snap fit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hinge of Korcz to include a pin received through the base and lid, in order to allow the method of rotation of the cover to be removable, made of different material, or structured to be more secure (Jolly [0026]), and the hinge to be biased toward to base with a snap fit, in order to tightly seal the electrical device in the cover in the closed position (Shotey Col. 2, lines 4-8).
Regarding claim 15, Korcz teaches in figure 5 a cover (10), wherein the lid (16) includes a connection region (108) configured to connect to the base (pivot pins 64 on base 14) and permit rotation about an axis ([0050]; wherein the lid can pivot relative to the base).
Korcz does not teach the lid includes a first connection region and a second connection region, the first connection region configured to connect to the base and permit rotation about a first axis and the second connection region configured to connect to the base and permit rotation about a second axis substantially perpendicular with respect to the first axis.
However, Shotey teaches in figure 14B the lid (4) includes a first connection region (lid hinge member 21) and a second connection region (lid hinge member 23), the first connection region configured to connect to the base (at base hinge member 25 on base 12) and permit rotation about a first axis and the second connection region configured to connect to the base (at base hinge member 27 on base 12) and permit rotation about a second axis substantially perpendicular with respect to the first axis (Col. 9, lines 38-42, wherein each connection portion pivots about an axis; Col. 2, lines 45-47, wherein the two pivot axes are perpendicular).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pivot method of Korcz to include two pivot connection regions, in order to allow either vertical or horizontal mounting in the installation of the cover (Shotey Col. 3, lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 20, Korcz teaches in figure 5 an electrical system (10 with 18 and 20) wherein the base (14) includes a first hinge portion (64) and the lid (16) includes a second hinge portion (108) configured to permit the lid to rotate relative to the base ([0050]; wherein the lid can pivot relative to the base) .
Korcz does not teach a pin is received through the first hinge portion and the second hinge portion, and wherein the lid is biased toward the base and is configured to automatically snap-fit with the base when it is released from an open position.
However, Shotey teaches in figure 14B a pin (50) is received through the first hinge portion (21 and 25) and the second hinge portion (23 and 27), and wherein the lid is biased toward the base (Col. 15, lines 65-67 and Col. 16, lines 1-3; wherein the hinge portions can be spring biased to close on the base) and is configured to automatically snap-fit with the base when it is released from an open position (Col. 7, lines 42-44; wherein the lid may be releasably held in a closed position over the base by a latching mechanism known in the art, like snap fit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hinge of Korcz to include a pin received through the base and lid, in order to allow the method of rotation of the cover to be removable, made of different material, or structured to be more secure (Jolly [0026]), and the hinge to be biased toward to base with a snap fit, in order to tightly seal the electrical device in the cover in the closed position (Shotey Col. 2, lines 4-8).
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Johnson (US 7410372 B2), Stark (US 5773760 A), and Mortun (US 20200112154 A1).
Johnson teaches a cover assembly attached to an electrical box with a base, flange, and lid hingedly attached to the body.
Stark teaches a lid hinged with pins to a base of a cover assembly, designed to connect to an electrical device and box and including an adaptor plate and weather seal.
Mortun teaches a base with a cavity, a lid attached with pins and biased to the base, designed for covering an electrical device.
Conclusion
The above references are considered of particular relevance to the claimed invention but cannot
be considered to teach the limitations or combined to being obvious to a person skilled in the art to
disclose the claimed invention.
/ABIGAIL MARIE THAYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847