Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Chang fails to disclose at least the features of "a bitstream conformance requirement of the bitstream specifies that the minimum luma coding block size is within the range of allowable minimum luma coding block sizes having an upper limit smaller than a maximum allowable coding tree unit (CTU) size, and the upper limit being determined based on a CTU size of the coded video." The examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant merely argues that Chang doesn’t disclose a bitstream conformance requirement of the bitstream specifies that the minimum luma coding block size is within the range of allowable minimum luma coding block sizes having an upper limit smaller than a maximum allowable coding tree unit (CTU) size, and the upper limit being determined based on a CTU size of the coded video." Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. According to Applicant’s publication, [0210], When a CTU size smaller than 2.sup.N+2 is signaled in a parameter set (e.g., SPS) (such as when N=4, and 2.sup.N+2=64, the CTU size of 32 luma samples is signaled), this CTU size becomes the upper limit of the minimum luma block size. Therefore, an equivalent of Embodiment A is that the minimum luma block size is limited to be within a range of 0 to min (2.sup.N+2, CTU size). The smaller value of 2.sup.N+2 and CTU size is used as the upper limit of the minimum luma block size. To be consistent with applicant’s specification, Chang discloses in table 1, wherein a bitstream conformance requirement of the bitstream specifies that the minimum luma coding block size is within the range of allowable minimum luma coding block sizes having an upper limit smaller than a maximum allowable coding tree unit (CTU) size. The binary logarithm value of the minimum luma coding block size minus 2 is in a range of 0 to Min(N, log2_ctu_size_minus5+3), inclusive as shown in [0126], wherein log2_min_luma_coding_block_size_minus2 to be in the range of zero to log2_ctu_size_minus5+three, inclusive), N is 4 ( as shown in [0128], wherein a numerical range of 0 to min(4, log2_ctu_size_minus5+3), and log2_ ctu_size_minus5+5 represents a binary logarithm value of a CTU size of the coded video a shown inTable 5, log2_ctu_size_minus5 plus 5 specifies the luma coding tree block size of each CTU). Therefore, CTU size is used as the upper limit of the minimum luma block size. Rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 10-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-24, 26 of U.S. Patent No. 12120338 (17854800). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the claims of this application and the patented claims is the mere difference in terminology. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add some limitations because one of ordinary skill in the art would have realized that adding some limitations in the claims is an obvious expedient since the remaining elements perform the same functions as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963).
Claims 10-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 7, 11, 13, 17, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11399195 (17078302). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the claims of this application and the patented claims is the mere difference in terminology.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102A2 as being anticipated by US 20210076074 A1-Chang et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Chang”).
Regarding claim 10, Chang discloses a method of video encoding (Fig. 5), the method comprising: when a minimum luma coding block size is within a range of allowable minimum luma coding block sizes, encoding a picture in a bitstream of a coded video based on the minimum luma coding block size ([0033], encoding a bitstream based on a minimum size), and encoding a first syntax element in the bitstream of the coded video, the first syntax element specifying the minimum luma coding block size and indicating a binary logarithm value of the minimum luma coding block size minus 2 (Table 1), wherein a bitstream conformance requirement of the bitstream specifies that the minimum luma coding block size is within the range of allowable minimum luma coding block sizes having an upper limit smaller than a maximum allowable coding tree unit (CTU) size (Table 1), and the binary logarithm value of the minimum luma coding block size minus 2 is in a range of 0 to (log2_ctu_size_minus5+M), inclusive M being 0 or 1; ([0126], wherein log2_min_luma_coding_block_size_minus2 to be in the range of zero to log2_ctu_size_minus5+three, inclusive), N is 4 ([0128], wherein a numerical range of 0 to min(4, log2_ctu_size_minus5+3), and log2_ ctu_size_minus5+5 represents a binary logarithm value of a CTU size of the coded video minus 5 (Table 5, log2_ctu_size_minus5 plus 5 specifies the luma coding tree block size of each CTU).
Regarding claim 11, Chang discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising: encoding a second syntax element in the bitstream of the coded video, the second syntax element specifying the CTU size (Table 1-5).
Regarding claim 12, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 10 and are applicable for claim 12 (decoder performs the opposite of decoding).
Regarding claim 13, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 11 and are applicable for claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 10 and are applicable for claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 11 and are applicable for claim 15.
Conclusion
LERON . BECK
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/LERON BECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487