DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/20/2024 and 10/14/2025 is in compliance with the provisions on 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 04/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election of Species I in the reply filed on 04/17/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 11 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/17/2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant’s Specification Paragraph 0059 recites:
[0059] As in the first pixel group PIXGR1 of FIG. 2, a first unit color filter array including green (G), red (R), green (G), and blue (B) color filters sequentially arranged clockwise from an upper left end thereof may be located on each of pixel groups PIXGR1A, PIXGR2A, PIXGR1B, PIXGR2B, PIXGR1C, and PIXGR2C. The pixel array 110 of FIG. 1 may include the pixel groups PIXGR1A and PIXGR2A/PIXGR1B and PIXGR2B/PIXGR1C and PIXGR2C repeatedly disposed in the row direction and the column direction.
However, as seen in Fig. 2 and applicant’s Paragraph 0040:
[0040] The first pixel group PIXGR1 may include pixels PIX1, PIX2, PIX3, and PIX4. Color filters may be disposed over the pixels PIX1, PIX2, PIX3, and PIX4. In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 2, a first unit color filter array including four color filters may be disposed on the first pixel group PIXGR1. The first unit color filter array may include blue (B), green (G), red (R), and green (G) color filters sequentially arranged clockwise from an upper left end thereof. The first unit color filter array may be disposed repeatedly along the X-axis and the Y-axis.
The first unit color filter array may include blue (B), green (G), red (R), and green (G) color filters sequentially arranged clockwise from an upper left end. Therefore, Examiner believes paragraph 0059 should be amended to “As in the first pixel group PIXGR1 of FIG. 2, a first unit color filter array including green (G), red (R), green (G), and blue (B) color filters sequentially arranged clockwise from an upper right end” or “As in the first pixel group PIXGR1 of FIG. 2, a first unit color filter array including blue (B), green (G), red (R), and green (G) color filters sequentially arranged clockwise from an upper left end”.
Further, Paragraphs 0097 and 00107 appear to have the same issue.
[0097] In some embodiments, as in the first pixel group PIXGR1 of FIG. 2, a first unit color filter array including green (G), red (R), green (G), and blue (B) color filters sequentially arranged clockwise from an upper left end thereof may be located on each of the unit pixel groups PIXUT1A, PIXUT2A, PIXUT3A, and PIXUT4A.
[0107] In some embodiments, as in the first pixel group PIXGR1 of FIG. 2, a first unit color filter array including green (G), red (R), green (G), and blue (B) color filters sequentially arranged clockwise from an upper left end thereof may be located on each of the unit pixel groups PIXUH1A, PIXUH2A, PIXUH3A, and PIXUH4A.
Applicant’s Specification Paragraph 0077 recites:
[0077] For example, in the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 6A, when the image sensor 100 performs the second readout operation on the first row, all of the floating diffusion areas FD1, FD2, FD5, and FD6 of the first row may be reset, and only the transfer gate signals TGL and TGR may be simultaneously enabled. In this case, like the pixel PIX1A, in a pixel where two sub-pixels included therein respectively receive the transfer gate signals TGL and TGR, a sum pixel voltage corresponding to a sum of charges integrated at photodiodes respectively included in the two sub-pixels may be detected once. For example, a sum pixel voltage of the sub-pixels PIX1A and PIX2A, a sum pixel voltage of the sub-pixels PIX5RA and PIX5LA, a sum pixel voltage of the sub-pixels PIX6LA and PIX6RA, and a pixel voltage corresponding to the sub-pixel PIX2RA may be detected from the first row.
However, sub-pixels PIX1A and PIX2A appears to be incorrect and should recite “sub-pixels PIX1LA and PIX1RA”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 12-14, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (US 2020/0161352 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Takahashi et al. (hereafter referred as Taka) teaches an electronic device (Taka, Fig. 28, Paragraph 0377), comprising:
an image sensor which comprises a pixel array and generates an image data (Taka, Figs. 1 and 14); and
an image processor which processes the image data (Taka, Fig. 28, signal processing unit 1013, Paragraph 0384),
wherein a first row of the pixel array comprises a first pixel, a second pixel, and a third pixel, wherein the first to third pixels are arranged sequentially in row direction adjacent to each other (Taka, Fig. 14, Paragraphs 0127-0129 and 0229-0233, A pixel is considered to be a pixel group 200 since a pixel group 200 shares the FD and the reset, amplification and selection transistors. A first row of pixels is considered to include two row lines in Figure 14. A pixel contains four sub-pixels.),
wherein the first pixel (Taka, Fig. 14, The first pixel is sub-pixels (1,13), (1,14), (2,13) and (2,14).) is connected to a second metal transmission line (Taka, Fig. 14, TRG-2 (middle line)) and a third metal transmission line (Taka, Fig. 14, TRG-3 (bottom line)), and comprises a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel connected to the second metal transmission line or the third metal transmission line (Taka, Fig. 14, First sub-pixel (1,14) is connected to the third line. Second sub-pixel (1,13) is connected to the second line.),
wherein the second pixel (Taka, Fig. 14, The second pixel is sub-pixels (1,11), (1,12), (2,11) and (2,12).) is connected to a first metal transmission line (Taka, Fig. 14, TRG-1 (top line)) and the second metal transmission line (Taka, Fig. 14, TRG-2 (middle line)), and comprises a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel connected to the first metal transmission line or the second metal transmission line (Taka, Fig. 14, First sub-pixel (1,12) is connected to the second line. Second sub-pixel (1,11) is connected to the first line.), and
wherein the third pixel (Taka, Fig. 14, The third pixel is sub-pixels (1,15), (1,16), (2,15) and (2,16).) is connected to the first metal transmission line and the second metal transmission line, and comprises a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel connected to the first metal transmission line or the second metal transmission line (Taka, Fig. 14, First sub-pixel (1,16) is connected to the first line. Second sub-pixel (1,15) is connected to the second line.).
Claim 1 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Taka teaches the electronic device of claim 13 (see claim 13 analysis), wherein, each of the first pixel and the third pixel corresponds to a first color filter, and the second pixel corresponds to a second color filter (Taka, Fig. 14, The first pixel and the third pixel are blue. The second pixel is green.).
Claim 2 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 14.
Regarding claim 16, Taka teaches the electronic device of claim 13 (see claim 13 analysis), wherein the image processor:
performs auto focus processing based on one of a first mode and a second mode (Taka, Figs. 12 and 14, Paragraphs 0202-0207, The first mode is the “second reading of signal level” in which all four sub-pixels of each pixel group 200 are added and read. The second mode is the “first reading of signal level” in which only the drive signal (TRG) of the phase pixels is read.), and
in the second mode, performs auto focus processing based on a pixel voltage corresponding to the second sub-pixel of the first pixel among pixel voltages output from the first row (Taka, Figs. 12 and 14, Paragraphs 0064, 0202-0207 and 0236, Second sub-pixel of the first pixel (1,13) is the phase difference pixel 100R.).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, Taka teaches the electronic device of claim 13 (see claim 13 analysis), wherein the first to third transmission metal lines are arranged sequentially in column direction (Taka, Fig. 14).
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 18.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ramaswami et al. (US 2020/0106995 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ramaswami et al. (hereafter referred as Rama) teaches an image sensor (Rama, Figs. 3 and 13, Paragraphs 0042 and 0126), comprising:
a pixel array (Rama, Figs. 3 and 13);
wherein a first row of the pixel array comprises a first pixel, a second pixel, and a third pixel (Rama, Figs. 3 and 13, Paragraph 0043-0044, Each pixel includes three sup-pixels. For example, Sub-pixels 86r, 86g and 86b are the sub-pixels of a single pixel.),
wherein the first to third pixels are arranged sequentially in row direction adjacent to each other (Rama, Figs. 3 and 13, The first to third pixels are three adjacent pixels in the row direction. For example, Pixels 86, 88 and 90.),
wherein the first pixel is connected to a second metal transmission line and a third metal transmission line, and comprises a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel connected to the second metal transmission line or the third metal transmission line (Rama, Fig. 3, The first pixel 86 has a first sub-pixel 86g connected to second metal transmission line TG1. The second subpixel 86b is connected to third metal transmission line TG2.),
wherein the second pixel is connected to a first metal transmission line and the second metal transmission line, and comprises a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel connected to the first metal transmission line or the second metal transmission line (Rama, Fig. 3, The second pixel 88 has a first sub-pixel 88r connected to first metal transmission line TG0. The second subpixel 88g is connected to second metal transmission line TG1.), and
wherein the third pixel is connected to the first metal transmission line and the second metal transmission line, and comprises a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel connected to the first metal transmission line or the second metal transmission line (Rama, Fig. 3, The third pixel 90 has a first sub-pixel 90r connected to first metal transmission line TG0. The second subpixel 90g is connected to second metal transmission line TG1.).
Regarding claim 2, Rama teaches the image sensor of claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein, each of the first pixel and the third pixel corresponds to a first color filter, and the second pixel corresponds to a second color filter (Rama, Fig. 3, Each pixel corresponds to three color filters. Therefore, each of the first pixel and the third pixel corresponds to a first color filter, and the second pixel corresponds to a second color filter.).
Regarding claim 12, Rama teaches the image sensor of claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the first to third transmission metal lines are arranged sequentially in column direction (Rama, Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramaswami et al. (US 2020/0106995 A1) in view of Ichikawa et al. (US 2013/0341750 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Ramaswami et al. (hereafter referred as Rama) teaches an image sensor (Rama, Figs. 3 and 13, Paragraphs 0042 and 0126), comprising:
a pixel array (Rama, Figs. 3 and 13);
wherein a first row of the pixel array comprises a first pixel, a second pixel, and a third pixel (Rama, Figs. 3 and 13, Paragraph 0043-0044, Each pixel includes three sup-pixels. For example, Sub-pixels 86r, 86g and 86b are the sub-pixels of a single pixel.),
wherein the first to third pixels are arranged sequentially in row direction adjacent to each other (Rama, Figs. 3 and 13, The first to third pixels are three adjacent pixels in the row direction. For example, Pixels 86, 88 and 90.),
wherein the first pixel is connected to a second metal transmission line and a third metal transmission line, and comprises a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel connected to the second metal transmission line or the third metal transmission line (Rama, Fig. 3, The first pixel 86 has a first sub-pixel 86g connected to second metal transmission line TG1. The second subpixel 86b is connected to third metal transmission line TG2.),
wherein the second pixel is connected to a first metal transmission line and the second metal transmission line, and comprises a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel connected to the first metal transmission line or the second metal transmission line (Rama, Fig. 3, The second pixel 88 has a first sub-pixel 88r connected to first metal transmission line TG0. The second subpixel 88g is connected to second metal transmission line TG1.), and
wherein the third pixel is connected to the first metal transmission line and the second metal transmission line, and comprises a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel connected to the first metal transmission line or the second metal transmission line (Rama, Fig. 3, The third pixel 90 has a first sub-pixel 90r connected to first metal transmission line TG0. The second subpixel 90g is connected to second metal transmission line TG1.).
However, Rama does not teach an electronic device, comprising: the image sensor which comprises the pixel array and generates an image data; and an image processor which processes the image data.
In reference to Ichikawa et al. (hereafter referred as Ichikawa), Ichikawa teaches an electronic device (Ichikawa, Fig. 10), comprising an image sensor which generates image data (Ichikawa, Fig. 1) and an image processor which processed the image data (Ichikawa, Fig. 10, Signal Processing Circuit 56, Paragraph 0091, 0094 and 0096).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to imaging devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Rama with the signal processor as seen in Ichikawa to read and process images from the image sensor so that the image data may be displayed or stored.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Rama and Ichikawa teaches the electronic device of claim 13 (see claim 13 analysis), wherein, each of the first pixel and the third pixel corresponds to a first color filter, and the second pixel corresponds to a second color filter (Rama, Fig. 3, Each pixel corresponds to three color filters. Therefore, each of the first pixel and the third pixel corresponds to a first color filter, and the second pixel corresponds to a second color filter.).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Rama and Ichikawa teaches the electronic device of claim 13 (see claim 13 analysis), wherein the first to third transmission metal lines are arranged sequentially in column direction (Rama, Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6-10, 15 and 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With regard to claim 3, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious:
“The image sensor of claim 1, wherein a number of pixels connected to the third metal transmission line among the pixels of the first row is less than a number of pixels connected to the first metal transmission line and the second metal transmission lines among the pixels of the first row.”
With regard to claim 6, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious:
“The image sensor of claim 4, wherein, the image sensor: in the first mode, enables a first transfer gate signal to be applied to the first transmission metal line, a second transfer gate signal to be applied to the second transmission metal line, and a third transfer gate signal to be applied to the third transmission metal line to perform a first readout operation for the first row, and in the second mode, enables only the first transfer gate signal and the second transfer gate signal among the first to third transfer gate signals to perform a second readout operation for the first row.”
With regard to claim 7, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious:
“The image sensor of claim 4, wherein a second row of the pixel array comprises a plurality of pixels connected to at least some of a fourth transmission metal line, a fifth transmission metal line, and a sixth transmission metal line, wherein the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel of the first pixel share a first floating diffusion area, wherein the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel of the second pixel share a second floating diffusion area, wherein the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel of the third pixel share a third floating diffusion area, wherein the plurality of pixels comprises a fourth pixel configured to generate second voltages, wherein the fourth pixel comprises a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel sharing a fourth floating diffusion area, wherein the first sub-pixel of the fourth pixel is connected to the fourth transmission metal line or the fifth transmission metal line, and wherein the second sub-pixel of the fourth pixel is connected to the sixth transmission metal line.”
Claims 8-10 depend on and further limit claim 7. Therefore, claims 8-10 are allowable for the same reasons as claim 7.
With regard to claim 15, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious:
“The electronic device of claim 13, wherein a number of pixels connected to the third metal transmission line among the pixels of the first row is less than a number of pixels connected to the first metal transmission line and the second metal transmission lines among the pixels of the first row.”
With regard to claim 17, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious:
“The electronic device of claim 16, wherein, the image sensor: in the first mode, enables a first transfer gate signal to be applied to the first transmission metal line, a second transfer gate signal to be applied to the second transmission metal line, and a third transfer gate signal to be applied to the third transmission metal line to perform a first readout operation for the first row, and in the second mode, enables only the first transfer gate signal and the second transfer gate signal among the first to third transfer gate signals to perform a second readout operation for the first row.”
Claims 19-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As per claims 1, the closest known prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest alone or in reasonable combination, the limitations (in consideration of the claim as a whole):
“a pixel array; a row driver configured to generate a first transfer gate signal applied to a first metal transmission line, a second transfer gate signal applied to a second metal transmission line, a third transfer gate signal applied to a third metal transmission line, wherein a first row of the pixel array comprises a first pixel, a second pixel, and a third pixel, wherein the first to third pixels are arranged sequentially in row direction adjacent to each other, wherein the first pixel is connected to the second metal transmission line and the third metal transmission line, and comprises a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel connected to the second metal transmission line or the third metal transmission line, wherein the second pixel is connected to the first metal transmission line and the second metal transmission line, and comprises a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel connected to the first metal transmission line or the second metal transmission line, wherein the third pixel is connected to the first metal transmission line and the second metal transmission line, and comprises a first sub-pixel and a second sub-pixel connected to the first metal transmission line or the second metal transmission line, and wherein, the row driver: in the first mode, enables the first to third transfer gate signal to perform a first readout operation for the first row, and in the second mode, enables only the first transfer gate signal and the second transfer gate signal among the first to third transfer gate signals to perform a second readout operation for the first row”
Claim 20 depends on, and further limit, independent claim 19. Therefore, claim 19 is considered allowable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/WESLEY J CHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/TWYLER L HASKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2639