DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 6/3/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/3/26.
Claims 11-20 will be considered for rejoinder and should be amended to agree with amendments to the elected claims to ensure proper rejoinder.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “steam recovery system” in claim 1.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “steam generation system” in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nierode et al (US 2022/0306949).
Regarding claim 1, Nierode teaches a system for treatment of a crude hydrocarbon feed for production of treated hydrocarbon feed (see title, abstract, i.e. desalting), Nierode teaches the system comprises a crude oil feed storage tank 101, that feeds the oil through lines 103/104 to pumps 107/106 and then heat exchanger 109, and the heated hydrocarbon feed of line 111 (downstream of heat exchanger 109) may undergo further heating. The additional heating can be carried out in one or more additional heat exchangers (not shown), which can be located before and/or after heat exchanger 109. The additional transfer of heat results in an increased temperature of the heated hydrocarbon feed beyond what can be achieved by heat exchanger 109 alone. Doing so decreases the viscosity of the feed, and promote mixing with water, as described below. Suitable heat transfer fluids for the additional heat exchangers include, e.g., (i) steam such as low pressure, medium pressure, high pressure, or super high pressure steam (generally the lowest pressure steam that is effective for carrying out the heat transfer is used, typically medium pressure steam (15 bar-30 bar) or low pressure steam (<15 bar) steam is sufficient), (ii) an oleaginous heat transfer fluid from purification system 151, e.g., a bottoms pump around oil from a primary fractionator, and (iii) an aqueous quench fluid, e.g., one obtained from a quench tower included in purification system 151. For example, in certain aspects heat exchanger 109 is located upstream of a first additional heat exchanger utilizing low pressure steam as a heat transfer fluid (Fig 1, [0037]).
Therefore while Nierode does not explicitly show the heat exchanger for low-pressure steam in the manner as claimed, upon consulting the teachings of using additional low pressure steam as taught by Nierode as set forth above, the skilled artisan would arrive at the claimed system having a first heat exchanger disposed along the crude oil feed, wherein the first heat exchanger is configured to receive the flow of crude oil and the first flow of condensed steam, and wherein the first heat exchanger is further configured to produce, using the first flow of condensed steam, a first flow of treated crude oil from the flow of crude oil through the suggestion of Nierode of using LP steam from the refinery.
Regarding claim 2, Nierode teaches using either LP steam or MP steam from the refinery and therefore producing multiple condensed steam stream in the condenser would be obvious.
Regarding claim 3-4, Nierode teaches using available sources of LP and MP steam from a refinery, which therefore would necessarily include the associated steam generation system, which would receive the spent condensed LP steam to reboiler for the system.
Regarding claim 5, Nierode has taught heat exchanger 109 (i.e. second heat exchanger) along the same flow of crude oil feed.
Regarding claims 6-7, Nierode further teaches a flow of dry crude oil 135 from desalter 119/131 is heat exchanged in second heat exchanger 109 to form second flow of treated crude oil 111 is created from flow of treated fuel oil 107/108 combined, and flow of stable crude oil 136 after the heat exchanger 109 (Fig 1, [0037-0039]).
Regarding claim 9, in Nierode, Nierode has taught branching crude feed oil lines 107/108 that combined with first heat exchanger of LP steam (not shown) and second heat exchanger 109 that receives the flow of crude oil and LP steam (Fig 1, [0037]).
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nierode et al (US 2022/0306949) as applied above and further in combination with Venkatesh (US 2014/0374322).
Regarding claim 8, Nierode teaches all limitations as set forth above however Nierode does not teach flash tank configured to create the flow of dry crude oil as claimed.
Venkatesh teaches a multiple preflash and exchanger network system for a crude distillation system (title, abstract), Venkatesh teaches the crude pre processing system includes series heat exchangers 410, desalter 420, preflash drum 430 and preflash column 440 to create a system better equipped to handle crude oils with lighter components that can be provided to the crude distillation column 450 (Fig 4, [0021-0026]), efficiency is increased with use of waste heat from the plant [0027].
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Nierode to include flash drum system as taught by Venkatesh in the system of Nierode to improve flexibility of the system of Nierode in handling different feed types as taught by Venkatesh.
Further regarding claim 10, Nierode further teaches a flow of dry crude oil 135 from desalter 119/131 is heat exchanged in second heat exchanger 109 to form second flow of treated crude oil 111 is created from flow of treated fuel oil 107/108 combined, and flow of stable crude oil 136 after the heat exchanger 109 (Fig 1, [0037-0039]), and therefore further modifying second heat exchanger 109 of Nierode as taught above would be obvious to include the source of waste heat LP steam to further improve heat efficiency of Nierode.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Krisa (US 5,116,485) teaches crude oil heat exchanging system. Kresnyak (US 6,355,145 and US 6,536,523) teaches steam generation and recovery in a heavy crude oil recovery process. Noureldin (US 2017/0327752) teaches crude oil pretreatment systems. Soliman (US 2019/0194554) teaches crude oil pre treatment systems. Kamandahalli (US 2025/0093094) teaches waste heat utilization in crude processing.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772