DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the 07/24/2026 amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8 of Remarks, filed 07/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US Pub. No. 2024/0413752 in view of US Pub. No. 2012/0049830.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 9 and 17 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant(s) argue(s) with respect to claims 9 and 17 in Remarks pages 9 – 10:
“Legates describes adding a positive offset to a negative voltage to shift the voltage above zero volts. However, shifting a negative voltage by a preset value, as in Legates, is not the same as inverting the feedback voltage as recited in claim 9. (E.g., specification TT [0014], [0018], [0023], [0030]) No person skilled in the art would equate inversion and offset by a preset value… For at least these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that Legates fails to disclose each and every limitation of independent claim 9”.
In response, the limitation of “invert the feedback voltage to produce a positive feedback voltage, and provide the positive feedback voltage at the output of the feedback switching circuit” only requires to invert the feedback voltage from negative value to a positive value. The claim does not require how the inversion of the value is made nor it defines if the feedback value is equal or different. Legates, col. 5, lines 13 – 19 discloses “When the FB input voltage is below ground, the level shifter 210 shifts the input level to produce a voltage above ground corresponding to the FB input voltage. The level shifter 210 may be configured to shift the input level by a preset value so as to transform a negative voltage at the FB pin into the corresponding positive voltage”
Therefore, the argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 7,825,665; (hereinafter Legates).
Regarding claim 9, Legates [e.g. Figs. 3 - 4] discloses a circuit comprising: an error amplifier [e.g. 206, 210, 212, 208] having an input [e.g. FB] and an output [e.g. Vc], the error amplifier configured to provide an error signal representative of a difference of a feedback signal [e.g. FB at 206 or 212 (FB shifted)] and reference voltage [e.g. VREF1 or VREF2]; a pulse width modulation (PWM) circuit [e.g. col. 4, lines 26 – 29 recite “the control signal Vc may be supplied to an error amplifier that compares it with a preset reference signal to generate an error signal for controlling a pulse-width-modulation (PWM) switching control circuit”] having an input coupled to the output of the error amplifier [e.g. receiving Vc], and an output [e.g. providing PWM signal], the PWM circuit configured to provide, at the output of the PWM circuit, a PWM signal based on the error signal [e.g. col. 4, lines 26 – 29 above]; and a feedback switching circuit [e.g. 204, 202] having a feedback input terminal [e.g. FB] configured to receive a feedback voltage [e.g. col. 4, lines 37 – 41 recite “The feedback circuit 100 comprises a positive sensing channel 102 and a negative sensing channel 104. Their inputs are coupled to the input feedback pin FB for respectively sensing positive and negative polarity input signals developed at the feedback pin FB”], and an output coupled to the input of the error amplifier [e.g. output of 202], the feedback switching circuit configured to: determine [e.g. 204] whether the feedback voltage is negative [e.g. col. 4, lines 50 – 54 recite “The switching device 202 may be controlled by a threshold detector 204 that compares the input voltage at the FB pin with a threshold voltage selected to detect when the input voltage becomes well above ground.” Further, col. 5, lines 9 – 17 recite “If the input voltage at the FB pin does not exceed the threshold voltage, the threshold detector 204 controls the switching device 202 to connect the FB pin to the negative sensing channel that includes a level shifter 210 and a negative sensing amplifier 212. When the FB input voltage is below ground, the level shifter 210 shifts the input level to produce a voltage above ground corresponding to the FB input voltage”]; and invert the feedback voltage to produce a positive feedback voltage, and provide the positive feedback voltage at the output of the feedback switching circuit [e.g. col. 5, lines 13 – 19 recite “When the FB input voltage is below ground, the level shifter 210 shifts the input level to produce a voltage above ground corresponding to the FB input voltage. The level shifter 210 may be configured to shift the input level by a preset value so as to transform a negative voltage at the FB pin into the corresponding positive voltage”].
Regarding claim 15, Legates [e.g. Figs. 3 - 4] discloses further comprising a resistor [e.g. Fig. 3; R1 / R4] coupled between the feedback input terminal [e.g. FB] and an output of a switching converter that includes the circuit [e.g. VOUT-/VOUT+; col. 4 lines 5 – 21 recite “a switching regulator capable of producing positive and negative output voltages. The circuit 100 has a feedback pin FB that may protrude outside a package housing the regulator. The FB pin is supplied with sensed positive output voltage Vout+ or sensed negative output voltage Vout-. For example, the positive output voltage Vout+ may be produced when the switching regulator is configured into a boost regulator topology, and the negative voltage Vout- may be generated when the switching regulator is configured into an inverter topology. The positive output voltage Vout+ may be sensed using a resistor divider composed of resistor R1 coupled to a source of voltage Vout+ and grounded resistor R2. The negative output voltage Vout- may be sensed using a resistor divider composed of grounded resistor R3 and resistor R4 coupled to a source of voltage Vout-. The feedback pin FB may be connected to a common node between resistors of the resistor dividers”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2024/0413752; (hereinafter Xu) in view of US Pub. No. 2012/0049830; (hereinafter Watanabe).
Regarding claim 1, Xu [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses a circuit comprising: an input terminal configured to receive a negative feedback voltage [e.g. VFBN]; a first amplifier [e.g. 7] having an inverting input [e.g. -] coupled to the input terminal [e.g. VFBN], a non-inverting input [e.g. +] coupled to a reference terminal [e.g. VREFN], and an output [e.g. output of 7]; a second comparator [e.g. comparator directly connected at its non-inverting input receiving output of 7] having a first input [e.g. non-inverting input] coupled to the output of the first amplifier, a second input [e.g. inverting input] coupled to a voltage reference terminal [e.g. VSUM], and an output [e.g. lower input of PWM control logic]; and a pulse width modulation circuit [e.g. PWM Control logic] having an input coupled to the output of the second amplifier [e.g. lower input].
Xu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second comparator is an amplifier.
Watanabe [e.g. Fig. 2] teaches wherein the second comparator is an amplifier [e.g. 214; paragraph 077 recites “an operational amplifier 214”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Xu by wherein the second comparator is an amplifier as taught by Watanabe in order of being able to provide better precision, as it is well known in the art.
Claim(s) 2 and 6 – 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Watanabe and further in view of US Pub. No. 2010/0026267; (hereinafter Easwaran).
Regarding claim 2, Xu fails to disclose further comprising a comparator having a first input coupled to the output of the first amplifier, a second input coupled to a reference terminal, and an output.
Easwaran [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses further comprising a comparator [e.g. 160] having a first input [e.g. non-inverting input] coupled to the output of the first amplifier [e.g. ERR1], a second input coupled to a reference terminal [e.g. inverting input connected to RAMP1], and an output [e.g. PWM1].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Xu by further comprising a comparator having a first input coupled to the output of the first amplifier, a second input coupled to a reference terminal, and an output as taught by Easwaran in order of being able to minimize cross regulation.
Regarding claim 6, Xu fails to disclose further comprising a transistor having a first terminal coupled to a switching terminal, a second terminal coupled to a power supply terminal, and a control terminal coupled to an output of the pulse width modulation circuit.
Easwaran [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses further comprising a transistor [e.g. 123] having a first terminal [e.g. lower terminal] coupled to a switching terminal [e.g. left terminal of inductor 125], a second terminal [e.g. upper terminal] coupled to a power supply terminal [e.g. see power supply at upper of 123], and a control terminal [e.g. gate] coupled to an output of the pulse width modulation circuit [e.g. 115].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Xu by further comprising a transistor having a first terminal coupled to a switching terminal, a second terminal coupled to a power supply terminal, and a control terminal coupled to an output of the pulse width modulation circuit as taught by Easwaran in order of being able to minimize cross regulation.
Regarding claim 7, Xu fails to disclose wherein: the transistor is a first transistor, the power supply terminal is a first power supply terminal, and the output is a first output; and the circuit includes a second transistor having a first terminal coupled to a second power supply terminal, a second terminal coupled to the switching terminal, and a control terminal coupled to a second output of the pulse width modulation circuit.
Easwaran [e.g. Fig. 1] discloses wherein: the transistor is a first transistor, the power supply terminal is a first power supply terminal, and the output is a first output; and the circuit includes a second transistor [e.g. 127] having a first terminal [e.g. lower terminal] coupled to a second power supply terminal [e.g. ground], a second terminal [e.g. upper terminal] coupled to the switching terminal, and a control terminal [e.g. gate] coupled to a second output of the pulse width modulation circuit [e.g. 115].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Xu by wherein: the transistor is a first transistor, the power supply terminal is a first power supply terminal, and the output is a first output; and the circuit includes a second transistor having a first terminal coupled to a second power supply terminal, a second terminal coupled to the switching terminal, and a control terminal coupled to a second output of the pulse width modulation circuit as taught by Easwaran in order of being able to minimize cross regulation.
Claim(s) 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Watanabe and further in view of US Patent No. 10,644,598; (hereinafter Lewinski).
Regarding claim 5, Easwaran fails to disclose further comprising a resistor coupled between the output of the first amplifier and the inverting input of the first amplifier.
Lewinski teaches further comprising a resistor [e.g. variable resistor 208] coupled between the output of the first amplifier [e.g. 210] and the inverting input of the first amplifier [e.g. as shown].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Xu by further comprising a resistor coupled between the output of the first amplifier and the inverting input of the first amplifier as taught by Lewinski in order of being able to provide compensation to the feedback loop.
Regarding claim 8, Easwaran fails to disclose further comprising a resistor coupled between the input terminal and an output terminal configured to provide a negative power supply voltage generated by the circuit.
Lewinski teaches further comprising a resistor [e.g. variable resistor 208] coupled between the input terminal [e.g. VOUT SETTING NODE directly connected to inverting input of Amplifier 210] and an output terminal [e.g. output terminal of 210] configured to provide a negative power supply voltage generated by the circuit [e.g. col. 7, lines 46 – 48 recite “negative feedback for the operational amplifier 210 is based on C1 and variable resistor 208”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Xu by further comprising a resistor coupled between the input terminal and an output terminal configured to provide a negative power supply voltage generated by the circuit as taught by Lewinski in order of being able to provide compensation to the feedback loop.
Claim(s) 10 - 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Legates in view of Lewinski.
Regarding claim 10, Legates fails to disclose wherein the feedback switching circuit includes an inverting amplifier having an input coupled to the feedback input terminal, the inverting amplifier configured to invert the feedback voltage and provide an inverted feedback voltage.
Lewinski [e.g. Fig. 2] teaches wherein the feedback switching circuit includes an inverting amplifier [e.g. 210, 208, C1] having an input coupled to the feedback input terminal [e.g. VOUT Setting node at inverting of 210], the inverting amplifier configured to invert the feedback voltage and provide an inverted feedback voltage [e.g. col. 7, lines 46 – 48 recite “negative feedback for the operational amplifier 210 is based on C1 and variable resistor 208”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Legates by wherein the feedback switching circuit includes an inverting amplifier having an input coupled to the feedback input terminal, the inverting amplifier configured to invert the feedback voltage and provide an inverted feedback voltage as taught by Lewinski in order of being able to provide compensation to the feedback loop.
Regarding claim 11, Legates fails to disclose wherein the feedback switching circuit includes a resistor coupled between the output of the inverting amplifier and the input of the inverting amplifier.
Lewinski [e.g. Fig. 2] teaches wherein the feedback switching circuit includes a resistor [e.g. variable resistor 208] coupled between the output of the inverting amplifier and the input of the inverting amplifier [e.g. as shown].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Legates by wherein the feedback switching circuit includes a resistor coupled between the output of the inverting amplifier and the input of the inverting amplifier as taught by Lewinski in order of being able to provide compensation to the feedback loop.
Regarding claim 12, Legates fails to disclose wherein the feedback switching circuit includes a comparator having an input coupled to the output of the inverting amplifier, and an output, the comparator configured to compare the inverted feedback voltage to a reference voltage.
Lewinski [e.g. Fig. 2] teaches wherein the feedback switching circuit includes a comparator [e.g. 206] having an input [e.g. lower input] coupled to the output of the inverting amplifier [e.g. 210, 208, C1], and an output [e.g. output of 206], the comparator configured to compare the inverted feedback voltage to a reference voltage [e.g. RAMP].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Legates by wherein the feedback switching circuit includes a comparator having an input coupled to the output of the inverting amplifier, and an output, the comparator configured to compare the inverted feedback voltage to a reference voltage as taught by Lewinski in order of being able to provide compensation to the feedback loop.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Legates in view of Easwaran.
Regarding claim 16, Legates fails to disclose further comprising a transistor having a first terminal coupled to a switching terminal, a second terminal coupled to a power supply terminal, and a control terminal coupled to an output of the PWM circuit.
Easwaran [e.g. Fig. 1] teaches further comprising a transistor [e.g. 123] having a first terminal [e.g. lower terminal] coupled to a switching terminal [e.g. left terminal of 125], a second terminal [e.g. upper terminal] coupled to a power supply terminal [e.g. see power supply symbol at upper terminal of 125], and a control terminal [e.g. gate] coupled to an output of the PWM circuit [e.g. 115].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Legates by further comprising a transistor having a first terminal coupled to a switching terminal, a second terminal coupled to a power supply terminal, and a control terminal coupled to an output of the PWM circuit as taught by Easwaran in order of being able to provide a step-down voltage conversion.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Legates in view of US Pub. No. 2011/0109294; (hereinafter Larson).
Regarding claim 17, Legates [e.g. Figs. 3 - 4] discloses a switching converter [e.g. col. 1, lines 9 – 17 recite “The subject matter of this disclosure relates to power supply circuits, and more particularly to circuitry and methodology for providing a feedback scheme for an integrated circuit (IC) having a switching circuit, such as a converter or switching regulator, that can be used to generate both positive and negative output voltages. The feedback scheme has particular utility in the context of single-pin feedback of positive and negative output voltages”] comprising: a controller including: a pulse width modulation (PWM) circuit [e.g. col. 4, lines 26 – 29 recite “the control signal Vc may be supplied to an error amplifier that compares it with a preset reference signal to generate an error signal for controlling a pulse-width-modulation (PWM) switching control circuit”] having an input [e.g. receiving Vc]; an error amplifier having an output coupled to the input of the PWM circuit, input [e.g. error amplifier stated above with respect to col. 4, lines 26 – 29 above]; and a feedback switching circuit [e.g. Fig. 4; 202, 204] having a feedback input terminal [e.g. FB] configured to receive a feedback voltage [e.g. col. 4, lines 37 – 41 recite “The feedback circuit 100 comprises a positive sensing channel 102 and a negative sensing channel 104. Their inputs are coupled to the input feedback pin FB for respectively sensing positive and negative polarity input signals developed at the feedback pin FB”], and an output coupled to the input of the error amplifier [e.g. Fig. 4; via channel of 206, 208 or 210, 212, 208], the feedback switching circuit configured to: determine [e.g. 204] whether the feedback voltage is negative [e.g. col. 4, lines 50 – 54 recite “The switching device 202 may be controlled by a threshold detector 204 that compares the input voltage at the FB pin with a threshold voltage selected to detect when the input voltage becomes well above ground.” Further, col. 5, lines 9 – 17 recite “If the input voltage at the FB pin does not exceed the threshold voltage, the threshold detector 204 controls the switching device 202 to connect the FB pin to the negative sensing channel that includes a level shifter 210 and a negative sensing amplifier 212. When the FB input voltage is below ground, the level shifter 210 shifts the input level to produce a voltage above ground corresponding to the FB input voltage”]; and invert the feedback voltage to produce a positive feedback voltage, and provide the positive feedback voltage at the output of the feedback switching circuit [e.g. col. 5, lines 13 – 19 recite “When the FB input voltage is below ground, the level shifter 210 shifts the input level to produce a voltage above ground corresponding to the FB input voltage. The level shifter 210 may be configured to shift the input level by a preset value so as to transform a negative voltage at the FB pin into the corresponding positive voltage”].
Legates fails to disclose a transistor having a first terminal, a second terminal coupled to a power supply terminal, and a control terminal; an inductor coupled to the first terminal of the transistor; and a pulse width modulation (PWM) circuit having an output coupled to the control terminal of the transistor.
Larson [e.g. Fig. 4] teaches a transistor [e.g. Q1] having a first terminal [e.g. lower terminal], a second terminal [e.g. upper terminal] coupled to a power supply terminal [e.g. VIN], and a control terminal [e.g. gate]; an inductor [e.g. 422] coupled to the first terminal of the transistor; and a pulse width modulation (PWM) circuit [e.g. 435] having an output coupled to the control terminal of the transistor [e.g. 424 having DH signal].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Legates by a transistor having a first terminal, a second terminal coupled to a power supply terminal, and a control terminal; an inductor coupled to the first terminal of the transistor; and a pulse width modulation (PWM) circuit having an output coupled to the control terminal of the transistor as taught by Larson in order of being able to provide a step-down voltage conversion.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Legates in view of Larson and further in view of Lewinski.
Regarding claim 18, Legates fails to disclose wherein the feedback switching circuit includes: an inverting amplifier having an input coupled to the feedback input terminal, the inverting amplifier configured to invert the feedback voltage and provide an inverted feedback voltage; and a comparator having an input coupled to the output of the inverting amplifier, and an output, the comparator configured to compare the inverted feedback voltage to a reference voltage.
Lewinski [e.g. Fig. 2] teaches wherein the feedback switching circuit includes: an inverting amplifier [e.g. 210, 208, C1] having an input [e.g. inverting input] coupled to the feedback input terminal [e.g. VOUT setting node between R1-R2], the inverting amplifier configured to invert the feedback voltage and provide an inverted feedback voltage [e.g. col. 7, lines 46 – 48 recite “negative feedback for the operational amplifier 210 is based on C1 and variable resistor 208”]; and a comparator [e.g. 206] having an input [e.g. lower input] coupled to the output of the inverting amplifier, and an output [e.g. output of 206], the comparator configured to compare the inverted feedback voltage to a reference voltage [e.g. RAMP].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Legates by wherein the feedback switching circuit includes: an inverting amplifier having an input coupled to the feedback input terminal, the inverting amplifier configured to invert the feedback voltage and provide an inverted feedback voltage; and a comparator having an input coupled to the output of the inverting amplifier, and an output, the comparator configured to compare the inverted feedback voltage to a reference voltage as taught by Lewinski in order of being able to provide compensation to the feedback loop.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 – 4, 13 – 14 and 19 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 3 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein: the input terminal is a first input terminal; and the circuit includes: a second input terminal configured to receive a positive feedback voltage; and a switch having a first terminal coupled to the second input terminal, a second terminal coupled to the output of the first amplifier, a third terminal coupled to the first input of the second amplifier, and a control terminal coupled to the output of the comparator”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 4 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “further comprising a switch having a first terminal coupled to the inverting input of the amplifier, a second terminal coupled to the output of the first amplifier, a third terminal coupled to the first input of the second amplifier, and a control terminal coupled to the output of the comparator”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 13 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein: the feedback input terminal is a first feedback input terminal; the feedback voltage is a first feedback voltage; and the feedback switching circuit has a second feedback input terminal configured to receive a second feedback voltage, and the feedback switching circuit includes a switch having a first terminal coupled to the output of the inverting amplifier, a second terminal coupled to the second feedback input terminal, a third terminal coupled to the input of the error amplifier, and a control terminal coupled to the output of the comparator”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 14 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the feedback switching circuit includes a switch having a first terminal coupled to the output of the inverting amplifier, a second terminal coupled to the input of the inverting amplifier, a third terminal coupled to the input of the error amplifier, and a control terminal coupled to the output of the comparator”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 19 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein: the feedback input terminal is a first feedback input terminal; the feedback voltage is a first feedback voltage; and the feedback switching circuit has a second feedback input terminal configured to receive a second feedback voltage, and the feedback switching circuit includes a switch having a first terminal coupled to the output of the inverting amplifier, a second terminal coupled to the second feedback input terminal, a third terminal coupled to the input of the error amplifier, and a control terminal coupled to the output of the comparator.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 20 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the feedback switching circuit includes a switch having a first terminal coupled to the output of the inverting amplifier, a second terminal coupled to the input of the inverting amplifier, a third terminal coupled to the input of the error amplifier, and a control terminal coupled to the output of the comparator”.
Conclusion
/ALEX TORRES-RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838