DETAILED ACTION
Specification
2. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
3. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
6. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a display control unit” in claim 1 and “a setting unit” in claim 7.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitations: CPU or ASIC (see Specification, paragraph 0050). It is noted that that the functions performed or controlled by CPU are disclosed in a manner that transforms the general CPU or the like to a special purpose CPU or the like programmed to perform the disclosed functions. That is, the various "unit" functions claimed are described in the specification in the form of prose and flow charts in a manner that provides sufficient structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by KURUMASA et al. U.S, Patent Application No. 2013/0088449 (hereinafter KURUMASA).
Regarding claim 1, KURUMASA discloses an image processing apparatus (Image processing apparatus 1 / Image forming apparatus 1, Figures 1-2) comprising:
a display control unit (CPU 101 / Operation panel 130 /Display 312, Figures 2- 3) configured to cause (it is based on an operation on touch panel 311 on the display of operation panel 130 of image processing apparatus 1-x; paragraph 134, Figure 9), in a case where a first operation for scrolling a predetermined area of a screen displayed on a display unit is accepted, the predetermined area of the screen to be scrolled (e.g., the contents displayed in the region for accepting input such as the flick operation and with a region that is displayed in relation to the region for accepting input and should not be hidden (non-display disabled region); paragraph 140, Figures 9-10 and also, Figure 6 illustrating that a cursor bar 404A is pressed to scroll the registered addresses displayed in list region 400. See the rest of reference),
wherein, in a case where a setting to disable acceptance of the first operation on the screen is enabled, the display control unit displays a screen on which a second operation, different from the first operation, for scrolling the predetermined area of the screen is acceptable (it is determined that there exists a non-display disabled region, the display region is partially enlarged. Then, the range of input such as the flick operation is partially enlarged; paragraph 136, Figures 9-10, and also, Figure 6 wherein a cursor for scrolling a display content displayed in said prescribed display region in accordance with the input instruction through said operation unit is displayed. See the rest of reference).
Regarding claim 2, KURUMASA discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first operation is a drag operation or a flick operation (the range of input such as the flick operation is enlarged; paragraphs 137-140, Figures 9-10).
Regarding claim 3, KURUMASA discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second operation is an operation of selecting an object for scrolling the predetermined area of the screen (a region for accepting the flick operation. Then, scrolling is executed by accepting the flick operation in this region; paragraph 111. See the rest of reference).
Regarding claim 4, KURUMASA discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the object for scrolling the predetermined area of the screen is a button for scrolling the predetermined area of the screen (Cursor bar 404A is provided. An up button or down button of cursor bar 404A is pressed to scroll the registered addresses displayed in list region 400; paragraph 125 and see the rest of reference).
Regarding claim 5, KURUMASA discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the screen on which the second operation is acceptable is a screen that includes an object for scrolling the predetermined area in the predetermined area (a plurality of registered addresses "AA," "BB," . . . "HH" are displayed in the registered address list region 400. Cursor bar 404A is provided. An up button or down button of cursor bar 404A is pressed to scroll the registered addresses displayed in list region 400; paragraph 125, Figure 8. See the rest of reference).
Regarding claim 6, KURUMASA discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where the first operation is acceptable on the screen, the display control unit displays, on the display unit, a screen on which the first operation is acceptable and the second operation is not acceptable (paragraphs 139-143, Figure 10. See the rest of reference).
Regarding claim 7, KURUMASA discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a setting unit configured to make a setting on whether to accept the first operation on the screen (Accepting input such as the flick operation may be changed by changing the display region in accordance with the direction of the flick operation; paragraph 129. See the rest of reference),
wherein, in a case where the setting unit makes a setting indicating that the first operation is not acceptable on the screen, the display control unit displays a screen on which the first operation is not acceptable and the second operation is acceptable (list region 400 is preset as a region for accepting the flick operation. Then, scrolling is executed by accepting the flick operation in this region; paragraphs 111-116. See the rest of reference).
Regarding claim 8, KURUMASA discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein, in a case where the setting unit makes a setting indicating that the first operation is acceptable, the display control unit displays a screen on which the first operation is acceptable (it is determined that a non-display disable region does not exist, the display region is enlarged to maximum. Then, the range of input such as the flick operation is enlarged; paragraph 137-138, Figure 10 illustrating the correspondence between an input accepting region and a non-display disabled region) and the second operation is not acceptable (it is determined whether there exists a non-display disabled region; paragraphs 135-136, Figures 9-10).
Regarding claim 9, KURUMASA discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the display control unit displays, on the display unit, a setting screen for making a setting on whether to enable acceptance of the first operation on the screen (it is determined that a non-display disable region does not exist (NO in step S106), the display region is enlarged to maximum; paragraphs 137, 164).
Regarding claim 10, KURUMASA discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the image processing apparatus has a plurality of functions including at least a function of scanning a recording medium and transmitting scan data obtained by the scanning to an external device (a setting screen region 410 is also provided in which a scan/fax transmission mode (color, resolution, paper, file format, single/duplex) is set for communication; paragraph 112, Figure 11. See the rest of reference).
Regarding claim 11, KURUMASA discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the predetermined area is an area that includes a plurality of destination candidates to which the scan data obtained by the scanning is to be transmitted (paragraph 64, Figures 11-12. See the rest of reference).
Regarding claim 12, KURUMASA discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined area is an area that includes the plurality of functions from among which one function is selectable (Display related to the scan function on display 312 and enables various operations of the scan function; paragraphs 65-66. See the rest of reference).
Claims 13 and 14 are directed to a method and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, and recite identical features as claim 1. Thus, claims 13 and 14 are rejected for the same reasons discussed in claim 1 above.
Information Disclosure Statement
10. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 20 September 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner as indicated below.
11. Applicant has provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s) JP 2018-142166 in para. 0003 (or on pg. 1) of the original specification and also provided a copy of English abstract.
Cited Art
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takamiya (US 2021/0240323 A1) discloses an information processing apparatus including a touch panel display, the information processing apparatus comprising: a detection unit configured to detect a touch operation performed by a user on the touch panel display; and a display control unit configured to, when the detection unit detects that an object has touched a predetermined region and further detects that the object touching the predetermined region has separated therefrom, control a display to shift to a screen associated with the predetermined region; wherein the display control unit is configured to, during a period from when the object has touched the predetermined region until when the object has separated therefrom, display a text string on the predetermined region of the touch panel display, and scroll-display a text string on the predetermined region if the text string exceeds a number of characters displayable at a time on the predetermined region.
Noda et al. (US 2012/0050807 A1) discloses an operation console including a display device having a display screen, and a touch-panel arranged superposed on said display screen for receiving a user operation on said display screen, comprising: a display control device controlling said display device such that a plurality of images are displayed on said display screen; a detecting device detecting any of said plurality of images being selected, based on a user operation on said touch-panel; a first determining device for determining, while selection of any of said plurality of images is being detected by said detecting device, whether or not an instruction for moving images other than said selected image among said plurality of images has been given, based on a user operation on said touch-panel; and a scrolling device for scrolling and displaying the images other than said selected image among the plurality of images, in response to a determination by said first determining device that said instruction for moving has been given, further comprising a second determining device for determining, while selection of any of said plurality of images is being detected by said detecting device, whether or not said selected image is displayed stationary at a predetermined position, based on a user operation on said touch-panel; wherein said first determining device determines whether or not said instruction for moving has been given, if it is determined by said second determining device that said selected image is displayed stationary at a predetermined position.
/ALLEN H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683