DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the communications filed on 20 September 2024. Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren et al. (Hereinafter, Ren, US 2018/0005434 A1) in view of Canada et al. (Hereinafter, US 10,319,150 B1), and further in view of Bray et al. (Hereinafter, Bray, US 2014/0365965 A1), and Look et al. (Hereinafter, Look, US 2013/0016102 A1) .
Per claim 1 , Ren discloses a method (paragraph [0002], “This disclosure relates generally to the field of driver information and driver assistance systems (also known as in-vehicle information systems) and, more specifically, to systems and methods that provide graphical displays to a vehicle operator for mapping and navigation applications…” ) comprising:
at an electronic device (e.g., in-vehicle information system 200 as shown in Fig. 2; paragraph [0021], “FIG. 2 depicts an in-vehicle information system 200 that generates a graphical display of a hybrid 2D and 3D map including a 3D graphical representation of a POI and contextual information….”) in communication with a display generation component (paragraph [0017], “FIG. 1 depicts a series of graphical displays for a hybrid 2D and 3D map that presents map and point of interest (POI) information to a user using a combination of 2D graphical elements, 3D graphical elements, and contextual information graphics. The displays of FIG. 1 are generated using a graphical display device, such as the graphical display device 232 that is described in more detail below in conjunction with an in-vehicle information system 200….”):
displaying, via the display generation component, a map user interface (paragraph [0030]) that includes:
a map (e.g., a hybrid 2D and 3D map with a 3D landmark 420 and 3D buildings 424 in a region of interest depicted on a larger 2D base map 428 as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0035], “FIG. 4 depicts additional details of the 2D and 3D hybrid maps of FIG. 1. FIG. 4 depicts a hybrid 2D and 3D map with a 3D landmark 420 and 3D buildings 424 in a region of interest depicted on a larger 2D base map 428 that shows areas outside of the region of interest in only two dimensions … “; Examiner’s Note: Ren teaches rendering three-dimensional building or landmark models positioned at coordinates on a map corresponding to the real-world physical locations of structures. );
a model corresponding to a physical object at a location on the map that corresponds to a physical location of the physical object(e.g., 3D landmark 420 and 3D buildings 424 as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0035], “FIG. 4 depicts additional details of the 2D and 3D hybrid maps of FIG. 1. FIG. 4 depicts a hybrid 2D and 3D map with a 3D landmark 420 and 3D buildings 424 in a region of interest depicted on a larger 2D base map 428 that shows areas outside of the region of interest in only two dimensions…” ),
the model is displayed with first virtual lighting based on a first virtual light source (e.g., Fig. 1 (A) Sunny ; Abstract and paragraph [0009], “….The hybrid-dimensional visualization uses an importance-driven or focus-and-context visualization approach to combine the display of different map elements, including 2D map, 2D building footprint, 3D map, weather visualization, realistic day-night lighting, and POI information, into a single map view …. “; paragraph [0018], “… As described in more detail below, the hybrid 2D and 3D map view optionally includes procedurally generated lighting effects to simulate different times of day and night conditions. The contextual effects in the region of interest 105 gradually transition to the second footprint layer in the 2D map around region 105, to avoid abrupt and unnatural change in appearance. “; paragraph [0036]; Examiner’s Note: To simulate a first virtual lighting such as (A) Sunny as shown in Fig. 1, Ren teaches a first virtual light source such as the sun.), and
the model is displayed with third virtual lighting based on a second virtual light source different from the first virtual lighting( Examiner’s Note: To simulate a third virtual lighting based on a second virtual light source different from the first virtual lighting, Ren teaches a second virtual light source such as streetlamps along streets.).
Ren does not expressly disclose:
an icon that includes a graphical representation of the physical object displayed in association with the model corresponding to the physical object, wherein:
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a first visual characteristic mode, the model is displayed with first virtual lighting based on a first virtual light source and the graphical representation included in the icon is displayed with second virtual lighting, and
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a second visual characteristic mode different from the first visual characteristic mode, the model is displayed with third virtual lighting based on a second virtual light source different from the first virtual lighting, and the graphical representation included in the icon is displayed with fourth virtual lighting different from the second virtual lighting.
Canada discloses an icon (e.g., item 802 as shown in Fig. 8A) that includes a graphical representation of the physical object displayed in association with the model corresponding to the physical object ( e.g., space 806 as shown in Fig. 8A; Abstract; column 2, lines 25-38; column 5, lines 10-36; column 15, lines 4-10; column 16, lines 29-38; Examiner’s Note: Canada teaches representing the same item using both a 3D model and a 2D rendering/virtual sticker/icon.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hybrid 2-D/3-D map visualization of Ren to include the three-dimensional model and an associated graphical/icon representation of the same physical object as taught by Canada to improve object recognition and user interaction as suggested by Canada (column 1, lines 20-25).
Bray discloses wherein:
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a first visual characteristic mode (e.g., day mode 301 as shown in Fig. 3; Abstract, “ A device that provides a map and/or navigation application that displays items on the map and/or navigation instructions differently in different modes. The applications of some embodiments provide a day mode and a night mode….“; paragraph [0003]; Examiner’s Note: Bray teaches a first display mode such as a day mode.), the model is displayed with first virtual lighting based on a first virtual light source(Abstract; paragraph [0003]; paragraph [0035]; paragraph [0046]; paragraph [0048]; Examiner’s Note: Bray teaches displaying a map in different visual modes, including day and night modes, with different visual styles (i.e., visual lighting) applied to the map elements in respective modes.), and
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a second visual characteristic mode different from the first visual characteristic mode(Abstract, “ A device that provides a map and/or navigation application that displays items on the map and/or navigation instructions differently in different modes. The applications of some embodiments provide a day mode and a night mode….“; paragraph [0003]; Examiner’s Note: Bray teaches a second visual characteristic mode different from the first visual characteristic mode such as a night mode.), the model is displayed with third virtual lighting based on a second virtual light source different from the first virtual lighting(Abstract; paragraph [0003]; paragraph [0035]; paragraph [0046]; paragraph [0048]; Examiner’s Note: Bray teaches displaying a map in different visual modes, including day and night modes, with different visual styles (i.e., visual lighting) applied to the map elements in respective modes).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the virtual light source techniques of Bray with the three-dimensional building models of Ren and Canada in order to make the map and/or navigation data easy to read at a glance as suggested by Bray (paragraph [0002]).
Look discloses wherein:
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a first visual characteristic mode(e.g., map information 404 as shown in Fig. 4(a); paragraph [0031]), the graphical representation included in the icon (e.g., location pin 402 as shown in Fig. 4(a) is displayed with second virtual lighting (paragraph [0032]; paragraph [042]), and
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a second visual characteristic mode different from the first visual characteristic mode(.g., map information 404 as shown in Fig. 4(b); paragraph [0031]), the graphical representation included in the icon is displayed with fourth virtual lighting different from the second virtual lighting(paragraphs [0033-0034]; Examiner’s Note: Look teaches simulating three-dimensional visual effects, including simulated depth, shading, illumination effects, and lighting characteristics applied to the objects.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the three-dimensional rendering and lighting techniques of Look with the hybrid 2-D/3-D map visualization of Ren, Canada, and Bray in order to improve realism and visual quality of displayed objects as suggested by Look(paragraph [0001]).
Per claim 2, Ren, Canada, Bray, and Look disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the model corresponding to the physical object is displayed from a first perspective relative to a reference, and the graphical representation of the physical object displayed in the icon is displayed from a second perspective, different from the first perspective, relative to the reference (Look, paragraph [0023]; Examiner’s Note: Look teaches three-dimensional rendering employing different viewpoints and perspective effects for graphical objects.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the three-dimensional rendering and lighting techniques of Look with the hybrid 2-D/3-D map visualization of Ren, Canada, and Bray in order to improve realism and visual quality of displayed objects as suggested by Look(paragraph [0001]).
Per claim 3, Ren, Canada, Bray, and Look disclose the method of claim 1, wherein a portion of the physical object displayed by the model is different from a portion of the physical object displayed by the graphical representation of the physical object in the icon (Canada, Abstract, “… Users can have the ability to view different renderings , move those items around , and develop views of the physical space that may be desirable … “; column 2, lines 54-67 to column 3, lines 1-9; column 3, lines 10-36; column 8, lines 13-49; Examiner’s Note: Canada teaches alternative representations of the same object, including 2D and 3D renderings providing different visual information regarding the represented item.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hybrid 2-D/3-D map visualization of Ren, Bray, and Look to include the three-dimensional model and an associated graphical/icon representation of the same physical object as taught by Canada to improve object recognition and user interaction as suggested by Canada (column 1, lines 20-25).
Per claim 4, Ren, Canada, Bray, and Look disclose the method of claim 2, further comprising:
while displaying the model corresponding to the physical object from a first perspective relative to a reference and the graphical representation of the physical object in the icon from a second perspective, different from the first perspective, relative to the reference, receiving, via one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to adjust a perspective from which the map is displayed in the map user interface(Look, paragraph [0030]); and
in response to receiving the input:
displaying, in the map user interface, the map from a respective perspective, different from the first perspective, relative to the reference(Look, paragraph [0031]);
displaying the model corresponding to the physical object from the respective perspective relative to the reference(Look, paragraph [0032]); and
displaying the graphical representation of the physical object in the icon from the second perspective relative to the reference(Look, paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the three-dimensional rendering and lighting techniques of Look with the hybrid 2-D/3-D map visualization of Ren, Canada, and Bray in order to improve realism and visual quality of displayed objects as suggested by Look(paragraph [0001]).
Per claim 5, Ren, Canada, Bray, and Look disclose the method of claim 1, wherein a difference between the first and third virtual lightings is different from a difference between the second and fourth virtual lightings (Bray, Abstract; paragraph [0003]; paragraph [0035]; paragraph [0046]; paragraph [0048]; Examiner’s Note: Bray teaches displaying a map in different visual modes, including day and night modes, with different visual styles (i.e., visual lighting) applied to the map elements in respective modes; Look paragraphs [0030-0033]; Examiner’s Note : Bray changes virtual lighting based on time of day, i.e., day or night. Look changes based on device orientation.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the virtual light source techniques of Bray with the three-dimensional building models of Ren and Canada in order to make the map and/or navigation data easy to read at a glance as suggested by Bray (paragraph [0002]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the three-dimensional rendering and lighting techniques of Look with the hybrid 2-D/3-D map visualization of Ren, Canada, and Bray in order to improve realism and visual quality of displayed objects as suggested by Look(paragraph [0001]).
Per claim 6, Ren, Canada, Bray, and Look disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the model corresponding to the physical object is a three-dimensional representation of the physical object(Ren, e.g., 3D buildings 424 as shown in Fig. 4;paragraph [0035]), and the graphical representation of the physical object in the icon is a three-dimensional representation of the physical object (Canada, Abstract; column 2, lines 5-24).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hybrid 2-D/3-D map visualization of Ren to include the three-dimensional model and an associated graphical/icon representation of the same physical object as taught by Canada to improve object recognition and user interaction as suggested by Canada (column 1, lines 20-25).
Per claim 7, Ren, Canada, Bray, and Look disclose the method of claim 1, wherein displaying the model with the third virtual lighting includes displaying the model with simulated artificial light and simulated natural light(Ren, paragraph [0036]).
Per claim 8, Ren, Canada, Bray, and Look disclose the method of claim 1, wherein displaying the model with the first virtual lighting includes displaying the model with simulated natural light without simulated artificial light(Ren, paragraph [0018], “ … The region of interest in views 120-128 also depict contextual feature data such as a depiction of the weather over the region of interest. For example, the views 132-140 depict the same region of interest under sunny daylight conditions (view 132), cloudy daytime conditions (view 136), and rainy daytime conditions (view 140). In one embodiment, the GPU 216 in the processor 204 applies different lighting effects to the region of interest to brighten all of the three-dimensional objects within the region of interest for sunny weather conditions or to apply a darkening effect for cloudy conditions and a further darkening effect for rainy conditions. “ ).
Per claim 12, Ren, Canada, Bray, and Look disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
while the electronic device is presenting the map user interface in the first visual characteristic mode and displaying the model with the first virtual lighting and the graphical representation included in the icon with the second virtual lighting, detecting an event corresponding to transitioning from presenting the map user interface in the first visual characteristic mode to presenting the map user interface in the second visual characteristic mode(Ren, paragraph [0007]); and
in response to detecting the event, displaying an animation of the model transitioning from being displayed with the first virtual lighting to the model being displayed with the third virtual lighting, and the graphical representation included in the icon transitioning from being displayed with the second virtual lighting to the graphical representation included in the icon being displayed with the fourth virtual lighting(Ren, paragraph [0018]).
Per claim 13, Ren, Canada, Bray, and Look disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
while presenting the map user interface in the first visual characteristic mode, including displaying the icon that includes the graphical representation of the physical object at a respective location on the map corresponding to the physical object without displaying the model corresponding to the physical object on the map, wherein the graphical representation included in the icon is displayed with the second virtual lighting, detecting an event corresponding to transitioning from presenting the map user interface in the first visual characteristic mode to presenting the map user interface in the second visual characteristic mode(paragraph[0018], “In FIG. 1, the views 116-128 depict a series of images that are produced in an animation sequence to generate a detailed hybrid 2D and 3D map showing 3D map features and contextual data around the region of interest 105, while other portions of the map display remain as 2D images. The view 116 depicts the 2D map with additional indicators, such as text or graphical icons, for points of interest on the map. “); and
in response to detecting the event, displaying the icon that includes the graphical representation of the physical object at the respective location on the map without displaying the model corresponding to the physical object on the map, wherein the graphical representation included in the icon is displayed with the fourth virtual lighting(Ren, paragraph[0017]; paragraph [0024], “… As described in more detail below, the in-vehicle information system 200 receives input through the multi-modal input devices 234 to select a region of interest in a map display. The system 200 generates three-dimensional images and other contextual information for only the region of interest while the remaining portions of the map display are rendered in a lower-detail two-dimensional mode to present the information about the region of interest to the user with minimal occlusion and distraction. “; Examiner’s Note: Ren discloses displaying point of interest (POI) information icon that includes the graphical representation of the physical object at the respective location on the map without displaying the model corresponding to the physical object on the map as shown in view 116 of Fig. 1. ).
Per claim 14, Ren, Canada, Bray, and Look disclose the method of claim 1, wherein: the first virtual lighting is different from the second virtual lighting, and the third virtual lighting is different from the fourth virtual lighting(Bray, Abstract; paragraph [0003]; paragraph [0035]; paragraph [0046]; paragraph [0048]; Examiner’s Note: Bray teaches displaying a map in different visual modes, including day and night modes, with different visual styles (i.e., visual lighting) applied to the map elements in respective modes; Look paragraphs [0030-0033]; Examiner’s Note : Bray changes virtual lighting based on time of day, i.e., day or night. Look changes based on device orientation.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the virtual light source techniques of Bray with the three-dimensional building models of Ren and Canada in order to make the map and/or navigation data easy to read at a glance as suggested by Bray (paragraph [0002]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the three-dimensional rendering and lighting techniques of Look with the hybrid 2-D/3-D map visualization of Ren, Canada, and Bray in order to improve realism and visual quality of displayed objects as suggested by Look(paragraph [0001]).
Per claim 15, Ren discloses an electronic device(e.g., in-vehicle information system 200 as shown in Fig. 1; paragraph [0017]), comprising:
one or more processors(e.g., processor 204 as shown in Fig. 2; paragraph [0022]);
memory (e.g., memory 220 as shown in Fig. 2; paragraph [0023]); and
one or more programs(e.g., stored program instruction 228 as shown in Fig. 2; ), wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors(paragraph [0022]), the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display generation component, a map user interface (paragraph [0030]) that includes:
a map (e.g., a hybrid 2D and 3D map with a 3D landmark 420 and 3D buildings 424 in a region of interest depicted on a larger 2D base map 428 as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0035], “FIG. 4 depicts additional details of the 2D and 3D hybrid maps of FIG. 1. FIG. 4 depicts a hybrid 2D and 3D map with a 3D landmark 420 and 3D buildings 424 in a region of interest depicted on a larger 2D base map 428 that shows areas outside of the region of interest in only two dimensions … “; Examiner’s Note: Ren teaches rendering three-dimensional building or landmark models positioned at coordinates on a map corresponding to the real-world physical locations of structures. );
a model corresponding to a physical object at a location on the map that corresponds to a physical location of the physical object(e.g., 3D landmark 420 and 3D buildings 424 as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0035], “FIG. 4 depicts additional details of the 2D and 3D hybrid maps of FIG. 1. FIG. 4 depicts a hybrid 2D and 3D map with a 3D landmark 420 and 3D buildings 424 in a region of interest depicted on a larger 2D base map 428 that shows areas outside of the region of interest in only two dimensions…” ),
the model is displayed with first virtual lighting based on a first virtual light source (e.g., Fig. 1 (A) Sunny ; Abstract and paragraph [0009], “….The hybrid-dimensional visualization uses an importance-driven or focus-and-context visualization approach to combine the display of different map elements, including 2D map, 2D building footprint, 3D map, weather visualization, realistic day-night lighting, and POI information, into a single map view …. “; paragraph [0018], “… As described in more detail below, the hybrid 2D and 3D map view optionally includes procedurally generated lighting effects to simulate different times of day and night conditions. The contextual effects in the region of interest 105 gradually transition to the second footprint layer in the 2D map around region 105, to avoid abrupt and unnatural change in appearance. “; paragraph [0036]; Examiner’s Note: To simulate a first virtual lighting such as (A) Sunny as shown in Fig. 1, Ren teaches a first virtual light source such as the sun.), and
the model is displayed with third virtual lighting based on a second virtual light source different from the first virtual lighting( Examiner’s Note: To simulate a third virtual lighting based on a second virtual light source different from the first virtual lighting, Ren teaches a second virtual light source such as streetlamps along streets.).
Ren does not expressly disclose:
an icon that includes a graphical representation of the physical object displayed in association with the model corresponding to the physical object, wherein:
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a first visual characteristic mode, the model is displayed with first virtual lighting based on a first virtual light source and the graphical representation included in the icon is displayed with second virtual lighting, and
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a second visual characteristic mode different from the first visual characteristic mode, the model is displayed with third virtual lighting based on a second virtual light source different from the first virtual lighting, and the graphical representation included in the icon is displayed with fourth virtual lighting different from the second virtual lighting.
Canada discloses an icon (e.g., item 802 as shown in Fig. 8A) that includes a graphical representation of the physical object displayed in association with the model corresponding to the physical object ( e.g., space 806 as shown in Fig. 8A; Abstract; column 2, lines 25-38; column 5, lines 10-36; column 15, lines 4-10; column 16, lines 29-38; Examiner’s Note: Canada teaches representing the same item using both a 3D model and a 2D rendering/virtual sticker/icon.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hybrid 2-D/3-D map visualization of Ren to include the three-dimensional model and an associated graphical/icon representation of the same physical object as taught by Canada to improve object recognition and user interaction as suggested by Canada (column 1, lines 20-25).
Bray discloses wherein:
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a first visual characteristic mode (e.g., day mode 301 as shown in Fig. 3; Abstract, “ A device that provides a map and/or navigation application that displays items on the map and/or navigation instructions differently in different modes. The applications of some embodiments provide a day mode and a night mode….“; paragraph [0003]; Examiner’s Note: Bray teaches a first display mode such as a day mode.), the model is displayed with first virtual lighting based on a first virtual light source(Abstract; paragraph [0003]; paragraph [0035]; paragraph [0046]; paragraph [0048]; Examiner’s Note: Bray teaches displaying a map in different visual modes, including day and night modes, with different visual styles (i.e., visual lighting) applied to the map elements in respective modes.), and
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a second visual characteristic mode different from the first visual characteristic mode(Abstract, “ A device that provides a map and/or navigation application that displays items on the map and/or navigation instructions differently in different modes. The applications of some embodiments provide a day mode and a night mode….“; paragraph [0003]; Examiner’s Note: Bray teaches a second visual characteristic mode different from the first visual characteristic mode such as a night mode.), the model is displayed with third virtual lighting based on a second virtual light source different from the first virtual lighting(Abstract; paragraph [0003]; paragraph [0035]; paragraph [0046]; paragraph [0048]; Examiner’s Note: Bray teaches displaying a map in different visual modes, including day and night modes, with different visual styles (i.e., visual lighting) applied to the map elements in respective modes).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the virtual light source techniques of Bray with the three-dimensional building models of Ren and Canada in order to make the map and/or navigation data easy to read at a glance as suggested by Bray (paragraph [0002]).
Look discloses wherein:
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a first visual characteristic mode(e.g., map information 404 as shown in Fig. 4(a); paragraph [0031]), the graphical representation included in the icon (e.g., location pin 402 as shown in Fig. 4(a) is displayed with second virtual lighting (paragraph [0032]; paragraph [042]), and
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a second visual characteristic mode different from the first visual characteristic mode(.g., map information 404 as shown in Fig. 4(b); paragraph [0031]), the graphical representation included in the icon is displayed with fourth virtual lighting different from the second virtual lighting(paragraphs [0033-0034]; Examiner’s Note: Look teaches simulating three-dimensional visual effects, including simulated depth, shading, illumination effects, and lighting characteristics applied to the objects.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the three-dimensional rendering and lighting techniques of Look with the hybrid 2-D/3-D map visualization of Ren, Canada, and Bray in order to improve realism and visual quality of displayed objects as suggested by Look(paragraph [0001]).
Per claim 16, Ren discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device(e.g., memory 220 as shown in Fig. 2; paragraph [0023]), cause the electronic device to perform a method comprising:
displaying, via the display generation component, a map user interface (paragraph [0030]) that includes:
a map (e.g., a hybrid 2D and 3D map with a 3D landmark 420 and 3D buildings 424 in a region of interest depicted on a larger 2D base map 428 as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0035], “FIG. 4 depicts additional details of the 2D and 3D hybrid maps of FIG. 1. FIG. 4 depicts a hybrid 2D and 3D map with a 3D landmark 420 and 3D buildings 424 in a region of interest depicted on a larger 2D base map 428 that shows areas outside of the region of interest in only two dimensions … “; Examiner’s Note: Ren teaches rendering three-dimensional building or landmark models positioned at coordinates on a map corresponding to the real-world physical locations of structures. );
a model corresponding to a physical object at a location on the map that corresponds to a physical location of the physical object(e.g., 3D landmark 420 and 3D buildings 424 as shown in Fig. 4; paragraph [0035], “FIG. 4 depicts additional details of the 2D and 3D hybrid maps of FIG. 1. FIG. 4 depicts a hybrid 2D and 3D map with a 3D landmark 420 and 3D buildings 424 in a region of interest depicted on a larger 2D base map 428 that shows areas outside of the region of interest in only two dimensions…” ),
the model is displayed with first virtual lighting based on a first virtual light source (e.g., Fig. 1 (A) Sunny ; Abstract and paragraph [0009], “….The hybrid-dimensional visualization uses an importance-driven or focus-and-context visualization approach to combine the display of different map elements, including 2D map, 2D building footprint, 3D map, weather visualization, realistic day-night lighting, and POI information, into a single map view …. “; paragraph [0018], “… As described in more detail below, the hybrid 2D and 3D map view optionally includes procedurally generated lighting effects to simulate different times of day and night conditions. The contextual effects in the region of interest 105 gradually transition to the second footprint layer in the 2D map around region 105, to avoid abrupt and unnatural change in appearance. “; paragraph [0036]; Examiner’s Note: To simulate a first virtual lighting such as (A) Sunny as shown in Fig. 1, Ren teaches a first virtual light source such as the sun.), and
the model is displayed with third virtual lighting based on a second virtual light source different from the first virtual lighting( Examiner’s Note: To simulate a third virtual lighting based on a second virtual light source different from the first virtual lighting, Ren teaches a second virtual light source such as streetlamps along streets.).
Ren does not expressly disclose:
an icon that includes a graphical representation of the physical object displayed in association with the model corresponding to the physical object, wherein:
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a first visual characteristic mode, the model is displayed with first virtual lighting based on a first virtual light source and the graphical representation included in the icon is displayed with second virtual lighting, and
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a second visual characteristic mode different from the first visual characteristic mode, the model is displayed with third virtual lighting based on a second virtual light source different from the first virtual lighting, and the graphical representation included in the icon is displayed with fourth virtual lighting different from the second virtual lighting.
Canada discloses an icon (e.g., item 802 as shown in Fig. 8A) that includes a graphical representation of the physical object displayed in association with the model corresponding to the physical object ( e.g., space 806 as shown in Fig. 8A; Abstract; column 2, lines 25-38; column 5, lines 10-36; column 15, lines 4-10; column 16, lines 29-38; Examiner’s Note: Canada teaches representing the same item using both a 3D model and a 2D rendering/virtual sticker/icon.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hybrid 2-D/3-D map visualization of Ren to include the three-dimensional model and an associated graphical/icon representation of the same physical object as taught by Canada to improve object recognition and user interaction as suggested by Canada (column 1, lines 20-25).
Bray discloses wherein:
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a first visual characteristic mode (e.g., day mode 301 as shown in Fig. 3; Abstract, “ A device that provides a map and/or navigation application that displays items on the map and/or navigation instructions differently in different modes. The applications of some embodiments provide a day mode and a night mode….“; paragraph [0003]; Examiner’s Note: Bray teaches a first display mode such as a day mode.), the model is displayed with first virtual lighting based on a first virtual light source(Abstract; paragraph [0003]; paragraph [0035]; paragraph [0046]; paragraph [0048]; Examiner’s Note: Bray teaches displaying a map in different visual modes, including day and night modes, with different visual styles (i.e., visual lighting) applied to the map elements in respective modes.), and
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a second visual characteristic mode different from the first visual characteristic mode(Abstract, “ A device that provides a map and/or navigation application that displays items on the map and/or navigation instructions differently in different modes. The applications of some embodiments provide a day mode and a night mode….“; paragraph [0003]; Examiner’s Note: Bray teaches a second visual characteristic mode different from the first visual characteristic mode such as a night mode.), the model is displayed with third virtual lighting based on a second virtual light source different from the first virtual lighting(Abstract; paragraph [0003]; paragraph [0035]; paragraph [0046]; paragraph [0048]; Examiner’s Note: Bray teaches displaying a map in different visual modes, including day and night modes, with different visual styles (i.e., visual lighting) applied to the map elements in respective modes).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the virtual light source techniques of Bray with the three-dimensional building models of Ren and Canada in order to make the map and/or navigation data easy to read at a glance as suggested by Bray (paragraph [0002]).
Look discloses wherein:
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a first visual characteristic mode(e.g., map information 404 as shown in Fig. 4(a); paragraph [0031]), the graphical representation included in the icon (e.g., location pin 402 as shown in Fig. 4(a) is displayed with second virtual lighting (paragraph [0032]; paragraph [042]), and
while the electronic device presents the map user interface in a second visual characteristic mode different from the first visual characteristic mode(.g., map information 404 as shown in Fig. 4(b); paragraph [0031]), the graphical representation included in the icon is displayed with fourth virtual lighting different from the second virtual lighting(paragraphs [0033-0034]; Examiner’s Note: Look teaches simulating three-dimensional visual effects, including simulated depth, shading, illumination effects, and lighting characteristics applied to the objects.).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the three-dimensional rendering and lighting techniques of Look with the hybrid 2-D/3-D map visualization of Ren, Canada, and Bray in order to improve realism and visual quality of displayed objects as suggested by Look(paragraph [0001]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
DARRIN HOPE
Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178