DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a capturing unit”; “a face detector unit”; “a monocular depth estimation unit”; “a creator unit”; “an input unit”; “a determination unit”; “an aggregator unit”.
Because the claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 14 are objected to for the following informalities: “The method comprises” is improper. As a dependent claim, it is proper under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d) to recite that “The method further comprises (the further limitations)”.
Claims 12 and 27 are objected to for the following informalities: “further based on” is improper, when the claims in question are expanding on the “determining” step of claim 1 in more detail, rather than presenting an additional determination criteria.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint invention, regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 1 and 16, an issue of antecedent basis is present. First, a “depth map corresponding to each target image from the plurality of target images” is generated (i.e., a plurality of depth maps). However, these depth maps are then referred back to in the singular, “based on an addition of the depth map and a set of color models associated with the plurality of target images”. Accordingly, it is unclear which of the depth maps is being referred to. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner will interpret any depth map as qualifying.
With respect to claims 1 and 16, the recitation of “an addition of the depth map and a set of color models” is technically improper. Where Applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). A depth map comprises pixel data, whereas a color model (i.e., RGB, HSV, YCbCr in accordance with the disclosure) is an abstract, higher-level classification label of colors. It is semantically impossible to “add” a depth map to a color model accordingly. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner will understand the general intention of the invention to involve adding respective pixel data (for example, red, green, and blue pixels), in accordance with page 13 of the claimed invention’s specification (“Therefore, a final model input (i.e., the plurality of modified images) is created by adding the depth map, HSV and YCbCr images to the RGB image as a subsequent channel.”).
With respect to claim 16, a nesting issue is present. Following the recitation of “wherein:”, the plurality of multi-branch models are elaborated upon. Then a semicolon is used, and the determination unit is introduced. However, grammatically, the determination unit still exists under the “wherein:” colon. It is thus unclear whether the determination unit is part of the previously recited input unit, or exists as its own separate component. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner will analyze both interpretations as reading.
With respect to claim 16, it is also unclear whether the “plurality of multi-branch image liveness models” exist external to the system or internally, as the system only comprises “an input unit configured to provide…to a plurality of multi-branch image liveness models”. If the claim were to include external multi-branch image liveness models, it would go against the “single entity” requirement for 35 U.S.C. § 271 infringement. As the claim is currently written, it is not sufficiently clear whether these models are part of the “system comprising:” or could merely exist alongside it. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner will analyze both interpretations as reading.
With respect to claims 12 and 27, the claims recite “by each corresponding multi-branch image liveness model”. There is no antecedent basis for a “corresponding multi-branch image liveness model”, neither is it made clear how specifically they are to “correspond[]” to the various modified images and non-live attacks. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner will interpret the word “corresponding” as merely indicating a model which is responsible for detection of any given non-live attack within any given modified image.
With respect to claims 14 and 29, the claims recite “a weighted combination of the image liveness score”, however, only a single “image liveness score” was referred to in claim 13. As you cannot have a combination of a single score, the claim is indefinite. The examiner understands the intended meaning to be the combination of a plurality of scores, however, an interpretation of claim 13 as producing a single score still stands as reasonable (for the reasons outlined in the prior art rejection below).
With respect to claims 2-15 and 17-30, they are rejected by virtue of their dependency on base and intervening claims discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-13, 16, 18-20, and 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et. al Multi-modal Face Presentation Attack Detection via Spatial and Channel Attentions (Hereinafter, “Wang”) in view of Ye et. al Deep Joint Depth Estimation and Color Correction from Monocular Underwater Images Based on Unsupervised Adaptation Networks) (Hereinafter, “Ye”)
With respect to claim 1, Wang teaches:
A method of image processing for determining liveness of a subject, the method comprising:
capturing, by a capturing unit, an image of the subject ([4.1] “These RGB, Depth and Infrared (IR) videos simultaneously captured using the Intel RealSense SR300 camera”)
processing, by a face detector unit, the image to create a plurality of target images ([3.3] image preprocessing; [3.3] “We resize the cropped face region”, wherein the broad task of facial detection reads on cropping to a facial region; [4.1] “The background image area of the face was removed from original videos to make the face PAD task more challenging)
generating, Fig. 2; [4.1] “These RGB, Depth and Infrared (IR) videos simultaneously captured using the Intel RealSense SR300 camera”)
creating, by a creator unit, a plurality of modified images based on an addition of the depth map and a set of color models associated with the plurality of target images (Fig. 2, “Fusion”; [3.1] “We build a multi-stream architecture and use the feature-level fusion category which is to fuse the features extracted from RGB, Depth, IR and fused modality subnetworks and then fed into the shared layers to learn joint representations”; “plurality of” being satisfied as the model is trained over numerous epochs with different photographs, [3.3] “our model is trained with end-to-end style for 200 epochs”)
providing, by an input unit, the plurality of modified images to a plurality of multi-branch image liveness models (Fig. 2, “res5”, “res6” (with additional GAP/fully connected architecture) satisfying the “plurality”, multi-branch in the sense that they receive the multiple branches of Fig. 2)
detecting, by the plurality of multi-branch image liveness models, one of a presence of a set of non-live attacks and an absence of the set of non-live attacks in the plurality of modified images (Fig. 2, “which are shared to learn more discriminative features”)
determining, by a determination unit, the liveness of the subject based on detection of the absence of the set of non-live attacks in the plurality of modified images (Fig. 3, final output; [5] “Then the extracted features from four branches are concatenated and fed into the shared layers to classify supervised with the joint of the center loss and softmax loss”)
Wang does not explicitly teach:
by a monocular depth estimation unit
However, Ye in the same field of endeavor of depth and color estimation, teaches:
A method of image processing
capturing, by a capturing unit, an image of the subject (Fig. 1)
processing, Fig. 1)
generating, by a monocular depth estimation unit, a depth map corresponding to each target image from the plurality of target images (Fig. 1; [1] “Unfortunately, compared to the task of monocular depth estimation in the air, almost no research focuses on depth estimation in the underwater environment due to the lack of effective training data”)
creating, by a creator unit, a plurality of modified images based on an addition of the depth map and a set of color models associated with the plurality of target images (Fig. 1; [5B] “Jointly training depth estimation and color correction modules (both without DA) will improve the performance, because the stacked mode aims to learn a shared embedding across tasks by simply aggregating the supervisions from each individual task.”)
providing, by an input unit, the plurality of modified images to a plurality of multi-branch Fig. 2, loss term of SAN, additional processing of TN)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang to include the limitations of monocular depth estimation, as taught by Ye. Doing so would have the advantage of allowing for depth estimation using simpler hardware. The systems readily integrate, as an estimated depth map could otherwise be used for similar processing as a reference depth map, under the pipeline of Wang.
To the extent Applicant may argue that Wang does not teach modified “images” (since Wang uses mathematical tensor image representations instead), Ye further evidences the possibility of generating decoded image outputs and then taking further representations once again (Fig. 1, Gs and Gd). Ye also evidences the usage of two distinct networks for processing “modified images” (Fig. 1, SAN and TN respectively), if the Applicant argues the narrower interpretation that Wang’s resnets are part of the same “model”. A person of ordinary skill in the art could reach such modifications to a reasonable expectation of predictable success, for the advantage of providing additional control over the tuning of the model’s intermediate outputs.
With respect to claim 3, Wang/Ye teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of target images comprises at least a first image, a second image and a third image (Wang, Fig. 2; Wang, [4.1] “These RGB, Depth and Infrared (IR) videos simultaneously captured using the Intel RealSense SR300 camera”)
With respect to claim 4, Wang/Ye teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the plurality of target images comprises a face of the subject, the second image comprises the face and a first pre-defined percentage of a background detected in the image, and third image comprises the face and a second pre-defined percentage of the background (Wang, Fig. 4, noting that differing portions of the background are visible; Wang [3.3] “We resize the cropped face region to the size 56 x 56, and use an open source imgaug library to do data augmentation, i.e., random flipping, rotation, resizing, cropping and color distortion”, wherein the cropping is “pre-defined” in the sense that mathematically the amount of cropping must be determined (even if determined randomly) prior to the background being fixed to its new value)
With respect to claim 5, Wang/Ye teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein prior to generating the depth map the method comprises resizing the plurality of target images in a pre-determined size (Wang, [3.3])
With respect to claim 7, Wang/Ye teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein each modified image from the plurality of modified images comprises a set of channels (Wang, Fig. 2; Ye, Fig. 1; modified image outputs necessarily possess channels as digital color images)
With respect to claim 8, Wang/Ye teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein each multi-branch image liveness model from the plurality of multi-branch image liveness models receives the plurality of modified images in Wang, Fig. 2, understood that res5 and res6 process in sequence)
With respect to claim 9, Wang/Ye teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein each multi-branch image liveness model from the plurality of multi-branch image liveness models is a neural network based model (Wang, Fig. 2, “res5”, “res6”), and wherein said each multi-branch image liveness model is trained for detecting a specific type of non-live attack ([4.1] “Specifically, this dataset contains 1,000 Chinese people and each person has 1 live video clip and 6 fake video clips (6 different attack manners) for each modality”)
With respect to claim 10, Wang/Ye teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 9, wherein the specific type of non-live attack is one of a display attack type, a print attack type, and a mask-based attack type (Wang, Fig. 1; Wang, Fig. 4)
With respect to claim 11, Wang/Ye teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the set of non-live attacks comprises at least one of one or more display attacks, one or more print attacks, and one or more mask-based attacks (Wang, Fig. 1; Wang, Fig. 4)
With respect to claim 12, Wang/Ye teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the determining, by the determining unit, the liveness of the subject is further based on a detection of an absence of each non-live attack from the set of non-live attacks in each modified image from the plurality of modified image, by each corresponding multi-branch image liveness model from the plurality of multi-branch image liveness models (Wang, Fig. 2 “Center Loss”; [1] “In order to enhance the discriminative power of the deeply learned features, the network is using SGRD strategy to update the parameters and optimized with the joint supervision of softmax loss and center loss [32], aiming to minimize the intra-class variations while keep the features of different classed separable”; Wang, Fig. 4, “‘G, G’ (or ‘S, S’) denotes a genuine (spoof) face image is correctly classified as genuine (spoof)”; [1] “The main contributions of this work are…(ii) SGRD solver to update network parameters and joint supervision of softmax loss and center loss to obtain more discriminative feature representation for live and spoof faces”)
In other words, the center loss strives to remove all “spoof” features from the live category, such that it can be said that with optimization, the decision that a subject is live is based on the absence of the learned spoof features rather than mere presence of live features. Such that an image with even a single spoof feature could no longer be considered “live”, and would be grouped in the other category.
With respect to claim 13, Wang/Ye teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 1, the method comprises generating an image liveness score by each multi-branch image liveness model from the plurality of multi-branch image liveness models (Wang, Fig. 2; unlike claim 14, this language does not explicitly require that the multi-branch image liveness models generate scores one by one, but rather can mutually participate in the generation of a final score, such that it could be said that an image liveness score is generated “by” (i.e., through the contribution of) each multi-branch image liveness model, even if only one such model produces the actual final output score) based on one of the presence of the set of non-live attacks and the absence of the set of non-live attacks in the plurality of modified images. ([Abstract] “Finally, we get the classification confidence scores w.r.t. PAD or not”)
With respect to claim 16, the claim is functionally parallel to claim 1. Claim 16 describes a system configured to perform the method of claim 1. As the method of Wang/Ye is generally understood to take place on a computer capable of performing the method (Wang, [3.3]), the claim language is met in line with the citations above. Accordingly, the claim is rejected.
With respect to claims 18-20 and 22-28, they are rejected in line with the rejections of claims 16, 3-5, and 7-13 above.
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Ye in view of Saban (US 20220398781 A1) (Hereinafter, “Saban”)
With respect to claim 2, Wang/Ye teaches the method of claim 1.
Wang/Ye does not explicitly teach the further limitations of claim 2.
However, Saban, in the same field of endeavor of facial recognition, teaches:
wherein for capturing the image the method comprises performing at least one of a set of compliance checks and a set of sanity checks ([0062]-[0064] “The visual feedback module 602 gets the output from module 601 as absolute state or offsets from optimal view and converts it into a visual feedback (e.g., avatar in a form of 3D spheroid or trimmed 2D from 3D projection of sphere on 2D plane) so that the user can change the head position to match the avatar to the graphical target, e.g., can change his gaze, head rotation, head translation, and eyes opening state to get into best possible state for grabbing optimal image.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang/Ye to include the limitations of compliance and sanity checks as, as taught by Saban. Doing so would ensure the optimal image is taken for processing. The systems readily integrate, as the processing of Wang/Ye requires the isolation of a face.
With respect to claim 17, it is rejected in line with the rejections of claims 16 and 2 above.
Claims 6 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Ye in view of Banerji et. al LBP and Color Descriptors for Image Classification (Hereinafter, “Banerji”)
With respect to claim 6, Wang/Ye teach the method of claim 1.
Wang/Ye do not explicitly teach the further limitations of claim 6.
However, Banerji, in the same field of endeavor of anti-spoofing, teaches:
wherein the set of color models comprises a Hue, Saturation, Value (HSV) color model, a Luminance, Chrominance (YCbCr) color model, and a Red, Green, Blue (RGB) color model ([Abstract] “Four novel color Local Binary Pattern (LBP) descriptors are presented in this chapter for scene image and image texture classification with applications to image search and retrieval… the Color LBP Fusion (CLF) descriptor is constructed by integrating the RGB-LBP, the YCbCr-LBP, the HSV-LBP, the rgb-LBP, as well as the oRGB-LBP descriptor”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang/Ye to include the limitations of fused color features, as taught by Banerji. Doing so would have the advantage of providing more color information for analysis. The systems readily integrate as the fused color feature can otherwise be processed in a similar manner to the RGB features of Wang/Ye.
With respect to claim 21, it is rejected in line with the rejections of claims 16 and 6 above.
Claims 14-15 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Ye in view of Atoum et. al Face anti-spoofing using patch and depth-based CNNs (Hereinafter, “Atoum”)
With respect to claim 14, Wang/Ye teaches the method of claim 13.
Wang/Ye does not teach the further limitations of claim 14.
However, Atoum, in the same field of endeavor of anti-spoofing, teaches:
the method comprises generating by an aggregator unit a final image liveness score based on a weighted combination of the image liveness score generated by said each multi-branch image liveness model ([1] “Hence, we use two CNNs to learn local and holistic features respectively. The first CNN is end-to-end trained, and assign a score to each randomly extracted patch from a face image. We assign the face image with the average of scores. The second CNN estimates the depth map of the face image and provide the face image with a liveness score based on estimated depth map. The fusion of the scores of both CNNs lead to the final estimated class of live vs. spoof”; [4.2] “We use the weighted average of two streams' scores as the final score of our proposed method, where the weights are experimentally determined to be 1 and 0.4 for patch and depth-based streams, respectively”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang/Ye to include the limitations of a fused image score, as taught by Atoum. Doing so would allow for a more robust score measurement that can potentially consider the advantages of two distinct processing modalities. The systems readily integrate, as Atoum represents an additional parallel processing pipeline which could coexist alongside Wang/Ye prior to final fusion.
With respect to claim 15, Wang/Ye/Atoum teaches:
The method as claimed in claim 14, wherein the determining, by the determination unit, the liveness of the subject is further based on a comparison of the final image liveness score with a pre-defined threshold score (Atoum, [3] “A face image or video clip is classified as spoof if its spoof-score is above a pre-defined threshold”)
With respect to claims 29-30, they are rejected in line with the rejections of claims 16 and 14-15 above.
Additional References
Additionally cited references (see attached PTO-892) otherwise not relied upon above have been made of record in view of the manner in which they evidence the general state of the art.
Inquiry
/NOAH W BOYAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2669
/CHAN S PARK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2669