DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot set forth two different features alternatively depending from two different previous claims. This would amount to two completely different claims set forth in a single claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the Claim 9 not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buillas, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0073089.
Regarding Claim 1, Buillas teaches:
A latch (5) rotatable between an engaged position (fig. 8) and a disengaged position (fig.
7), wherein the latch is biased towards the engaged position (see element 14, figs. 14-16), the latch comprising four gripping surfaces (12/20, 51/32) arranged in two opposing pairs (see pair sets 12/20 and 51/32), the two opposing pairs arranged perpendicular to one another (figs. 2-3); and
at least one stop arranged in opposition to the gripping surfaces (see below).
Regarding Claim 2, Buillas teaches:
At least one resilient skirt (14) or resilient leg arranged in opposition to the gripping surfaces.
Regarding Claim 3, Buillas teaches:
The at least one resilient skirt or resilient leg is arranged at least partially on the at least one stop (see 14 and see drawing selection above).
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ooki, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0124792.
Regarding Claim 1, Ooki teaches:
a latch (2) rotatable between an engaged position (fig. 6) and a disengaged position (fig.
7), wherein the latch is biased towards the engaged position (see figs. 6-7, 14-15), the latch comprising four gripping surfaces (5, 5, 5, 5) arranged in two opposing pairs (see figs. 6-7), the two opposing pairs arranged perpendicular to one another; and
at least one stop (1) arranged in opposition to the gripping surfaces.
Regarding Claim 4, Ooki teaches:
Wherein at least one of the four gripping surfaces is ramped such that a ramp (see 5c) reaches a maximum height towards a center of the two opposing pairs (see figs. 14-15, note the perspective is inverted).
Regarding Claim 5, Ooki teaches:
Wherein each of the four gripping surfaces is ramped (see 5, 5, 5, 5, and 5c, 5c, 5c, 5c).
Regarding Claim 6, Ooki teaches:
Wherein the latch comprises a ridge (see 5b), wherein the ridge reaches a maximum height towards the four gripping surfaces (see figs. 14-15, note the perspective is inverted).
Claim(s) 1 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Leidig, U.S. Patent 12,110,917.
Regarding Claim 1, Leidig teaches:
A latch (1) rotatable between an engaged position (fig. 9) and a disengaged position (fig.
7, 8), wherein the latch is biased towards the engaged position (fig. 6, elements 38-40), the latch comprising four gripping surfaces (7, 7, 48, 48) arranged in two opposing pairs, the two opposing pairs arranged perpendicular to one another (see fig. 2); and
at least one stop (18) arranged in opposition to the gripping surfaces.
Regarding Claim 7, Leidig teaches:
Wherein the torsion clip further comprises an insertion nose (3).
Regarding Claim 8, Leidig teaches:
Wherein the torsion clip comprises a keyway (44) operable to move the latch between the engaged position and a disengaged position.
Regarding Claim 9, although this claim is not officially treated on the merits, Examiner is providing a teaching from the prior art as a courtesy, as such, Leidg teaches:
Wherein the keyway is located on the at least one stop (see 44 in fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Leidig teaches:
Wherein the latch comprises a trap (36, 40) arranged to overpower or disengage the bias of the latch.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leidig ‘917.
Regarding Claim 11, Leidig teaches:
Wherein the trap comprises a finger (28, 29) arranged on the at least one stop and a well (36, 43) arranged on the latch.
Leidig does not teach:
Wherein the trap comprises a well arranged on the at least one stop and a finger arranged on the latch.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Leidig with the locations of the finger and trap reversed because applicant has not provided any criticality for the claimed arrangement and there is no apparent advantage to the claimed arrangement and A reversal of parts is generally considered obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art and applicant has not provided any unforeseen result stemming from the use of the claimed structure nor provided any specific problem solved by the claimed structure, In re Gazda
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leidig ‘917 as applied to claim1 above, and further in view of Angellotti, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2004/0016088.
All the aspects of the instant invention are taught by the prior art, but for:
Further comprising a doghouse sized to capture and house the at least one stop.
Angellotti teaches:
A doghouse (12) sized to capture and house the at least one stop (20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Leidig with the doghouse of Angellotti because that would protect the keyway from damage or accidental disengagement.
Conclusion
/M.J.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677