CTNF 18/891,672 CTNF 92100 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/20/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Status Claims 1-20 are pending in this Office Action. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1, 5, 14, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1, 5, 14, and 18 each contain the word “filing”, which appears to be a typographical error and should instead be “filling”. This is recited at the following locations: Claim 1, at lines 5 and 8, Claim 5, at line 2, Claim 14, at lines 8 and 11, Claim 18, at lines 6 and 9 . Appropriate correction is required. Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 4-5, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (CN 113426123) . Regarding claims 1, 14, and 18 , Hu teaches: A virtual object control method, comprising: displaying, by one or computing devices and via a virtual scene interface, a virtual scene comprising a master virtual object and an interactive element, wherein the master virtual object is equipped with a virtual prop, wherein the virtual prop comprises a first prop accessory, and wherein the first prop accessory comprises a plurality of prop filing elements; controlling, based on receiving a first request for an attack operation on the interactive element, based on a consumption of one or more prop filling elements of the plurality of prop filing elements, and in the virtual scene, the master virtual object to perform the attack operation on the interactive element using the virtual prop [in the game scene a player can hold a weapon and use it for attacking an enemy, using bullets equipped in the weapon (page 8-9)] controlling, based on receiving a second request for an accessory switching operation and in the virtual scene, the master virtual object to switch the first prop accessory of the virtual prop to a second prop accessory [when detecting the first weapon’s virtual property, such as bullets, quantity is less than the preset number, or when receiving a switching operation of the target virtual property of the first weapon, the target virtual property of a second weapon or the target virtual property of a backpack can be used to equip the first weapon (page 9-10)] and displaying the first prop accessory being detached from the virtual prop [a graphical user interface can be provided by the terminal device, the first position associated with the first weapon in the graphical user interface displays the number of the target virtual property currently assembled by the first weapon (page 13-14, Fig. 4)] and transforming, in the virtual scene, the first prop accessory into a functional prop accessory, wherein the functional prop accessory is configured for assisting the master virtual object to attack the interactive element [the virtual property, such as bullets, become useful for attacking the enemy when they are equipped into the weapon of the player (page 8-9)]. Regarding claims 4 and 17, Hu teaches the virtual object control method of claim 1; Hu further teaches: the controlling the master virtual object to switch from the first prop accessory of the virtual prop to the second prop accessory is further based on a consumption quantity of the one or more prop filling elements reaching a consumption threshold [when detecting the first weapon’s virtual property, such as bullets, quantity is less than the preset number, or when receiving a switching operation of the target virtual property of the first weapon, the target virtual property of a second weapon or the target virtual property of a backpack can be used to equip the first weapon (page 9-10)]. Regarding claim 5 , Hu teaches the virtual object control method of claim 4; Hu further teaches: the consumption quantity indicates a complete consumption of the plurality of prop filing elements [the preset number for determining to equip bullets in the weapon may be 0 (page 8-9)] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 6, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (CN 113426123) in view of Wu et al. (US 2022/0080313) . Regarding claims 2, 15, and 19 , Hu teaches the virtual object control method of claim 1; Hu does not explicitly disclose: based on the functional prop accessory meeting a preset condition: generating an explosion operation in the virtual scene; and reducing an attribute value, of the interactive element, within a preset range. Wu teaches: based on the functional prop accessory meeting a preset condition: generating an explosion operation in the virtual scene; and reducing an attribute value, of the interactive element, within a preset range [based on a user operation to aim a virtual item, the item, such as a grenade, is thrown causing an explosion and a countdown of 5 seconds occurs. The grenade causes damage to a virtual object (par. 151-159, Fig. 3 and 10)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hu and Wu before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the virtual object control method of Hu by incorporating the teaching of Wu, such that based on the functional prop accessory meeting a preset condition: generating an explosion operation in the virtual scene; and reducing an attribute value, of the interactive element, within a preset range. The motivation for doing so would have been for improving the battle efficiency and experience (Wu – par. 171). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Hu and Wu to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim. Regarding claim 6 , Hu teaches the virtual object control method of claim 1; Hu does not explicitly disclose: after the transforming of the first prop accessory into the functional prop accessory, controlling, based on receiving a third request for a throwing operation, the master virtual object to perform the throwing operation to throw the virtual prop to a specified region. Wu teaches: after the transforming of the first prop accessory into the functional prop accessory, controlling, based on receiving a third request for a throwing operation, the master virtual object to perform the throwing operation to throw the virtual prop to a specified region [a user may control a virtual object to throw a virtual item to a target position (par. 3, 94, and 203, Fig. 10)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hu and Wu before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the virtual object control method of Hu by incorporating the teaching of Wu, such that after the transforming of the first prop accessory into the functional prop accessory, controlling, based on receiving a third request for a throwing operation, the master virtual object to perform the throwing operation to throw the virtual prop to a specified region. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the user to drop an item by throwing it to a target position (Wu – par. 154). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Hu and Wu to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (CN 113426123) in view of Sugai (US 6,645,076) . Regarding claims 3, 16, and 20 , Hu teaches the virtual object control method of claim 1; Hu does not explicitly disclose: based on the functional prop accessory meeting a preset condition: generating, in the virtual scene, a deceleration operation; and reducing a movement speed, of the interactive element, within a preset range [based on the item being equipped on the weapon, when the enemy character is attacked and damage is large, the motion of the player character may be controlled to be slow (col. 3, lines 22-28 and col. 14, lines 34-60)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hu and Sugai before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the virtual object control method of Hu by incorporating the teaching of Sugai, such that based on the functional prop accessory meeting a preset condition: generating, in the virtual scene, a deceleration operation; and reducing a movement speed, of the interactive element, within a preset range. The motivation for doing so would have been to imitate bodily or mental damage of a human being when actually attacked (Sugai – col. 3, lines 19-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Hu and Sugai to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (CN 113426123) in view of Liu (US 2022/0152508) . Regarding claim 8 , Hu teaches the virtual object control method of claim 1; Hu further teaches: the controlling the master virtual object to perform the attack operation on the interactive element further comprises: controlling the master virtual object to fire the one or more prop filling elements in the first prop accessory towards the interactive element [it may be a shooting game and the player may use the weapon to shoot the other player (page 2)] Hu does not explicitly disclose: generating, based on a duration of the one or more prop filling elements being on the interactive element reaching a preset duration and in the virtual scene, an explosion attack on the interactive element. Liu teaches: generating, based on a duration of the one or more prop filling elements being on the interactive element reaching a preset duration and in the virtual scene, an explosion attack on the interactive element [the virtual object may include a weapon that may cause a projectile to stick to the enemy player for a duration before exploding, such as a sticky grenade (par. 43 and 51)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hu and Liu before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the virtual object control method of Hu by incorporating the teaching of Liu, such that based on the functional prop accessory meeting a preset condition: generating, in the virtual scene, a deceleration operation; and reducing a movement speed, of the interactive element, within a preset range. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a suitable virtual weapon to attack the virtual object (Liu – par. 51). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Hu and Liu to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (CN 113426123) in view of Hemby et al. (US 2021/0101074) . Regarding claim 9 , Hu teaches the virtual object control method of claim 1; Hu does not explicitly disclose: after the transforming of the first prop accessory into the functional prop accessory, generating special effect prompt information, wherein the special effect prompt information indicates that the functional prop accessory performs another attack operation on the interactive element after a preset duration threshold. Hemby teaches: after the transforming of the first prop accessory into the functional prop accessory, generating special effect prompt information, wherein the special effect prompt information indicates that the functional prop accessory performs another attack operation on the interactive element after a preset duration threshold [displaying an indicator that indicates the weapon is in the unready state and is in a cooldown period, which is a predefined period before the weapon can be used again (par. 16, 51 and 53)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hu and Hemby before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the virtual object control method of Hu by incorporating the teaching of Hemby, such that after the transforming of the first prop accessory into the functional prop accessory, generating special effect prompt information, wherein the special effect prompt information indicates that the functional prop accessory performs another attack operation on the interactive element after a preset duration threshold. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the user to use weapons that take time to recharge between uses (Hemby – par. 51). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Hu and Hemby to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim. Regarding claim 10 , Hu and Hemby teach the virtual object control method of claim 9; Hemby further teaches: a display effect of the special effect prompt information is based on a distance between the master virtual object and the functional prop accessory [a distance an object is to travel and displaying the indication (par. 23 and 53, Fig. 1)] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (CN 113426123) in view of Zhou et al. (WO 2022/083449) . Regarding claim 11 , Hu teaches the virtual object control method of claim 1; Hu does not explicitly disclose: performing an explosion operation of a first attack degree on the interactive element based on the functional prop accessory; and performing another attack operation of a second attack degree on the interactive element wherein an attack damage of the first attack degree is greater than an attack damage of the second attack degree. Zhou teaches: performing an explosion operation of a first attack degree on the interactive element based on the functional prop accessory; and performing another attack operation of a second attack degree on the interactive element wherein an attack damage of the first attack degree is greater than an attack damage of the second attack degree [the virtual prop causes damage to other objects within the range and may cause different degrees of damage at different positions or distances (page 12)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hu and Zhou before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the virtual object control method of Hu by incorporating the teaching of Zhou, such that performing an explosion operation of a first attack degree on the interactive element based on the functional prop accessory; and performing another attack operation of a second attack degree on the interactive element wherein an attack damage of the first attack degree is greater than an attack damage of the second attack degree. The motivation for doing so would have been to simulate the actual effect of the object, such as a bomb or other throwing items when it is used (Zhou – page 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Hu and Zhou to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (CN 113426123) in view of Li (US 2022/0040574) . Regarding claim 12 , Hu teaches the virtual object control method of claim 1; Hu does not explicitly disclose: before the displaying the virtual scene: displaying a skill selection interface, wherein the skill selection interface comprises at least two candidate skills; and receiving a selection operation on a target skill, from the at least two candidate skills, wherein the selection operation is configured to configure the target skill for the virtual prop. Li teaches: before the displaying the virtual scene: displaying a skill selection interface, wherein the skill selection interface comprises at least two candidate skills; and receiving a selection operation on a target skill, from the at least two candidate skills, wherein the selection operation is configured to configure the target skill for the virtual prop [the user can select a skill to apply to the virtual object (par. 80-88, Fig. 7-9)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hu and Li before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the virtual object control method of Hu by incorporating the teaching of Li, such that before the displaying the virtual scene: displaying a skill selection interface, wherein the skill selection interface comprises at least two candidate skills; and receiving a selection operation on a target skill, from the at least two candidate skills, wherein the selection operation is configured to configure the target skill for the virtual prop. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the user to identify which skill to configure, thereby enlarging the selection range of the user, and making operations of the application program user friendly (Li – par. 88). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Hu and Li to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (CN 113426123) in view of Argentar (US 2009/0181737) . Regarding claim 13 , Hu teaches the virtual object control method of claim 1; Hu further teaches: the virtual prop is implemented as a virtual firearm, and the first prop accessory is implemented in the virtual firearm; wherein the controlling the master virtual object to perform the attack operation on the interactive element comprises: controlling the master virtual object to perform a shooting operation on the interactive element using the virtual firearm and based on a consumption of a virtual bullet; and wherein the controlling the master virtual object to switch from the first prop accessory of the virtual prop to the second prop accessory comprises: controlling, based on a consumption of the virtual bullet, the master virtual object to switch to another bullet [the first weapon is gun type weapon and the assembly type is a bullet and performing a shooting attack with the weapon. When detecting the first weapon’s virtual property, such as bullets, quantity is less than the preset number, or when receiving a switching operation of the target virtual property of the first weapon, the target virtual property of a second weapon or the target virtual property of a backpack can be used to equip the first weapon (page 8-10)]. Hu does not explicitly disclose: the prop accessory is a virtual magazine and switching to another virtual magazine. Argentar teaches: the prop accessory is a virtual magazine and switching to another virtual magazine [switching a magazine clip to reload the weapon (par. 36)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Hu and Argentar before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the virtual object control method of Hu by incorporating the teaching of Argentar, such that the prop accessory is a virtual magazine and switching to another virtual magazine. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a realistic reloading mechanism within the video game (Argentar – par. 36). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Hu and Argentar to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Alexander Boyd whose telephone number is (571)270-0676. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9am-5pm PST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Benjamin Bruckart can be reached at 571-272-3982. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALEXANDER BOYD/Examiner, Art Unit 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/891,672 Page 2 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/891,672 Page 3 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/891,672 Page 4 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/891,672 Page 5 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/891,672 Page 6 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/891,672 Page 7 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/891,672 Page 8 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/891,672 Page 9 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/891,672 Page 10 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/891,672 Page 11 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/891,672 Page 12 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/891,672 Page 13 Art Unit: 2424 Application/Control Number: 18/891,672 Page 14 Art Unit: 2424